Monday, July 16, 2018

Review of A Promise Remembered (The Soul Mate Tree #6) by Erin S. Riley


Welcome to the review tour for A Promise Remembered, which is the sixth book in The Soul Mate Tree series. This is an intriguing series, published by a company that is local to me, that revolves around the concept of a soul mate tree that brings people together. While it is a series, each book is by a different author and stands on its own. I've been reading most of them and will keep bringing them to you!

For today's installment, I have an excerpt for you, plus my review. You can leave questions or comments for Erin S. Riley. You can also follow the tour for even more reviews. Plus you can find more chances to win the giveaway! Enjoy!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. Also, I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts are my own.




A Promise Remembered

Two souls entangled in an eternal echo of true love…

Rowan and James have been drawn together in every existence since the beginning of time. But love's sweet promise is cut short after an unthinkable tragedy strikes two young families, shattering the bond in this lifetime.

Is love stronger than death? Can Rowan and James find another way to each other? Against all odds, a forgotten promise is remembered and kept, reuniting two souls destined to be together.


Read an excerpt:
Rowan opened the closet door, jumping back as the hinges squeaked, and gazed around the empty space. It was an old fashioned small closet with a single hanging bar and a shelf on top. There were no visible signs of rodents.

Scratch, scratch, scratch.

The sound was coming from under the floor, it seemed. She knelt carefully, keeping her can of compressed air at the ready, as she examined the wooden floorboards. Looking closer, she furrowed her brow. The blemish was nearly seamless, but she could tell the floorboards had been cut. Despite her fear of the rodents, her curiosity was piqued. Was there actually a secret compartment hidden in the closet floor?

Rowan used her fingernails to pry up the end of one of the floorboards, peering down warily in case the mouse decided to jump out at her. After removing two more boards, she used the flashlight on her phone to examine the dark hole. No beady red eyes stared back her. The secret compartment in the floor contained only what appeared to be a dusty shoebox.

Rowan sprayed some compressed air around to be safe, then pulled it out the box marked Airwalks, men’s size twelve. Carrying it closer to the window, she sat down on the floor to lift the lid.

There wasn’t much in it. A crumpled pack of Marlboros, so old the tobacco had fallen out of the cigarettes. A lighter. Several baseball cards. A pencil drawing of a large tree, drawn by someone who was by no means an artist. A well-worn Playboy magazine with Pamela Anderson on the cover. Rowan glanced at the date—1997.

A wave of sadness washed over her. She must have found the secret stash of Bella’s long-dead brother. Poor kid. It seemed oddly intrusive touching the private things of a dead boy, and Rowan hastened to put everything back where she found it. But the sound of something rolling in the box caught her attention, and she peered in.

A stick? A small twig half the size of her pinkie was in the bottom of the shoebox. Why had the dead boy put a stick in his secret shoebox? Despite herself, she reached in to pick it up.

A wave of energy prickled through her body, like a shot of expresso, quickening her pulse and her breathing. She heard a noise behind her that sounded like a gasp of surprise, and turned sharply to find she was no longer alone in her bedroom. Rowan screamed as she leapt to her feet.

A man stood in the middle of her bedroom, blocking her only exit. Tall, dark haired, lean yet muscular, he was nearly naked, wearing what appeared to be bicycle shorts. How had he gotten in her room? What was he going to do to her? With a sick sense of panic, Rowan remembered Bella saying her ex had been a crazy stalker. Had he returned to kill them both?

“What the . . .?” The man’s voice was deep and grumbling as he glared at her with displeasure. “How the hell did you get in my house, Rowan?”

Rowan backed up, still gripping the stick, and desperately looked around for a weapon. “How do you know my name?” she squeaked.

He stepped closer, his broad shoulders and naked chest now very close to her face. She got a whiff of aftershave as she peered up into angry green eyes that seemed startlingly familiar. Blinking in confusion, she dropped her gaze for a moment, which unfortunately landed on his ripped abs and the trail of fine hair that lead down toward the low waistband of his bike shorts.

Oh, they weren’t shorts. They were underwear. An angry man who somehow knew her name was standing in her bedroom wearing nothing but a tight pair of boxer briefs.

“How do I know your name?” he echoed unbelievingly. “Are you on something?” Confusion lanced his face as he looked around the room. “What did you do to my bedroom?”

He took another step in her direction, reaching out as though to touch her. Rowan screamed, dropping the stick, and bent to pick up the discarded can of compressed air with the intention of bashing him in the face with it. But when she looked up, he was gone.

Buy links


**My thoughts**

This series has been intriguing to me all the way through, as it revolves around soul mates who are connected by a magical tree. Each author can easily give her own interpretation of this tree and how it connects the lovers via all kinds of genres and stories. And while this is a series, please note that they do all stand on their own. The recurring character is just the tree.

This one revolves around a couple who is destined to be together, Rowan and James, only they are stuck in different dimensions. I was almost reminded of that movie with Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves, The Lakehouse, or something along those lines. Or at least that was the first one that popped into my head. 

I admit that at first I was a little confused as to who belong where and in what time, and in trying to keep the stories straight. When you're dealing with parallel universes that are crossing into each other, that's going to happen. But stick with it and it all sorts itself out. You're dealing with more than one version of a character, as well as different results from tragic events. 

Each version of our lovebirds definitely has good points and less than desirable qualities. It's as if you would get an ideal person if you could just merge the two together. But how do you get them into the same plane of existence, without relying on the tree all the time? How do you get them to save each other? Those are the instructions being left time and time again. There's a bit of fun conversation about some theories on this concept that the nerd in me wanted to pursue even further.

It's another enjoyable installment in this series that kept me occupied over two warm summer evenings as I rooted for Rowan and James to get together.


About Erin S. Riley

Erin S. Riley has an undergraduate degree in psychology, a graduate degree in clinical counseling, and is a board-certified lactation consultant. Since Erin was a child, she has been fascinated with human nature and what motivates behavior. She enjoys writing suspenseful, complicated love stories that take the reader on an emotional journey and end in happy tears. Erin is the author of the Sons of Odin Series: Odin’s Shadow; A Flame Put Out; and Oath Breaker; as well as a paranormal romance, A Promise Remembered.

http://tinyurl.com/TSMT6 (link for A Promise Remembered)

http://tinyurl.com/erinrileybooks (amazon page)

https://www.facebook.com/erinsrileyromance/ (facebook page)

https://erinsriley.wordpress.com/ (website)

@erinsriley1 (twitter)



Erin S. Riley will be awarding a $10 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

January and the Single Heart by Vi Zetterwall

Praise for January and the Single Heart by Vi Zetterwall:

~~ "Overall, an enjoyable read you can finish in a day." - Christine

~~ "Wonderful story. Couldn't put it down. I felt so much heartache for January." - Simonetta Michelle Miller

~~ "Perfect chick lit." - A. Brantley

~~ "A perfect romance. Just the right amount of tension and intrigue. Easy to read; easy to follow. Renews faith in family, friends, and fate." - Barbara L

~~ "A great book about love and determination." - Goofy Country Mommelia


********************

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I think will be of interest to my readers. Please note that affiliate links are also present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.



January and the Single Heart


A ROMANTIC NOVELLA ABOUT CHANCE EVENTS AND LAST CHANCES.

Thirty year old Jan Falkenberg hasn’t been kissed for nearly three years. On a serendipitous day she finds a peculiar gold coin that promises to bring luck in life and love. Just in time ... if you believe in that kind of thing! Jan has some burdensome promises to keep and a looming deadline. After making her find, she gains a new sense of confidence ... but nine more months pass and her lips are still waiting for a tender touch. Self-doubt fills her single heart and a hint of panic sets in.

As time runs short, her risky promises are in jeopardy. With her deadline approaching, she faces painful options yet none of her candidates seem to be Mr. Right. Jan looks for the chance to spur on an office romance but time is fleeting and soon, time and the coin will pressure her to make her pick—any pick. Jan’s choice may solve her crisis...or just break what's left of her heart.

Vi Zetterwall’s Single Heart series explores the very nature of a woman and a man’s relationship. Each book is a stand-alone story—a short novel that pays homage to the verbal foreplay that goes on early in a relationship. Vi’s novels feature unique characters facing everyday problems—and sometimes, not-so-everyday. Although the characters and plotlines are all different, there is a connecting thread: In each book, the leading lady comes into possession of the Coin of Luck in Life and Love. In ways, sometimes small, sometimes great, the coin affects her actions and all subsequent events.

In your life, you have probably experienced an event that seemed inconsequential at the time but had far-reaching results. Vi’s books explore the magic that occurs when serendipity strikes and some chance meeting, a misunderstanding, an unexpected job offer or an untimely car breakdown leads to two people finding each other and falling in love. Vi writes about relationships and the drama that comes from every conversation. The steam that rises from her books is not due to an abundance of love scenes. You won’t see many phrases discussing the male anatomy or torrid moments in the bedroom. But you will feel your blood pressure rise during the dialogue-heavy scenes between potential lovers. Your heart will ache when the leading lady’s does and you will gain the same insights about life and love that she has.

Follow the travels of one coin and the lives it touches. As each book concludes, the protagonist passes on the Coin of Luck to another random woman—sort of a sneak preview to the next story in the series. And everything seems to change after that. Is the coin magic or is it merely a catalyst that pushes love in the right direction? Every reader will have to decide for themselves. Vi Zetterwall weaves tales of love, suspense, mystery, and always a twist or two at the end—she loves a happy ending and never fails to deliver.


https://amzn.to/2LiIfIx
FREE 7/18 - 7/20


Read an excerpt:
Glen followed up with Jan and took a shot. “Say, I, um, I know this is a longshot but I was just wondering. I really enjoyed our walk the other day and I thought maybe, um, you might let me take you out to dinner this weekend…or next?” 
With all that she had going this week leading up to the party, Jan was really on edge. 
And now this! Just one more male I can add to the list of guys who have disappointed me. Just when I thought maybe the others have judged him too harshly, he goes and tries again to involve me in his sleazy ways. 
For a brief moment, she flashed back to the image of Dustin spewing lies right to her face. With her rage building, she let him have it with both barrels. “I don’t believe you. What is it with you guys? Can’t you keep it in your pants for fifteen minutes? You’ve got a girlfriend you’ve been living with for five years. Why don’t you take her out instead? The answer is NO! NO! NO! I won’t help you cheat on your live-in girlfriend. Can I be any clearer than that?” 
Glen raised his hand and tried to jump in. “Jan, honestly, you don’t understand. I made a—” 
Jan interrupted him immediately. “I do understand! And that’s what makes me so mad. If I had a nickel for every guy who claimed I didn’t understand, I could pay off the national debt. Everyone knows about Vicky and how you treat her. You are disgusting to me. I don’t want to go out with you and I don’t want to talk to you anymore. Just leave me alone.” 
“Jan, really, Vicky is an alley cat. I made a mistake back when—” 
“Shut up! Just shut up! You use that kind of language about her as though she has lower morals than you. You’re the one cheating on her. I don’t want to go out with someone who cheats. Please, leave me alone. If you see me coming, you better walk the other way or so help me, I will deck you.” With that, she brushed past him and left the room. As she walked out into the office, two dozen pairs of eyes were on her. It hadn’t really occurred to her that there were so many people in the office still working. They heard it all and it just didn’t matter to Jan. 
I’m tired of taking everything lying down. From now on, I’m fighting back and no two-timing cheater is going to make me back off.

About Vi Zetterwall

My name is Vi Zetterwall. I live in Seattle, Washington and have a day job and a private life but for years I have whiled away spare time dreaming up plots and imagining stories about characters with a driving goal and men and women and their unique romantic interactions. I've just finished publishing my twelfth book, December and the Single Heart, a contemporary romance novel and the last one in the Single Heart series. Now I am off to a new genre, working on my 4-book dystopian series leading off with The Maid of Salerno, which went live in June 2016. Trials of the Maid became available in October '16 while the 3rd book, Journey of the Maid, was published in April '17. The final book is due in December of '17.

Making up stories has always seemed very easy for me. It was having the discipline to write them down that was tough. I wrote one novel and it took three years and, honestly, it wasn't very good. Then I started in on my favorite storyline and wrote and wrote. I got up to 200 pages in Word and realized I wasn't even one fourth of the way through. In between working and taking care of family, it had taken me seven years. That one is still collecting dust.

Then I noticed what Amazon was doing and I saw all the ebooks that were being published as short stories. I thought "Hey, I could do that!" So now I aim to write novellas and short novels (35,000 to 65,000 words) and I find the words just fly off my fingertips. Good plots but short. Turns out to be much easier.

People ask me how I am able to write so quickly and I tell them about my youth. When I was young, my older sister and I slept in the same bed. What I didn't know is that as soon as I fell asleep, she would get back up and watch TV. So she wanted me to fall asleep fast! I usually fell asleep pretty quickly but one time, when I was about six, I couldn't sleep and so my sister told me to 'tell myself a story'. Well, she was my big sister! I lived off of every word that flowed from her mouth. I believed everything she said. So, I told myself a story and got to sleep. I did it the next night too. And now, 30 years later, I am still telling myself stories. Every night. Granted, at first they were pretty juvenile but as I got older I started creating more elaborate stories, writing them out word for word in my head. Now, I have dozens and dozens of them waiting impatiently to get out of my head and onto paper ... or in this case, Kindles.

Now, after completing my twelve book Single Heart series - from "January and the Single Heart" to "December and the Single Heart", Markers, a young adult novel, came out in February '16 and I followed that up with a 4-book dystopian series called The Maid of Salerno in 2017.

In all of my books I try to show the strength of the human spirit and give ourselves a glimpse of what we could be if we followed our better nature. I believe a good story needs a healthy dose of twists and turns along with a few curveballs. Great books throw in a little romance, some heartbreak, an element of adventure and a boatload of suspense as well. And I admit it, I'm a sucker for a happy ending.

I hope you've had a chance to read one or more of my stories. It really means a lot to me. If you would be so kind as to drop me an email and tell me what you liked (or hated) about the book, I will use all your feedback to improve and make the next one better. Or, just write and tell me about yourself or say HI and tell me where you're from. I will put you on my list and send you a notice when my next book comes out and a sneak preview to it as well.

Thank you again for giving me the chance to entertain you. If your heart is already full, I hope that my stories bring you a little more happiness. And if you are still chasing your dreams, I wish you Godspeed and I pray that my stories give you hope.


Vi Zetterwall
vzett@single-heart.com
www.single-heart.com
twitter.com/viZetterwall

Thursday, July 12, 2018

Laura's Legacy by Lilli Carlisle with Giveaway



Welcome to the blast for Laura's Legacy, the latest paranormal romance in the Black Ridge Wolf Pack series by Lilli Carlisle. Please check out an excerpt and then follow the tour for even more! Leave the author a question or comment for more chances to win in the giveaway.

Boroughs Publishing Group can't wait to give you a Xmas gift in July. Join the party:

https://www.facebook.com/events/202551280465596/?active_tab=discussion 




Laura's Legacy

A GIFT BOUND BY LOVE

While Laura was attending the annual omega celebration, a ruthless ogre attack destroyed her village and wiped out her family. Heartbroken, lonely, and adrift, she was forced to rely on the kindness of the Black Ridge wolf pack alpha for a home. And so were many others, including members of the small Newton pack, and their handsome, strong alpha, Dedric. One brief interlude was all it took for Laura to know she would choose him as her mate.

Alpha Dedric Newton couldn’t believe his good fortune. Beautiful and powerful, Laura was the omega of his dreams. Worried he had so little to offer, he insists she spend time with his small pack as they rebuild their village and homes. Laura and Dedric’s time in Newton strengthens their bond while evil works to undo all of Laura’s gifts, especially her legacy. After finding the greatest love an alpha could dream of, Dedric will do anything and everything to keep Laura safe from harm.




Buy links:



Read an excerpt:
The next day Laura found herself in the passenger seat of a large SUV heading to Newton. Dedric was driving; Gabi and Lily were in the back, along with two warriors, Jensgar and Drune, in the third-row seats. Laura’s chosen mate held her hand as he drove, leading the convoy forward and further away from the place she’d come to live, and where she’d felt safe.

Since she woke this morning, she had that same grip of fear in the pit of her stomach as she’d had when she’d learned marauding ogres had destroyed her home and village. Dedric seemed to sense her distress and held her hand tighter.

“Are you okay, sweetheart?”

She hated making him worry, but in an effort to be truthful with her partner, Laura replied, “I was finally getting used to living in Black Ridge after my home was taken from me, and now I’m moving on to the pack that I hope to make my home. It’s a bit overwhelming. I’ve moved more in the last six months than I have in my entire life.”

“I promise, I’ll make you happy and you’ll grow to love Newton as much as I do.”

Laura appreciated the sentiment and his effort, but mere words weren’t going to make the dread vanish. The last thing she wanted to do was to ruin his homecoming, so she smiled at him and squeezed his hand in reply. It would take a lot of work to clean and repair the town, but getting Newton back on its feet meant a great deal to the man she loved. “I’m looking forward to being in Newton, really. But there’s been so many changes in the past few months, I hope you understand, this is a me thing.”

“I understand. We’ll make it through this together. I love you,” Dedric murmured, and she knew his heart was true; she could see the love in his eyes.

“I love you, too,” she whispered before kissing the top of the hand that was holding hers.


About Lilli Carlisle

Lilli Carlisle, lives outside Toronto, Canada. She’s a member of the Romance Writers of America and its chapter, Toronto Romance Writers. Lilli is a mother of two wonderful girls, wife to an amazing man, and servant to the pets in her life. Lilli writes both contemporary and paranormal romance and believes love should be celebrated and shared. After all, everybody needs a little romance, excitement, intrigue and passion in their lives.



Enter to win $15 in Boroughs Bucks

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Review of Murder Gone Missing by Lida Sideris with Giveaway



Welcome to the review tour for Murder Gone Missing by Lida Sideris! This is the latest book in the Southern California Mystery series. It's the only one that I have read so far, though, and it definitely seems to work as a standalone. So take a sneak peek inside with an excerpt and then read my review. If you follow the tour, you'll be able to see even more excerpts and reviews from other readers. You can also leave the author questions and comments along the way, thus giving you more chances to enter to win the giveaway at the end.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. I also received a complimentary ARC of this book, which did not in any way influence my honest review.




Murder Gone Missing


Newly minted lawyer Corrie Locke has taken a vow of abstinence. From PI work, that is. Until her best friend Michael finds his bully of a boss stabbed in the back after confronting him earlier that day. Michael panics, accidentally tampering with the crime scene...which could lead the cops to Michael instead of the real culprit. He turns to Corrie to track down the killer. She doesn't need much coaxing. Her late great PI dad taught her the ropes...and left her his cache of illegal weaponry.

They return to the scene of the crime, but the body's missing. Racing against time, Corrie dredges a prestigious Los Angeles college in pursuit of clues. All she finds are false leads. Armed with attitude and romantic feelings toward Michael, Corrie dives into a school of suspects to find the slippery fugitive. Will she clear Michael's name before he's arrested for murder?


Read an excerpt:
I entered the dark office and heard a crackle beneath my sneaker. I turned on my penlight. A white envelope rested on the floor, the President’s name handwritten across the front. I picked it up. The scent of gardenias invaded my nostrils. Where had I smelled that before? I shoved the letter in my hoodie and quick-stepped toward the desk. A scratching noise stalled my next move. I spun around. I sucked in a breath and flashed my beam. The doorknob was twitching. In lightning speed, I stood next to the entry, back pressed to the wall, Taser in hand. Possibilities raced through my mind. Was it the killer? A random student?

https://amzn.to/2KM7GX1



**My thoughts**
This book is part of a series. For the most part, I think it works well as a standalone. It took me a little bit in the beginning to place some of the relationships, but there were plenty of allusions to previous cases and stories. 

You have quite the motley crew of characters going on. Corrie definitely has some deductive reasoning skills. She fancies herself being a top-notch detective, but still makes an awful lot of rookie mistakes. These tend to dig her in a little deeper to the mess, even though she can usually find her way back out again. It does provide a little comic relief.

Then there is the James and Michael triangle. They have both known Corrie forever, but the feelings bouncing off of that threesome definitely causes a lot of tension and jealousy. 

Veera strikes me as a little pushy and needy, and yet she has some good insights that end up being useful. She just really wants to be a part of it all.

And then you have the weird people who may or may not be involved in the murder. Ian and Squaley are just two bumbling idiots who keep digging themselves deeper into their own holes. You really have to experience them yourself because I'm not sure how to really articulate how they are.  A lot of them and the plot remind me a little bit of a corny '80s movie that I recently saw (though it's name escapes me) and enjoyed. Quirky characters, a murder and whodunit that doesn't seem like real life, and a bit of fun reading.



About Lida Sideris


Lida Sideris is the author of the Southern California Mystery series, the latest of which, MURDER GONE MISSING, was published by Level Best Books. She writes soft-boiled mysteries and was one of two national winners of the Helen McCloy Mystery Writers of America scholarship award. To learn more about Lida, please visit www.LidaSideris.com.



Links:

www.lidasideris.com

https://www.facebook.com/lidasideris

Twitter: @lidasideris

Instagram



Lida Sideris will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 9, 2018

Review of Alaskan Hideaway (Northern Lights #3) by Beth Carpenter

On Tour with Prism Book Tours


Welcome to the book tour for Alaskan Hideaway by Beth Carpenter! Along the way there will be lots of excerpts and reviews to give you great insight into this wonderful clean contemporary romance that I'm sure you're going to love. Plus you can preview the other books in the series, which can all be read as standlones. I have a review for you today of this one. Also be sure to enter the giveaway at the end. Lots of prizes to be had! 


Alaskan Hideaway
(Northern Lights #3)

By Beth Carpenter
Contemporary Romance
Mass Market Paperback & ebook, 368 Pages
July 1st 2018 by Harlequin Heartwarming

He traveled 3,800 miles to be alone

…but is it what he really wants?

Relocating to Alaska after a family tragedy seemed an ideal way for author R.D. “Mac” Macleod to grieve in peace. But solitude feels overrated when Mac’s around B&B owner Ursula Anderson and her orphaned goddaughter, Rory, who’s already bonding with his dog. Worse, he’s imagining a future with Ursula and Rory. Is it time to finally forgive himself?


Book links:
GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble
HarlequinKoboGoogle PlayiTunes

**My thoughts**
I've long been fascinated by stories from Alaska and really hope I can get up there to visit some day. That makes me quick to click on books with that setting, especially with an intriguing storyline. Sure, it's a little formulaic. You know the beginning. You can figure out the ending. But all of those little details that establish the plot line and get you from point A to point B make it well worth checking out.

I'm not a skier, but there is something romantic about the idea of a ski lodge and B&B up in the mountains. And I love the fact that the main characters, Mac and Ursula, are a bit older. Romance isn't just for the kids, you know! Both of them have been hurt in the past. Both of them have lived a lot of life. But the opposite ways in which they attack life issues gives them a perfect balance for each other and you know is going to turn into something good.

I may or may not also be a little partial to Mac's daughter for a couple of reasons.

This was a beautiful story of fierce love for one's child, even when that child isn't biologically yours. It's about fighting for what is right and never giving up hope. It's about learning how to forgive yourself when things happen that are out of your control. (And honestly, so much of life is out of our control.) And it is about learning how to love again. I really enjoyed every one of these characters, particularly the spunky Rory. 

This book is the third one in the series, but it truly felt like a standalone story. That being said, I still want to check out the other books in the series, especially if they are as good or better than this one. It was a great read for a warm summer day.



Other Books in the Series

The Alaskan Catch
(Northern Lights #1)

By Beth Carpenter
Contemporary Romance
Mass Market Paperback & ebook, 368 Pages
August 1st 2017 by Harlequin Heartwarming

Where life's currents take you…

Dana Raynott just traveled 3,600 miles to reunite with the brother who changed his name and fled to Alaska nineteen years ago. It's impossible not to be moved by this wild, breathtaking state, even if Dana's no closer to finding the answers she came here for.

Her brother's best friend, Anchorage engineer Sam MacKettrick, might be able to help her. He's strong and kind—a six-foot, irresistible blend of diverse cultures. He's also haunted by a tragic family history with a startling connection to Dana's past…


A Gift for Santa
(Northern Lights #2)

By Beth Carpenter
Contemporary Romance
Mass Market Paperback & ebook, 384 Pages
December 1st 2017 by Harlequin Heartwarming

It’s the season for giving…and starting over?

A reindeer farm without Santa wouldn’t be Christmas in Marissa Gray’s Alaskan hometown. Luckily Chris Allen’s there to pinch-hit, although for Marissa, seeing her ex-fianc├ę again brings back memories of what might have been.

Ten years after their breakup, the feelings between the wildlife biologist and blue-eyed fisherman are stronger than ever. Only now there’s a foster kid in the mix, as well as the shocking crime that cost Marissa her job and her family’s security. She and Chris need to find their way to a meeting of minds and hearts to make this truly a season for second chances…

About the Author

Once upon a time ...

when Beth Carpenter was a little girl, she read everything she could get her hands on, and entertained herself on the school bus by making up stories in her head. Not a lot has changed. She's still consuming books like M&Ms, and spends her days creating happily-ever-afters for her imaginary friends.

She lives in Alaska and Arizona with her husband and an aggressively affectionate fifty-pound lap dog. She loves to hear from readers.

Tour Schedule

July 9th:
Launch
Paulette's Papers
Hearts & Scribbles
Thoughts of a Blonde
It's All About the Romance
Andi's Book Reviews
underneath the covers
July 10th:
The Power of Words
Katie's Clean Book Collection
Rockin' Book Reviews
Book by Book
July 11th:
Among the Reads
Reading Is My SuperPower
Stacking My Book Shelves!
July 12th:
Janice's Book Reviews
Becky on Books
Britt Reads Fiction
Kimber Li
July 13th:
Teatime and Books
Inside The Mind of an Avid Reader
SilverWoodSketches
July 14th:
Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


PRIZE PACK #1: 1 winner will receive a $20 Amazon gift card, a northern lights journal, a snowflake bookmark, and a signed copy of The Alaskan Catch (US and Canada)

PRIZE PACK #2: 1 winner will receive a $20 Amazon gift card and e-book copies of The Alaskan Catch and A Gift for Santa (open internationally)

Ends July 18th

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!

Thursday, June 28, 2018

Sons of Charlotte: Torn by Annamarie Cantrell, Dr. Matthew Chavis, Dana Lynn with Giveaway


Welcome to the book blast for Sons of Charlotte: Torn by Annamarie Cantrell, Dr. Matthew Chavis, and Dana Lynn. I know how hard it is to write a book on your own. I can't imagine trying to share the responsibility with two other people! I am always super impressed by collaborative efforts such as this one. Although, there is something to be said for being able to feed off of each other's creativity. So please, enjoy an excerpt from this crime thriller and then download your own copy. Leave questions and comments for the authors, as they will be stopping by. And then be sure to follow the tour and enter the giveaway!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help me to support my websites, at no additional cost to you.



Sons of Charlotte: Torn

How many secrets can the Queen City conceal?

Charlotte, NC - 1966

After a head injury on the basketball court, Tony Malone, a firefighter, confides in his best friend and captain, Steve, about a strange dream he had while unconscious. It was as if he were living a different life. Steve brushes it off as related to his injury, but Tony begins to experience more phenomena with these new memories, unbeknownst to his wife, Lana. Tony struggles to live with his secret until a fire opens up a whole new world.

Charlotte, NC - 1996

Chuck Thomas began his ascent to greatness at a graphic design firm headed by Elizabeth Wheaton, the battle-ax of the Queen City corporate scene. A series of Chuck’s immoral decisions leaves the very powerful Wheaton with a raging vendetta. The playboy eventually meets Valerie Meyers, a shy girl with a complicated past, and the two marry. Their idyllic life is halted by a suspicious brush with death leaving Valerie once again picking up the pieces.

Two Souls, Too Many Questions

Literally torn between two worlds, Valerie must once again deal with the loss of her husband and come to terms with what happened to Chuck Thomas and who Tony Malone really was.



https://amzn.to/2lG3ol6


About the authors:

Along with being a successful writer and editor, AnnaMarie Cantrell is a self-made entrepreneur, starting her first consultation firm at the age of 18. She is Co-Founder and Vice President of Captive Ink Media, a literary consulting firm offering expertise to authors at all stages in their careers, and providing clients national exposure in media outlets such as The Chicago Times, Reader’s Digest, and Bustle. Her work with veterans was recently featured on the CW.

Dr. Matthew Chavis is an accomplished author and speaker. His works have been featured through a plethora of avenues. His inaugural book Old Highway 316 offers readers a glimpse into his life, as he loosely based this fiction novel on his testimony and was recently featured on the 700 Club. Many of his stories encompass the best aspects of romance, drama, paranormal and suspense/thrillers.

Through her own unique marketing plan, Dana Lynn transformed a self-published book into a serious work garnering national attention and bestseller status (under the pen name Katharine DeBrecht). She has appeared on every national cable news network numerous times and on over 500 radio shows across the country, repeatedly requested for additional appearances. As a self-syndicated writer, her opinion-editorials have appeared in major newspapers throughout the United States and across the globe.

www.SonsofCharlotte.com

https://www.facebook.com/SonsofCharlotteTORN/

@SonsofCharlotte

#Sons_of_Charlotte

www.CaptiveInkMedia.com


The authors will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Review of Mischief and Mayhem by L.E. Rico with Giveaway



Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for Mischief and Mayhem, the second book in the Whiskey Sisters romance series by L.E. Rico. I have an excerpt for you to check out before you download your own copy. And I also have my review of this book, which I greatly enjoyed reading. In fact, I have also now purchased the first book in the series. So please read my thoughts, and then leave your own comments and questions for the author. Follow the tour to see even more excerpts and reviews, and for more chances to win the giveaway.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help support my websites, at no additional cost to you. I also received  a complimentary ARC of this book in exchange for my honest review.



Mischief and Mayhem


Welcome to Mayhem, Minnesota, home of the Knitty Kitty, The Little Slice of Heaven Pie Shop, and O’Halloran’s Pub—owned by the four young women known as The Whiskey Sisters.

In the wake of her divorce, Jameson O’Halloran has gone man-vegan. And this is one diet she’s determined to stick with. Even when her long-lost ex-brother-in-law shows up looking like two scoops of double dutch dipped in chocolate… She’s not giving in. Been there and still wearing the messy T-shirt.

It’s been a decade since Scott Clarke left his family and his hometown, never to return. But when tragedy strikes, he finds himself dragged back to the land of gossip, judgment, and the one woman he absolutely, positively, without a doubt can never have. His brother’s ex is off-limits. He just needs to keep repeating that to himself until it sinks in.


Read an excerpt:
The shelf is a little too high for my short self, and I’m only able to brush the dishes with my fingertips.

“Oh, here, let me help you with that…”

Before I can object, he’s standing behind me, reaching over me to get the dishes. For a brief second, his front is pressed against my back. His broad, muscled, perfectly sculpted front. I feel a wave of unwelcome warmth beginning under my collar and creeping up my neck.

“Thanks…” I murmur awkwardly, keeping my back to him for a moment longer in an attempt to quash my blush.

“Okay. I’m just going to grab a shower before my brother gets here, if you don’t mind.”

“Nope. Not at all,” I say quickly. “You go right ahead.”

Once he disappears around the corner, I silently smack my palm to my forehead.
What was that, Jameson? Why the blush? He’s just your ex-husband’s brother, that’s all. This is insane. I’ve got to stop this childish behavior. No. More. Men. Remember? No thinking about men. No looking at men. No fantasizing about men.

Especially not that man!

I’m still shaking my head and silently berating myself when I hear him behind me.

“Hey, Jameson, do you happen to know if my dad keeps an extra toothbrush around? I dropped mine in the toilet and…”

I don’t hear the end of his sentence because, when I turn to face him, I suddenly can’t hear anything. I’m too entranced by the sight of him wearing nothing but a towel around his waist.

Oh, crap, oh crap, oh crap… I am in so much trouble here. No men. No men. No men… I repeat the mantra over and over again in my head, but clearly the rest of my body isn’t getting the memo.

https://amzn.to/2MtgEol


**My thoughts**
This is my first Whiskey Sisters novel, though I discovered that it is the second book in the series. I love the idea behind their names: Jameson, Hennessy, Walker, and Bailey. I also love the close relationship that the sisters have. I only have one sister and admit that sometimes I am envious of people who have more than one. This foursome seems like they had a lot of fun growing up and continue to do so as adults.

And then there are the men in Jameson's life: Win and Scott, who happen to be brothers. Win makes you want to smack him half the time for being a butthead. There's also that huge disappointment of a childhood romance gone bad. I know that often happens, but you usually want to root for them to work out, right? Then again, Scott is definitely more desirable than Win. He's better looking, based on the descriptions. He's got an exotic quality about him, as he travels the world helping people. And he has a vulnerability about him thanks to his estrangement from his family these past 10 years. There's a mystery to be solved here.

Dealing with a father in a coma is traumatic enough. I can't imagine fighting with my only sibling the entire time on top of it. Add to it that Scott is trying to figure out some missing pieces from his life story and reconcile with his father, and you can't help but feel sorry for the guy. And you completely understand why Jameson has called off men and relationships for a while. Yet the spark between these two is undeniable. It's weird, as they were just technically related. But they also make sense, and you can't help but root for them.

This is a sweet love story with plenty of amusing moments that just make it feel real. I feel like this book also works well as a standalone, though it is the second book in the series. I have already downloaded the first one and plan to read it this summer. I already can't get enough of the Whiskey Sisters and look forward to more installments in the series!


About L.E. Rico

L.E. Rico didn’t set out to be an author. In fact she’s made a name for herself as a classical music radio host—doing her best to make the music and the composers relevant by putting them into a modern context. It was just a few years ago that she discovered a passion for writing that blossomed into an entire novel. And then another. And another. And, while she still spends plenty of time on the radio, telling the stories of the great composers, she spends even more time composing her own great stories.

https://www.laurenrico.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LaurenRicoAuthor/

https://twitter.com/RadioRico

https://entangledpublishing.com/author/l-e-rico


L.E. Rico will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway