Thursday, July 24, 2014

Linda K. Hopkins, author of 'Bound By a Dragon' tells us what we need to know about dragons



Important Facts about Dragons


Not all dragons are the same, and in fact, there are two different and distinct dragon species - the Asian dragon and the European dragon. These two species differ quite widely from each other. The first, the Asian dragon, is more serpentine in form, with a very long, sleek body. It has four legs and deer-like horns on its head, but it does not have wings, and they do not breathe fire. Asian dragons can control the air around them, and it is through this ability that they can take flight.

European dragons, on the other hand, have much larger, bulkier bodies and huge wings which allow them to fly over vast distances. They also have very long and incredible strong tails. If you have read Bound by a Dragon, you will know that the dragons in this story are European dragons. The rest of this discussion pertains specifically to the European dragon.

As we know, dragons can breathe fire and flame. The reason for this is that dragons are created from fire. Their very essence is fire, and their physical form contains the flame. If you draw close to a dragon, you will feel the heat that emanates from its skin. Although a dragon can keep the flame contained, it will breathe fire when roused by anger or any other strong emotion. If you find yourself near an angry dragon, run for water!

The neck, back, tail, and legs of a dragon are covered in tough, overlapping scales, creating an impenetrable armor. It is almost impossible to harm a dragon by attacking the backside of the creature. The underside of the dragon, the stomach, is covered in thick, leathery skin. It is still very difficult to harm a dragon from the front, since dragons will naturally protect this more vulnerable area.

Dragons have huge wingspans which allow them to glide on air currents for very long distances. It is commonly believed that dragons have leathery wings, like that of a bat, but the wings of a dragon are actually far finer. If you get a chance to examine a dragon's wings closely, you will see that the wing surface seems woven from many strands of something resembling very strong silk, resulting in a very thin, but incredible strong surface. The wings are also very light, and can easily be folded against the dragon's back. The wings catch and reflect light so that when the dragon is seen in flight is often shines and glimmers.

The dragon in Bound by a Dragon is gold, but dragons come in almost any color, and this coloring is passed through the genes. The rarest dragon color is white, although there have been a very small number of reported sightings of albino dragons.

Dragons tend to live very long lives, and it is not uncommon for dragons to live five or six hundred years. The oldest reported dragon lived to 897 years, but since this is based on oral tradition, reported by humans living in the same vicinity as the dragon and passed from one generation to another, this is very difficult to verify.

It is often said that dragons are cunning and sly, but this is not strictly true. Like humans, dragons have individual personalities and character traits, so while some may be cunning, others will exhibit more benevolent attributes. They are known to be intelligent, and with such long lives have developed a very accurate understanding of humankind.

Dragons are carnivores and require vast amounts of meat to live, but dragons have been known to eat meat other than human flesh, such as beef, mutton and venison. It would seem that dragons can exist for long periods without feasting on human flesh, although they do seem to have a need for it once in a while. Whether this is because they prefer the taste of human flesh or because they need it to survive is not understood.

The most interesting quality about dragons is the properties of their blood. It has long been understood that dragon blood has the ability to heal even potentially fatal wounds, but it is not understood how this occurs. Further study may reveal the answer to this perplexing question, but since dragons are not very accommodating in allowing scientists samples of their blood, the answers may still be a long time coming. What we do know is, if you can get your hands on dragon blood, hang on to it for all you are worth.


Bound by a Dragon
By
Linda K. Hopkins

BLURB:

The dragon turned its head and seemed to look straight at Keira. Pulling her arm out of her sister’s, she drew herself upright and stared straight back, meeting the golden eye of the dragon before it turned its enormous body in a slow, fluid motion and lazily flew towards the mountains.

A dragon has moved into the neighborhood of Keira's small, medieval village, unsettling the residents as they fear for their safety. All except Keira, who is fascinated by the creature, both dangerous and beautiful. But when Aaron Drake decides to take up residence in his ancestral home of Storbrook Castle, set deep in the nearby mountains, Keira finds herself unsettled by the handsome stranger. Why did he decide to move to Storbrook, almost eighty years after it was last inhabited, and does the dragon really live in the caves below the castle?

Read an excerpt:
As she watched the mighty beast before her, the dragon bent its neck into a graceful arch downward, bringing its face closer to Keira’s eye level, its golden cat-like eyes watching her intently. Keira quelled the desire to step back, instead keeping her feet firmly planted as she continued to gaze at the dragon.

“Why did you take me?” she finally asked, shuddering at the thought of what might have been. She lifted her hand to her cheek, feeling the sting of scratches scored down her face. A flash of sharp teeth made her draw in her breath as the dragon replied with a growl.

“I’m sorry Keira,” it said. “I should have been there sooner. When I think of what that boy was about to do …” The dragon stopped and pulled in a breath. “I shouldn’t have left him alive!”

Keira trembled at the thought. “But why?” she said. “What does it matter to you?”

The dragon stared at her for a long moment, until finally it breathed out a sigh, sending sparks flaring from its nostrils. “Come closer, Keira,” it said.

Keira hesitated, wondering what the dragon intended to do with her.

“I’m not going to hurt you,” the dragon said.

She looked at the mighty beast before her and suppressed a shudder. Its claws rested on the ground, razor-sharp and menacing. She could see its pointed teeth and knew that it could rip her to shreds in an instant, or burn her to a crisp with one hot breath. One swipe of its massive tail could send her flying through the air, or leave her broken on the ground. Keira knew that the dragon could wield mighty power with barely any effort, striking fear into the hearts of many brave men. But as she looked at the dragon, gazing into eyes that blazed like the fire it breathed, she felt her fears slowly melt away.

Buy links



AUTHOR INFORMATION:
Linda K. Hopkins lives in Calgary, Canada, with her husband and two great kids. When she's not writing, she's usually reading (a great pastime when you are trapped in a snowbound landscape eight months of the year!), tinkering on the piano or just living life!

Website
www.lindakhopkins.com

Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Linda-K-Hopkins/1425478964376327


The author will give away a $25 Amazon gift certificate via Rafflecopter. Follow the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

'Second Chance Bride' by Sandra Edwards ~ Read the Reviews!

SecondChanceBrideBanner

Second-Chance-Bride resizedBlurb:

After being jilted, practically at the altar, Genie Wainwright heads to Hawaii to escape the well-meant pity party her friends and family are bound to throw on her behalf. What she never expects is to find someone to help her mend her broken heart.

Donnie Taylor, owner of the posh Sapphire Bay Resort, has no interest in marriage—until he meets an unforgettable guest at the hotel. What starts out as a kindhearted gesture brings Donnie something he never expects—love!


Buy on:
Amazon | B&N | iTunes (Preorder on Aug 15th)
 

About the author:

Author Sandra EdwardsNEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY Bestselling Author Sandra Edwards writes award-winning romance in a variety of subgenres such as paranormal (mostly time travel and reincarnation), contemporary, and suspense. She lives in the U.S. (west coast) with her husband, two kids, four dogs and one very temperamental feline. Sandra's books often push the envelope and step outside the boundaries of conventional romance. For more info on Sandra's books, visit her website at www.sandrawrites.com. Sign up for Sandra's NEW RELEASE ALERT at http://bit.ly/1k31XDr.



Follow Sandra:

Facebook | Twitter


Read the Reviews 

Mama's Got Flair

My Mismatched World

For Him and My Family

The Mama Chronicles

Totally Random Family Gal

Niki's Book Blog

Enter to win a $25 Amazon GC from the Author. Open INT 18+, fill out the form to enter. Ends 8/10/14 @ 11:59 PM EST a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

'Strangers on a Bus' by Rob Manary


PROMO Blitz – Strangers on a Bus
Romantic Comedy / Memoir
Date Published: March 29, 2011

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

If you liked When Harry Met Sally, you'll fall in love with Robb and Gertrude from Strangers on a Bus...

Robb is crushed by a failed relationship with the love of his life and finds himself unexpectedly on a long bus trip from his adopted home in the U.S. back to his native Canada.

At the first stop in NYC, a girl gets on and so begins a contemplation of life, love, and strange events that will bring tears of laughter and heartache streaming down your face.

Is this girl Robb's real true love or just a rebound? How far can they get on a bus ride anyway?

This is a true story.



EXCERPT

Chapter 22
Things To Do in A Bus Stop Bathroom?

The sun started to come up as we crossed into Canada, and Gertrude told me we wouldn’t be making out once it was daylight. Lip dancing on a brightly lit bus was too “tacky” for her, and besides her lessons were having a not entirely unpleasant side effect on her.

I find it best to try not to understand women at all. But, there is one phenomenon that causes me more confusion than any of the other baffling behavior women indulge in.

When you tell a woman something and she doesn’t believe you, so you tell her the opposite, and she doesn’t believe that either, I like that.

So, you tell her the first thing you said was, indeed, the truth, and she doesn’t want to believe that one either.

Confused?

So am I. Here is the latest incarnation of this occurrence.
Gertrude: “All this kissing isn’t bothering you? You’ve got more restraint than any guy I’ve ever met. I thought you would have been trying to feel me up hours ago.”

Me: “Would it have worked?”

Gertrude: “Maybe, probably not. I think it’s nice. You’re a gentleman.”

Me: “Not really. Every time we stop I take care of that in the bathroom.”

Gertrude: “You’re such a pig! You washed your hands right! You’re so gross! You didn’t! Did you?”

Me: “I thought I was a gentleman! I lie! I lie! I lie! Of course I didn’t.”

Gertrude: “You’re such a pig! You did! Didn’t you? You’re so gross!”

Me: “Stop laughing at me if I’m so gross! I didn’t! I didn’t!”

Gertrude: “You did so! You’re such a pig!”

Me: “Okay. Fine. I did.”

Gertrude: “No you didn’t! You’re not that big a pig. Close. But no. You didn’t.”

Me: “I tell you I didn’t and you say I did. I tell you I did, and you say I didn’t. You’re such a weirdo.”

And then I kissed her, because the sun was rising quick, and because I couldn’t see another way to end that conversation. It is possible that debate could have gone on indefinitely, and there was no way I could prove conclusively what I had or had not done in a bus stop bathroom.

After what might be our last extended lip dancing lesson Gertrude whispered in my ear, “I was horny and wanted Dicky-bird…that is fun to say, so in the bathroom… I did.”

         



About the Author - Rob Manary

Robert Manary is an international playboy and man of mystery, with the charm and sophistication of James Bond shaken not stirred with a couple ounces of Cyrano de Bergerac, a dash of Rasputin, and garnished with the rapier wit of Thurston Howell the Third.

That's how he sees himself, anyway.

The truth is Robert Manary is a construct created to protect the dubious reputation of his Clark Kent like mild mannered writer/puppeteer/the man pulling the levers and breathing life into the Great and Powerful Oz (don't look too closely behind the curtain).

Robert Manary's alter ego dropped out of Radio Broadcasting College to pursue a lucrative career bartending at a seedy gentlemen's club, played around stocking shelves at a small grocery store until he screwed up badly enough to be given a promotion, and finally left the glamorous life of fighting with Parmalat representatives over the quantity of soy milk required for a small Northern Ontario town to function adequately, for the bright lights of New York.

Wow that was one long sentence!

Manary is also a master of the run-on sentence, an abuser of commas, and has no idea how to properly use this bit of punctuation: ";"

He also thinks he is much "cleverer" than he probably is.

Manary is an award winning blogger, an erotic romance novel writer, the author of a pretty decent romantic comedy, and for a brief period in the early nineties served as dictator of a small South American country.

Most of that is true.

New York, New York, if you can make it there you can make it anywhere. Manary couldn't make it there, and with only a little prompting from law enforcement agents returned to Canada, and chronicled the journey in that pretty decent romantic comedy mentioned in a paragraph above.

Manary is also an experimental artist who has no clue how to write an Author's Bio, and definitely no idea how to end one.


He has only been in love once, and that didn't work out so well, but he dreams and dreams of that girl he's loved all along.  Can a taste of love be so wrong?
P.S. He is also a shameless plunderer of pop culture.


Author Links



Buy Link



GIVEAWAY


 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

'Tesla's Imprint' by Kimberly Adkins



Tesla’s Imprint
by Kimberly Adkins

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Some things just can’t be erased.

Simon’s visions of a little girl are the only memories he has. Like an imprint on his heart, the visions cling. Who is she? Who is he for that matter? Tracked and hunted across the world, and in possession of a device that sets him apart from time and space, danger follows him at each turn.

He never meant to drag Tess into his drama. But with one slow, seductive dance in a candlelit night­club, that’s exactly what he’s done.

Tesla’s own heritage is a mystery in itself. Born of wealth into a corporation with no paper trail, she’s called back to take the helm. But what’s the nature of the business she’s supposed to lead? And how does it connect her to Simon?

Read an excerpt:
Simon leaned with his back against the door. The metal was searing hot through his layers of clothing, but he barely reacted to the burn. He understood the feeling that flooded through his being, the sense that the young woman from the nightclub was just on the other side of the frame. It was false, of course. Once the device opened the slice it automatically detached and became inactive. When the door closed she was a world away.

What am I thinking? He firmly banged his head against the solid door, tacky with hot paint. When he’d told her he made a promise, he couldn’t have been more serious – and more disturbed by his reaction to the encounter in the night club than he cared to admit to himself.

What could he possibly have to offer such a beautiful young woman after a dance like the one they shared? God, he didn’t even know who he was. The only thing he could even be sure about was that he was in danger, all the time.

He had to learn the truth about his past and why he knew the things he did without remembering them. Until then, the only thing he could be is a shadow on the edge of society. Everyone was safer that way.

He replayed the way she felt in his arms, how she stood on her toes to kiss his chin with her irresistible lips. She felt familiar to him in a way he hadn’t experienced for what seemed like a lifetime. It didn’t matter, though. He couldn’t let it matter. She was halfway across the world now, and all the better for it.

…besides, he had work to do.

http://amzn.to/1oPeuvZ


Author Bio and Links

Kimberly Adkins is an author and artist who spends her spare time working on worm hole theories so she can go back in time and enter Star Gate’s ‘Get in the Gate’ sweepstakes as many times as it takes to win.

Says Kimberly of romance, “Fate lines up to reward the faithful who believe that love holds a power beyond our understanding and dreams have a chance to come true.”

Website: www.kimberlyadkins.com

Twitter: twitter.com/authorkimberlya

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kimberly-Adkins/194607480611778

Kimberly will be awarding a Kindle version of Tesla's Imprint to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during this tour and the Book Blast tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

'Deep in Death (A Shelby Nicholas Adventure, Vol. 6)' by Colleen Helme



Deep in Death – Release Blitz
A Shelby Nichols Adventure – Volume 6
Paranormal Mystery
Date Published: July 22, 2014

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png
  
Running “errands” for her mob-boss employer, Joey “The Knife” Manetto, often ends with Shelby in trouble, making her cautious about continuing her association with him. Instead, she focuses on a new client who hires Shelby to find her missing mother. What seems like a routine case turns into something more sinister and deadly than she ever imagined. In the meantime, Uncle Joey has summoned Shelby to his office, where she runs into her former nemesis. Shelby inadvertently hears something that makes her fear for the lives of Uncle Joey and his hit-man, Ramos. This time, Uncle Joey is not sure he wants to involve Shelby in something he knows could get her killed. Keeping Shelby’s involvement to a minimum has disastrous results, sending Shelby on a dangerous path. As her investigation unfolds, Shelby finds death at every turn, and soon realizes she is in over her head. Can she escape from danger in time? Or will she find herself deep in death?


EXCERPT
A twinge of pain burned through my arm, and I gently rubbed the spot where I’d been shot nearly three weeks ago. Getting a shot in the arm may sound like a simple thing for most people, but when it’s done by a bullet, it’s a whole different story. At least it was healing nicely, and the scar wasn’t too big, but every once in a while my arm ached like it had happened yesterday, probably because I was overdoing it again. After a few seconds the pain subsided, and I finished pulling on my shirt and got dressed. 
Today was my first day back at work since the shooting, and I was ready to take on a new project. This time the job was a client from my consulting agency, which suited me just fine. My last job for Uncle Joey, the local mob-boss, had gotten me both arrested for murder and shot by a bullet in the arm, so I was a little nervous about doing anything for him again. 
A few months ago I had to tell Uncle Joey my secret that I could read minds so he wouldn’t kill me. We’d worked out a compromise, and over the course of our association, we’d even become close. Crazy as it sounded, I’d started to think of him as my real uncle, even though he wasn’t. Since most of his errands seemed to get me into trouble, he’d also saved my life a few times. Well, to be honest, it was his hit-man, Ramos, doing most of the saving. But it was Uncle Joey who’d told him to watch out for me. 
I sighed every time I thought of Ramos. He had a troubled past which only I knew about, and I’d helped him come to terms with it. Besides saving my life several times, there was also a physical attraction that I only dared admit out loud to my best friend, Holly. Of course after seeing him, she had a crush on him too, and since we were both happily married, I had to think it was all right. But with all of that going on, I had to wonder about myself. I mean, Uncle Joey was a big, bad mob-boss who had threatened to do me bodily harm, and Ramos was his hit-man. They were the bad guys and I had a soft spot in my heart for them. Was something wrong with me? 
My husband, Chris, had no qualms about severing all ties with Uncle Joey, and it put me in a hard spot trying to please them both. But since the last job, things had changed. After I got shot, Chris had a long talk with Uncle Joey, and I hadn’t heard from him in three weeks. In some ways it was a relief, but in others, I kind of missed him…and Ramos…well…mostly Ramos. Still, I wasn’t about to call and offer my services. Not considering what had happened last time. Nope. I wasn’t ready to get shot again. In fact, I would be pretty happy if I never saw another gun in my life. 
I took a deep cleansing breath and checked the time. I had an appointment with my client at ten this morning, and it was time to go. Her name was Tiffany and this was her senior year of college. Since I didn’t have a real office, I’d told her we could meet at the campus library in-between her classes, and with her busy schedule, meeting on campus worked out great for both of us. 
I drove through town with my windows down and breathed in the crisp fall air. It was the first part of October and the sky was the perfect color of blue. The trees were just beginning to change into brilliant autumn colors, and framed against the blue sky, the pure beauty and serenity lifted my spirits. With everything I’d gone through lately, I knew I was lucky to be alive. 
I parked at the visitor parking meters near the library and headed toward the front of the building. It had been several years since I’d been there last, and a wave of nostalgia washed over me. I’d only been to one year of college before I’d talked Chris into marrying me. It was love at first sight for me, but it had taken some gentle persuading on my part to help Chris see how perfect we were together. Right after our marriage, we’d gone off to law school in another state. Josh had been born exactly nine months later followed by Savannah two years after that. There were times when I regretted not finishing college back then, but I wouldn’t trade the life I had now for anything.I loved my family and, as it turned out, I had a pretty good career without a degree, and I was proud of what I’d accomplished. Of course, if I hadn’t gotten shot in the head during a bank robbery, which left me with the ability to read minds, it might be a different story. 
It was still hard for me to believe how my life had turned upside down simply because I’d stopped at the grocery store for some carrots. Who would have thought? Now I had my own consulting agency where I could get paid for helping people, and most of the time, all I had to do was read their minds. Not that it was always that easy, but after getting shot, I’d take some simple cases for a while. 
A young woman sat on a bench near the fountain where we’d planned to meet. Her gaze caught mine and her eyes widened slightly before she recognized me. As I approached, she smiled and gave me a quick wave. She had long blond hair and a sweet face, but her somber eyes seemed out of place for someone her age, like she’d gone through some hard times. 
Since she was a college student, I was a little nervous that she couldn’t afford my one-hundred-and-fifty-dollar-an-hour fee. But we’d talked about that before I agreed to meet her, and she’d seemed fine with it then. She stood to greet me. 
“Shelby Nichols? Hi. I’m Tiffany Shaw. Thanks for meeting me.” 
“Hi Tiffany, nice to meet you in person,” I answered. 
“I know this is kind of informal, but it’s such a beautiful day. Do you mind staying out here in the sunshine?” 
“I think that’s a great idea.” 
“Good.” She resumed her seat on the bench and I sat beside her. She was thinking that she wasn’t sure how to start. What she needed might not even be possible, but she’d read about me in the paper and figured if anyone could help her, it was me. She’d been saving up for years to hire a private investigator and wanted the best. After a little digging, she’d heard rumors that I had premonitions. It didn’t faze her in the least. In fact, after all this time, she thought it might be the only thing that would solve the case. She just had to make sure her dad didn’t find out, since he was the over-protective sort. He’d tell her she was throwing away her money, and probably accuse me of taking advantage of her. 
That certainly put a lot of pressure on me, and my stomach tightened with dread that her father would disapprove. But since she was thinking about not telling him, maybe he’d never need to find out. Considering her age and circumstances, I had hoped she’d hired me for something easy, like finding out if her roommate was after her boyfriend. But no, she was thinking about her mother, and that she was probably dead, and I knew nothing was ever as easy as I wished. 
“I’d like to hire you to find my mother.” Her lips tightened and pain flashed through her eyes. “You see…I’m getting married in a few weeks and I really want her to be there.” She didn’t add ‘if she’s still alive’ like she was thinking. 
She’d always imagined her mother would be at her wedding, and now that it was actually happening, she couldn’t stop wondering where her mom was and what had happened to her. The day her mother had gone missing was the worst day of her life, and thinking about it brought all the horror back, but she knew she would never move on unless she had some answers. 
“Tell me what happened,” I said gently. 
She took a deep breath. “It’s been nearly six years, and I know that’s a long time, but just hear me out before you decide if you can take the job or not.” 
“Okay.” I encouraged her with a smile. “Go on.” 
“Like I said…it will be six years on the twenty-eighth of October since she went missing. That night, she drove to the office where she worked to drop something off and never came back. They found her car parked in the parking structure with the keys in the ignition. Her purse was on the passenger seat. Nothing was taken, and there was no sign of a struggle. It was like she just disappeared off the face of the earth.” 
“What did the police tell you?” 
“Well…they dusted for prints, checked her office, put out a missing person’s report, questioned her colleagues at work, and brought my father in for questioning.” She hated that they had suspected him. He was innocent. He had nothing to do with it. He loved her mom. It still made her angry. It was part of what had made the day so bad. She not only lost her mother, but her father was never the same after that. 
“What happened to your father? Did they charge him with anything?” 
Tiffany shook her head. “No. They had no evidence that he was involved, but the police always suspect the husband first. So it was bad enough that my mom disappeared, but the fact that they thought my dad had something to do with it made it ten times worse.” 
She sighed, wondering for the thousandth time what kind of person she would be right now if she still had her mom. She’d probably be a lot happier, that was for sure. “My dad’s doing better now. He even got married a couple of months ago.” 
“That’s good,” I said. 
“Yeah.” She was glad he had finally moved on, and wished it was something she could do. But the ache just wouldn’t go away, especially with her upcoming wedding. This was the most important day of her life, and her mother should be there. So where was she? What had happened? Who had taken her? Why hadn’t she come home? 
In her heart, she knew her mother never would have left unless she was forced into it. Speculation from the police and others of affairs, with her mom running off with another man, only deepened the wound, and she wouldn’t believe any of it. That’s why a small part of her had to believe her mom was dead, but what if she wasn’t? What if someone was holding her captive? It could happen, and she just couldn’t give up until she knew for sure. 
“What did the police decide about the case?” I asked. 
“Officially, she’s missing and presumed dead. At least that’s what they declared so my dad could re-marry. I don’t know what happened to the case files. But I’m hoping you can dig them up and maybe find something that got passed over. I know it’s a long shot, but I’ve never had the resources to hire a private investigator until now. Do you think you could look into it for me?” 
I bit my bottom lip. The chances of finding out what happened at this point were pretty slim. My mind-reading ability wouldn’t be of much use, although I could still question her dad. Even though she didn’t think it was him, I’d learned that some people were really good at keeping secrets, and I wasn’t about to rule him out. I could probably get my hands on the police file and talk to the detectives who handled the case, but beyond that, I didn’t have much hope.


About The Author - Colleen Helme


As the author of the Shelby Nichols Adventure Series, Colleen is often asked if Shelby Nichols is her alter-ego. “Definitely,” she says. “Shelby is the epitome of everything I wish I dared to be.” Known for her laugh since she was a kid, Colleen has always tried to find the humor in every situation and continues to enjoy writing about Shelby’s adventures. “I love getting Shelby into trouble…I just don’t always know how to get her out of it!” Colleen lives in the Rocky Mountains with her family. Besides writing, she loves a good book, biking, hiking, and playing board and card games with family and friends. She loves to connect with readers and admits that fans of the series keep her writing.

Author Links



BUY LINKS



GIVEAWAY

$25 Amazon Gift Card


 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png

Monday, July 21, 2014

'The Reagan Casualties: Overseas Atrocities of the Great Communicator' by Jacob Klezaras



Blurb: 

In his 1985 State of the Union address, President Reagan famously proclaimed, "Freedom is not the sole prerogative of a chosen few; it is the universal right of all God's children." Despite this bold declaration, Reagan’s actions proved detrimental to the cause of human freedom all over the world. In this short but compelling polemic, Klezaras examines The Gipper’s record abroad from a perspective of human rights, shining light on his administration’s wrongdoings from Haiti to Iraq. President Reagan, the facilitator of genocide, the sponsor of terrorism, the abettor of death squads and steadfast ally of despots and warlords far and wide is summarily exposed – and the myth of Ronald Reagan as a crusader for global liberty is expertly laid to rest.

http://amzn.to/1sF8a0u

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Rejection sucks, but does it have to? Thoughts by Maggie Thom, author of 'Tainted Waters'



Rejection Sucks... But Does It Have To?

By Maggie Thom

Rejection, even the word doesn't sound very nice. Unfortunately it is one of the harsh realities of the world we live in - someone is going to reject something that has to do with you. They're not going to like something you wear, you do, you say, you act, you write... The sad truth is that often we take it personally as being rejected, as not being good enough...

And that's what will keep you stalled.

First you need to look at what you consider rejection. Within the first three days of my book, Captured Lies being published, someone bought and then returned the ebook. My first reaction was, 'Oh my God, it's true, I'm no good.' It didn't matter that I had several other sales and people telling me how much they loved the book. Thankfully I didn't stay in that place of not being good enough, very long. All it meant was that my book wasn't for that person. Which is okay. Ironically at the same time this person was returning the ebook, I got a five star review on Amazon from another reader. Funny how the positive always loses out to the negative, right? I was excited about the five star but it was still overshadowed by the returned ebook.

We seem to be so programmed to look at the negative no matter how small or insignificant. What that meant for me was that I was allowing someone else to judge me and to determine if I was any good or not. And I was listening.

Once I recognized that, I was able to stop that. I reminded myself that it just meant my story wasn't what that person was looking for. It's no different than when I read a story and like it where others don't or I don't like it where others do. And that's okay. We all have different tastes, likes and dislikes. As an author, I know that my stories appeal to those who love fast-paced suspense/thrillers. So that is the audience I want to find.

If someone criticizes, judges or puts down my book I will see if there is anything constructive in what they are saying that I can apply to my work to improve my work otherwise I let it go. It's their stuff. Not mine. And if someone does criticize, judge or put down my writing, again it's not about me. Writing is something I do and I strive to improve it all the time but it does not define who I am. Someone's thoughts and feelings about my writing DOES NOT define who I am. It took me a long time to separate myself from that. In fact, it was getting to that point that was what finally gave me the impetus to leap into publishing.

Do not take the negative personally. Learn from what others says but remove the emotional attachment.

Remember your gift is something you do, it is not who you are.

What is your experience with rejection?


Suspense/Thriller
Date Published:
April 2013

He didn’t commit suicide but who’s going to believe her...

Frustrated at being fired from her latest job and overwhelmed by her consolatory family, Sam decides to move to the family’s cabin at the lake. A place she hasn’t been since her dad committed suicide there, twenty years before. Or did he? Snooping is something she’s good at but someone seems to be taking offense to her looking too closely at what has been happening at the lake. What she discovers is shocking. Now she must uncover what’s real and what’s not. All that she learned growing up, may be false.

Keegan, who has recently moved to the area to finish his latest book, is also trying to find out if his grandfather, who’d passed away ten years before, died of natural causes or was murdered? The descendants of the four families, who own the land around the lagoon, are dying off.

Since Sam and Keegan are the only ones questioning the deaths, they find themselves working together to seek the truth. Are people being murdered? Who would benefit from their deaths? Why would there be barricades and armed guards at the north end of the lake? To stay alive, Sam and Keegan must find the answers and convince others, before more people are killed... including them.

Read an excerpt:
Was any of it enough to want to kill Sam? 
He supposed if she was digging up dirt on the guy that he’d paid to bury, maybe. Frustrated he shoved his hand through his unruly curls only to wince in disgust as he felt the greasy build up. He needed a shower. He took his laptop, quietly tiptoed to his bed, set it down and then went back for the case. Knocking it over, his air stick fell out. Annoyed that he’d missed it the first time, he shoved it into the laptop. Within a few minutes, he saw that Harry had made a few more phone calls that had downloaded before he’d grabbed it from the cabin. Deciding he might as well take a quick shower, he would then reset the stuff up and listen to it after. He clicked to close the program but the computer didn’t seem to respond. There was a little circle spinning on his screen but nothing was happening. Sam’s deep, endearing blow-out breaths were still steady. Not wanting to waste the opportunity and figuring he’d be back in time, he climbed in the shower. After knocking his elbows a few times, he realized that since they weren’t at the Ritz things like shampoo and soap weren’t a given. He scrubbed his hair, face and body as best he could with his hands, partly to stave off the chill of the cool water and partly to remove all the sweat and dirt clinging to him. Within a few minutes he was drying himself with a threadbare hand towel, which made him think the housekeeping staff or the owner had a hell of a sense of humor.


He’d been so deep in thought about all that was going on and the relief of finally being clean, that the sounds coming from the bedroom didn’t register for a few minutes. 
‘...heart attack...’ 
‘Sam...' 
‘...it’s done...’ 
He jerked on his pants, yanked open the door and dove for the bed, hitting the off button. That silenced it but the computer froze. His relief was short-lived when he realized that Sam's gentle snoring was also gone. Looking over his shoulder, with the bathroom light spotlighting her - she was sitting up, her knees drawn to her chest. Her eyes black obsidian, never leaving his face. 
“Uh...”

Book of the Year 2013 - Suspense and Thriller Turning the Pages Magazine

"I LOVED this book! It was fast paced and had me gripped from the start….. And talk about twists! Just when I thought I knew where this story was leading…… Bang!….. Plot twist!..." Orchard Book Club

"... Exciting story, loved the beginning introduction to Sam. She is a firecracker and had me chuckling... Another wonderful read from Maggie Thom..." Musing from an Addicted Reader

"...the book will truly keep you on the edge of your seat unable to pry yourself from it... Maggie brilliantly creates suspense and the atmosphere of unease..." The Most Happy Reader

"...What makes Tainted Waters by Maggie Thom stick out from the crowd is that you really don’t know exactly what you’re getting into..." The Queen of All She Reads

Buy links

About the author:

Award winning author, Maggie Thom, took the challenge and leapt off, leaving a fulltime, twenty year career in management, to write full time. After publishing her first suspense/thriller book Captured Lies, October 2012, she published her second novel, Tainted Waters, April, 2013. Tainted Waters went on to win 2013 Suspense and Thriller Book of the Year through Turning the Pages Magazine and Captured Lies won book of the Month through LAS Reviews (February 2014). She published her third novel, Deceitful Truths (The Caspian Wine Series - Book 2), March 2014. An avid reader and writer her whole life, she decided to break the monotony of wishing to be an author by making it happen. She is a wholehearted nature lover and likes nothing better than to take a book, hike to a remote spot by a river or waterfalls and read. Married to her best friend, she is learning that humor, love and patience help her navigate her way through her twins’ teen years. Her motto: Escape to read and Read to escape. "Maggie Thom writes a fast paced thriller laced with romance that keeps the reader interested and on edge!" InDtale Magazine

Links:

Website: www.maggiethom.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMaggieThom

Twitter: https://twitter.com/maggiethom2

Blog: http://maggiethom.wordpress.com/the-write-to-read/

Google +: https://plus.google.com/+MaggieThom/posts

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/maggiethom2/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6549592.Maggie_Thom

a Rafflecopter giveaway