Friday, June 26, 2015

'The Courtship of Waneta Zook (Paradise Valley Amish Romance Short Story 1)' by Julia Kappel


Blurb:

Waneta Zook has bigger responsibilities than many of the other Amish girls her age. Her mother has passed away, leaving Waneta to look after her three younger siblings... and now her father is in failing health. So, Waneta has humbly resigned herself to the fact that she will probably never marry because she knows that her father will need to be taken care of even after her sisters and brother are grown.

However, the Lord has other plans for Waneta!

THE COURTSHIP OF WANETA ZOOK is a clean, uplifting and complete Amish short story from Julia Kappel, author of the popular Amish Romance novel, THE ENGLISCH GUEST.

Read an excerpt:
“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”
 Matthew 6:33



+ + + 


Waneta Zook had bigger responsibilities than many of the other girls her age. At sixteen, she had to look after her three younger siblings: Katie, Sarah and Jacob while her dat tended to the farm. However, her dat was in failing health and that meant much of the farm work also fell to Waneta, except when they were able to get in some hired help. The Zook shtamm didn’t have much money, so it was hard to pay someone to help. In spite of that, Waneta believed her village in Paradise Valley was a good place to live. It was a giving, caring community that took care of its own. 
 
Waneta’s maemm had passed away when she was eleven and her youngest sibling was four, so Waneta had had no choice but to stop going to school and stay home to look after her bruder. Thankfully, at that time her two younger shveshtahs were able to help her with chores in the morning and when they got home from school. Jacob was a spirited child and keeping an eye on him had taken up much of Waneta’s time. When he went to school two years later, Waneta found it much easier to get everything done. 
 
Because of her added responsibilities, Waneta didn’t have the benefit of a rumspsringa, which would have given her the opportunity to meet boys in the community and, hopefully, to pick her future husband. She had resigned herself to the fact that she would probably end up never marrying, because she knew that her dat would need to be taken care of even after her shveshtahs and bruder were grown. Instead of being upset, however, she humbly prayed to Gott that he would give her peace and help her younger siblings find good love matches. So, Waneta was surprised when her dat approached her about the situation.
 
Dochtah,” he said, “you know that I’m not getting any younger and that my health isn’t getting any better either. Usually, a farm goes to a mann’s son, but your bruder is only nine years old, and I do not know if I will be here when he is grown.”
 
“Please, Dat, don’t say that,” said Waneta, “you could live for a long time yet.”
 
Jah, I could,” said Issac Zook, “but only if I do not work too hard. Our community is gut to us, but everyone has their own schaffe to do. I think it is time that you found your love match, and when you get married, I will give you this farm as a wedding present.”
 
“But, Dat,” said Waneta, “I don’t really know the boys in our community, just the ones who have helped us out... and I don’t even know them well.”
 
“I will put out the word,” said Isaac, “that I welcome men to court you... men who also want to help on our farm, so that when the time comes for them to marry you, they will also know that the land will be theirs.”
 
“What if they only want to come to court me because they want the farm?” said Waneta.
 
“Our farm is gut,” said Isaac, “but it is in need of much schaffe; there are other, more prosperous farms in the community with dochtahs that are ready to pick a love match too. I hope only men who are interested in you come around, but if others come, you will be able to tell if they care about you. You are a smart dochtah and I owe a lot to the schaffe that you have done here. Your maemm would want you to have a good love match, and if I should die before it is time, I will know that this farm and my kinner are looked after.”
 
“Jah,” said Waneta, “I understand. I will try to make a good love match for me and for our shtamm.”

“This is gut,” said Isaac, “I will go to town now. We need seed, and I will pass the word.”

“OK, Dat, you know best,” answered Waneta calmly. Inwardly, however, she felt less sanguine. Although she was looking forward to courting, Waneta was worried that she might say or do the wrong thing because she had been at home so much instead of out in the community, except for when she went to church or to the occasional quilting bee.


+ + +

Three days later, when Waneta and Katie were doing the dishes, Waneta’s first gentleman caller came to the hause. Waneta’s dat met him at the door and permitted Waneta to go for a walk with him.
 
“I’ll just be a minute,” said Waneta when her father came to tell her, “I need to wash up a bit.” She took off her apron and made sure that her work dress looked okay. She brushed her teeth, put on her kapp and went outside. She was met by John Miller. She knew him from church and the grocer’s shop where he worked part-time. She also knew that he was the youngest of four boys in his family and that his family’s farm would probably never be passed on to him.
 
“Evening, Miss Waneta,” said John.
 
“Hello, Mr. Miller” answered Waneta.
 
“Your dat has given me permission to court you,” said John. “May I take you for a walk?”
 
Waneta smiled shyly. “Yes, you may.”

John and Waneta stepped onto a moonlit path that led around the barn and a small field. The stars shone brightly in the early summer sky and the air smelled of honeysuckle and freshly cut hay...


http://amzn.to/1S2DW1L

AUTHOR BIO: 

Julia Kappel grew up in southern Pennsylvania near an Amish community in Lancaster County. Now she lives in North Carolina where she enjoys camping and hiking in the Blue Ridge Mountains and singing in the choir at her church. She is an avid reader and a devoted fan of Jane Austen, Charles Dickens and CS Lewis.

As a Christian, Julia deeply respects the commitment Amish people have to their faith and to each other. The kindness and gentle humor she experienced among the Amish has inspired her to write about these humble, persevering people.

If you love Julia's clean, enchanting Amish romance stories, visit her blog for the latest news on her upcoming books -- http://juliakappel.com.

Also, check out her page at facebook.com/JuliaKappelBooks where she shares many things related to Amish and Christian romance and would love to hear from you. 

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Review of 'The Secret Baby Room' by D.D. Johnston


The Secret Baby Room

by D.D. Johnston 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Claire Wilson knows what she saw: on the eighth floor of a derelict tower block, a woman was bottle-feeding a baby. But why would anyone take a baby into a boarded-up tower block? In an area of Manchester plagued by unexplained tragedies, the only allies Claire can find are a pagan witch, a wild-child party girl, and a husband with too many secrets.

Read an excerpt:

She lay awake, breathing with the rhythm of Dan’s snores. They slept with a window open, naked, covered only by a sheet, but the night was still uncomfortably hot. At the top of the mobile phone mast there was a red light to warn off low-flying airplanes; for an hour, she watched its blink redden her bedroom wall. Then, at what time exactly she couldn’t say, just as she was dozing off, there came a crack from the back garden. It sounded like a piece of wood snapping. She sat up and shook Dan by the shoulder. ‘Dan, wake up.’

‘Okay, yeah.’

She shook him harder. ‘Dan!’

He rolled over, wrapping himself in the sheet’s entirety.

Claire sat still, listening to the silence outside, and then, because her pulse was still thumping, she got up and put on her dressing robe. Edging down the stairs, she decided she’d feel safer with a weapon. She turned the living room light on, decisively, as if in doing so she would vanquish a vampire. No intruders. Nothing she could use as a weapon, either. She checked the downstairs toilet, where she briefly considered arming herself with the toilet brush.

Then, in the kitchen, she grabbed the peppermill from the counter. It felt good to hold something heavy. Keeping the light off so she could see the garden, she crept up to the sliding patio doors and clicked on the garden light.

When she saw the man, she screamed and dropped the peppermill. He was staring right at her – a man in a black beanie hat. Later, when she thought back on the moment, what most alarmed her was that he had not seemed the least bit startled. The man didn’t run or panic or even look guilty. He noted her presence, and then, disinterested, he continued what he was doing at languorous pace. He strolled to the fence that separated Claire’s garden from Lianne’s, vaulted it, and continued towards the derelict tower block.

**My thoughts**

Blurbs are everything. A good one is going to grab your attention and compel you to snatch up the book. This one definitely grabbed my attention.

My interpretation of the blurb, though, was different than what I actually ended up reading. I felt like it was going to be some kind of a twisted Stephen King horror story. I was expecting something truly sinister and macabre. Instead, it was a weird and twisted plot and not quite what I was really expecting. Yet it was interesting and had a lot of potential.

Claire is convinced that she has seen some weird things, but isn't sure if she sane or crazy. The neighbors whom she encounters are not helpful in this. It seems like they will be helpful, but you aren't really sure what nor whom you can trust. I definitely want to smack her husband through half of it. 

In the beginning, I could completely envision the story playing out on a screen. It was reminiscent of so many twisted movies and TV shows that have been on lately. As I approached the end, though, I felt like some characters and plot points weren't fully resolved within all of the twists and turns in the plot. I wanted more in the story. But then it ended in the only way that it could at that point. Others will feel completely satisfied.



http://amzn.to/1SM6M6U

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

D.D. Johnston’s first novel, Peace, Love, & Petrol Bombs, was a Sunday Herald Book of the Year in 2011 and is published in Spanish as Paz, amor y c√≥cteles molotov. His experimental second novel, The Deconstruction of Professor Thrub, was a 2013 book of the year in The Morning Star, where it was described as “determinedly extraordinary”. He lives in Cheltenham, UK, and works at the University of Gloucestershire, where he is a senior lecturer in Creative Writing and a University Teaching Fellow. In his spare time he runs the OnlineWritingTips.com website.

http://ddjohnston.org

@dd_johnston

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Secret-Baby-Room-D-D-Johnston/dp/1909954187

http://onlinewritingtips.com


The author will be awarding a $30 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn host. Additionally, Goddess Fish Productions will be awarding a $5 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn host. Follow along for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

'Holistic Medicine for Women's Health' by Sauciron



Blurb:

Finally, There's a book devoted to women's health issues. And to make matters even better, it promotes a holistic approach to healing and prevention, eliminating the need for drugs and their pesky side effects. 

This book reveals a multitude of startling facts that some of you may not be aware of. For example, there's a food additive that's in a lot of what we eat and drink, and it's doing serious harm to us and our children. Find out what it is and how it is adversely affecting our health.

Read an excerpt:
Tension Headache

Tension headaches are caused by muscle contractions in the temples or the back of the head. They are usually brought on by stress and could last four hours or even days. This type of headache feels like your head is being compressed from both sides making it almost impossible to sleep. Relief can be achieved by using a cold compress, by massage, or by using acupuncture.

Sinus headaches are the result of congestion or inflammation of the nasal cavity. Symptoms of this problem are a dull ache over the eyes causing irritability and the inability to sleep.

Stress and tension headaches are caused by, as you have probably guessed, stress and tension. But that is where the simplicity ends because each of us, as individuals, have different situations and conditions that cause us to become stressful and tense.

The following are some examples of the causes of stress and tension: Computer eyestrain, pinched nerves, too much caffeine, too much sugar or salt, hypoglycemia (low blood sugar), PMS, artificial sweeteners, a need for a liver detox, candida, a need for a heavy metal detox, a need for a full body detox. You can find more details on detoxification in later chapters of this book. Those and numerous other situations could possibly cause a tension headache.

If you use over the counter drugstore headache drugs on a regular basis, you could be setting yourself up for rebound headaches. Acetaminophen, if combined with alcohol, can cause liver damage. So if you were to have a hangover, don't take Tylenol to get rid of the headache.

If you feel a headache coming on, immediately apply cold, slightly damp black tea bags to your eyes (closed) for 15 minutes or have a cup of black decaf coffee. Consuming Ginger, fresh or supplemental, can often stop a developing headache. Also an ice pack on the back of the neck at the base of the skull is often very effective. But most importantly, if you are not sure why you are getting your headaches, get tested for food allergies. There could be a very simple answer to the problem. It’s always easier to prevent a problem than to treat it.

Buy links


About the author:

Twenty years ago my mother had a series of mini-strokes. I took care of her at home because many years earlier she had asked me not to put her in a nursing home if it was at all possible. Her doctor explained her situation and it went something like this. "Your mother's strokes have caused permanent brain damage. Her brain cells are slowly dying and the cells adjacent to the damaged cells will eventually die also. I'm sorry, but there's nothing we can do for her".

The mainstream medical community had given up on the person most dear to me. So I decided to conduct some extensive research into alternative measures like vitamins, herbs, and minerals. I was determined not to let my mother die without a fight. This is the person who took care of me when I was sick; she deserved the same from me.

I read multitudes of books, newsletters, and reports. I watched educational videos, attended homeopathic trade-shows, and interviewed anyone who would be willing to talk to me. All the time taking extensive notes and documenting my efforts. I fought an endless fight, but I lost my mother. I started too late in her illness.

After a period of mourning and occasional bouts of depression, I decided to take all that valuable information I had accumulated, continue my research, and use it to help others by writing educational books.

Review of 'Hands Full of Ashes' by Kim Hotzon



Hands Full of Ashes

by Kim Hotzon

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Olivia promises her dying husband that she will spread his ashes around the world. Landing in Africa, Olivia begins volunteering at an orphanage. After a weekend excursion viewing mountain gorillas, Olivia is unaware of how drastically her life is about to change. Love was never part of her plan . . .




Read an excerpt:
She didn't want to miss a single breath, any slight movement. It was so hard to see him as he was now, skeletal and pale, his veins prominent against the sickly pallor of his face, and yet she couldn't look away.

Jack opened his eyes, straining to focus on his wife. “Don't forget your promise,” he whispered.


Olivia swallowed hard as she tried to steady her trembling lips. “I won't.” She laid her cheek against his dark stubble. “I love you, Jack,” she said quietly, though she feared he couldn't hear her. “And I will keep your promise.”


In response, the monitor emitted a terrifying, steady beep. Its line coursed straight across the bottom of the screen. Olivia let out a whimper and plunged forward, burying her face in his neck.


“He's gone,” the nurse said.


Olivia's eyes went to her husband's face again. He looked peaceful. No more pain. She ran her hand along the cheap cotton blanket, and it folded in her fingers against the outline of his leg. Still warm.


Grief surrounded her, and she willingly fell into its depths. Images of their wedding swirled around in her head. Olivia remembered the excitement of being with Jack, the heat that reached out from his muscular arms whenever he embraced her. Snapshots of their home, their ski trips, and quiet nights with their dog Scruffy floated vividly in her mind. Her future now loomed over her, bleak and lonely. She would never have this kind of love again.

**My thoughts**

This story starts out tugging at your heartstrings, as you are right there with Olivia as she says goodbye to her husband. If you have ever sat with someone dying in Hospice, you know that unique pain of sitting with someone as he takes his last breath.

In her grief, Olivia decides that she is going to honor his husband's wishes to have his ashes scattered around the world. She also decides that she needs some time away from her life. She goes as far away as she can, to Africa.

A trip to Africa always seems to be a life-changing experience for people. In Olivia's case, she comes to terms with her grief over losing her husband and finds a new purpose in life. Relationships with new people teach her that she is still capable of loving and of moving on. She also unfortunately becomes exposed to Africa's terrible other side, which was a bit of a shock when it happened. I wasn't expecting any of that. 

The descriptions of the pain and suffering in Uganda, the Congo, Rwanda, will tug at your heartstrings. The settings come alive so well that you just know the author has some experience over there. Despite the scary occurrences of violence that occur on the continent, you cannot help but feel compelled to hop on a plane and go there yourself. I remember feeling this way every time I read 'The Poisonwood Bible' by Barbara Kingsolver.

This was a different type of romance with elements of suspense thrown in that makes for a nice change of pace in the genre. It isn't going to be for everyone, but I enjoyed it.



http://amzn.to/1BLmb3f

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Born in beautiful British Columbia, Kim developed a passion for writing at an early age. Her interest in people led her all over the globe, including a two year stay in Japan and a humanitarian trip to Rwanda.


She loves to write contemporary romance stories that feature strong women who deal with compelling issues. Kim enjoys adding unexpected twists, usually involving a dangerous and dramatic backdrop. Her first novel, Hands Full of Ashes, was inspired by her trip to Africa.


Kim spent many years teaching young adults with learning disabilities at Kwantlen Polytechnic University, and she currently resides in the sunny Okanagan with her husband and two children. When not writing, she can be found plying the local ski hills, or getting lost in her kayak in the surrounding lakes.


You can get in touch with Kim by visiting her website http://www.kimhotzon.com/ or follow her at:


Links:




Kim Hotzon will be awarding a $10 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Follow along for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 22, 2015

Review of 'A Bodyguard to Remember (Men in Uniform Series)' by Alison Bruce


A Bodyguard to Remember

by Alison Bruce

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Prudence Hartley has the usual single mom problems: getting her kids to school on time; juggling a gazillion errands while trying to get a full day’s work done; oh, and don’t forget about dinner.

 But Pru’s problems become a tad more complicated and a lot more dangerous when she finds a dead man in her house. Or a dead spy to be exact. Suddenly, a federal agent named David Merrick shows up and whisks her and her kids into protective custody. Pru has so many questions spinning through her brain she doesn’t know where to begin. How is she going to keep her kids safe? What was the dead spy looking for in her house? Why are the spies after her? Oh, and there’s one more question . . . just a pesky, minor thing. Why does Merrick have to be so damn sexy and protective?

Read an excerpt:
It started with a dead body on my living room floor.

I had just picked up the twins from their father. While they took the recycling bins from the porch to the curb, I unlocked the front door, which led directly into the living room. I turned on the overhead light as I passed the switch, froze, and then pressed my hand over my mouth to stop a scream. Since the man in the middle of the floor could hardly be alive with a gaping hole in the back of his head, I didn't feel obliged to check on him. Holding my breath, I backed out of the house and called my ex to come take the kids back.

Then I called 9-1-1. 
“Mom?”

“Hold on Boone.” I hooked his sister by her arm and guided them toward the car.
“This is Prudence Hartley at 13 Wildwood Crescent in Guelph. I need the police.”

“Mom?” It was Hope this time, trying to pull away and look through our front window.

“Back to the car,” I hissed. “I was speaking to my kids, officer . . . yes, this is an emergency. There’s a strange man in my house. He’s dead.”

**My thoughts**

I loved this book. It started out with a bang as Prudence finds a dead body on her floor when she comes home with her twins. As the case unfolds, it appears that someone is quite possibly after her. There is plenty of suspense as Merrick thrusts her and her family into protective custody and all of the twists and turns emerge. Whom can Prudence really trust? I went through all kinds of theories and speculation as to the perpetrator and the why. 

There is also plenty of suspense about Merrick and Prudence. The chemistry between them is undeniable, but both are pretty well committed to staying single for their own reasons. Prudence is definitely more open to it all, but there is that issue of someone trying to kill her. Plus the interference from the crazy neighbor and other family members.


Each character is amusing in his or her own way. Prudence has a fantastic sense of humor and is quite witty. Merrick has his own great sense of humor in life, plus that lovely strong protective side. Different parts of the story will make you laugh out loud. Family dynamics may be familiar. The storyline is unique enough that it stands out from other similar ideas. I was completely engrossed in it for a couple of evenings as I worked through it. At times, particularly toward the end, I felt like some parts were a little rushed, but it was still a great read. I want to read more!




http://amzn.to/1FvH11h

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Alison Bruce has an honors degree in history and philosophy, which has nothing to do with any regular job she's held since. A liberal arts education did prepare her to be a writer, however. She penned her first novel during lectures while pretending to take notes.

Alison writes mysteries, romantic suspense and historical western romance. Her protagonists are marked by their strength of character, the ability to adapt (sooner or later) to new situations and to learn from adversity.

Copywriter and editor since 1992, Alison has also been a comic book store manager, small press publisher and web designer. In addition to writing, she is the Publication Manager of Crime Writers of Canada, Arthur Ellis Awards Administrator, and part-time tech guru to the technologically challenged.

Alison Bruce has had many careers and writing has always been one of them. Copywriter, editor and graphic designer since 1992, Alison has also been a comic store manager, small press publisher, webmaster and arithmetically challenged bookkeeper. She is the author of mystery, romantic suspense and historical western romance novels.

Links & Stuff

abruce@alisonbruce.ca or writer@alisonbruce.ca

Website: http://www.alisonbruce.ca

Blog: http://alisonebruce.blogspot.ca

Twitter: @alisonebruce

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/alisonbruce.books

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/alisonebruce

Goodreads:

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4860245.Alison_Bruce

Professional Affiliations

Crime Writers of Canada http://www.crimewriterscanada.com

Bio Page: http://www.crimewriterscanada.com/bios/members-lists/562-bruce-alison

Alison’s mystery and suspense novels are listed in the CWC online catalogue.


Alison will be awarding 2 of her eBooks. Choice of: A Bodyguard to Remember (romantic suspense),Deadly Legacy (mystery) Under A Texas Star(historical western romance),Hazardous Unions (historical romance)or Rawhide and Roses (an anthology with other authors) to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Follow along for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, June 21, 2015

'The Reunion' by David Burnett on Kindle Countdown!


Blurb:

“Reunions are fun!” Allison tells her husband, Michael, when the invitation to his thirtieth reunion arrives in the mail. “You see old friends, talk about old times…”

At the reunion, Michael does see his old friends. They do talk about old times. They watch a video, “Turn Back the Clock” - high school, 1979. Michael does have a blast, and he wants to “turn back the clock,” and be exactly as he was in high school. Michael’s desire to return to his youth sets in motion events which disrupt their lives and tear the couple apart. 

The Reunion is a tale about how seemingly insignificant events can lead to a marriage on the brink, about the danger of staying silent when problems arise, and, above all, about the journey a couple in love takes as they attempt to obtain forgiveness and to find themselves again.

http://amzn.to/1SfJvdq
On Kindle Countdown 6/21-6/27!


About the author:

David lives in South Carolina with his wife and their blue-eyed cat, Bonnie. The Reunion, his first novel, and To Fall in Love Again, his third, are set in nearby Charleston.

He enjoys traveling, photography, baking bread, and the Carolina beaches. 

David has photographed subjects as varied as prehistoric ruins on the islands of Scotland, star trails, sea gulls, and a Native American powwow. He and his wife have traveled widely in the United States and the United Kingdom. During one trip to Scotland, they visited Crathes Castle, the ancestral home of the Burnett family near Aberdeen. In The Reunion, Michael's journey through England and Scotland allows him to sketch many places they have visited.

David spent years in school(!), and he has graduate degrees in psychology and education. He and his wife have two daughters.

Visit him online:

http://davidburnett.yolasite.com

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

'Dark Fantasy/Horror Box Set: Gates & Alpha Hunter' by G.S. Luckett


Blurb:

Gates (The Reaper)

Can a condemned soul become God's weapon?

A death row inmate, known as The Brit, on an isolated island escapes from his execution during a freak thunderstorm that causes the prison to change into a paranormal place. Now, he finds himself fighting his way out and protecting the very people who jailed him. Pursued by prisoners and guards possessed by ghosts along with a mysterious inmate from his nightmares using occult powers, The Brit has to lead the others to escape in order to save their souls and possibly his own.

This is the first installment of a series where we find out how, The Reaper, is chosen and that he does more than shepherd lost souls. He is a demon slayer, preventing Hell's war with Heaven from spilling over into our world.

Some of God's instruments are tarnished.

Alpha Hunter (Neurian Scriptures)

In Medieval Europe, the people fear vampires.

What do vampires fear?

Alexander Damascus is the last Neuri, a Spartan-like tribe bred as vampire hunters, with a hunger to destroy the undead. With his partner Demitra, they track Queen Adrielle. She has organized the vampire warriors into an army for expanding her empire. Learning that Adrielle's enforcer, Verucious, has acquired fragments of an ancient map, the Vatican dispatches its own monster hunter mercenaries to reinforce Alexander against Verucious and his Dark Riders. Alexander fights alongside the mercenaries while keeping his secret from them. Alexander's kind was the seed of all vampire blood. The Neuri sworn to hunt those spawned from the civil war they waged.


Get a free preview at NoiseTrade.

Buy links:




About the author:

G.S. Luckett grew up in the Midwest. Most of his youth spent exploring the woods around his home or playing action figures. He had a love for action movies and comics, along with fantasy and sci-fi fiction.

While in the U.S. Army G.S. Luckett was a tank crewmember and small arms weapons technician. He was stationed overseas in South Korea and ended up in the Pacific Northwest after his tour. His love for writing stories grew, as did a thirst for history and an appreciation for combat arts.

Now, he lives outside Portland, Oregon, with his wife and two sons. He spends his days as a mild-mannered father and husband but at night, the writer comes out.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/GSLuckett

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/GS-Luckett/316472175141295

Find more of his works on Amazon.

The Lei Crime Series - 8 novellas by 8 authors



Lei Crime Series

by Eden Baylee, Craig Hansen, Corinne O'Flynn, M.L. Doyle, Julie C. Gilbert, J.L. Oakley, Christine Nolfi and Emily Kimelman


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

The Lei Crime Series is: Hawaii is palm trees, black sand and blue water—but for policewoman Lei Texeira, there’s a dark side to paradise. Lei has overcome a scarred past to make a life for herself as a cop, but often the cases she works activate wounds and complications from her tangled family history. Lei is affected deeply by her cases even as she solves them with persistence, obsession, and intuition. She falls in love with Michael Stevens, the charismatic detective she works with, and they make a life solving crime in contemporary Hawaii with all its beauty and deadliness.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The SHELL KEEPER is Magical Realism

The Shell Keeper by Christine Nolfi

In South Carolina, magic is as plentiful as sweet tea.

Thanks to her aunt’s unwanted generosity, policewoman Lei Texeira has embarked on a vacation—of the supernatural sort. She’s staying on the beach in a frothy mansion that resembles a baker’s confection. Pixie, a Southern belle with enough bling to open a shop on Rodeo Drive, manages the place.

When Pixie reveals a local woman reputed to have psychic powers wants to meet Lei, the invitation is anything but welcome.

What Lei discovers about the sorcery of belief, and the love promised to her future will begin to heal wounds she’s carried for far too long.


http://amzn.to/1Slt6nG

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WARRIOR DOG is Mystery/Action

A Keiki Mystery: Warrior Dog by Emily Kimelman


One pack. One dog. One enemy. One mission: protect the family.

Descended from the Drover Dogs of Rome, Keiki has quite a legacy to live up to. The Rottweiler ancestors followed men into war, helped heard animals, and protected flocks from predators. All these tasks took great skill to bear the responsibility.

In the modern world, Keiki's role remains much the same. She must protect Lei and her family. They are her pack and in need of her protection.

But what can she do when the enemy is fire? How will Keiki save her family from this raging, uncontrollable beast?


http://amzn.to/1Fl2mKA

Click above to enter the Kindle World of The Lei Crime Series

AUTHOR Bios and Links: 


Author Bio – Christine Nolfi

In South Carolina, magic is as plentiful as sweet tea.

Award-winning author Christine Nolfi provides readers with heartwarming and inspiring fiction. Her debut Treasure Me is a Next Generation Indie Awards finalist. The Midwest Book Review lists her books as “highly recommended” and her novels have enjoyed bestseller status. She has also written the manual for writers Reviews Sell Books. Look for her new series, Heavenscribe in 2015.


Website www.christinenolfi.com

Twitter @christinenolfi https://twitter.com/christinenolfi

Amazon author page http://www.amazon.com/Christine-Nolfi/e/B004XW5XC6/


Author Bio – Emily Kimelman

Emily Kimelman is the author of the Sydney Rye Series including UNLEASHED, DEATH IN THE DARK, INSATIABLE, STRINGS OF GLASS, THE DEVIL'S BREATH, and INVITING FIRE. This series feature a strong female protagonist and her canine best friend, Blue. It is recommended for the 18+ who enjoy some violence, don't mind dirty language, and are up for a dash of sex. Not to mention an awesome, rollicking good mystery!

Emily splits her time between the Hudson Valley and traveling the world with her husband and dog, Kinsey (named after Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone), researching exciting locations for the Sydney Rye Series. You can follow along on their adventures through Instagram, Facebook, and on Emily's blog.

If you've read Emily's work, and enjoyed it, please let her know. You can reach Emily via email ejkimelman@gmail.com, on Twitter @ejkimelman, on Facebook and on her website www.emilykimelman.com

The authors will be awarding a $30 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Follow the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

'This Is My Energy: A Mindfulness Guide to Time Management & Stress-Free Living' by Lisa Townsend


One of the great tragedies of our time is that we have the tools and technologies available to us to free up our time and open up our lives to learning, creating, relaxing, and building. And yet….we are so attached to being busy that we spend most of our time looking forward, looking backward, and missing those things that are right in front of us.

TIME stands for “This Is My Energy.”

When we look at time as the precious thing that it is, our energy, a measure of our Life Force, our entire take on how to manage it starts to shift.

It’s time to stop participating in the insane cycle of cramming every day to overflowing, working ourselves into the ground, and feeling stressed and exhausted all the time. Stepping away from that doesn’t mean that we’ll be shirking responsibilities, it means we’ll be focusing on what is truly important and spending our TIME (read Energy) there, were it can make the biggest impact.

There is more to life that being busy and until we stop, breathe, and get our feet firmly planted on the ground, we are not going to be able to see or experience the peace and deep satisfaction that comes from truly engaging in the things that are important to us.

In “This Is My Energy” Best Selling author Lisa Townsend will help change how you look at “time management” and encourage you to stop counting minutes and start making memories. By focusing in on those things that are the most important, you will learn how to be exactly as busy as you need to be to build the life you want.

You will learn to:
• Redefine time management; there’s a fundamental shift when you go from spending slivers of time on a clock, to investing blocks of your life force – this is where things get REAL
• Find your first things, so you can laser focus on what REALLY matters
• Make mindfulness-based decisions in the moment so you’re not creating a dreaded “Time Tornado”
• Let go of the things you don’t need to be doing; yes you CAN let go of some things, and I promise the world will not come to a screeching halt
• Create space in your life to focus on the big picture so you can stop living on autopilot; no one else will do this for you, only YOU can and I’m going to show you how
• Understand the difference between urgency and importance, so you can quit operating in crisis mode, kick the stress, and actually enjoy your life – even when you’re working
• Build a manageable schedule focused on the things that are most important to you so you can be at peace while you’re being productive.

If you are ready to stop stressing over all the demands on your time and trying to figure out how to pack more and more “To Dos,” into less and less time,

If you’re ready to focus on creating a life that is truly meaningful to YOU while meeting your obligations to yourself and others,

Click below to get your copy of “This Is My Energy: Your Mindfulness Guide to Time Management & Stress-Free Living” today…


http://amzn.to/1BkyfrQ

Find more helpful books from Lisa on her Amazon Author Page:

Monday, June 15, 2015

'Code X: Episode 1' by M.R. Vallone


Blurb:

Sci fi romance thriller ~ 5 5-star reviews!

What Is A Human Genius? 

Did Mankind Advance Alone? 

Why Could So Few Change The World? 

Why was there an Einstein, daVinci, Hawking? 

George Washington led from the front line, but was never wounded. How was that possible? 

Code X Searches for the Answers 

Prepare to be Shocked! 

Dr. Vicki Collins won the Nobel Prize for Genetic Engineering before she was 30. Now the world's giant medical corporations want her to work for them, and they will stop at nothing to get her. 

Nick Parks, Vicki’s fiance, discovers the truth about the lies, deceit, money and even murder they use to succeed. He will risk everything, even his own life to try and save her. A fast, page turning, sci fi mystery thriller you can not put down.

http://amzn.to/1R1RNTK

Sunday, June 14, 2015

Read an exclusive excerpt from 'Silent Light, Silent Love' by Bobby Hutchinson



BLURB:

Betsy wants to be a photographer, but it’s 1898 on the Canadian prairies, and she’s deaf. Women don’t have careers, especially not deaf women.

James Macleod is a North West Mounted policeman with a dark secret . He’d like to marry and have a family, but he’s haunted by a tragedy in his past.

Can two unusual people find true love and happiness in spite of such obstacles?

Read SILENT LIGHT, SILENT LOVE and be transported.


Read an excerpt:
At last she turned back to him, her face troubled. “You are honest with me, I will be with you,” she signed. “Man I thought wanted to court me wanted—“ she paused, looked away, and then went on, “Wanted something else.” Her entire face turned fiery red, but she bravely held his gaze as her fingers spelled out the story. “He try to hurt me, I had hard time fighting with him, got away, but scared me. Makes me afraid now.” 
The stark and simple words painted a horrifying scenario. As the full import of what she meant sank in, James felt rage building in him. That any man would take advantage of a woman or mistreat her in any way was beyond his understanding, but to think that some—some monster would try to—of course he’d tried to rape her. He wondered how far the assault had gone. He struggled to control his fury, lest he frighten her even more. He took several deep breaths and did his best to control his expression. 
“What was his name?” James would make it his business to seek the heathen out and teach him a much-needed lesson. His fists curled in anticipation. 
But Betsy shook her head. “Not important, I try not to remember. Would make big trouble, Noah would be very angry, make me stop riding by myself, would try and find man, much, much trouble for everyone.” She swung up on Jingles, waiting for him to mount as well. “Noah worries, cares about me. He has big family, doesn’t need to worry for me, too.” 
The fact that she would be more concerned about her brother-in-law than herself touched James’s heart. He mounted Ajax, deciding not to pursue the matter. Not now. But he vowed that he would learn who had assaulted her. When he did, he’d beat the bastard to within an inch of his life. 
“Noah is best brother-in-law to me,” Betsy continued as they rode. “Annie married with Noah, never saw each other, only wrote letters. Annie wouldn’t come here from Toronto unless married already.” 
A mail order bride. Noah knew of several such marriages, some of which were successful. On the whole, he believed most were not. 
“Didn’t tell Noah I was sister. Said I was daughter, said she was older. Noah wanted older woman. Didn’t tell I was deaf. We were very, very scared he would send us back.” She smiled and shook her head. “Annie tell him big, big lies in letters, that she can cook, that she know about farming things. But she never saw cow before, she is afraid of chickens.” She made the sign for running away, and she giggled. 
James had to laugh with her. She had the most engaging giggle, the kind that would stir pleasure in everyone around her. Every moment with her was a delight. 
“Never saw farm before, Annie. Never cooked anything but eggs and bacon, potatoes and maybe beans. Annie scared of horses, cows, especially of geese, never gathered eggs or milked. We are city girls, only work all day hard in mill. But Noah tell big lies also. He has father, Zachary, very sick, very cranky, needs much care, Noah never tell Annie. So they are even.” 
She made the sign for balance, and he nodded, wanting her to go on. 
“Very hard at first, Annie’s bread, phfft, bad, hard like rock, feed to chickens.” She shook her head and screwed up her face. “Zachary throw dishes at Annie, very angry, can’t speak, frustrated. Stroke. So I teach him my signs.” She smiled sadly. “He teach me many things. Very wise man, Zachary, he and I friends, neither can talk with voice.” She made the sign for love, a little way out from her heart, signifying her deep affection for Noah’s father. “He teach me to carve, make small animals from soap. He tell me about building house, about his wife, he love her very much, miss her. Then he die. I miss him, bad, bad. Heart aches for him still.” She mimicked tear marks down her cheek. 
“So Noah and Annie worked things out? Her bread is very fine now.” James was enchanted by her flying fingers, her dramatic expressions as she told the story. 
Betsy nodded, indicating that Annie had become pregnant. “First Christmas, Mary is born, big storm, no doctor.” She rolled her eyes dramatically. “Noah and I help Annie. Noah has book on how babies are born.” She pantomimed Noah frantically flipping pages and wiping sweat from his forehead, his hands trembling and hers as well. “I am so scared, Noah too. But Mary is okay, Annie too. Noah and I—“ She held a hand out flat and tipped it from side to side as if it was touch and go with them, and again, Jamie laughed. He could well imagine how traumatic that birth must have been. A first delivery, as well. They’d been very lucky. 
“All other babies, Noah has doctor come to farm every day when time is near.” Her face grew somber. “Two years ago, Annie loses baby, three months. Very bad, we all cry, Annie sick for long time, before baby comes and after. This time, maybe will be better, Annie not sick all the time like she was then.” 
“When is the babe expected?” 
“End of November.” 
She was nearly seven months along. “If she’s feeling well, surely that’s a sign all will go well?” He wanted to reassure Betsy. He couldn’t keep his eyes off her. She was so vibrant, so alive and animated. Uninhibited, which was so refreshing. 
James thought of the other young women he’d met here on the prairies, and also back in Scotland. More of them in Scotland than here in Canada—there was a definite shortage of eligible women on the prairies. But in both countries, there was a strict code of conduct for ladies, and most of them adhered to it. Unfortunately, in his opinion, it made them boring. 
Passion wasn’t something young women generally demonstrated. It wasn’t considered lady-like or polite to even mention pregnancy, much less discuss the actual birth with a man. Betsy’s deafness made her refreshingly open, and James found it fascinating.

http://amzn.to/1AY9Vw2


Author Bio:

Bobby Hutchinson lives, breathes, reads and writes books. She lives in a coal-mining town in the Rocky Mountains of B.C., Canada, with two rabbits. Her favorite quote is, “When you change the way you look at a thing, the thing you look at changes.”

Saturday, June 13, 2015

'Thirty Days of Red' by Geraldine Solon


Blurb:

Shortly after Liv Walters' husband, David slips into a coma, she discovers he planned to leave her. Desperate to run away from her doomed marriage, Liv embarks on a Mediterranean cruise where she begins a thirty-day wisdom project and embraces a new identity―Red.

But life as Red isn't what she hopes for. As David slowly recovers, Liv can no longer run away from the demons that haunt her and wishes to restore their relationship.

Little does Liv know that David intends to destroy her life in thirty days.

http://amzn.to/1Tjap5o

About the author:

Geraldine Solon is the award-winning, best-selling author of 6 novels and a marketing guidebook for authors. Two of her books have been adapted into film. You can learn more about Geraldine by visiting her website at www.geraldinesolon.com

Thursday, June 11, 2015

'Anchored' by Lindsay Ahart


Blurb:

A school teacher finds herself choosing between different paths in life and the only thing that she can trust is the feeling she has when she is on the water.

http://amzn.to/1MtPc3B

About the author:

Lindsay graduated with her undergrad from San Diego State University in Television Film and New Media where she started working in movies doing creative development and script writing. She has been writing books for over 10 years now and loves to tell a good story. For more information please visit www.PinkLamb.com

Review of 'Twin Powers' by David Pereda


Twin Powers

by David Pereda 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

While vacationing with her mother in Havana, a 10-year old American girl is taken by members of a child sex ring intent on selling her into forced prostitution. When the human traffickers avoid capture and escape the island, the father of the girl, surgeon Raymond Peters, decides to take matters into his own hands and initiates a worldwide investigation. The Cuban government assigns a lethal professional assassin named Marcela to help Raymond track down the culprits. The search for Stephanie takes the unlikely pair – a man who has sworn an oath to save lives and a woman who kills for a living -- to the Middle East in the hunt for the mysterious mastermind, Mohamed. Working against the clock, Raymond and Marcela must pull out all stops to save Stephanie and flee Dubai before Mohamed and his gang of thugs kill them.

Read an excerpt:
The full moon reflected on the beach waters, multiplying itself like enormous gold coins with each gentle wave.

“Let’s go for a swim naked,” Marcela said, tugging at Raymond’s hand. “It’s a beautiful night out.”

“You’re kidding, right?”

They were sitting on the porch of Marcela’s house on a secluded beach in Havana. Raul Castro
had been true to his word. Her old house had been intact and spotless. There were a lot of recollections in that house for her. Every room evoked a special memory for her. She had made love, and she had killed, in that house. She had been attacked and beaten, but she had survived.

The altar to Chango in the main room of the house had taken her fifteen years to build. Every object on it was special to her. The two-foot-tall statue of Chango in the middle she had commissioned from Cuba’s finest sculptor and paid for with contraband dollars. She had spent three years carving the huge figures of Oshe and Shere, Chango’s bodyguards, from the hardest and darkest mahogany. The antelope horns, symbolizing Oya, Chango’s wife, she brought from Africa. The jade miniature of twin little girls at Chango’s feet, she bought in Mexico at the Teotihuacan pyramids.

The secluded beach where she swam naked every day held countless reminiscences too; the feel of the sand itself; the salty waters where she once had an encounter with a shark; the training area behind the trees where she practiced four hours every day.

Everything in and around her house brought so many warm recollections to her. And now she was contemplating leaving her home and all her memories to go live permanently in Miami with Ray. She was split in two. Cuba and her home pulled her one way; Ray and her love for him pulled her another way. She had never been so indecisive in her life. One moment she was ready to pack and leave. Five seconds later, she was convinced she would stay. How could she even think of leaving her country, her house, and the only life she had ever known behind? And all because she was in love with one man, an older man at that, one who could be her father. A moment later, she would argue with herself that change was good and necessary when one felt too comfortable in one place. Change builds character, challenges you, and makes you learn new things. Her English wasn’t very good. She could perfect it in the United States, for instance.

All this thinking was giving her a headache. Her decision could wait. Now she needed exercise.

Ray was looking at her with that especial expression of his that always made her want to hug him so hard she could get inside his body.

“Hey, did you fall asleep on me?” he asked. “You’re kidding about going swimming naked, aren’t you?”

“No, I’m not kidding.”

She stood and peeled her clothes off.

“What about your neighbors?”

“What neighbors?” She started undressing him, beginning with his T-shirt. “Have you seen any neighbors? This is a secluded beach, kimosabe. There are no neighbors.”

“Hey, wait a minute,” Raymond protested as she started unzipping his shorts.

“Be quiet and don’t move!”

He did as ordered. When she finished undressing him, she stared appraisingly at his naked body, making a bit production of it. She could tell he was a little nervous.

“Do I pass inspection?” he asked.

“I don’t know,” she said in a serious tone. “You’re old enough to be my father. Gaining a little weight around the middle, losing your hair; your package is a little too small for my taste.”

“Ouch!” Raymond looked down at himself. “You really know how to make a guy feel good.”

“But...”

“But what?”

“But I love you anyway.”

Marcela started running toward the beach, feeling the breeze on her face and smelling the salty scent of the sea. A moment later, she heard Ray’s footfalls coming behind her. A long time ago, she had learned that happiness consisted of relishing the little moments in life. She was happy.

Buy links:


**My thoughts**

If you like intercontinental mystery and intrigue, feisty females and intricate plots, then this is the book for you! So many characters are battling each other all around the world, from Cuba to American to Dubai, with some Pakistanis thrown in. At times, I had difficulty keeping all of them straight.

There is a lot of baggage in these characters' pasts, and I got the impression that many of them had already shared their stories. I did discover that some of the characters have already been featured in other books in the series, though this is supposed to be a standalone novel. I don't know if I would have better followed the twists and turns had I read the other books?

I have to admit that the title of the book made me think that there would be more about the connection between the twin girls. It was such an interesting plot point that could have added a lot more to the story! I did enjoy the multitude of languages included and got the sense that the author was familiar with a lot of the locales.

It does read quickly and has a lot of twists and turns. It was different from my usual thrillers, but I know will appeal to many readers.


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

David Pereda is an award-winning author who enjoys crafting political thrillers and mainstream novels. His books have won the Lighthouse Book Awards, the Royal Palm Awards, the National Indie Excellence Awards, and the Readers Favorite Awards. He has traveled to more than thirty countries around the world and speaks four languages. Before devoting his time solely to writing and teaching, Pereda had a rich and successful international consulting career with global giant Booz Allen Hamilton, where he worked with the governments of Mexico, Venezuela, Peru and Qatar, among others.

A member of MENSA, Pereda earned his MBA from Pepperdine University in California. He earned bachelor degrees in English literature and mathematics at the University of South Florida in Tampa. He loves sports and has won many prizes competing in track and show-jumping equestrian events.

Pereda lives with his youngest daughter Sophia in Asheville, North Carolina. He teaches mathematics and English at the Asheville-Buncombe Community College.

Visit him online at www.davidpereda.com

David will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour, and a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn host. Additionally, Goddess Fish Productions will be awarding a $5 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn host. Follow along for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway