Monday, March 18, 2019

Legend of Song de Light by Kaitlynzq Audio Book Blast


Welcome to the book blast for Legend of Song de Light by Kaitlynzq! This one is for those of you who like to listen to a book on occasion, instead of just reading them all the time. Enjoy a written excerpt from this poetic story and find out how you can download it to enjoy yourself! Plus there's a great giveaway with eight winners at the end. Leave comments and questions for the author as you follow the tour for more chances to win!



Legend of Song de Light

The stories within Legend of Song de Light
connect, unfold, interweave many character’s stories needs, feelings, desires, dreams

their threads as two crescent moons connected under the firelights
that layer the chords, and form the lyrics

all of you entered my world as dawn’s awakening sky of soft palette my garnet heart melted in iridescence to bloom in sun’s rays glow in night’s depth as the stars echo the rhythm of my heart my insides sigh and expand in delight harmonious blend as our lives circle the melody


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Information for the audio book: Recorded in Kaitlynzq’s voice with a blend of music like a heart’s wave into downloadable mp3 files.

An audio book that is interwoven in the Lovecontu Song de Light Lovecontu series that includes

  • Ancient Script of Lovecontu audio poem
  • Legend of Song de Light audio book Legend of Song de Light audio play
  • Lovecontu Song de Light Lovecontu audio set
Vocal Synopsis: https://youtu.be/j2XiCz03N0Y


Read an excerpt:
“...I awoke to a sonic dream of rhapsody ensemble, hummingbird wings, and chimes that were the arrangement…”


“...Again and again I muted the caution sign, and proceeded with Kamille, but my mind got even more insistent as I thought of telling her...”


“...Those chrysanthemums burst a duet of color that are silk to the touch, and bring visions of a certain lady, but I haven’t returned to the garden since that day in May...”


About Kaitlynzq

My fictional stories are written from the inside view of a character’s interior heart-that beautiful, vulnerable, intimate space feelings, desires, needs, dreams a blend of delicate feather ripples of heart waves needs, feelings, dreams, desires quiet, gentle heart strings tender, continuous soft, vulnerable air mist circles, weaves to caress a sonic sea of heart’s breath

Woven into audio books that are recorded in my voice with a medley of music as a heart’s wave into downloadable mp3 files;

audio plays adapted from the audio books, and layered into pdf files like a heart’s song;

audio poems that are multiple poems designed to connect to form a story as a heart’s breath;

and audio sets that are sets of these interconnected stories with elements from each story that interweave in one another as heart’s wave, heart’s song, heart’s breath.

https://kaitlynzq.com/
https://kaitlynzq.boutique/

#kaitlynzq

Social Media

blog and vlog posts by Kaitlynzq

blog: https://kaitlynzq.com/blog/

vlog: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFAc7uEIdMGMrxLFzym5y6g

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18554610.Kaitlynzq


Contact Information
melodicprose@kaitlynzq.com  and  any way noted on my contact page


Available to Purchase on my Website that is supported by two URL addresses:


Direct Links on my Website to the story:

https://kaitlynzq.com/legend-of-song-de-light-audio-book

https://kaitlynzq.boutique/legend-of-song-de-light-audio-book/



Kaitlynzq will be awarding 2 $15 gift cards to her book boutique, 2 $10 gift cards to her book boutique, and 4 $4 Gift Card to her book boutique to randomly drawn commenters via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 7, 2019

Now Available! Hopefully Matched: Made in Heaven by Ginny Sterling



Hopefully Matched


Married at the brink of the Civil War, young Ava Buchannan dutifully bids farewell to her new husband as any proper southern woman would. The problem is she never dreamed that it would be the last time she ever saw him. In her heart, she knew she should wait for his return, yet her mind told her differently. In the seven years that have passed since her marriage, she’s seen other women move forward with their lives. Yet she is trapped maintaining the family business of undertaker for the town of Maypearl, Texas. Seeing so much death, having no prospects of happiness, and a squeamish constitution were all taking their toll on her… until hope arrived in the form of a letter.

Desperate for a fresh start after the war, Jeremiah Ellington responded to an ad in the paper for a job. His home had been razed, his family gone, and he had only the items on his back to begin his life again. When he received a response to the ad for an assistant to the town’s undertaker, it seemed to be a perfect solution for a former surgeon in the army. One look at the lovely undertaker and his dead heart came alive. Jeremiah would do anything to have Ava in his life, including making her forget her long lost husband.

Can Ava let down her guard enough to begin to enjoy the life around her? Can Jeremiah find a way to break through the shell that is protecting her heart as they are suddenly hopefully matched together.

Available on Amazon
Just 99 cents for a limited time!

I am an Amazon affiliate, so if you make a purchase through this link, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for supporting my websites!


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Review of Carrying the Greek Tycoon's Baby by Jennifer Faye

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to my stop on the book tour for Carrying the Greek Tycoon's Baby by Jennifer Faye! I had the opportunity to read this book and am sharing my review with you below. Be sure to also check out the rest of the tour, which has excerpts and even more reviews. Plus check out the freebies and giveaway!

Carrying the Greek Tycoon's Baby
(Greek Island Brides #1)
By Jennifer Faye
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 256 Pages
March 1st 2019 by Harlequin Romance

From one night…

To nine months!


In this Greek Island Brides story, for jaded tycoon Xander Marinakos, renowned wedding destination Infinity Island is just another opportunity to expand his empire. Until he’s captivated by its beautiful owner, Lea Romes… When their one night together has unexpected consequences, Xander must negotiate the deal of a lifetime, and put his guarded heart on the table to convince independent Lea they can be a family…for infinity!



**My thoughts**
My favorite things about this book:  Infinity Island is definitely the kind of place that I would love to escape to. I love the idea of a place that is so magical that everyone who has ever been married there has stayed together forever.  So you know that this setting is going to be a good one. And it is always nice to see a man step up to face his responsibilities.

Both of these characters have been struggling in their own way for quite some time, though on the surface they seem like they have it all together. Somehow, the two of them together seem to complete each other and push each other to become better versions of themselves. This is so important in real relationships, and I love it when it is echoed even in fiction.

My less than favorite things about this book:  The relationship kicked off way too fast for me and then we jumped ahead a few months. But this isn't the end of the world and not something that is going to turn off all readers.

Would I recommend it? Sure. It's a quick read, and like I said, takes place in a dreamy setting. I actually enjoyed it in one evening with an adult beverage in my hand. It makes for a fun escape and isn't overly racy. I'll be on the lookout for the next two books in the series.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.


Freebie


Go to Jennifer's Contact Page HERE and order your bookmark(s)!

About the Series

Greek Island Brides
Finding love that lasts to infinity!

All marriages that take place on renowned wedding destination Infinity Island are guaranteed to last forever!

And the picturesque Greek island is about to weave its magic for friends Lea, Popi and Stasia. They dream of finding their own happy-ever-afters... And they’re about to meet three billionaires who will sweep them off their feet—and down the aisle!

Follow Lea’s journey from surprise pregnancy to dream proposal in
Carrying the Greek Tycoon’s Baby

And coming soon…

Book # 2 - Claiming The Drakos Heir (releases June 2019)

The rebel bachelor is back…

To claim her baby!

In this Greek Island Brides story, pregnant surrogate Popi Costas is faced with raising her late sister’s child alone, until the baby’s wealthy uncle arrives to take charge! Apollo Drakos is distractingly handsome, but Popi won’t let that stop her from fighting to keep the baby. Yet as she gets to know the man behind the wild card reputation, Popi’s reconsidering welcoming Apollo into her new little family…

Pre-order now!

Coming September 2019...

Book #3 – Wearing The Greek Millionaire’s Ring

About the Author


Award-winning author, Jennifer Faye pens fun, heartwarming contemporary romances with rugged cowboys, sexy billionaires and enchanting royalty. Internationally published with books translated into nine languages. She is a two-time winner of the RT Book Reviews Reviewers' Choice Award, the CataRomance Reviewers' Choice Award, named a TOP PICK author, and been nominated for numerous other awards.



Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon eGift Card 
Open internationally
Ends March 13, 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

Monday, March 4, 2019

Her Caprice by Keira Dominguez


Dear historical romance/Regency fans, this one is for you! Please enjoy an excerpt from Her Caprice by Keira Dominguez. Follow the book blast tour for even more excerpts and fun, plus multiple chances to enter the giveaway!


Her Caprice

A MOST PRIVATE BATTLE

Since Beatrice Thornton was 13 years old she's been living with a secret that could ruin her family forever. Her parents are the only ones who know, and now, seven years later, they are forced to put on a sham for Beatrice's late first Season. The plan, make Beatrice as mousy and ill-clothed as possible so no suitor would consider her. Then they can all escape back to their country home in Dorset to keep the terrible secret safe. But the unthinkable happens... Beatrice meets a man who gives her hope of a normal life, and Beatrice dares to love with horrible consequences.

Captain Henry Gracechurch has resigned his commission after living through the horrors and waste of war. Recently returned from Spain, he is cajoled by his formidable godmother to make an appearance at one of her famous balls. When he sees a young woman abandoned on the dance floor, honour commands him to save the day. Nothing could have prepared him for meeting the person who is a balm to his soul and gives wings to his heart. But winning Beatrice Thornton will take every ounce of courage he has, and this is a war he will win, no matter the cost.



Read an excerpt:
Beatrice stared dumbstruck at Lord Knowlton’s back.

Lady Sherbourne, her godmama, had introduced them, hissing behind her fan, “The only son of an old duke. Nothing like jumping in with both feet.” And then she had carted Mama off to the card room, leaving Beatrice to get on as best she could.

Lord Knowlton, in turn, had given Beatrice a look like she was a crate of dry goods dropped at the delivery door.

Now, after a truly dreadful dance, he wasn’t even giving her that. Instead, without so much as a bow, he was chasing after a girl whose tiny bodice had been performing heroic, if ultimately futile, work in aid of public decency.

Beatrice looked after him, furrowing her brow, the shock of his rudeness rooting her in place. So little was demanded of the clod—light conversation, a few observations on the weather this time of year and, finally, after they’d both decided they would rather die than be paired off again, he would escort her from the floor and they’d declare it the nicest half-hour either of them had ever spent.

But, no. The slithering reptile was completely gone. She stared after him in bewildered outrage until the sound of the room changed. No music for the moment and no sound of footsteps walking on and off the floor, only a low chatter ebbing away.

Beatrice looked around, the hairs on her arms standing up. She was suddenly alive to the fact that she was the only person conspicuously still on the vast ballroom floor—almost in the centre. She ground her teeth, incandescent with fear and rage, as her face went a telltale red.

How dare London be such a crushing disappointment? How dare it serve up a man who was no better than a… a…? There were no names she could think of that would not be an insult to idiots, vermin, and bastards.

Heads were beginning to swing toward her and Beatrice felt her cheeks turn white, leached of colour. Should she walk backward until she could melt into the crowd or pretend to answer a wave across the room and dash off purposefully? Flying out of the room was hardly possible. The back of her neck prickled and she could feel eyes sweeping around the ballroom, stopping on her lone figure.

If Mama and Papa had allowed her even one visit to the local assembly, she might not be so utterly at sea. Still, Mama would charge to her rescue, if only she could be found. Beatrice stretched her neck and raised herself onto her tiptoes, ready to fabricate an acquaintance over near the tea board—the shame of it making her eyes burn. Blast that man.

In the dreadful silence, she heard a scuffing sound and turned to watch as a soldier in a scarlet uniform broke past the wall of bystanders. He walked toward her, his steps unnaturally loud in the silence. “Thank you for waiting for me,” he called, his voice amused but apologetic, and loud enough to carry to the edge of the floor. “I’ve been looking forward to this set all evening." 
He bowed over her hand and whispered a command: “Chin up. Smile like you’re happy to see me.”

Beatrice squeezed this stranger’s fingers, feeling an immediate lightness. Her breath broke as she exhaled, but she was proud of her control. Her lips arranged themselves into the proper shape.

“Good show,” he commended, and the praise warmed her. “Captain Gracechurch, at your service. Your name, miss?”


BUY LINKS:


Her Caprice

Keira Dominguez graduated from BYU with a B.A. in Humanities and lives in Portland, Oregon with her husband and five children.

For the last decade, she has co-authored The Uncrushable Jersey Dress, a blog and Facebook page dedicated to mid-century author, Betty Neels. Cultivating this corner of fandom confirmed the suspicion that people who like sweet romances are as smart, funny, and are as interesting as readers of any other genre.

When Keira is not busy avoiding volunteerism at her kids’ schools like it is the literal plague, she enjoys scoring a deal at Goodwill, repainting her rooms an unnecessary amount of times, and being seized by sudden enthusiasms.

Take Tea with Keira -

website: keiradominguez.com

facebook: facebook.com/keiradominguez8/
twitter: @keira_dominguez

instagram: keiradominguezwrites



Keira Dominguez will be awarding $15 in Boroughs Bucks to 2 randomly drawn winners via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 1, 2019

Author Gareth Frank tells us why he wants to step into The Moment Between


Have you ever wanted to step into a book to experience it from the inside? Today, author Gareth Frank tells us why he would like to visit his latest book The Moment Between. Please also enjoy an excerpt from it and be sure to leave Gareth comments and questions as you follow the tour. Remember to enter the giveaway!

Nobody wants to die. At least nobody who isn't seriously depressed. Oh, but to die and come back to tell about it. That would be an amazing adventure.

As journalist Judy Bachrach says, we are living in the days of Lazarus. Modern medical resuscitation techniques have made it a fairly common practice to bring people back to life after they are clinically dead and absolutely no brain function is detectable. In The Moment Between, we get a glimpse of the afterlife from those who have died, a fictionalized but realistic look at an unbelievable phenomenon.

I am no fool, I don't really want to die. Even if I could be resuscitated, the risk is far too great. Instead I just want to step into my book. I want to see the visions that people report. I want to live my life over again just as they describe it —a life review, total and complete in an instant. I want to feel peace and unconditional love flow through me and around me. I want the surety, peace and confidence that most people return with.

The Moment Between is a psychological thriller that brings death to life through the story of Doctor Hackett Metzger, a neurosurgeon still recovering from the passing of his wife when he becomes involved in a medical study of near death experiences, and falls for a woman with a dangerous past. Hackett, a likeable and brilliant doctor, is also a bit of an awkward nerd. He agrees to support the study even though his heart and mind tell him that death is final. Life and research are about to collide.


The Moment Between


After four years of mourning, Doctor Hackett Metzger is determined to stop letting his wife's death control his life. He is finally beginning to live again, but his recovery leads to an unexpected fight for his own survival and startling revelations about what happens to all of us in The Moment Between.

Hackett, a brilliant neurologist, is a skeptic. He doesn't believe he will one day be reunited with Jean, or dwell with God in heaven. What he does believe is that he should have seen the warning signs of her heart attack; he should have saved her. He also cannot accept the possibility that his clinical study of near death experiences could prove the existence of a conscious afterlife. When Hackett falls for the mother of a patient, grief finally begins to fade. But he has no idea his new love is hiding her dangerous past. Will Hackett's damaged spirit endure another heartbreak?



Read an excerpt:
In those first months, he tortured himself with the notion that Jean’s voice had been real. He was sure that she had been present while he tried to save her. He prayed that she lived on in death, hoped that even as he failed, she had a soft landing on the other side. Her voice became his torture.

And so he understood death as he never had before. He understood grieving and pain. He understood what it meant to miss someone and to know that he would never see that person again. He understood loneliness. Most of all he understood the foolish and painful illusion that life might somehow continue. There was no voice. Jean had not talked to him from beyond. He had tortured himself from within. She was dead. He had learned to accept that cold hard reality. Anger had settled into the dark hole that was his memory of that day, poisoning his spirit. For weeks he stayed home from work, for months the blackness held him captive, until slowly he emerged into the world once more. His sanity hinged on his acceptance that Jean’s voice had been an illusion. Death was just death.


Available on Amazon 
This is my Amazon affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for supporting my websites!



About Gareth Frank


Gareth Frank is a former union organizer and administrator. He received a Master's Degree at the University of Wisconsin and later studied at the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, Maryland. The Moment Between is his first published novel. His short stories have been published in various journals and have been nominated for the Pushcart Prize as well as the Silver Pen Write Well Award.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GarethFrankAuthor



Gareth Frank will be awarding a $50 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, February 28, 2019

Review of Our Bridal Shop by Danielle Blair


Welcome to the review tour for Our Bridal Shop by Danielle Blair. I loved this unique women's fiction story of love, renewal, and acceptance. Please read on for my full thoughts and an excerpt. Then check out what other people had to say as you follow the tour. You can leave comments and questions for the author along the way and enter the giveaway.


Our Bridal Shop

Every family has its secrets, and the March family is no exception.

For the March sisters, Match Made in Devon, the bridal shop opened and run by their parents, was a real-world representation of what true love was all about. But for eldest sister Alexandra that kind of perfection has always seemed unreachable.

Alex has spent over fifteen years in Boston, building up an impenetrable shell of confidence and taking control over her own destiny. If there’s anything missing from her life, it isn’t important anyway. But with her mother’s unexpected death Alex is forced to leave her life in the big city behind and return to her hometown of Devon…and a past she’s been running from for years.

As the March sisters try to salvage the bridal shop their parents loved, Alex is forced to confront her painful past and the real reason she left Devon so many years ago…including childhood sweetheart Jonah Dufort.


Read an excerpt:
Alex’s entire body went cold; a naked, exposed kind of cold, though she was firmly planted in Clement Grant’s stylized version of purgatory, her feet stretching roots into his patterned rug. Big Auntie’s photo blurred. At the window, Daddy turned away.

“She wanted you three to become acquainted,” Grant offered lamely, to fill the room with something, anything.

Blood vessels at Alex’s eardrum magnified her pulse. She pressed the heels of her palms to her forehead to counter the pressure building behind her skull.

“After she was gone.” Perfect.

“I believe the letters should explain.”

Explain how a man could leave his wife, his two young daughters on an iron balcony in mid-November, and bed another woman?

Alex looked at the window. Elias March was gone.

She stood, stormed the window, to breathe where he had lingered, to understand. White stars veiled her vision—flakes beyond the panes of glass or a by-product of the heaviness between her ears—she couldn’t be sure. Alex wanted to yank at bulky book bindings, send them tumbling off the shelves onto Clement Grant and the letters and this perfect woman who seemed an absolute glacier in the face of news that threatened to bury Alex. As fast as the temptation took hold and the vision stretched to its satisfying but imperfect conclusion, the pain in Alex’s head subsided. The first rule of solving the unsolvable was to have a plan. All pieces showing. Know what you have.

Alex turned to the woman. “Where are you from?”

“Georgia. Saint Simmons Island.”

“Who is your mother?”

Freesia looked at Grant. “Do I have to answer?”

Grant stood, hands spread as if to catch himself, the situation, from tumbling headlong into something messy.

“Alex, the letter…” Charlotte’s turn at dialing back everything.

“Screw the letter, Charlotte. I want to hear it from her.”

Freesia gathered up her bag, fit it cross-ways along her long torso, and aimed for the door. Even in exit, she moved scripted, magnificent.

“Alex! What’s gotten into you?”

“Tell her, Miss Day. Tell her because she doesn’t get it. Grief clouds her some days so much she can’t see what’s in front of her.” Alex was shouting now, her words punctuated by the open office door kicking back against the wall, the tearing of paper as Charlotte ripped into her envelope. “Tell her this out de way circumstance. How Daddy drove his truck away and forgot us all.”

Freesia stopped in the next room, a waiting room filled with gurgling fountains and liquid jazz designed to make people feel better about their lives falling apart in the eyes of the law. She turned in profile. Her chin trembled.

“Tell her…” Alex pleaded, her voice quieter now.

Charlotte looked up from her letter. Soundlessly, she navigated chairs pushed back in chaos, Alex’s flawed stance. Charlotte’s sensible shoes squeaked damp against the waiting room tile. Alex’s baby sister, ill-prepared for what the world outside Devon brought her, pulled Freesia Day into the warmest of summer-like embraces, her letter from Daddy loose and forgotten in her hand.

“You’re our sister.”

Available on Amazon
On sale for $0.99 for a limited time! 
Yes, this is my affiliate link. That means should you make a purchase through it, I will earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for supporting my websites!



**My thoughts**
Welcome to Devon, home of Match Made in Devon, the bridal shop that defines the lives of the March sisters. Now it belongs to them, as both of their parents are gone. Their inheritance brings about some major family secrets, major life decisions, and takes them on a journey that they never saw coming.

For Alex, it is the hardest in a lot of ways. She demands perfection in her life. She wants order in the chaos. Unfortunately, life doesn't work that way. She is thrown curve ball after curve ball, rocking her to her core, as she tries to come to terms with secrets she is just discovering, as well as those that she has tried to keep buried as she relies on her Bullet Journal to keep herself organized and on track in life, being a super power of sorts in the corporate world in Boston. Those curve balls are even harder to deal with after you lose both of your parents. I really related to that aspect of this character, being in the midst of having life throw curve balls in my direction within this first year after becoming an adult orphan.

The bulk of the story is told from Alex's point of view. A couple of chapters are looked at from Charlotte's point of view and then from Freesia's point of view. Charlotte is the sister who grew up with Alex. She is the one who stayed in Devon and lived the traditional life, marrying young and having a family right away and helping their mom with the store. She wants to hold onto the store, because it is a piece of her. But she, too, is trying to figure out a few things in life.

And then we have Freesia popping in here and there. She is the new sister, the one who is trying to find herself now that she knows the full truth about herself. She's trying to fit into a new town and a new way of life as she tries to get to know her newfound family. She is charismatic and a bit of a free spirit, making her different from her sisters. But that quest for truth definitely makes her one of them.

As I said, we focus the most on Alex's journey in this book. Her career is falling apart. Her marriage has already been on the rocks for quite some time. Coming home has opened up some old wounds, as she is thrust in the path of Jonah, the one man she ever truly loved. She doesn't deal well with emotions and blocks on her perceived perfect path. And that is the journey that she must take. She must learn the truth about her parents and her family and find a way to forgive them for their reality. She has to learn how to forgive herself to move on from her past in Devon. She has to learn to let go of perfection, to take life as it comes and try to deal with it in real terms. And she does come a long way, but you know she still has a ways to go. I really understood Alex and feel like I was able to take something from her journey to cogitate on in my own life.

Charlotte and Freesia definitely have stories to tell. This book is just an introduction to them, to give us a sense of their personal struggles and who they are. I have a feeling that we will get their stories relatively soon and I look forward to going on their journeys with them. More life lessons are there to be learned and experienced. I think a lot of women should be able to relate to different aspects of these women's lives.

I also liked the more unique setting and story in this book. While I love my magical bridal shops and contemporary romance stories that help you to escape reality, I also really enjoyed the more realistic feel of this one. Yes, there is still an element of escape as you enter the lives of these other women. And then there is the intrigue of the mementos left behind in the upstairs that tell the stories of the brides who have gone before. It was just classic small town charm and I really wanted to find this town and see this store for myself. I love quirky places and quirky people.

And a final shout-out has to go to Jonah's daughter, whom he calls Ibby. The child is extremely precocious and wise for her young age. She is able to teach adults as much as they can teach her. I would have loved to have had her in my class while I was teaching and would even enjoy her company otherwise. I feel like in about 10 to 15 years (as far as the story setting goes), she will also have a great story to tell.

So yes, I really enjoyed reading this book and recommend it. 

I also did get a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, which in no way swayed my opinions.


About Danielle Blair


Danielle Blair escaped the slog of her former accounting job to instead pursue writing women’s fiction. She pens empowering stories about women, for women, that focus on a woman’s unique journey to find her place in the modern world.

But this wasn’t always the case. Following a messy divorce, Danielle took to reading and writing to help sort out the whirlwind of emotions she was dealing with. What started as a coping mechanism turned into a passion and in 2017 she transitioned to writing full time. Along the winding journey to authorship she also met and married her current husband, who is the love of her life.

She writes her books with the help of her two sisters—Jennifer helps to plot out the stories, while Linda is the beady eye behind the editing of them. Since setting up the tire swing in their back yard together as kids, they’ve always worked better as a team—so why not write a book together?

She is the mother of two handsome adult sons, and three dogs that act like children (but she loves them anyway). When not lost writing her next book, Danielle can be found outside digging in the dirt, trying to coax her husband to just try yoga once, and cooking meals that may or may not end up burned every once and a while.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Danielle-Blair-1794550060852703/



Danielle Blair will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

SA Cosby, author of My Darkest Prayer, on Character Creation


Character creation is an art. When the character pops into the author's head, it's like a seed that needs to be grown and nurtured and molded into the final product that you see on the pages. Today, SA Cosby is telling us about the creation of his character Nathan in My Darkest Prayer. There's also an excerpt for you to check out and then a great giveaway to enter. Be sure to follow the tour and also leave comments and questions for the author along the way.

Character Creation


The books that I like the most, that resonate with me have three major components. A strong plot. A great setting. Great characters. Of these things i think Character is first among equals. If you don’t have strong characters then your reader will have no one to whom they can relate. A strong character is less an avatar and more a guide for your readers. In my noir crime novel“MY DARKEST PRAYER” my main character and protagonist is Nathan Waymaker. Nathan is an amalgamation of several different character traits and a few people I’ve met in my life. Nathan is biracial man living in a small southern town called Queen County. He is a former marine and ex-sheriff’s deputy. He quit the force in response to the Sheriff’s dept. Not investigating the death of his parents in a road rage incident. Nathan works for his maternal cousin at the cousin’s funeral home. He moonlights as an unlicensed private investigator.

I intentionally made Nathan biracial because I wanted to make him a metaphor for the complex relationship between blacks and whites in the South. He is a symbol of the ultimate fear of racists and the dream of a society unfettered from racism. Of course that dream is just that. A dream. So Nathan is our guide through a torturous landscape of intolerance and prejudice. I gave him a military background because growing up I knew a lot of men and women in my small town who joined the military not only because of a desire to serve and express their patriotism but also as a way out of our poverty stricken hamlet. The military was a ladder out of perdition. I wanted Nathan to express some of that sentiment but in a respectful and sensitive way so that the reader could see themselves in his shoes when he left Queen County for the Marines. I chose the Marines because a good friend of mine had served for ten years and his stories about the martial mindset inspired a good deal of Nathan’s values. Finally I had him work at a funeral home because my day job is at a funeral home. I wanted to give people a glimpse into an industry that is often misunderstood. All these elements are in Nathan’s DNA. I hope they make him a good character and an interesting hero.




My Darkest Prayer


Whether it's working at his cousin's funeral home or tossing around the local riff raff at his favorite bar, Nathan Waymaker is a man who knows how to handle the bodies. A former Marine and Sheriff's deputy, Nathan has built a reputation in his small Southern town as a man who can help when all other avenues have been exhausted. When a local minister with grandiose ambitions is found dead, Nathan is approached by his parishioners who feel the local police are dragging their feet with the investigation. What starts out as an easy payday soon descends into a maze of mayhem filled with wannabe gangsters, vicious crime lords, porn stars, crooked police officers and a particularly treacherous preacher and his mysterious wife. Nathan must use all his varied skills and some of his wit to navigate the murky waters of small town corruption even as dark secrets of his own threaten to come to the surface.


Read an excerpt:
The Cove had once been a small biker bar with a clientele that ranged from convicted felons to soon to be convicted felons. Two years ago, the owner, Ricky Callipher, and his girlfriend had disappeared. The last time anyone ever saw them was after the bar closed one hot and sticky Friday night in June. They had been observed at the gas station at the corner of Rt.198 and Rt.14. Most people thought they had run out of town ahead of debts. Both legal and otherwise. Word on the street was they had run afoul of some boys who went by the regionally influenced sobriquet of the “Dixie Mafia.” The local grapevine postulated they would show up one day after the heat had died down. I didn’t think so. A week before Ricky and his lady had gone missing I ran into my friend Skunk in town. I knew Skunk sometimes did some freelance work for the Dixie boys. If they had sent Skunk after Ricky, you could probably cancel Ricky’s newspaper subscription.


Available on Amazon
Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for helping to support my websites!


About SA Cosby


S.A. Cosby is a writer whose work has been published in numerous magazine and anthologies. His story "Slant-Six" received an honorable mention in Best Mystery Stories of 2016. His life experiences include being a retail manager, a bouncer, a forklift driver, a landscaper, a roadie, a construction worker, a mortuary attendant, and he once wore a cow suit when he worked for Chik Fil-A. He majored in English at Christopher Newport University and now lives in Gloucester, Virginia.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/blacklionking73/

Twitter: @blacklionking73



S. A. Cosby will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway