Monday, October 15, 2018

Read an excerpt from Everyone Dies in the Garden of Syn by Michael Seidelman

Meet Amy Ruttan, author of NY Doc Under the Northern Lights


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to the book tour for NY Doc Under the Northern Lights by Amy Ruttan. Along the way, you will find excerpts, guest posts, interviews, and reviews. Today I have an interview with the author to share with you. You can read a character interview with Dr. Alex Sturlusson over at one of my other blogs, Books to Light Your Fire, and my review of the book right here. Please leave questions and comments for the author and then be sure to enter the great giveaway at the end!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

*************************

What was the inspiration behind this book?
I really wanted to set a book in a different location and I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland. It also gave me an excuse to add my favourite thing to the story, which is the northern lights. I love the northern lights and have been privileged to see them countless times, including one special one where they were right above me and I was standing under them. I also love writing and reading fish out of water stories. It was fun to plop Betty down in the middle of Reykjavik and have to deal with my brooding, alpha hero.
To which character did you most relate and why?
I think there are elements of both hero and heroine when I write characters. This book, I definitely related to Betty more. I like to think that if I was in her shoes I would want to be a bit more adventurous. I didn’t take a lot of opportunities when I was younger to do some things, so I like to write heroines who are willing to take risks and live life to the fullest.
Tell us about the rest of the series.
NY Doc Under the Northern lights is not really a series. It’s a stand alone book that’s part of Harlequin/Mills & Boon Medical romance. Medical romances are stories about dedicated (and delectable) professionals who navigate the high stakes of falling in love in the pressured world of medicine. So think Grey’s Anatomy, only our McDreamy’s stick around. More romance and less medical detail, just in case any one’s worried about it being too medically graphic, it’s not.
If one is going to plan a trip to Iceland, what are some must-see destinations and events?
Iceland is at the top of my bucket list and I have been thinking about all the things I would like to see. Definitely the northern lights. I would love to see them in one of those hotels that are bubbles or glass igloos. That would be cool. I would want to check out Hallgrimskirka, which is the cathedral in Reykjavik. I don’t know if I have the guts to go to the top. The Blue Lagoon would be a must. I’ve been in hot springs in Jasper and Banff and I love them, so I would have to check out Iceland’s. Plus all the waterfalls and black sand beaches. There’s so much there.
What is your writing process?
My process has been changing and evolving over the summer since I took an amazing course by R.L. Syme called Write Better Faster. I was on the road to burn out after my mother was diagnosed with cancer in 2016. She lost her battle in June 2018 and I took stock in my process. I have two boys who are special needs as well, so what I was doing originally wasn’t working. I was on the road to burn out.
Now, I wake up and make a list of what needs to be accomplished in the day, both writing and personal life. When I write I chunk my time in 25 minute increments. If I get distracted, I start the clock again.
The competitive side of me never wants to restart the clock. If I manage to write at least 1k in my 25 minute chunk I reward myself with crocheting or an episode of whatever I’m watching on Netflix.
I also roughly plot out what I need to write. It’s very loose and I find my characters work stuff out during the first draft. I go back in the second draft and tie up things and make sure everything flows and works. I’m an introvert and one of my top strengths is thinking. So I need time to ponder things over. My first draft is rough and I step back for a week and attack it again.
This process won’t work for everyone and it took me a long time to realize there is no ONE right way for people and you have to find what works for you.

What is something from your bucket list that you have accomplished or have yet to accomplish that you are willing to share with us?
Things I have accomplished from my bucket list, is a lot of facing my original fears and anxieties that held me back. I’ve climbed a mountain and I’m SO scared of heights. I’ve gone to the Northwest Territories, in particular Yellowknife, which has always been on my bucket list. Now what’s next is to go even further north. I would love to drive the road from Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk.
I’m also on a journey of discovering where my ancestors came from and I’m hoping to head up to James Bay and Hudson Bay next summer to experience where a lot of my paternal side comes from. I’ll be riding the Polar Bear Express, which my grandfather had a hand in building.
One thing I learned from my mother’s cancer is that life is way too short and you have to live life to the fullest and that’s what I’m trying to do. My kids are pretty lucky, they’ve seen some amazing places in their own country and in the USA.
Thank you for your time!
Thanks for having me! :)


NY Doc Under the Northern Lights
By Amy Ruttan
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 256 Pages
October 1st 2018 by Harlequin Medical

Escaping the big city…

For love under Icelandic skies

When surgeon Betty Jacinth’s heart is broken once again, she takes a job in Iceland for a change of scenery. She expects cold weather—but not the frosty welcome she receives from gorgeous but brooding Dr. Axel Sturlusson! Now father to his orphaned niece, Axel gradually thaws, and a flame ignites—but when Betty’s ex begs her to return, can she make the right choice for love?

About the Author

Born and raised just outside of Toronto, Ontario, Amy fled the big city to settle down with the country boy of her dreams. After the birth of her second child, Amy was lucky enough to realize her life long dream of becoming a romance author. When she's not furiously typing away at her computer, she's a mom to three wonderful children who use her as a personal taxi and chef.





Tour Schedule

October 8th:
Launch
Thoughts of a Blonde
Andi's Book Reviews
October 9th:
My Life Loves and Passion
October 10th:
Declarations of a Fangirl
Hearts & Scribbles
Books to Light Your Fire
October 11th:
Jorie Loves A Story
E-Romance News
Harlie's Books
October 12th:
Locks, Hooks and Books
October 15th:
Colorimetry
Candrel's Crafts, Cooks, and Characters
October 16th:
Book Lover in Florida
October 17th:
Jorie Loves A Story
Wishful Endings
October 18th:
Becky on Books
Nicole's Book Musings
October 19th:
Inside The Mind of An Avid Reader
Reading On The Edge
Teatime and Books
October 20th:
Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a swag bag from Romancing the Capital 2018. It’s full of awesome swag from the event plus 3 of Amy's books: NY Doc Under the Northern Lights, A Date with Dr Moustakas, and The Surgeon King’s Secret Baby
Open to US only
Ends October 24th

Grab Our Button!

Saturday, October 13, 2018

Sweet Home Montana by Lynne Marshall Grand Finale Blitz

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

I loved the book Sweet Home Montana by Lynne Marshall. I've already shared my review with you at my other blog Uplifting Reads, but there is so much more to see! Please enjoy this collection of excerpts and reviews from the entire tour to see why you need to download your own copy of the book. And of course there's a giveaway at the end!

Please note that affiliate links are present in this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help me to support my websites at no additional cost to you.

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Sweet Home Montana
By Lynne Marshall

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

I’m so happy to be back touring with Prism and am excited to share my new book Sweet Home Montana with everyone. This is book number three in the Charity, Montana trilogy for TULE publishing. It is the sweetest of all three books, in my opinion. Think Hallmark movies and you understand what I’m talking about. No angst or deep drama, but definite issues that both characters must face and “fix”, so they can move forward to a truly fulfilling life...


She had been volunteering at The Acres, as the crew called it, for three years, and Dr. Anderson insisted it was time to move on. To finish that degree in business. Get a job that paid more. In the real world. For Erin, Healing Heart Acres was as real world as she wanted to be. Because it was the place that helped put broken people back together.

Maybe I should start telling her how much I love giving the tour and that I never want to work with the animals again. The absurd reverse psychology trick made her smile.

“Oh, glad to see you’re happy about your schedule,” Elsbeth Anderson said, stepping out of nowhere, catching Erin mid-grin.

Uplifting Reads - Review

"As Erin and Wade's lives weave together, there are naturally some bumps along the road. It's all about how they work through those struggles to understand each other and to nurture the relationship they find themselves embarking upon, in spite of their personal struggles.

This was the perfect book to curl up with on a cold and rainy fall day."


Wishful Endings - Excerpt

Mid-chew, he glanced at the door, surprised, and very pleased, to see Erin come in. He smiled, watched, and waited as she made her entry…

With a toddler?

“Choc milk,” the little brown-haired girl said, all excited.

“Just like I promised.” Erin was completely at ease with the child, guiding her toward the counter to make their order.

Unexplained disappointment surprised Wade, along with a slew of questions about Erin. Was she married? He hadn’t noticed a ring. But, since the kid looked so much like her, she was obviously a mother.


A flashy silver sedan drove up and parked in the lot, and a father-son duo straight out of the pages of Gentleman’s Quarterly magazine got out. The son was sullen, casting a suspicious gaze, as if thinking this was the dumbest idea he’d ever heard of. Breaking with GQ chic, he wore a silly knit cap that stood out for two reasons, it wasn’t that cold, and there was a moose face on it. It took confidence to pull off the look.

The father seemed determined, as many parents were when they arrived, usually after having Healing Heart Acres recommended by someone in the professional community—a teacher, therapist, or pastor. The parents often arrived hoping to find the magic solution to help their kid. Erin knew the look, even though it was on an exceptionally young-looking father’s face.


After the usual welcoming remarks for the acres each person introduced themselves. She saved the father and son for last.

“I’m Wade Conrad. Grew up in Charity, around an hour from here. Heard about Healing Heart Acres and wanted to check it out.”

He seemed pleasant enough, but got his story out fast, probably out of courtesy, unlike Mrs. Pimento who’d gone on and on. Yet, watching and listening to Wade excited Erin, a feeling she’d nearly forgotten where men were concerned. The immediate excitement he provoked in her, was also terrifying. Fortunately, she’d only have to deal with the younger version of him.

Colorimetry - Excerpt

Why did the man make her edgy? Probably because she’d rarely been around such a devastatingly handsome male. She glanced to Brent, sure to become as commanding as his father as he matured. He, unlike his attentive father, watched a ground squirrel instead of the corralled animals, probably not listening to a word she said.

She showed everyone how to hold grain on a flat palm, so the sheep only ate the food and didn’t nibble their fingers. Everyone always got a kick out of that, except Brent, who clearly wasn’t interested.


"If you are looking for a sweet, gentle romance to curl up with on a cool fall evening, then look no further. This book has all the feel good elements with likable characters and a believable story line."


A sharp whistle pierced the air, the kind cowboys used on cattle drives. “Erin!” Wade’s voice called out before she stepped inside. She stopped, turned, waited for the tall, dark-haired and green-eyed man to reach her. Again, an unwanted reaction circled her skin. But she wasn’t here to swoon, she was here to be helpful. He obviously had a problem with his son.


"Sweet Home Montana encompasses sweet, gentle, unhurried romance. It's a story of personal growth—stepping out of complacency and exploring a deeper, more satisfying life."


To keep communication open, nervous as Erin was to have a conversation alone with Wade Conrad, she smiled and widened her eyes. “Need some extra encouragement?” Hoping he couldn’t pick up on her reaction to him.

He was probably used to it with all women. How could he not be, growing up looking like that? He probably didn’t even notice anymore.

“How’d you guess?”

“I’ve been reading Brent’s body language. He’s not here voluntarily, is he.” It wasn’t a question.

Remembrancy - Review

"Lynne Marshall gives readers a taste of small-town Montana life (and made me crave some huckleberry pie in the process) in this sweet romance...

Sweet Home Montana is a read to snuggle up with in front of a fire or under that plaid flannel blanket. Get ready for a little romance this fall."


Once Wade took off, Erin recovered and wandered over to Brent, who sat on a bench staring at his boots. “Mind if I join you?”

He glanced up. Rather than answering, he tipped his chin up, as in yes.

She sat gingerly on the other end of the bench. “I guess I read you wrong.”

He tossed her a confused and perturbed glance. “He tell you I don’t talk to him because he doesn’t like being my brother?”


“What’s the point of this place? Why should I come here?” Brent asked.

“How about, for starters, for the sake of a new experience?” Erin replied. “We offer a chance for people to learn about themselves by participating in activities like daily care routines with our animals. It’s a chance to do something good, too. Then all we do is talk about it afterward.” She carefully left out the part about talking about their feelings. “It’s no biggie.” She played it down, knowing how resistant some teens were about anything they were uncomfortable with. “A lot of teenagers wind up really enjoying it. By the way, the horses would rather hang out with their peers, too.”

Becky on Books - Review

"I really enjoyed Erin and Wade’s story, and was rooting for them to work things out from the very first page. The complications along the way were believable, and though resolved a bit easily, everything was still plausible. The secondary characters–including Brent, Rosie, and Diana–made the story feel well-rounded and Charity, Montana seem like a place I’d love to visit–and eat some pie."


"I enjoyed this sweet story. I felt connected to Erin Chase from the start. I love that she worked at a horse therapy center. What a unique profession!"


"This book is gentle and sweet. Erin and Wade are wonderful."


Wade stood in the back in the main house as the video history about Healing Heart Acres and equine therapy played. Instead of paying attention, he thought about how he’d wound up back home.

After a long pause in communicating with his father, Wade’s excuse being he was too busy, always too busy, his dad had called, and Wade had thought the worse.

“Dad? Is anything wrong?”

“No, Son, everything’s right, I mean great. It’s been ages since we’ve talked.” So true, and unacceptable, and that made his calling suspicious and Wade’s guilt-o-meter whirl.


"This is a sweet & cute romance set in more than one delightful small town with gorgeous scenery and a quirkiness apparently inherent to Montana. There is more ‘telling’ than i like (rather than showing me) and some of the Montana-isms felt a bit awkward with the flow of the story. But overall these characters will quickly win you over, and so does their story – thanks to Marshall’s warm writing voice and sweet plot. If you’re a fan of Hallmark movies, this is a great pick for your reading list!"


Don't forget to enter the giveaway below, if you haven't already...


Sweet Home Montana
(Charity, Montana Book #3)
By Lynne Marshall
Contemporary Romance
Print & ebook, 278 Pages
September 27th 2018 by Tule Publishing

Entrepreneur Wade Conrad is called home to act as a temporary guardian for his teenage half-brother, who’s acting out and needs strong guidance. Wade feels they are both floundering, so he seeks help for Brent at Healing Heart Acres, an equine therapy center.

Erin Chase has been working as an equine therapist since her fianc├ę called off their wedding with no explanation three years ago. She personally enjoys the peace found through animal therapy and believes in passing on the gift. When Erin meets Wade, she’s instantly drawn to his concern for his brother, as well as his kindness and charm.

Wade treasures time spent with Erin. They both long for more, but Wade’s leaving for California soon and his brother’s needs come first. Will he take a chance on love before it’s too late?



Other Books in the Series



About the Author


Lynne used to worry she had a serious problem with daydreaming, then she discovered she was supposed to write the stories in her head. A late bloomer, Lynne came to fiction writing after her children were nearly grown. Now she battles the empty nest by writing stories which always include a romance, sometimes medicine, a dose of mirth, or both, but always stories from her heart. She is a Southern California native, married for almost thirty years, has two adult children she is super proud of, is a dog lover, cat admirer, a power walker, and fellow traveler on this wild road called life!


Tour Giveaway


2 winners will receive ebooks of Her Baby, His Love and Their Christmas Miracle
Open internationally
Ends October 17th

Grab Our Button!

Friday, October 12, 2018

Review of And Then He Was Gone by Joan Hall Hovey


Welcome to the book blast for And Then He Was Gone,  a new thriller by Joan Hall Hovey. This is the first time I have read a book of hers, and I am happy to share my review with you her today. There's also a link to an excerpt to give you a sneak peek inside. Follow the tour to find more reviews and chances to leave her comments and questions along the way. And remember to enter the giveaway!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help support my websites at no additional cost to you. Also, I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.



And Then He Was Gone

WHERE IS ADAM?

Julie Raynes’ husband is missing. Devastated and confused, she refuses to believe that he would leave her voluntarily, though her best friend thinks differently. However, her Aunt Alice, a psychic, tells her Adam has been murdered, and when she reveals how she knows this, any hope that Adam is still alive, dissipates.

The police also believe that Adam Raynes was murdered. And Julie is their prime suspect. Her life in ruins, Julie vows to hunt down whoever is responsible for Adam’s murder and make them pay for their crime.

In the meantime, David Gray, a young man who was pulled from a lake by a fisherman when he was 9 years old, wakens from a coma after nearly two decades. Unknown to Julie, Adam and David share a dark connection, a darkness that threatens to devour them both.


https://amzn.to/2RJK1Gg


**My thoughts**
I first wanted to say that I got a kick out of some of the character names. My favorite is probably the cat named Endora, because I loved watching Bewitched. It also alludes to some small pieces of the plot. I also did a few double takes while reading about Detective Regan being on the case, as I am a big fan of Blue Bloods. And then, of course, there is the character of David Gray. The name just rolls right off the tongue and is used in full a lot throughout the story. It also happens to be the name of one of my favorite singers.

And now for the story itself. I felt like it started out really strong. I could really feel Julie's pain in not knowing where her husband is. Everyone assumes that he just left her, and she is even under suspicion for being the cause of his disappearance. She is absolutely beside herself. And she's fighting with her best friend Carol over it. Her life is just a mess.

And then she has a visit with her Aunt Alice, who is blessed with some powers with precognition. For the first time, she truly believes that Adam isn't coming back, but not by his choice. We as the readers already know what really happened to Adam, and we know who did it. But of course Julie has no idea, nor does anyone else in the story, as far as we know. So part of the fun in reading this book is seeing how the mystery unravels to the rest of the characters.

Then there is the plot line about David, Rath's brother, who had miraculously woken up from a coma after 19 years. I admit it's hard to believe that part of it, but with a story tinged with the supernatural, you have to suspend a bit of reality. We also know the truth behind what really happened to David 19 years ago to put him in that coma. The two mysteries are actually quite intertwined, only no one realizes to what extent.

And though we know all of this, there are a few surprises that pop up as the truth is slowly being revealed. I did feel like the latter half of the book moved a lot more slowly than the first half, but those twists helped to balance that out a bit.

Read the first chapter here.


About Joan Hall Hovey

Writing gives me a sense of achievement and satisfaction that nothing else does. (Except having my babies.) And that's not a bad analogy, if not an original one. Holding your published book in your hands, (especially that first one), running your fingers over its smooth cover, tracing your name there - is heady stuff! These days of course, knowing my readers are downloading my books onto their Kindles and iPads and Kobos, and so on is just as great. For me, a dream come true, even though it's been awhile since I wrote my first book.

I am drawn to explore the dark side of humanity, and my intention is to give the reader a roller coaster ride that will resonate long after the last word is read. I know that I am truly blessed to be permitted to work every day at what I most love and need to do. I think you appreciate it even more when you've had to go to those awful 9 to 5 jobs you hated, because the bills have to be paid. And I've had my share of them over the years -- hulling strawberries, waiting tables, grading eggs... (top that one). A couple of those jobs have left scars. I've been stalked by a psychotic customer when I was selling 'CAA'. (Canada's version of 'AAA'.) I've been chased around the desk by a so-called pillar of society while working as a secretary. But while I wouldn't want to repeat it, I wouldn't take back a single moment of any of it. All is 'grist' for the writer's mill.

The next best thing is hearing from my readers. You have been so generous in your comments, so kind to take the time in your own busy lives to write to me. Telling me that my novels kept you up all night, or that you couldn't put the book down is music to my ears, and keep me going in the dark times that come to all writers, while I find my way about in the unknown, unlit territory of that next book.

***

In addition to her critically award-winning suspense novels including And Then he was Gone and The Deepest Dark, Joan Hall Hovey's articles and short stories have appeared in such diverse publications as The Toronto Star, Atlantic Advocate, Seek, Home Life Magazine, Mystery Scene, The New Brunswick Reader, Fredericton Gleaner, New Freeman and Kings County Record. Her short story Dark Reunion was selected for the anthology investigating Women, Published by Simon & Pierre.

Ms. Hovey has held workshops and given talks at various schools and libraries in her area, including New Brunswick Community College, and taught a course in creative writing at the University of New Brunswick. For a number of years, she has been a tutor with Winghill School, a distance education school in Ottawa for aspiring writers.She is a member of the Writer's Federation of New Brunswick, past regional Vice-President of Crime Writers of Canada and International Thriller Writers.

Her books are available at most online book stores, including Amazon, B&N, Kobo, and more. Check out her website at http://wwwjoanhallhovey.com

She lives in Saint John, NB, in an uptown building over 100 years old, with her cat Bella. Aside from writing (and reading of course) She enjoys playing piano and spending time with her grandson. She is presently at work on her latest suspense novel.

Her novels include:

And Then he was Gone
The Deepest Dark
The Abduction of Mary Rose
Tragic Spawn
Night Corridor
Chill Waters
Nowhere To Hide
Listen to the Shadows


Joan Hall Hovey will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Read an excerpt from Turnaround Farm by Elaine Cantrell


Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for Turnaround Farm, a contemporary romance by Elaine Cantrell! As you follow along the tour, you'll be able to read several excerpts and have several chances to leave comments and questions for the author and to enter the giveaway at the end.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.


Turnaround Farm

Dedicated career girl Holly Grant has no time for romance. She doesn’t need a man to complete her, thank you very much. Building Grant Realty takes all of her time and attention. If she can close a deal for Turnaround Farm, her business will take off like a rocket. Her first problem is that Jeb Wakefield doesn’t want to sell his farm, and her second problem is Jeb’s grandson Dan, the finest looking man Holly’s ever seen.

Read an excerpt:
He had no idea what had come over him, but he ignored the small voice in his head that told him to leave her alone and took a step closer to her. The aroma of her perfume teased his nose with its light, floral scent.

Holly gasped when his hands gently came to rest on her shoulders. Dan swept her hair to one side and brushed the side of her neck with his lips. He turned her around and pulled her close. “Put your arms around me, Holly.”

He saw a pulse wildly beating in her throat, but she slid her arms around him.

Dan pulled her head onto his shoulder and stroked her hair, reveling in its silky, blonde beauty. “I love your hair,” he whispered.

“We shouldn’t be here.”

Dan never knew how it happened. One minute the two of them were standing beside the bed; the next they were on the bed stretched out side by side with their arms around each other. Oh, the feel of her...soft and warm and yielding!

When their eyes met, he knew that if they didn’t get out of bed immediately, he would make love to her. And he could think of nothing he wanted more.

Maybe Holly saw it too because she seemed to recover her senses. “We shouldn’t do this,” she gasped. “This is the kind of thing my mother does.”

“I know.” Dan sat up on the side of the bed and observed, “Your bed smells like you and the perfume you wear.”

https://amzn.to/2Ca1mmm
 Also available at Wings e-Press


About Elaine Cantrell

Born and raised in South Carolina, I hold a master’s degree in personnel services from Clemson University and am a member of Romance Writers of America and Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary society for women educators. I’ve been married for forty-five years to my college sweetheart. We have two sons who’ve given us three wonderful grandchildren. We also have a sweet calico kitty, and a devoted little black and white dog.

I've been writing since 2001 when my son asked me to proofread a book he'd written. I figured if he could write a book, so could I. My first published novel, A New Leaf, was the winner of the 2003 Timeless Love contest. If I wasn't sold on writing before, that did it. I've been writing ever since and don't have any plans to stop. Frankly, I don't think I could even if I wanted to. Writing is a strange compulsion that drives me to spend long hours in front of a keyboard when I could be doing important things like napping or eating chocolate. My house isn't dusted as often, I rarely cook, and who cares if the laundry gets done or not. Yeah, no doubt about it, I'm addicted.

Author links:

http://www.elainecantrell.com

http://www.elainepcantrell.blogspot.com

http://www.twitter.com/elainecantrell

http://www.facebook.com/elainepcantrell

http://www.pinterest.com/elainecantrell



Elaine Cantrell will be awarding a $15 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Jerusalem Stone by Susan Sofayov


Jerusalem Stone

On September 15, 2008, Julie Wasserman’s life collapsed. In the morning, she lost her job at Lehman Brothers. That afternoon, she lost her twin brother, Jack, in a car crash. A year and a half later, she returns home to Pittsburgh to start a new job and live up to a pledge to visit her brother’s grave every day. With six weeks to wait before the start of the new job, she steps out of character and purchases a plane ticket to Thailand, the one place her brother dreamed of visiting. She arrives in Thailand, focused on trying to figure out how she is going to live in the world without her twin brother and best friend. But an interruption in the form of a sexy Israeli, Avi, distracts her from this goal. As he tries to make her see that their meeting was beshert, meant to be, she insists that she must return home to live up to her promise to Jack. Feeling responsible for Jack’s death, Julie believes that he wouldn’t want her to be happy, but would expect her to mourn for the rest of her life. Can Avi find a way to convince her they are bashert and Jack wouldn’t want her to stop living, or is Julie doomed to a life of guilt and unhappiness unless a higher power steps in?


https://amzn.to/2A3rDS0


About Susan Sofayov

Susan Sofayov lives in the occasionally sunny Pittsburgh, PA with her husband and the most hated dog in the neighborhood. She has three adult children and lives for the times we’re all together.

Susan formerly held the position of vice president of child care for a large non-profit organization but doesn’t like talking about that. Together with her husband, sons, they run a real estate development company. Working with your spouse isn’t always the best idea—she has been begging to be fired for years.

Susan has a BA in English Literature and Political Science from the University of Pittsburgh and an MA in Teaching from Chatham University. Prior to settling in Pittsburgh, she spent two years in Tel Aviv bonding with her husband’s wonderful large family.


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this book. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers. Please also note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Review of Sweet Sacrifice by L.D. Rose with Giveaway



Welcome to the review tour for Sweet Sacrifice by L.D. Rose, which is the ninth book in The Soul Mate Tree series, which have been featured both here and on my other blog Books to Light Your Fire. I'm sharing an excerpt and a giveaway with you today, in addition to my review of the book. If you follow the tour, you can see other excerpts and reviews, plus have more chances to enter the giveaway. Remember to leave the author your questions and comments!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. Also I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.




Sweet Sacrifice

Former Navy SEAL Sebastian “Bash” Lockard died in Afghanistan after leaping on a grenade to save his comrades. Little did he know his act of heroism would grant him a ticket into Heaven’s elite army as one of the few and powerful Archangels. Struggling with his new existence, Bash still retains his human memories, leaving behind a wife he loves with all of his heart. Although he’s forbidden to see her, he can’t resist her lure, or the mortal desires he harbors for her.

As a young widow and nurse, Irene Lockard still mourns her husband two years after his untimely death. His absence is everywhere, and when her best friend weds, she hits an emotional rock bottom. As if summoned from the skies above, Sebastian appears before her, and they share an unforgettable night. But when he once again vanishes, she wonders if she’s truly gone mad with grief.

The only way Sebastian can remain with Irene is if he makes the ultimate sacrifice. But will she overcome her fear of losing him again to another war?


Read an excerpt:

Her eyes snapped open, her vision blanketed by huge white feathers, before a giant wing shoved her back. Her arms flailed as she fell hard on her tailbone, the impact rattling up her spine and clacking her jaw shut.

Pain and awareness ripped into her, the veil of fantasy torn from her eyes as she gawked at the rail in front of her.

She was outside. In the dark. Ready to jump from her hotel balcony.

Her sharp intake of air scraped her ears, her heart kicking against her ribcage as she covered her gaping mouth with her hand. Holy shit. Did I sleepwalk? Was she really about to plummet to her death from fourteen stories high?

And did a huge bird just save her life?

Backpedaling across the concrete, the air cool against her thighs now that she’d nearly torn her dress in half, she hit the glass of the sliding balcony doors. Reaching up with a shaking hand, she clutched the handle and pulled herself haphazardly to her feet, yanking the door open and stumbling inside. She slammed it shut behind her, the glass rattling from the force of the blow as she flipped the lock closed. Retreating farther, she toppled onto the bed, staring at the night outside with growing horror.

She recounted her steps from when she’d arrived at the hotel. The elevator, the housekeeper, entering the room, sitting, crying, falling asleep, the river, the blood, the panic, the tree—

The tree.

Climbing the tree, touching its leaves, remembering . . .

A loud thump hit the balcony outside, muted by the thick glass. Her bleary eyes shot to the figure standing on the ledge and she released a cross between a sob and a shriek, then stifled her mouth with a hand.

Tall, bare-chested, his suit jacket and shirt bunched in his fist as he tossed them aside. Tattoos covered his arms, shoulders, and the base of his neck. Closer now, she discerned the pattern of inked wings, pale muscles rippling, lines and cuts he’d never worn before. His dark hair fell a little longer on top, disheveled from the wind, his face still carved with gorgeous edges, but thinner, wearier. His eyes were black holes, endless, consuming. Infinite.

Sebastian.

His knuckles rapped on the glass, the sound sending a terrified jolt into her nervous system. His eyes bore into hers, cutting through the darkness.

Reen. Open the door.”

Reen. Her nickname rumbled from his lips, his voice still that resonant timbre she adored. God, some nights she’d pleaded to hear that sound again, just to listen to him speak one last time.

This had to be another dream. He had to be a dream. She was hallucinating.

Christ, had Phillipe spiked her drink?

Reen.” He grasped the handle, tugged on it, his inked bicep contracting. “I know you see me.”

She couldn’t move, nailed to the bed with fear, paralyzed by disbelief. He pressed both palms flat on the glass, big hands with callused fingers, hands that had memorized every part of her body. He broke eye contact, dipping his head as he murmured, “Please, baby. Let me in.”

As if his plea granted her motor skills, Irene was suddenly on her feet, hurrying across the carpet toward him. She struggled to control her shaking hands, trembles reverberating through her entire body. It took her three tries to flip the latch, and then she backed away, recoiling, afraid of this man who looked so much like her dead lover.

He pulled the slider open in a smooth, fluid movement, the cool ocean breeze escaping into the airless hotel. Setting his sights on her, he stepped over the threshold, his presence filling the room, overwhelming her entirely. When her back hit the main door, the opportunity to flee opened up wide, but she stilled as his scent wafted into her nostrils, a blend of sandalwood and her husband.

Sebastian. Her Sebastian.

The slider closed behind him, the finality of the sound echoing through her bones, and she couldn’t run.

Not from him. Never from him.

An almost strangled sigh escaped him and he swallowed hard, his Adam’s apple bobbing in his throat. A gut-wrenching pain glittered in his dark eyes while he drank her in, his gaze skittering over her from head to toe, as if reacquainting himself with his broken disaster of a wife.

Finally, he approached her in the dark, closing the distance between them, and she pressed harder against the door. If he held her, if he so much as touched her, she would be lost to him, squandering any semblance of sanity she’d managed to retain in these awful years without him.

Blistering tears flowed freely down her cheeks as he halted mere inches away, so close, so goddamn close his warmth radiated off his bare chest. He lifted a hand and she flinched, stopping him as if she’d slapped him. The pained expression on his face yanked a wretched sob from her throat, and she just couldn’t believe it, couldn’t believe he stood right there in front of her.

The medal, the flag, the decorated casket, the salute . . . had it all been a lie?

His finger brushed her cheek, tentative, soft, waiting for her to strike. When she didn’t, he cupped her face in his hand, his skin still rough and callused, wiping away her tears with his thumb. She leaned into his touch, unable to resist his warmth, and he framed her face with his free hand, staring into her eyes with a need so raw it stole what little breath she had left in her burning lungs.

My God.” He whispered the words, as if he didn’t have the strength to give them voice. “I’ve missed you.”



Available on Amazon
US / UK / CA / AU

**My thoughts**
This book stretched me a little bit outside of my normal realm of reading with the angels aspect. Bash sacrificed his life in Afghanistan and then became an angel. He is currently tortured as he is making his way out of purgatory, but really would prefer to be with his woman. His widow Irene is tortured on Earth because she has been left behind without her beloved. I can't imagine how it would feel to suffer such loss, especially soon after getting married. Each of them would give anything to be with each other again, but for Bash to make that happen would leave him with some dire consequences.

But the temptation is too strong, and the two have a passionate encounter that threatens Bash's future and confuses Irene even more. Can you imagine having your dead husband return to you in spite of what lies in store for him? I have a feeling I would be like them and would want to do whatever I could to be with the one I loved. But I can't help but worry for each of them as I am reading through the story. Bash is facing eternity in a sort of hell and Irene isn't able to move on if he can't stay with her. It will just torture her even more.

The only thing that threw me off a bit was the fighting that Bash goes through with other angels and demons along the way. It was almost out of place in the story for me, but again, I don't usually read this kind of story. Plus I was most interested in the romance part of the story, the two soul mates finding their way back to each other. 

This is a short read, that I was able to zip through in under an hour. I read fast, but for those who prefer shorter stories, this is for you. This is also one for those who love soul mates and good fighting evil.


Book links


About L.D. Rose

L.D. Rose is a neurotic physician by day, crazed writer by night, and all around wannabe superhero. She writes paranormal romance and urban fantasy, but she's been known to delve into horror, sci-fi, and medical suspense on occasion. L.D. Rose is a PAN member of the RWA, FF&P, NEC-RWA and CoLoNY. She currently lives in Rhode Island with her studly hubby, her hyperactive boxer, and her two devious cats.

Sign up for her newsletter for the latest on the Senary, sneak peeks, giveaways, and other fun stuff: http://eepurl.com/bKvuXD. You'll receive a free horror short story with sign-up!

You can also join her reader group on FB for more shenanigans. ;) DEVOUR THE NIGHT: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1544747369161573/

Where else to find her:

Website: www.writerldrose.com
Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/ldrose
Facebook: www.facebook.com/writerldrose
Author page: www.facebook.com/ldroseauthorpage
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ld_rose
Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/ldrose
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/writerldrose
Tumblr: www.writerdoc.tumblr.com
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ld_rose/
BookBub: www.bookbub.com/authors/l-d-rose
Book+Main Bites: https://bookandmainbites.com/users/1992



L.D. Rose will be awarding a $10 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway