Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Axone by Jeff Comer



Axone


Josh Coleman is an engineer who finds himself moving between alternate versions of his life, each one seemingly as real as the others. His only hope of finding an answer to his strange predicament may rest with a mysterious woman who appears in each of his lives.




Read an excerpt:
“I came to see if I could drag you away from here. It is the Fourth of July after all. I wanted to see the fireworks show on Lake Union but my husband decided he’d rather stay home. Why don’t you come with me?” Robin said. 
Josh thought about the last time he had seen “his” Robin, back in the car as they were leaving Henderson on their way to Seattle. That was also the Fourth of July weekend. Now he had relived the same six months over again. 
“Sure,” he replied. “It’s still pretty early. We could grab a bite to eat first. I know a great Thai place on University Avenue.” 
“You read my mind. Again,” she said. 
Josh quit the program and gathered up his coat and backpack. 
“Don’t you want an umbrella?” Robin asked. “The clouds I saw outside look pretty ominous.” 
“I doubt it’s going to rain very much, especially in July. Besides, no true Northwesterner carries an umbrella.” 
“Have it your way,” Robin replied. “At least I’m dragging you away from that computer for a while, it’s worth the risk of pneumonia.” 
“How can I say no that that face?” 
“You can’t.” 
They went down the hall and out the door to the building. Josh looked up and the sky was dark and foreboding. It was not unusual to have summer rains in Seattle by any means, but he had never seen clouds like this before in July. 
“I hope we don’t get drenched at the show,” Josh said. 
“Reconsidering your position already? I may share my umbrella if you are really nice to me,” Robin said with a playful tone. 
“I may just have to bribe you with fresh shrimp rolls.” 
Robin looked delightedly surprised. “Did I tell you that is my absolute favorite dish?” 
“Lucky guess I suppose.” They were crossing campus, nearing the University's famous red-brick plaza known as Red Square. 
“You have a knack for those, I’ve noticed.” 
“Well we have put in a lot of hours on this project together, I suppose it’s only natural we’d get to know each other’s idiosyncrasies pretty well.” 
“It seems like more than that sometimes,” She glowed with affection. “It’s like you know me even better than my husband.” 
“Careful there,” Josh said, as he took hold of her elbow. “These bricks are notoriously slippery when it’s drizzly weather.” 
They both paused for a moment in Red Square. Robin pulled her arm away from Josh’s grasp and then placed her hand on top of his. 
“I just want you to know,” she said. “You are much more than a coworker to me. You’ve become a good friend.” 
Josh felt his pulse quicken as he felt her hand. There was so much he longed to tell her, but he knew he could not. 
“I feel the same. I can’t believe it has only been six months, but this time has meant a lot to me also, professionally and personally. Holy shit, I just realized. DIG released the game yesterday that had my fix. It totally slipped my mind.” 
“There you go again, changing the subject just when we have one of our moments.” Robin was smiling as though she was being playful again, but she was once again studying Josh’s face for a response. 
“Sorry,” he replied. The first drops of rain started to fall. 
Robin had barely opened her umbrella when the rainfall became heavy. She stood close to him, holding the umbrella over both of them. 
“Well ok then. I will allow you to stay here if you admit that I was right. And that I am the most amazing woman you’ve ever met.” Her impish grin had returned. Josh stood for a moment, close enough to smell the familiar scent of her hair and feel the heat from her body. It made him long once again for the intimacy they had shared in the other life. The raindrops were tapping loudly. 
“You are the most amazing woman I’ve ever met, Robin.” 
They stood for a moment in silence. Her hand found his again. 
He started moving closer, knowing it was not right. Her gaze did not leave his. The tapping of the rain became louder. His focus broke when he began to listen to the sound of the rain over his head. It was starting to sound odd. 
Instead of the usual sound of rainfall, the tapping on the umbrella had somehow become very orderly, almost rhythmic. He recognized the pattern. It was the staccato sound he’d heard before—once when he was in Dunsmore’s office, and the second time when he was in the car with Robin Arnette. 
“Are you ok?” Robin asked. 
The other sounds had become quieter as the staccato became stronger and more insistent. Now he could barely hear Robin. 
He glanced up to look at the umbrella over his head in the direction of the sound. But when he looked up, he saw only blue sky. 
He was standing on the beach again, next to a palm tree whose fronds waved gently in the breeze. He looked in front of him and saw a long sandy beach with an ocean that had an almost impossibly perfect horizon. Dark thunderhead clouds were in the distance. 
Then just as suddenly, he found himself sitting in a darkened room. He blinked as his eyes adjusted to the sudden darkness..."

http://amzn.to/2gmA1CV


About Jeff Comer


Jeff Comer is a biologist, computer scientist and author who still prefers the term Renaissance Man to polymath, and dares to aspire towards becoming that. He draws on his experiences in Africa, biomedical research and programming to craft novels that look at the way that the human experience intersects with technology.

Read an excerpt from Letting Go by A.L. Awtrey


lettinggobooktour


letting_go_2000x3000
Despite his wealth, Alex Thompson has been living in fear since his wife died in childbirth. A frivolous wrongful death lawsuit, harassing phone calls, and anonymous threats drive him and his five-year-old twins away from their home in Houston and into the crosshairs of a snMolly McDill is a struggling single mom who lives next door to Alex and his twins. When she helps them adjust to their new life in the country, she exposes herself and her son to the same threat that followed Alex.

An attempt on his life throws their lives into chaos, inviting more threats, public scrutiny, and Molly's ex-husband back into her life. The tension tests the attraction they feel toward each other as they struggle to keep life normal for their kids.

Alex still doesn't know who wants him dead but suspects his former in-laws. As the threats become a visceral danger, Alex and Molly race to uncover the secret that died with his wife before it costs them everything.


Read an excerpt:
A week after Alex started the fence project, Molly had the kids in the kitchen making their own pizzas for lunch when Alex came in through the back door. 
“Daddy! I’m makin’ a pizza with marshmallows and pineapple!” Hannah had flour all over her hands and face from rolling out the dough. Her small pizza was covered with sauce, cheese, and topped with her less traditional ingredients. 
“Wow, that sure looks… interesting,” Alex said with a helpless smile at Molly. 
“I tried to talk her out of it, but she’s determined,” Molly whispered to him, leaning closer to enjoy his masculine scent. “I’ll keep an eye on hers to make sure the marshmallows don’t catch fire.” 
Alex stepped over to inspect the boys’ creations. “And what have you two made?” 
“Mine is an alien,” Manny said as he pointed out the pepperoni eyes, olive nose, and hammy lips laid over its cheesy skin. 
“I made a race car,” Will said. “It’s got tomato wheels and a pepperoni body.” 
“What about us?” Alex asked Molly with an easy grin. 
“You and I get regular old pepperoni and cheese, unless you want to mix it up,” she replied. 
“That sounds wonderful,” he said as he poured himself a glass of her sweet tea from the pitcher in the middle of the island. “I never used to like sweet tea, but something about working in the sun all day makes me crave your tea now.” 
Molly blushed from the compliment as she watched him drain the first glass and pour another.

Buy on Amazon



About A.L. Awtrey


a_l_awtrey_authorAfter working more than twenty years as a technologist and scientist, Anthony started writing fiction again for the first time since college. Developing white paper studies and proposals for years provided a foundation in technical writing, but telling a compelling story was much harder than it appeared.

Four years of practice where he wrote eight novels and dozens of short stories improved his dialog, description, tension, and pacing. With his latest novel, Letting Go, Anthony is ready to release it under his own name. He’s a member of the Central Florida Chapter of the Romance Writers of America and Florida Writers Association.

When he’s not writing, Anthony is the CTO of a technology consultancy and a professional singer.

Follow Anthony Awtrey
Enter to win a prize pack from the author - Signed paperback, swag, and audiobook. Must be 18+ Continental US




Love Romantic Suspense?

Join A.L. Awtrey with other authors for a Facebook Party November 30
romanticsuspensefixed


Follow the Book Tour

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Unexpected (Short Stories From Around the World) by P.F. Citizen One

unexpectedtour-banner

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-7-11-05-pmA series of short, true life stories, which are the product of the travels and observations of one man. The stories are a miscellaneous collection of the funny and sad, of tragedy, love and friendship. And they are all, in a way, unexpected.

Unexpected takes you on a journey from a Brazilian working on the oil rigs of Venezuela, who gets the shock of his life, to the uplifting story of a Chinese beggar living on the streets, entertaining passers-by with his songs and surviving through the mercy and kindness of others.

There is a story for each of us in this book. Each one is subtly different and each carries either a message of hope for lost, or of caution for the unwary.

Unexpected is just that. Just as life is and just as the course of our lives run, at times unexpectedly.

Buy on Amazon



screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-7-15-00-pmP.F. Citizen One is a writer. He works as a petroleum engineer, which requires a lot of traveling to different countries, and he uses the situations and varied people he has come across as an inspiration for his great love of writing. His interest in travel has meant that he has picked up some useful languages along the way, and he is now fluent in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish and German, allowing him to go just about anywhere and still be understood. Most of the time. He lists his great fear as ''being stranded alone on a desert island'' and, as a result, he avoids traveling by boat whenever he can.

P.F. Citizen One’s new book, Unexpected, was published on October 7th and is a book of short stories, inspired by his travels throughout the world and the people he has met.

 

Follow the Book Tour


Type 2 Diabetes: The Owner's Manual by Daryl Wein FREE 11/29 - 12/3



Type 2 Diabetes


Daryl Wein discovered he was among the millions of patients with type 2 diabetes while studying to become a Physician Assistant. That's when he found out that, despite type 2 diabetes making up the vast majority of cases, most of the reading material he could find was geared toward patients with type 1 diabetes. Type 2 Diabetes The Owner's Manual is his way of fixing that. 

This handbook is an easy-to-read guide on how to manage your blood sugar primarily through diet. It is written clearly and concisely, explaining the difference between the two diseases in a way that is easy to grasp. You don't have to be a health professional to understand the book. Wein includes concrete examples of what to eat and what to avoid. He talks about the importance of exercise and provides information about medicines in a way that the layman can comprehend without needing to know medical terminology. The book also includes a useful question-and-answer section that covers a variety of specifics about type 2 diabetes to help you make sense of it all. 

Wein knows about the frustration and fear diabetics feel, because he's been there. As he explains in the book, when he experienced blurred vision and other health problems while studying to become a Physician Assistant, he discovered that he was among the millions diagnosed each year with type 2 diabetes. 

"There was no mistake: I was now a diabetic!" he writes. "I sat down and started crying, not something I would ordinarily allow myself to do." 

He goes on to describe how a mentor told him that diabetes can usually be managed easily. He made sure to explain that failing to control it can lead to serious health problems including blindness, kidney failure, and limb amputations. He offered hope. 

Wein's book offers the same message of hope, along with a somber reminder that failing to control diabetes can lead to premature death. He provides readers with the right information to help make sure they understand that this doesn't have to happen to them. 

The author also makes clear the difference between type 1 and type 2 diabetes, suggesting that type 2 diabetes needs to have a new name. That name should be "carbosis," he argues, which gets right to the point that type 2 diabetes is a disease where the body does not process carbohydrates correctly. He has conveniently included tabular lists of many foods, showing the carbohydrate content of each. 

"My intent in writing this book is to finally provide a source of information geared specifically for you and me, along with the millions of others with this disease and the many millions who have it but don't yet know it," he writes. "This book is designed primarily to provide clear guidance for patients." You don't have to be a health expert to manage the disease. Wein lays it out to his patients, about eighty percent of whom, he estimates, have well-controlled blood sugar levels. Type 2 Diabetes The Owner's Manual can be your step-by-step guide on how to control your disease. Let this book help you manage type 2 diabetes rather than letting the disease manage you.




http://amzn.to/2f6reBd
FREE 11/29-12/3





A few of the eye-opening pieces of advice given by Wein in his highly-respected book include:

  • There is no need to consume any sugar or starches at all
  • Natural fruit and fruit juices are not good for diabetics
  • Avoid all forms of alcohol when trying to lose weight
  • The only fats known to be harmful are trans-fats which are mainly found in shortening and margarine
  • Eating fat does not make you fat and eating fat has never been directly associated with heart disease
  • Brown sugar has never been healthier than white sugar, only less pure
  • There are almost no carbs in any of the artificial sweeteners so they do not contribute to the elevation of blood sugar.
  • Monitoring your sugar 2-3 times a day with a finger stick test is costly and a complete waste of time.


About Daryl Wein

A native of Niles, Michigan, Wein earned a degree as a Medical Technologist/Clinical Laboratory Scientist from USC Medical Center in 1978 and earned a degree as a Family Practice Physician Assistant from UC Davis School of Medicine in 1999. Since 1999, while working as a PA with Dr. David Olson and Dr. Elaine Madayag in internal medicine, Wein also worked as a PA at Stanislaus County Urgent Care, Oak Valley Hospital ER, Central California Bariatric Surgery, as a contractor for California Correctional Health Care System, and for rural health clinics run by Oak Valley Clinics. He also has has done some software development, and is credentialed in California to teach community college classes.

Saturday, November 26, 2016

NOW AVAILABLE Rebound (Bending the Rules) by A.M. Wray



NOW AVAILABLE!


Rebound (Bending the Rules)


Jax...

Why did he have to be so perfect? After a terrible breakup, I wanted nothing to do with dating of any kind. Trust was not a quality that I was blessed with at that moment, but that didn't stop him. 

He was the best friend that I'd ever had, but that wasn't all I wanted. I felt terrible about it, but I couldn't help it. I told myself that the last thing that I needed was a rebound, but after that night... Well - I just can't seem to stop myself.


http://amzn.to/2fG178t
**Please note the author's message that the length of the novel and time to read are both inaccurate and she is working with Amazon to fix that.**

About A.M. Wray


A.M. Wray is the Contemporary Romance name for author Candy Crum. She lives with her two young boys and her Harlequin Great Dane, Harley Quinn.

A lover of many genres, Candy Crum writes Paranormal Romance, YA (Romance and Fantasy), Fantasy, and even a little horror. Under A.M. Wray, she covers Contemporary Romance, Erotica, and Thrillers.

Candy loves art and enjoys drawing, playing around and learning PhotoShop, and writing/reading. More than anything she loves hearing from her fans and connecting with them. She even has a newsletter (accessible on her website) that offers freebies for loyal fans.


Email: candycrum@candycrumbooks.com

Website: www.candycrumbooks.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/amandamwray

www.facebook.com/candycrumbooks

Twitter: @TheEternalGift

@CandyCrumBooks

Friday, November 18, 2016

Christmas Belles and Mistletoe (Love on Kissing Bridge Mountain #6) by Linda West


Christmas Belles and Mistletoe


There's nothing like Christmas in Kissing Bridge. When their family legendary blue ribbon winning recipe is stolen, the Landers sisters are up in arms as to what to do to break the curse and win the Silver Bells cookie contest. 

All of our favorite people in Kissing Bridge weave in and out of this adorable story about love, faith and a little magic.

The curse must be broken and love restored when Summer finds out that her Aunt Amelia has a normal family - with men. Because the curse had caused the rest of them to always lose the men they loved, Summer will stop at nothing to find out the answer to ending the curse once and for all. Her mother however has forsaken men for her blue ribbon cookie crown. Cookies you can count on, men not so much .

Meanwhile Mrs. Beaverton has gone crazy and is accosting the men of Kissing Bridge at every turn and bend where ever an innocent mistletoe lurks. It’s a wonderful fun holiday romance filled with cozy mysteries and cookie contests! What more could you want?

This is the last book in the "Love on Kissing Bridge Mountain" series. Each of the books in the series are complete stand alone clean and wholesome love stories.




Rave reviews!

"Enchanting and delightful Christmas spirit! My favorite romance of 2016! Absolutely loved it!" Olivia Dayton - Inspiration Times

”Original, unique and captivating! Simply enchanting, adorable and Christmas filled!" D.C. Air NY 
”Loved, loved loved this book! I’m going back and reading them all!” CP Daily 
”Everything I wanted in a feel good holiday romance with clean stories that leave you happy. I cried at the end it was so inspirational and touching! Thank you Linda West!" G. Browning Kindle Good Books. 
"I want to move to Kissing Bridge Mountain! I wish my town was as fun and Christmas obsessed! Super fun and thanks for showing that seniors can fall in love too!" Gladys Gershwin UT 
"I really enjoy the way Linda West writes in a different and sometimes first person point of view. I really feel that I know the people in Kissing Bridge personally and I find it a very refreshing style choice!" Doc Holiday 
"I couldn't wait for this book to come out! I've read all six of the books about the different love stories that happen on Kissing Bridge Mountain and I will really miss the fun and friendship of these lovely people I've come to know! Don't stop writing please!"  F. McDonald CA

"Linda West never fails to deliver a feel good and lighthearted romance that makes you smile. Very uplifting!" Barb Branson GA

"In this day and age, it seems every author has to resort to steamy sex scenes to keep a reader's interest. It is so nice to have an author that actually has a plot that interests you, and characters that you fall in love with. I will continue to read this author's books." Joy Neville - TX

Friday, November 4, 2016

The Booklovers by Monica Palmer FREE 11/4




The Booklovers


Jasper is a romance author who writes under a female pen name...his books receive rave reviews from most everyone except a Twitter reviewer named booklover777...The critic bashes his books, saying that his books know nothing of romance or women. Jasper grows exasperated but his anxiety is relieved by a chance meeting with a woman named Sloane. She is everything he's ever wanted; kind, caring and attentive...until he finds out that she has a side gig as a blogger...she's booklover777...his biggest critic...