Monday, October 22, 2018

Ribbon of Light by Claire Yezbak Fadden with Giveaway


Welcome to the blurb blitz for Ribbon of Light by Claire Yezbak Fadden! Today I am sharing an excerpt with you, plus there is a great giveaway at the end. If you follow the tour, you can leave comments and questions for the author along the way, plus have more chances to enter the giveaway.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.




Ribbon of Light

Julie Rafferty’s life-long dream is within her grasp. But just as the toy company she founded verges on becoming a multi-million-dollar enterprise, her husband abandons their marriage.

Trevor had no choice but to walk away from Julie. How else could he show his wife that the business was her priority, not him and their three children? His drastic stunt backfires though, jeopardizing the family business and seemingly pushes Julie into the arms of a younger man.

Just when Julie and Trevor find their way back to each other, a ruthless competitor escalates a bogus lawsuit. Together they plot to reclaim control of the toy company, only to uncover a shattering betrayal that puts them in unimaginable danger.

Can they overcome their dreadful mistake and reclaim the passion, trust and commitment that once drew them together? Or will the greed of an evil man irreparably destroy everything they hold dear?



Read an excerpt:

Before Julie placed her purse on the desk, Leanne handed her three phone messages, two from Gary and one from a local reporter.


“Oh, and I thought you might want to read this,” Leanne handed over an article printed off the Internet. “After your meeting with Bennett Burnside, I remembered reading this from two years ago.”


The story recounted the case of a family from Georgia. The parents of a ten-year-old had won $100,000 in compensatory damages and $9.9 million in punitive damages in a lawsuit against MaxOut Toys. The suit claimed their son permanently lost partial use of his right hand after playing with BlastAway, a handheld video game manufactured by the start-up company. The article read in part:


“Because of their negligence, this young lad is unable to perform any of the normal activities a boy of ten would enjoy,” their attorney said, arguing that MaxOut management knew the dangers of overuse of their product and was required to provide consumer warnings. “Young Benji is now designated as a special needs student. On the Little League field, Benji can’t pitch, play first base, or even bat properly.”


Julie remembered Mort Gunther’s appeal to the ruling. An appellate court upheld the original judgment, forcing the fledgling toy manufacturer to file for bankruptcy.
Funny. She hadn’t seen Mort since he lost his company…until he introduced her to Bennett Burnside.


Leanne handed Julie a copy of another news item dated months later from the Global Business Briefs section of the Wall Street Journal, announcing Game Masters’ acquisition of bankrupt MaxOut Toys for an undisclosed amount.


An icy surge ran down Julie’s back. She set the papers on Leanne’s desk and clenched the journalist’s phone message in her hand.


Roberta Perkins, San Marcel Mercury News. Please call before 2:00 p.m.
Julie recognized the name and the same byline on the patent-infringement lawsuit article.


While placing the call, Julie licked her lips, a nervous habit she had since a child, waiting for the phone to connect.


“Ms. Rafferty, thank you for returning my call.” Roberta Perkins’s monotone voice replied. Julie pictured her more as a Helen Thomas-style journalist than a wide-eyed Lois Lane.


“An unnamed source on the San Marcel Narcotics Task Force claims the US attorney’s office is requesting a court order to confiscate your company files. Would you care to comment?”


Julie collapsed in her chair, her legs no longer able to support her. “What did you say?”


“Is FunWorks actually a front for money-laundering?”


“I don’t understand the question,” Julie said, her voice shaking.
“It’s the first step before the Narcotics Task Force initiates an investigation,” the reporter said in a matter-of-fact tone.


Nervous energy soared through Julie’s veins. “The Narcotics Task Force? What is this all about?”


“The task force received a tip that FunWorks launders money for drug traffickers.”


“What a ridiculous allegation.” Julie’s pulse quickened, and her hand flew to the silver crucifix dangling on a thin chain around her neck. She fingered the cross and took in a deep breath.


“May I quote you?”


“Quote me? For what?”


“For the article I’m working on. You did know you are under investigation?”


Julie didn’t respond.


“In my experience, allegations of federal law violations are taken very seriously by the United States Attorney, especially Del Evans’s office,” Roberta said, suddenly sounding supportive. “If I were you, I’d call my attorney.”


“I have no comment about the allegation,” Julie managed to say. “I will remind you, though, that a libel suit can be very expensive. In my experience, newspaper publishers fire irresponsible writers whose sloppy work costs them money.” Julie disconnected the call and threw the cordless phone across the room.


Now those jerks had gone too far.


She retrieved her phone.


Twenty minutes later, after waiting on hold, a clerk in US Attorney Del Evans’s office informed her that Mr. Evans was unable to take her call. The clerk couldn’t say anything about the allegations, but she confirmed that contacting a lawyer would be a good idea.


“How long do these investigations take?” Julie asked.


“Hard to say,” the droning voice replied. “Every case is unique. When it’s connected to money, sometimes the IRS and the DEA get involved.”


Julie held the phone receiver near her ear for a minute or two listening to the dial tone.


The IRS and the DEA?

Burnside wanted FunWorks so much, he sicced the Feds on me. Why?



Buy Links.



About Claire Yezbak Fadden

When she’s not playing with her granddaughters, Pennsylvania native Claire Yezbak Fadden is writing contemporary women’s fiction. Her books feature strong women who overcome life’s challenges, always putting their families first.

There's a special spot in Claire's heart for carousel horses – quite possibly the result of watching “Mary Poppins” 13 times as a young girl. She loves butterflies, ladybugs and confetti! Just ask anyone who's received a birthday card from her.

The mother of three lives in Orange County, California with her husband, Nick and three spoiled dogs.

Claire’s work as an award-winning journalist, humor columnist and editor has appeared in more than 100 publications across the United States, Canada and Australia. Ribbon of Light is the third novel in her Begin Again series.

Follow Claire @claireflaire,

Email her at claire@clairefadden.com,

Like her Facebook Fan Page https://www.facebook.com/claireyezbakfadden/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Visit her at clairefadden.com.

Join her mailing list: http://eepurl.com/cclBRv.

Woman@Heart Blog. https://clairextraordinaire.wordpress.com/


Claire Yezbak Fadden will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 19, 2018

Review of The Baby Plan by Joan Carney


Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for The Baby Plan by Joan Carney. I took a chance on this romance and have a review for you as well as an excerpt and a giveaway. Be sure to follow the tour for even more excerpts and chances to enter the giveaway, leaving questions and comments for author along the way!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. I also received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.



The Baby Plan

The itch of ‘baby lust’ has prickled just under the surface of Tessa’s skin since she turned thirty. Five years have passed since her thirtieth birthday, and her obsessive nature has stoked the minor irritation into a full-blown fertility frenzy. She’s given up waiting for the right man to put a ring on her finger and, instead, decides to actively seek out a man with the right genes who will give her the child she wants with no further involvement. Love wasn’t in the plan, but Karma had other ideas.

Read an excerpt:
“I’m going to have a baby.” Spoken out loud for the first time, those words sent a rush of adrenaline through her veins. Warmth swelled from her heart as the vision that had taken center stage in her dreams for the last five years, captured the spotlight in her mind’s eye. Her arms circled her own body, aching to cradle that bundle of cooing softness.

Owen’s fork remained suspended in mid-air inches from his open mouth, his face frozen and pale blue eyes wide and staring. It took a moment for him to regain his composure enough to speak.

“You’re what? Are you sure?” He shook his head, put his fork down and rested his back against the seat. Tessa was sure the incoherent mumbles that followed were a litany of swear words, but she stayed calm.

His gaze scoured the ceiling as his voice groped for a public-appropriate response. “How did this happen, Tess? You, of all people. I can’t believe you’d let yourself get into this predicament. You never told me you were seeing anyone. Who is he? Does he know? Are you in love with him?”

Tessa shook her head to focus as much as to explain. “No, no I’m not pregnant now. I mean I plan to get pregnant.”

Her breath stilled then released as the panicked expression on Owen’s face softened to one of mere annoyance. But she wasn’t out of the woods yet. She’d only started to lay out her plan. Stalling for time, Tessa pushed the chopped antipasto salad around the plate with her fork.

“I’ve been thinking about this for a long time, Owen, and I’ve made up my mind. You only need you to back me up when it comes time to tell Mom.”

https://amzn.to/2RZro1j


**My thoughts**
The idea of a woman taking matters into her own hands to have a baby because she hears her biological clock ticking is not a new one, but Joan sprinkles in her own little details to make the story unique.

Tessa is about to turn 36 and her ovaries ache every time she thinks about being a mom. A lot of us of a certain age who are childless can completely understand this. But we don't all make the same decisions. Tessa doesn't want to go the traditional donor route by using a sperm bank and going in vitro. Instead, she wants to actually choose the man, being able to personally witness his desired characteristics to create her ideal baby. And she's willing to pay if necessary.

You can't help but cringe and duck your head in embarrassment as Tessa gets started on her quest. She has a form of OCD, so she needs to be in charge of planning every single detail. I almost feel like she has a bit of social awkwardness, which would make sense. The worst is when she goes to her high school reunion and is propositioning a couple of men about becoming her baby daddy. I hurt for her.

But Tessa has even more problems. Her brother Owen is completely overbearing and overprotective, especially after their father died. I used to think that I wanted an older brother, but am glad I didn't have one like him! And her mom and stepfather aren't much better. He is constantly condescending and she doesn't seem to be able to support her daughter at all. It almost makes me wonder if she partially wants a baby to find some unconditional love, even though that is a misdirected notion.

She manages to find a man who appears to embody everything she wants. He is weak-in-the-knees gorgeous, intelligent, funny, and knows how to titillate her on all levels. The sparks between her and Michael ignite from their very first encounter. You're excited about her finding someone she connects with so well. And you're a little apprehensive about their relationship because you know that Michael has a reputation of being a player. But he doesn't know about The Baby Plan because Tessa can't find a way to tell him about it. A real relationship would make it better, wouldn't it?

I read their story with a bit of trepidation out of concern for Tressa making a rash decision, though I was also rooting for them to make it through all of the barriers strewn all over their path. I had moments of wanting to smack certain people. I reveled in the steamy scenes. (Don't worry, they aren't graphic!) I cheered their triumphs. A fun book to keep you occupied on a cold fall evening.


About Joan Carney

A transplant from the concrete sidewalks of New York City to the sunny beaches of Southern California, Ms. Carney enjoys writing stories about women who are strong—whether by nature or circumstance—and the men who love and respect them for who they are. Things that make her happy are rainy days (too much sun is a bore), writing the perfect first line, family get-togethers, reading books that grab her heart, and finding new connections in her genealogy research. Bold coffee and dark chocolate fuel the artistic fire inspired by her family, friends, and psycho, lizard hunting cat.

https://www.joancarney.net
https://twitter.com/jcarneywrites

Joan Carney will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Read an exclusive excerpt from Love For Christmas by Various Authors with Giveaway


Welcome to the excerpt tour for Love for Christmas, a compilation of five romances by five of your favorite authors. I have an exclusive excerpt for you today from "Night Train to Hong Kong" by Ottilia Scherschel. Be sure to let her know what you think in the comments section, and then follow the tour for even more exclusive excerpts! Plus there's a great giveaway at the end.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.




Love for Christmas

Five Christmas Romances from the heart warming to heart pounding:

A Witch for Christmas by Barb DeLong

Whimsical witch Abigail Goodbody must find her one true love by Christmas Eve or be doomed to a loveless future.

The Christmas Wish by Jill Jaynes

Southern California girl Allie hopes a magical Christmas ornament will bring her the Mr. Right she is hoping for.

A Vote for Love by Kathleen Harrington

In 1886 Montana, feisty Suffragette Paulette Winslow finds love where she least expects it.

Night Train to Hong Kong by Ottilia Scherschel

Sarah Crawford finds getting home for Christmas more dangerous than she bargained for on a Night Train to Hong Kong

Winter’s Warmth by Angela Shelley

Drawn to an abandoned mansion by mysterious Christmas cards, artifact hunter Alma meets a strangely familiar yet distant astronomer and his captor, a powerful, icy specter in a tale inspired by the myth of the Snow Queen.



https://amzn.to/2q0ksnW

Read an exclusive excerpt:
from Night Train to Hong Kong by Ottilia Scherschel:

On the night of December 18, the high-speed train waited in Beijing’s main station. Sarah Crawford, washed along by the crowd, moved toward a brightly lit platform. Balancing a rolling bag and tucking an oversized purse close to her body, she passed a guy wearing a Santa suit and jamming on a saxophone. She smiled at this odd interpretation of Christmas and trudged up a few steps to board a type of train she had never ridden.

About the Authors:

Jill Jaynes began her love affair with romance when she was a teenager growing up in Southern California, spending many a late-night under the covers with a flashlight and good romance novel. This early addiction stuck, and she discovered one day that telling great stories was even more fun than reading them.

When she’s not writing, you can find her a) wine-tasting, hiking or otherwise hanging out with her awesome husband, b) walking her two high-maintenance dogs, c) plotting her next story with her writer-daughter or d) working at her day job in her spare time.

http://www.jilljaynes.com

http://www.twitter.com/jill_jaynes

http://www.facebook.com/JillJaynesRomance


Barb DeLong has always had a passion for reading and writing. She has won and been a finalist in several writing contests. Animals are another passion, and creatures both wild and domestic are featured in most of her stories of love, laughter and magic. Barb contributed contemporary romance stories in Romancing the Pages and Secrets of Moonlight Cove anthologies. A transplant from Canada, she enjoys the sunny climes of Southern California with her one-and-forever hubby and a fluffy, blue-eyed ragdoll cat, two children and five grandchildren.

http://www.writingsomethingromantic.com



Kathleen Harrington, multi-published, award-winning author, has touched the hearts of readers across the country and the world with her sparkling tales of high adventure and unending love. Her historical romances have been published in Chinese, Russian, Italian, and German. She lives in Southern California with her American Bulldog, Auron.

http://www.kathleenharringtonbooks.com


When Ottilia Scherschel, a Hungarian immigrant, started sixth grade, she learned her fifth language. After retiring from teaching languages at the college level, she spends her time writing romantic suspense stories set in foreign climes. She has been a finalist in a number of writing contests and published a short story in the Romancing the Pages anthology. Ottilia loves to pack a suitcase to visit family, friends and food or wine purveyors anywhere in the world. When she is not writing, she can be found at the movies, at the gym, or cooking for her husband, kids and grandkids.

http://www.writingsomethingromantic.com



Angela Shelley was born in Vancouver, Canada in 1973 and grew up in rural Southern British Columbia. Her love for children's fantasy stems from reading CS Lewis, Tolkien, George MacDonald, JK Rowling, Terry Brooks, Neil Gaiman, and many, many more wonderful authors. She lives in Los Angeles, California, with her husband and their twins.

http://www.angelashelley.net

ang@angelashelley.net.

The authors are giving away $20 Amazon/BN GC via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Review of The World Breaks Everyone by Lauren Clark with Giveaway


Welcome to the review tour for The World Breaks Everyone, the latest suspense novel from Lauren Clark. I'm sharing an excerpt and my own thoughts on the book. You can follow the tour for more people's reactions to the book and some other excerpts. It also gives you more chances to leave comments and questions for the author as you enter the giveaway!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. 


The World Breaks Everyone

Every day, I wake up certain of only three things: I am responsible for my mother’s death. My father has vanished. Someone wants me dead. I’m on the run. It’s me against the world. I cannot let it break me.

When sixteen-year-old Olivia Jacobs and her celebrity chef father are brutally attacked after his French Quarter restaurant opening, the shell-shocked Olivia finds herself on the run on the streets of New Orleans. Who wants her dead? And why?


Read an excerpt:
Olivia ran a single finger along the white marble, tracing the smooth-cut edges. She shivered against her windbreaker, causing the black material to rasp and rub. The air was cool and wet, a New Orleans damp that soaked the skin and soul.

Surrounded by silence, wrapped in a lush green space dotted by mausoleums and gravestones, Olivia knelt, protected by iron gates and sharp spires that towered over her head. The glow from the sky meandered through the branches of live oaks, threading though Spanish Moss, illuminating the letters and numbers carved in the marble. Simone Larroque Jacobs. Beloved mother, daughter, and wife. 1976-2015.

It seemed, to Olivia, a cheater’s way to sum up a life. In stone and words. Chiseled for permanence. She brushed away the damp, curled leaves from the base of the monument, finding a place to nestle the spray of violets. With its candy-sweet scent, the velvet-purple petals seemed to gaze up at the heavens.

The other small white blooms lay in the crook of her arm. She brought them for three neighboring vaults, in honor of the ancestors of her family who stood silent guard around her mother. Olivia brushed away debris before resting the flowers in place at each of the gravestones. She liked to think about her relatives being there when she was gone.

“I’m leaving, Mama,” Olivia whispered, her words carried away on the breeze. There. She had said it out loud. Confessed. The secret she had harbored in her heart for the last few months. “Baja,” she paused and reached for her backpack. The pull of the zipper, metal on metal, disrupted a cluster of doves, sending them skyward.

https://amzn.to/2CNJNK6


**My thoughts**
Olivia is a young tortured soul. She blames herself for her mother Simone's death, though she really didn't cause it. But no matter what, she just can't let herself see that and just wants to get out of town. She loves her family, but doesn't particularly feel close to any of them right now. She has even tried to take her own life. So the night after her father's restaurant opening, she plans to run away with her forbidden boyfriend and leave it all behind.

Only the unexpected happens. After everyone else is gone, someone busts in and attacks her father, rendering him unconscious, while Olivia manages to escape and go on the run. Every time she thinks she finds some help, she is only betrayed or becomes suspicious of ulterior motives that are as of yet unexplained. Whom can she trust?

At the same time, Kate is trying to sort out her own feelings as she awaits news of her boyfriend Theo, who happens to be Olivia's father. Kate and Olivia actually have a lot in common, but don't yet know it. Their relationship is basically nonexistent, as they are new to each other, and Olivia is resentful of any new woman in her father's life. And as Kate is trying to figure out what happened, she is bombarded left and right by information she never knew. She also doesn't know whom she can trust.

So many secrets lie in the prominent family. Victoria, as the wealthy matriarch, and Simone's mother, is exactly what you would expect in a conniving woman determined to manipulate every aspect of her offspring's lives. For some reason, I kept going way back in time and was picturing Angela Channing from Falcon Crest back in the 1980's. And you want to think that you can trust her husband Lawrence, but just like everyone else, you just don't know if you can.

There are so many twists and turns in this plot. It really did remind me of those great '80s soaps. I would love to see this story played out on the screen.


About Lauren Clark

Lauren Clark is the author of several award-winning novels, including Dancing Naked in Dixie, Stardust Summer, and Stay Tuned. She also writes suspense under the name Laura McNeill. Center of Gravity and Sister Dear have been published by HarperCollins.

Social Media Links -
https://www.facebook.com/lauramcneillauthor/
@dixiegirlwriter (insta)
@lauramcneillbks (twitter)


Lauren Clark will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, October 15, 2018

Read an excerpt from Everyone Dies in the Garden of Syn by Michael Seidelman

Meet Amy Ruttan, author of NY Doc Under the Northern Lights


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to the book tour for NY Doc Under the Northern Lights by Amy Ruttan. Along the way, you will find excerpts, guest posts, interviews, and reviews. Today I have an interview with the author to share with you. You can read a character interview with Dr. Alex Sturlusson over at one of my other blogs, Books to Light Your Fire, and my review of the book right here. Please leave questions and comments for the author and then be sure to enter the great giveaway at the end!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

*************************

What was the inspiration behind this book?
I really wanted to set a book in a different location and I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland. It also gave me an excuse to add my favourite thing to the story, which is the northern lights. I love the northern lights and have been privileged to see them countless times, including one special one where they were right above me and I was standing under them. I also love writing and reading fish out of water stories. It was fun to plop Betty down in the middle of Reykjavik and have to deal with my brooding, alpha hero.
To which character did you most relate and why?
I think there are elements of both hero and heroine when I write characters. This book, I definitely related to Betty more. I like to think that if I was in her shoes I would want to be a bit more adventurous. I didn’t take a lot of opportunities when I was younger to do some things, so I like to write heroines who are willing to take risks and live life to the fullest.
Tell us about the rest of the series.
NY Doc Under the Northern lights is not really a series. It’s a stand alone book that’s part of Harlequin/Mills & Boon Medical romance. Medical romances are stories about dedicated (and delectable) professionals who navigate the high stakes of falling in love in the pressured world of medicine. So think Grey’s Anatomy, only our McDreamy’s stick around. More romance and less medical detail, just in case any one’s worried about it being too medically graphic, it’s not.
If one is going to plan a trip to Iceland, what are some must-see destinations and events?
Iceland is at the top of my bucket list and I have been thinking about all the things I would like to see. Definitely the northern lights. I would love to see them in one of those hotels that are bubbles or glass igloos. That would be cool. I would want to check out Hallgrimskirka, which is the cathedral in Reykjavik. I don’t know if I have the guts to go to the top. The Blue Lagoon would be a must. I’ve been in hot springs in Jasper and Banff and I love them, so I would have to check out Iceland’s. Plus all the waterfalls and black sand beaches. There’s so much there.
What is your writing process?
My process has been changing and evolving over the summer since I took an amazing course by R.L. Syme called Write Better Faster. I was on the road to burn out after my mother was diagnosed with cancer in 2016. She lost her battle in June 2018 and I took stock in my process. I have two boys who are special needs as well, so what I was doing originally wasn’t working. I was on the road to burn out.
Now, I wake up and make a list of what needs to be accomplished in the day, both writing and personal life. When I write I chunk my time in 25 minute increments. If I get distracted, I start the clock again.
The competitive side of me never wants to restart the clock. If I manage to write at least 1k in my 25 minute chunk I reward myself with crocheting or an episode of whatever I’m watching on Netflix.
I also roughly plot out what I need to write. It’s very loose and I find my characters work stuff out during the first draft. I go back in the second draft and tie up things and make sure everything flows and works. I’m an introvert and one of my top strengths is thinking. So I need time to ponder things over. My first draft is rough and I step back for a week and attack it again.
This process won’t work for everyone and it took me a long time to realize there is no ONE right way for people and you have to find what works for you.

What is something from your bucket list that you have accomplished or have yet to accomplish that you are willing to share with us?
Things I have accomplished from my bucket list, is a lot of facing my original fears and anxieties that held me back. I’ve climbed a mountain and I’m SO scared of heights. I’ve gone to the Northwest Territories, in particular Yellowknife, which has always been on my bucket list. Now what’s next is to go even further north. I would love to drive the road from Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk.
I’m also on a journey of discovering where my ancestors came from and I’m hoping to head up to James Bay and Hudson Bay next summer to experience where a lot of my paternal side comes from. I’ll be riding the Polar Bear Express, which my grandfather had a hand in building.
One thing I learned from my mother’s cancer is that life is way too short and you have to live life to the fullest and that’s what I’m trying to do. My kids are pretty lucky, they’ve seen some amazing places in their own country and in the USA.
Thank you for your time!
Thanks for having me! :)


NY Doc Under the Northern Lights
By Amy Ruttan
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 256 Pages
October 1st 2018 by Harlequin Medical

Escaping the big city…

For love under Icelandic skies

When surgeon Betty Jacinth’s heart is broken once again, she takes a job in Iceland for a change of scenery. She expects cold weather—but not the frosty welcome she receives from gorgeous but brooding Dr. Axel Sturlusson! Now father to his orphaned niece, Axel gradually thaws, and a flame ignites—but when Betty’s ex begs her to return, can she make the right choice for love?

About the Author

Born and raised just outside of Toronto, Ontario, Amy fled the big city to settle down with the country boy of her dreams. After the birth of her second child, Amy was lucky enough to realize her life long dream of becoming a romance author. When she's not furiously typing away at her computer, she's a mom to three wonderful children who use her as a personal taxi and chef.





Tour Schedule

October 8th:
Launch
Thoughts of a Blonde
Andi's Book Reviews
October 9th:
My Life Loves and Passion
October 10th:
Declarations of a Fangirl
Hearts & Scribbles
Books to Light Your Fire
October 11th:
Jorie Loves A Story
E-Romance News
Harlie's Books
October 12th:
Locks, Hooks and Books
October 15th:
Colorimetry
Candrel's Crafts, Cooks, and Characters
October 16th:
Book Lover in Florida
October 17th:
Jorie Loves A Story
Wishful Endings
October 18th:
Becky on Books
Nicole's Book Musings
October 19th:
Inside The Mind of An Avid Reader
Reading On The Edge
Teatime and Books
October 20th:
Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a swag bag from Romancing the Capital 2018. It’s full of awesome swag from the event plus 3 of Amy's books: NY Doc Under the Northern Lights, A Date with Dr Moustakas, and The Surgeon King’s Secret Baby
Open to US only
Ends October 24th

Grab Our Button!

Saturday, October 13, 2018

Sweet Home Montana by Lynne Marshall Grand Finale Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

I loved the book Sweet Home Montana by Lynne Marshall. I've already shared my review with you at my other blog Uplifting Reads, but there is so much more to see! Please enjoy this collection of excerpts and reviews from the entire tour to see why you need to download your own copy of the book. And of course there's a giveaway at the end!

Please note that affiliate links are present in this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help me to support my websites at no additional cost to you.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Sweet Home Montana
By Lynne Marshall

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

I’m so happy to be back touring with Prism and am excited to share my new book Sweet Home Montana with everyone. This is book number three in the Charity, Montana trilogy for TULE publishing. It is the sweetest of all three books, in my opinion. Think Hallmark movies and you understand what I’m talking about. No angst or deep drama, but definite issues that both characters must face and “fix”, so they can move forward to a truly fulfilling life...


She had been volunteering at The Acres, as the crew called it, for three years, and Dr. Anderson insisted it was time to move on. To finish that degree in business. Get a job that paid more. In the real world. For Erin, Healing Heart Acres was as real world as she wanted to be. Because it was the place that helped put broken people back together.

Maybe I should start telling her how much I love giving the tour and that I never want to work with the animals again. The absurd reverse psychology trick made her smile.

“Oh, glad to see you’re happy about your schedule,” Elsbeth Anderson said, stepping out of nowhere, catching Erin mid-grin.

Uplifting Reads - Review

"As Erin and Wade's lives weave together, there are naturally some bumps along the road. It's all about how they work through those struggles to understand each other and to nurture the relationship they find themselves embarking upon, in spite of their personal struggles.

This was the perfect book to curl up with on a cold and rainy fall day."


Wishful Endings - Excerpt

Mid-chew, he glanced at the door, surprised, and very pleased, to see Erin come in. He smiled, watched, and waited as she made her entry…

With a toddler?

“Choc milk,” the little brown-haired girl said, all excited.

“Just like I promised.” Erin was completely at ease with the child, guiding her toward the counter to make their order.

Unexplained disappointment surprised Wade, along with a slew of questions about Erin. Was she married? He hadn’t noticed a ring. But, since the kid looked so much like her, she was obviously a mother.


A flashy silver sedan drove up and parked in the lot, and a father-son duo straight out of the pages of Gentleman’s Quarterly magazine got out. The son was sullen, casting a suspicious gaze, as if thinking this was the dumbest idea he’d ever heard of. Breaking with GQ chic, he wore a silly knit cap that stood out for two reasons, it wasn’t that cold, and there was a moose face on it. It took confidence to pull off the look.

The father seemed determined, as many parents were when they arrived, usually after having Healing Heart Acres recommended by someone in the professional community—a teacher, therapist, or pastor. The parents often arrived hoping to find the magic solution to help their kid. Erin knew the look, even though it was on an exceptionally young-looking father’s face.


After the usual welcoming remarks for the acres each person introduced themselves. She saved the father and son for last.

“I’m Wade Conrad. Grew up in Charity, around an hour from here. Heard about Healing Heart Acres and wanted to check it out.”

He seemed pleasant enough, but got his story out fast, probably out of courtesy, unlike Mrs. Pimento who’d gone on and on. Yet, watching and listening to Wade excited Erin, a feeling she’d nearly forgotten where men were concerned. The immediate excitement he provoked in her, was also terrifying. Fortunately, she’d only have to deal with the younger version of him.

Colorimetry - Excerpt

Why did the man make her edgy? Probably because she’d rarely been around such a devastatingly handsome male. She glanced to Brent, sure to become as commanding as his father as he matured. He, unlike his attentive father, watched a ground squirrel instead of the corralled animals, probably not listening to a word she said.

She showed everyone how to hold grain on a flat palm, so the sheep only ate the food and didn’t nibble their fingers. Everyone always got a kick out of that, except Brent, who clearly wasn’t interested.


"If you are looking for a sweet, gentle romance to curl up with on a cool fall evening, then look no further. This book has all the feel good elements with likable characters and a believable story line."


A sharp whistle pierced the air, the kind cowboys used on cattle drives. “Erin!” Wade’s voice called out before she stepped inside. She stopped, turned, waited for the tall, dark-haired and green-eyed man to reach her. Again, an unwanted reaction circled her skin. But she wasn’t here to swoon, she was here to be helpful. He obviously had a problem with his son.


"Sweet Home Montana encompasses sweet, gentle, unhurried romance. It's a story of personal growth—stepping out of complacency and exploring a deeper, more satisfying life."


To keep communication open, nervous as Erin was to have a conversation alone with Wade Conrad, she smiled and widened her eyes. “Need some extra encouragement?” Hoping he couldn’t pick up on her reaction to him.

He was probably used to it with all women. How could he not be, growing up looking like that? He probably didn’t even notice anymore.

“How’d you guess?”

“I’ve been reading Brent’s body language. He’s not here voluntarily, is he.” It wasn’t a question.

Remembrancy - Review

"Lynne Marshall gives readers a taste of small-town Montana life (and made me crave some huckleberry pie in the process) in this sweet romance...

Sweet Home Montana is a read to snuggle up with in front of a fire or under that plaid flannel blanket. Get ready for a little romance this fall."


Once Wade took off, Erin recovered and wandered over to Brent, who sat on a bench staring at his boots. “Mind if I join you?”

He glanced up. Rather than answering, he tipped his chin up, as in yes.

She sat gingerly on the other end of the bench. “I guess I read you wrong.”

He tossed her a confused and perturbed glance. “He tell you I don’t talk to him because he doesn’t like being my brother?”


“What’s the point of this place? Why should I come here?” Brent asked.

“How about, for starters, for the sake of a new experience?” Erin replied. “We offer a chance for people to learn about themselves by participating in activities like daily care routines with our animals. It’s a chance to do something good, too. Then all we do is talk about it afterward.” She carefully left out the part about talking about their feelings. “It’s no biggie.” She played it down, knowing how resistant some teens were about anything they were uncomfortable with. “A lot of teenagers wind up really enjoying it. By the way, the horses would rather hang out with their peers, too.”

Becky on Books - Review

"I really enjoyed Erin and Wade’s story, and was rooting for them to work things out from the very first page. The complications along the way were believable, and though resolved a bit easily, everything was still plausible. The secondary characters–including Brent, Rosie, and Diana–made the story feel well-rounded and Charity, Montana seem like a place I’d love to visit–and eat some pie."


"I enjoyed this sweet story. I felt connected to Erin Chase from the start. I love that she worked at a horse therapy center. What a unique profession!"


"This book is gentle and sweet. Erin and Wade are wonderful."


Wade stood in the back in the main house as the video history about Healing Heart Acres and equine therapy played. Instead of paying attention, he thought about how he’d wound up back home.

After a long pause in communicating with his father, Wade’s excuse being he was too busy, always too busy, his dad had called, and Wade had thought the worse.

“Dad? Is anything wrong?”

“No, Son, everything’s right, I mean great. It’s been ages since we’ve talked.” So true, and unacceptable, and that made his calling suspicious and Wade’s guilt-o-meter whirl.


"This is a sweet & cute romance set in more than one delightful small town with gorgeous scenery and a quirkiness apparently inherent to Montana. There is more ‘telling’ than i like (rather than showing me) and some of the Montana-isms felt a bit awkward with the flow of the story. But overall these characters will quickly win you over, and so does their story – thanks to Marshall’s warm writing voice and sweet plot. If you’re a fan of Hallmark movies, this is a great pick for your reading list!"


Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...


Sweet Home Montana
(Charity, Montana Book #3)
By Lynne Marshall
Contemporary Romance
Print & ebook, 278 Pages
September 27th 2018 by Tule Publishing

Entrepreneur Wade Conrad is called home to act as a temporary guardian for his teenage half-brother, who’s acting out and needs strong guidance. Wade feels they are both floundering, so he seeks help for Brent at Healing Heart Acres, an equine therapy center.

Erin Chase has been working as an equine therapist since her fianc├ę called off their wedding with no explanation three years ago. She personally enjoys the peace found through animal therapy and believes in passing on the gift. When Erin meets Wade, she’s instantly drawn to his concern for his brother, as well as his kindness and charm.

Wade treasures time spent with Erin. They both long for more, but Wade’s leaving for California soon and his brother’s needs come first. Will he take a chance on love before it’s too late?



Other Books in the Series



About the Author


Lynne used to worry she had a serious problem with daydreaming, then she discovered she was supposed to write the stories in her head. A late bloomer, Lynne came to fiction writing after her children were nearly grown. Now she battles the empty nest by writing stories which always include a romance, sometimes medicine, a dose of mirth, or both, but always stories from her heart. She is a Southern California native, married for almost thirty years, has two adult children she is super proud of, is a dog lover, cat admirer, a power walker, and fellow traveler on this wild road called life!


Tour Giveaway


2 winners will receive ebooks of Her Baby, His Love and Their Christmas Miracle
Open internationally
Ends October 17th

Grab Our Button!