Saturday, December 15, 2018

Days of Fantasy for Christmas: Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Days of Fantasy for Christmas

We hope you enjoyed getting a glimpse into these fantasy books and grabbed some for yourself or as gifts for other fantasy lovers! If you missed any of the stops, you can see snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below. And don't forget to enter the awesome giveaway...

December 1st: Launch

December 2nd: Gillian Bronte Adams - Interview


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterInstagram

Snippet from the Interview with Amos McElhenny (find the full post here):

Prior to the events documented in Orphan’s Song, reported by Gillian Bronte Adams

He is already seated when I arrive at the Whistlin’ Waterfly. From the number of empty mugs, I guess he had company or has been here some time—the fly exploring his discarded meal seems to point to the latter. I rummage in my satchel for a parchment and quill as I approach.

GBA: Pardon me, but are you “the great Amos McElhenny”?

AM: (blinks bleary eyes and scowls) So they tell me.

December 3rd: Morgan L. Busse - Interview


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterInstagramPinterestBookBub

Snippet from the Character Interview (find the full post here):

1. Who are you?

I am Lady Selene of House Ravenwood, first daughter and heir.

2. What is your family’s gift?

That’s a secret. But since you seem to already know, we are known as the House of Dreamers. We can walk inside people’s dreams. How do we do that? By touch. When I touch a person while they are sleeping, I slip into their mind, into their subconscious, into their deepest memories. Seems like a pretty awesome gift, right? Until you find out that your job is to search out secrets within a person’s mind or…or find their worst nightmares and make them relive it over and over again until their heart gives out. *shudders

December 4th: Evangeline Denmark - Interview


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterInstagramPinterest

Snippet from the Author Interview (find the full post here):

Q: How did you come up with the idea for your novel, Curio?

A: I’m a bit of a logophile and regularly get crushes on words. I was driving home one day when the word curio popped into my head and I was just smitten. I played around with it in my head, thinking about how curio and curiosity have the same root. Then I started thinking about curio cabinets and the kinds of objects found in them—knick-knacks and figurines. For a while I daydreamed about all those curios coming to life. What kind of world would they live in? What would they want, and what would be important to them? Finally I landed on the question: What would be a curiosity to these animated curios? The answer was the key to the story—a human! From there I knew I’d be writing a novel about a girl trapped in an enchanted curio cabinet.

December 5th: Kate Avery Ellison - Interview


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterBookBub
Find the Book: GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleBook Depository

Snippet from the Author Interview (find the full post here):

What’s your favorite part of the writing process?

The part where I am daydreaming and brainstorming about the fantastical worlds that my stories are set in. My Frost Chronicles series had one of my favorite settings of all the stories I’ve written—a harsh, icy landscape of snow and forest, with monsters that came out only at night and were repelled by these strange blue flowers that bloomed even in the snow. It’s like getting to be a kid again when I am imagining what the story’s setting and world will be like. I love it.

December 6th: J.M. Hackman - Excerpt


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterInstagramPinterestBookBub

Snippet from the Excerpt (find the full post here):

At the top of the stairs, a rush of air carrying the scent of wood smoke, moist earth, and sea salt filled my nostrils. On my left, a door to a small balcony stood ajar, letting in the fresh night air. A guy about my age stood near the balcony’s iron railing, his dark head bowed. He was seriously hot, his profile lit by the hallway torches. Dark, mussed hair, square jaw, and a straight nose—but the solemn set to his mouth drew me.

Was he okay? I could—you know what? None of my business. I started to turn away.

December 7th: Ronie Kendig - Interview


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterInstagram BookBub

Snippet from the  Interview with the Haegan Celahar (find the full post here):

1. Prince Haegan, tell me the most interesting thing about you.

The most interesting thing? I suppose that I have endured these last ten years on a feather mattress without the use of my body and that my ears burned by the ramblings of an aged accelerant. All thanks to an enemy determined to crumble House Celahar and the Nine Kingdoms.

2. What do you do for fun?

Flames. This query feels like a jest. The most fun a person in my situation can have is having an intellectual duel with my aged tutor and guardian. Make not the mistake that because he is old, he is slow. Sir Gwogh has one of the keenest minds in all the Nine Kingdoms.

December 8th: C.E. Laureano - Excerpt


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterPinterestBookBub

Snippet from the Excerpt (find the full post here):

King Galbraith had always loomed large in Conor’s memory, but he had chalked it up to a child’s outsized perceptions. Now, he realized his memories were accurate. Clad in a wolf’s-fur cloak with the steel crown of kingship upon his brow, the king nearly filled the throne. His waist-length hair, brown-blond like Conor’s, fell in warrior’s braids over his shoulder, and several plaits decorated his long beard. Beside him stood Lord Riocárd, Galbraith’s champion and captain of the guard, bearing the sword of kingship. The captain was a formidable man in his own right, fierce-eyed and broad-shouldered, but even he was dwarfed in his lord’s presence.

December 9th: Belle Malory - Guest Post


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebookTwitterInstagramBookBub
Find the Book: GoodreadsAmazon

Snippet from the Guest Post (find the full post here):

Astrological Elements

Hello Friends!

In the spirit of my upcoming release, Electric Skies, I wanted to do a fun post about the different elements and their meanings astrologically. Take a look at your own sign's element and see if it matches your personality.

xoxo,
Belle

December 10th: Melissa McShane - Guest Post


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterPinterestBookBub
Find the Book: GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleBook Depository

Snippet from the Guest Post (find the full post here):

Voyager of the Crown by Melissa McShane

The Crown of Tremontane series began as a bedtime story I told myself that grew over time: the story of princess/spy Telaine, of the beautiful but bookishly shy Alison, of tough warrior Imogen. But I have no memory of how Zara North, heroine of Voyager of the Crown, came to be. Because I wrote the series back to front, starting with book three (Agent of the Crown), Zara’s character developed in a sideways manner. I always knew she had the magical ability to unconsciously heal herself, and I knew that would be a devastating ability for a queen to have—because it meant healing the damage of aging so she would never grow old or die, and that kind of eternal reign struck me as potentially terrible for a kingdom. She fascinated me from the beginning, even though she was a side character, great-aunt to Princess Telaine North Hunter whose story Agent was.

December 11th: J. Ellen Ross - Excerpt


Follow the Author: WebsiteGoodreadsFacebook
Find the Book: GoodreadsAmazon

Snippet from the Excerpt (find the full post here):

Sitting upright, the girl shifted on her stool and waved to Marit. “Another, please,” she said, tapping her mostly empty mug. Her voice came low and smoky, with a hint of slurring.

From behind the bar, Marit raised her eyebrows and then shrugged. She snagged a smaller clay cup from a shelf and filled it. Then she slid it across the bar top.

The girl seemed to ponder over the drink, weighing what she should do with it. Then, without warning, she turned to face Jon. Bleary eyes focused on his face and she asked, “What would you do if you met a monster?”

December 12th: Jennifer Silverwood - Guest Post


Follow the Author: WebsiteBlogGoodreadsFacebookTwitterTumblrBookBub
Find the Book: GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleBook Depository

Snippet from the Guest Post (find the full post here):

I remember reading articles that said Tolkien, when he was writing his Lord of the Rings saga, began with names. A linguist himself, it’s not surprising that he believed that our history can be told through our words and names.

Let me state for the record I am not J.R.R. Tolkien, nor am I Robert Jordan or any of the brilliant fantasy authors who made me want to write. But I am proud to admit they taught me a thing or two about characters, places and the meaning behind the name. If you read their stories, particularly Tolkien, you can almost feel the connection between the name and what that place or person truly is. If only we had a guide to duplicity in real life, right?

For Silver Hollow, I wanted to give my characters a little extra meaning and give some hints as to their true nature. After all, you’ll soon discover that everything in Silver Hollow is only the surface above hidden layers.

December 13th: Melissa Wright - Excerpt


Follow the Author: WebsiteBlogGoodreadsTwitterPinterestInstagramBookBub
Find the Book: GoodreadsiBooksBarnes & Noble

Snippet from the  Excerpt (find the full post here):

You did not focus intent. You did not point. It was far too dangerous, even for little girls.

From a grown witch of Bernie’s caliber, it could be deadly.

Diana stepped forward, crunching a wayward twig beneath her shoe. At the sound, a hundred moths took flight, coming from under shelves and out of foliage in a swarm of wings and dust. They’d transformed, in a matter of hours, and fluttered like a moving cloud through the shop, circling Diana where she stood before shifting and coursing toward the open front door. They swarmed closer together, a dark mass, and then disappeared into the night.

How had it become night already?

December 14th: Morgan Wylie - Trailer & Dreamcast



Check out Morgan's Dreamcast (find the full post here):

a

Tour Giveaway


Grand Prize #1: Winner will receive a FIRE HD 8 TABLET along with the following ebooks (open to those who are eligible for the Fire Tablet in their area can receive Kindle gifted copies of ebooks):
- CURIO, MARK OF BLOOD and ALCHEMY (The Curio Prequel), and THE ICE CHILD (a holiday novelette) by Evangeline Denmark
- A GIFT OF POISON by Kate Avery Ellison
- THE TWELFTH KEEPER by Belle Malory
- SERVANT OF THE CROWN or VOYAGER OF THE CROWN (winner's choice) by Melissa McShane
- THE REMEMBERED QUEEN by J. Ellen Ross
- SILVER HOLLOW by Jennifer Silverwood
- THE FREY SAGA (Books 1-3) ebook box set by Melissa Wright

Grand Prize #2: Winner will receive the following print books (open to continental US residents):
- ORPHAN'S SONG by Gillian Bronte Adams
- MARK OF THE RAVEN by Morgan L. Busse
- SPARK by J.M. Hackman
- ABIASSA'S FIRE 3-book collection by Ronie Kendig
- The complete set of SONG OF SEARE TRILOGY by C.E. Laureano
- SILENT ORCHIDS by Morgan Wylie

Ends December 19, 2018

Friday, December 14, 2018

Days of Fantasy for Christmas: Morgan Wylie

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to today's stop! Today Morgan Wylie is sharing her dream cast for her young adult epic fantasy series. Currently four books are available, with the fifth one coming soon. Check out the series and enjoy the giveaway!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Morgan Wylie for
Days of Fantasy for Christmas


The Age of Alandria series is a coming of age story of a heroine as she is awakened to her magical powers and a destiny she never saw coming.

**The Age Of Alandria book series is a YA epic fantasy written by Morgan Wylie. There are currently four books in the series with a fifth and final installment due out in the next year. This is an epic, world building fantasy series in the vein of Lord of the Rings and the Shannara Chronicles on MTV. There are Humans, Faeries, Shifters, Elves and many other magical elements along with many dark creatures and evil antagonists.

Silent Orchids

(The Age of Alandria #1)

A dying realm.

The ancient evil of the Droch-Shúil has been unleashed.
The Orchids have been silenced… but for how long?

Daegan, elite of the Ferrishyn warrior tribe of Faeries, is charged with a mission to find the Sol-lumieth, a mysterious new power that could change the fate of all in the realm of Alandria. But he is conflicted by his purpose, and he cannot trust the motives of those he serves. He has too many questions and they must be answered.

Kaeleigh, a girl abandoned as a small child just outside Missoula, Montana, is now 18. She is trying to discover who she is and where she belongs. In her heart, she feels she has family out there… somewhere. Desperate to unravel the mysteries of her past, she embarks on a journey that will forever change her along with her two best friends, Finn and Chel—who have secrets of their own.

Veiled Shadows

(The Age of Alandria #2)

Shadows linger where light is obstructed, and truth is veiled.

Evil is an untreated disease in the once beautiful realm of Alandria.

Kaeleigh is faced with a revelation that she must reconcile. She will decide if discovering the truth is worth the unknown consequences to both herself and her friends.

Daegan, the Ferrishyn warrior, is conflicted by more than his loyalties, and is confronted with emotions he doesn’t know how to deal with. A choice must be made. A choice… that may cost him more than he ever wanted to give.

The Droch-Shúil—enforcers and servants of the ancient darkness—continue to cast their shadow over Alandria seeking those who can be turned to their side.

The magic of The Orchids is growing, but not everyone will survive what is to come.

Fractured Darkness

(The Age of Alandria #3)

The darkness in Elnye is growing.

There is screaming in Exhile.

The mysterious woman, known only as “She”, is in a rage. Her pawn, Maleina has made a dangerous move and severed her communications with the dark mistress. Now as dueling dark forces, master and willing initiate, they begin to jockey for power as the stage is set for the coming war.

Kaeleigh and her small band of loyal companions have escaped the dungeons of Elnye and found their way to the secret home of the Ehsmia. After breaking the vicious bond that enslaved Daegan to Maleina’s will, the walls between Kaeleigh and her Ferrishyn warrior begin to fall, as their feelings for each other begin to give way to passion.

The darkness is fractured, but its relentless quest for power goes unabated. A war is coming. However, the power of the Sol-lumieth has finally come together and found its light. A blinding light of freedom, that may be the salvation for all of Alandria.

Fading Light

(The Age of Alandria #4)

Kaeleigh, Daegan, Finn, and Ella have just escaped the Forest of Lumei, surviving with the help of the Dryad Priestess, Andreinna. Now, focused on getting to one of the few portals leading to the mortal realm, they continue their journey together through the desolate lands of Alandria. They witness the truth of the land’s fading magic before making it to the portal, and their help is needed in the small town of Kandri where the darkness has infiltrated in mysterious ways.


Pairing up, they set out on three missions: Finn with Ella, seek allies amongst the Twined residents of Tylínyth. Kaeleigh and Daegan search for a map to lead them to the Book of Lenoria in order to reach The Orchids. Meanwhile, Chel and Hal seek allies among the Shifters of Mandü tré Lan with a few surprises of their own.

She—the mistress of darkness who resides in the mountains of Exhile—has tried time and again to free herself from captivity. The Orchids unknowingly provide her a source of energy to accelerate her plan for freedom, but how much more will be required? Her power is growing and She is amassing forces of her own.

The allies are gathering, but will they come together in time?

Will Maleina’s plans for ultimate power in Alandria be her own undoing?

The light of Alandria is fading.
But the fight is far from over, in fact, it is just the beginning.



Book Trailer


Dreamcast



About the Author

Morgan Wylie is an award-winning and USA Today Bestselling author with several genres published from YA fantasy to adult paranormal romance and other things in between. Morgan published her first novel, Silent Orchids, one year after moving across the country with her family on a journey of new discovery. After an amazing three years in Nashville, TN and the release of two more books, Morgan and her family found their way back to the Northwest where they now reside. Still working everyday with great optimism, Morgan continues to embrace all things: "Mama", wife, teacher, and mediator to the many voices and muses constantly chattering in her head... where it gets pretty loud!



Tour Schedule
(Links won't work until the posts go live.)

December 1st: Launch
December 2nd: Gillian Bronte Adams - The Songkeeper Chronicles
December 3rd: Morgan L. Busse - Mark of the Raven
December 4thEvangeline Denmark - Curio
December 5th: Kate Avery Ellison - A Gift of Poison
December 6th: J.M. Hackman - Spark
December 7th: Ronie Kendig - Embers
December 8th: C.E. Laureano - Oath of the Brotherhood
December 9th: Belle Malory - The Twelfth Keeper
December 10th: Melissa McShane - Voyager of the Crown
December 11th: J. Ellen Ross - The Remembered Queen
December 12th: Jennifer Silverwood - Silver Hollow
December 13th: Melissa Wright - Blood & Brute & Ginger Root
December 14th: Morgan Wylie - The Age of Alandria Series
December 15th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


Grand Prize #1: Winner will receive a FIRE HD 8 TABLET along with the following ebooks (open to those who are eligible for the Fire Tablet in their area can receive Kindle gifted copies of ebooks):
- CURIO, MARK OF BLOOD and ALCHEMY (The Curio Prequel), and THE ICE CHILD (a holiday novelette) by Evangeline Denmark
- A GIFT OF POISON by Kate Avery Ellison
- THE TWELFTH KEEPER by Belle Malory
- SERVANT O THE CROWN or VOYAGER OF THE CROWN (winner's choice) by Melissa McShane
- THE REMEMBERED QUEEN by J. Ellen Ross
- SILVER HOLLOW by Jennifer Silverwood
- THE FREY SAGA (Books 1-3) ebook box set by Melissa Wright

Grand Prize #2: Winner will receive the following print books (open to continental US residents):
- ORPHAN'S SONG by Gillian Bronte Adams
- MARK OF THE RAVEN by Morgan L. Busse
- SPARK by J.M. Hackman
- ABIASSA'S FIRE 3-book collection by Ronie Kendig
- The complete set of SONG OF SEARE TRILOGY by C.E. Laureano
- SILENT ORCHIDS by Morgan Wylie

Ends December 19, 2018

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Pros and Cons of Being a Writer/Author by CB Samet, author of Gray Horizon


Welcome to the Name Before the Masses Tour for Gray Horizon by CB Samet. Today she is sharing her pros and cons of being a writer/author. Do you agree? Want to know more? Leave her more questions and comments. Be sure to also follow the tour. And of course check out the book before you download your copy and enter the giveaway.

Please note that affiliate links are present in this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.


Pros and cons of being a writer/author

Pros …
I love creating a world into which people can escape. Life is crazy and hectic and filled with the insecurities, uncertainties, and worries we battle every day. Novels allow us to escape our own reality and our own troubles for a short time. We immerse in an adventure and can be swept away by the trials and tribulations of a fictional character with whom we connect.

Writing is my own escapism. My daily stress is cleansed when I have those few minutes or hours to myself to write. The flow of ink onto the paper is a cathartic release as I build a story scene by scene. No matter how rough that first rough draft is, it is still something I created—born of my own hopes, dreams, frustrations, humor, despair, and imagination.

Transitioning from the first word to the printed product gives me a sense of accomplishment. I’ve published ten books now and the thrill of holding my own novel or knowing others are doing the same hasn’t subsided. The final product of a finished book transitions the intrinsic motivation of writing to an extrinsic satisfaction of seeing the fruits of my labor and knowing others are enjoying it.

I enjoy supporting the writing industry. I’m part of several author groups. I have read and given feedback on a dozen fictional works in 2018. I have done full review of books, and I have promoted other authors in my newsletter. Knowing how much reviews matter, I also leave a review (Amazon, Bookbub, Goodreads, etc) on all books I’ve read and enjoyed.

I write in different genres. I get to enjoy creating series in different genres, but I stick to one theme: strong women overcoming intimidating obstacles.

Cons …

Marketing myself is hard. Getting people to take a chance on author whose name isn’t on a billboard or hasn’t had a movie made from her book (yet!), is hard. There is a great deal of competition out there and so many talented writers. My track record for awards and positive reviews lends credence to the quality of my work. My favorite review was a Readers’ Favorite reviewer on Whyte Knight who said, “CB Samet is a master of the craft.” Currently, Gray Horizon is in a book competition, and I hope to see continued positive feedback.

That’s it for the cons. I enjoy everything else about being a writer. When I stall for a while on one book, I work on a different genre in a different series. I’m currently working on book 4 in The Rider Files series and book 4 in The Avant Champion series as well as a paranormal romantic suspense novelette.
“She needed a hero so she became one.” –Robin Reed


Gray Horizon

Sworn enemies. A stolen nuclear weapon. And the clock's ticking.

When Dr. Lillian Whyte learns a nuclear weapon is on the loose in Europe, she collides with a ruthless mercenary from her past. Isolated from her husband, a former CIA operative, Lillian tries to covertly help track the weapon. As she he joins the race to stop the bomb, she is drawn into a deadly game of chase. Despite her efforts, those intent on global catastrophe remain one step ahead of her.

As Lillian faces the fears of her past and deadliness of the present, can she secure the future of the world?


Read an excerpt:
“Dr. Whyte,” a guttural voice greeted her.

Her blood turned frigid and her stomach lurched as her heart thudded against her ribcage. As long as she lived, she would never forget that deep German accent—the voice of one of her captors nine years ago in Kenya.

The one that got away.

She was fairly certain Ivan Kleist would have only one reason for tracking her down: revenge.

Springing from the bench seat, she lashed a leg out into his gut. She saw a brief look of surprise on his pale face before she took off in a sprint.

Why now? Nine years he had waited.

The calculating killer had waited until she was out of the United States and away from Sean to corner her. She dashed in the direction of her hotel. Would she be safe in the lobby? In her room?

She slung her purse over her shoulder. Her phone was in the outer pocket, but she would have to slow down to make a call. Not happening. She would not slow until she reached the hotel.

Could she beat him to the hotel? His legs were longer, but she was ten years younger. But he probably hadn’t already logged twenty-six thousand steps for the day, as she had.

From her peripheral vision, Lillian saw an enormous object barreling toward her like a freight train. She barely had time to brace herself before Ivan plowed into her. She felt like she had been tackled by a linebacker. His large arms encircled her as she sailed to the ground. They rolled through the grass, her body encased by his.

He was so large he could probably crush the life out of her with his arms. She gasped for air. He wasn’t crushing her, but his grip was immobilizing.

Grunting, he hauled her to her feet. “Settle down, hase. Little white rabbit.”

Lillian, still dazed and sucking wind after her sprint, hardly put up a fight as he dragged her into an alley. Looking around frantically, her eyes couldn’t focus long enough to see anyone within shouting distance. She clawed at his large hand blocking her mouth from screaming.



About CB Samet

Christina is a practicing physician, mother of two boys and a terrier, and wife to a caring and supportive husband.


“I grew up reading Tom Clancy, Michael Crichton, and the Bourne books. I write seeking to create that level of action and intrigue but with female heroines. I love the quote, ‘She needed a hero. So she became one.’ My novels have empowered women overcoming powerful obstacles and the strong men who support them.”

LINKS
Author Website
Amazon Author
Goodreads
Facebook


CB Samet will be awarding a $20 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Days of Fantasy for Christmas: Melissa Wright

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Here's a paranormal stop for you on this Days of Fantasy tour. Read an excerpt from this novella before you download your own copy and follow the rest of the tour to enter the giveaway. It's a big one!

Melissa Wright for
Days of Fantasy for Christmas


Blood & Brute & Ginger Root


(A Bad Medicine Novella)
By Melissa Wright
Paranormal
ebook, 121 Pages
July 21st 2019 by Melissa Wright

Diana Coulton doesn’t have time for love. She’s got Bad Medicine—the family herb & book shop—to take care of, not to mention her chaotic sisters and censorious cat. No matter what Diana might want, romance is on the back burner for this Coulton sister.

Until the night well-meaning Bernadette decides to fix all that. Bernie knows better. Magic used to spur romance has a tendency to go haywire, all witches know that. She’s going to have to stop it.

If she can only remember how.

Before long, the local fire marshal shows up on Diana’s front step. But he’s not there to inspect the shop. He’s been caught in Bernie’s spell, and worse, he doesn’t even believe magic exists. Miles tries to get away from Bad Medicine, but he’s bewitched, and providence is not on his side.

Forces of nature conspire to throw Miles and Diana together, and time is running out to cure the enchantment. If they can’t figure out how to undo the magic hexing them, Diana could lose everything. But if they do, she might lose Miles.


Excerpt

You did not focus intent. You did not point. It was far too dangerous, even for little girls.
From a grown witch of Bernie’s caliber, it could be deadly. 
Diana stepped forward, crunching a wayward twig beneath her shoe. At the sound, a hundred moths took flight, coming from under shelves and out of foliage in a swarm of wings and dust. They’d transformed, in a matter of hours, and fluttered like a moving cloud through the shop, circling Diana where she stood before shifting and coursing toward the open front door. They swarmed closer together, a dark mass, and then disappeared into the night. 
How had it become night already? 

Belle followed the path of the moths, swinging wide past Bernie to slam the front door closed and drive home the locks. 
She turned, and each of them stared at the man at Bernie’s feet. 
Diana inched closer, and finally, when she felt brave enough, squatted beside the body. He had a handsome face, but his chin was a little scruffy and shadows ringed his eyes. She wondered what the spell had wrought on him. She reached gingerly toward his jacket, pinching the edge of it between the tips of two fingers, and flipped it to the side. 
She sucked in a breath and stood straight up, nearly knocking Bernie off balance where she waited leaned-in to see what Diana might find. 
Staring back at them was an embroidered badge that read Fire Marshal
Diana groaned, suddenly sick. “No,” she whispered. “No, no, no!” Her eyes found Belle, pleading. “This has got to be Abby’s doing. She hates us! She sent him to find a reason to shut us down and now we’ve…” She gestured helplessly toward the body on the floor. 
Her arms came in again to wrap around her middle. “This is going to cost us our business license.” 
Belle’s lips pursed, shifted sideways as she tilted her head. She nudged the body with the toe of her boot. “I don’t know. I mean, if she hates you so much why did she send you a hunky fireman?” 
Diana’s fisted hands snapped down at her sides. “He’s not a fireman!” She took a breath through her teeth. “This isn’t a joke. He is a fire marshal. As in, enforcing code.” She took a sudden step back, hand flying over her mouth. Her sisters were staring at her, so she let her fingers curl slowly into her palm to whisper, “Are caterpillars against code?” 
Belle sighed, waving her hands. “Okay, let’s all just take a second to regroup.” 
Leave it to Belle to have the clear conscience and level head when they’d just killed a man. 
“He’s not dead,” Belle said. 
Diana’s gaze snapped to hers. 
“All I’m saying, is it will all be okay. We have done nothing illegal thus far.” 
Bernie snorted. “Thus far.” 
Belle shrugged. “Look, I’m not going to rule anything out. But we need to have a plan and panic will get us nowhere.” She looked at Bernie. “What was your intent?” 
“Stop. That was basically all I had time to think.” 
Belle nodded. “Great. So, nothing permanent.” 
Bernie bit her lip, unsure. 
Belle rubbed her face, took hold of Diana’s shaking hands. “Tea. Tea first, then a plan.”

About the Author

Melissa is the author of the Frey Saga, Descendants Series, and KING OF ASH AND BONE. She is currently working on the next book, but when not writing can be spotted collecting the things she loves at Goodreads and Pinterest. Contact her through the web at www.melissa-wright.com or follow her blog at authormelissawright.blogspot.com.

For info on contests and new releases, sign up for the newsletter here: http://eepurl.com/zbisj.


Tour Schedule
(Links won't work until the posts go live.)

December 1st: Launch
December 2nd: Gillian Bronte Adams - The Songkeeper Chronicles
December 3rd: Morgan L. Busse - Mark of the Raven
December 4thEvangeline Denmark - Curio
December 5th: Kate Avery Ellison - A Gift of Poison
December 6th: J.M. Hackman - Spark
December 7th: Ronie Kendig - Embers
December 8th: C.E. Laureano - Oath of the Brotherhood
December 9th: Belle Malory - The Twelfth Keeper
December 10th: Melissa McShane - Voyager of the Crown
December 11th: J. Ellen Ross - The Remembered Queen
December 12th: Jennifer Silverwood - Silver Hollow
December 13th: Melissa Wright - Blood & Brute & Ginger Root
December 14th: Morgan Wylie - The Age of Alandria Series
December 15th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


Grand Prize #1: Winner will receive a FIRE HD 8 TABLET along with the following ebooks (open to those who are eligible for the Fire Tablet in their area can receive Kindle gifted copies of ebooks):
- CURIO, MARK OF BLOOD and ALCHEMY (The Curio Prequel), and THE ICE CHILD (a holiday novelette) by Evangeline Denmark
- A GIFT OF POISON by Kate Avery Ellison
- THE TWELFTH KEEPER by Belle Malory
- SERVANT O THE CROWN or VOYAGER OF THE CROWN (winner's choice) by Melissa McShane
- THE REMEMBERED QUEEN by J. Ellen Ross
- SILVER HOLLOW by Jennifer Silverwood
- THE FREY SAGA (Books 1-3) ebook box set by Melissa Wright

Grand Prize #2: Winner will receive the following print books (open to continental US residents):
- ORPHAN'S SONG by Gillian Bronte Adams
- MARK OF THE RAVEN by Morgan L. Busse
- SPARK by J.M. Hackman
- ABIASSA'S FIRE 3-book collection by Ronie Kendig
- The complete set of SONG OF SEARE TRILOGY by C.E. Laureano
- SILENT ORCHIDS by Morgan Wylie

Ends December 19, 2018

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Days of Fantasy for Christmas: Jennifer Silverwood

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

What's in a name? For today's stop, Jennifer Silverwood tells us more about the reasoning and meaning behind the names of her characters in Silver Hollow. You can also look up your own name for fun. But first you'll want to download your own copy and enter the amazing giveaway.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Jennifer Silverwood for
Days of Fantasy for Christmas


Silver Hollow


(Borderlands Saga #1)
By Jennifer Silverwood
Contemporary Fantasy, Magical Realism
Paperback & ebook, 429 pages
May 31st 2018 by SilverWoodSketches

Amie Wentworth trusts books more than people. After her parents' deaths ten years before, she writes fiction to escape reality. A timely invitation from her long-lost uncle arrives, but she's used to ignoring the mysterious surrounding her life.

Until she is stabbed in an alley and brought back to life by a handsome stranger. Soon Amie is dragged into the very sort of tale she is used to selling. To make matters worse, the man who saved her life keeps turning up and her would-be-murderer is still at large.

After crossing the Atlantic to her father’s homeland, she discovers a world beyond imagining. Silver Hollow is a place of ancient traditions and supernatural dangers, where everything is the opposite of what it seems and few escape sane. Faced with an impossible choice, Amie is forced to confront a deadly family legacy while remembering a life she soon wishes to forget.


Book Trailer


Guest Post: What's in a Name?


I remember reading articles that said Tolkien, when he was writing his Lord of the Rings saga, began with names. A linguist himself, it’s not surprising that he believed that our history can be told through our words and names.

Let me state for the record I am not J.R.R. Tolkien, nor am I Robert Jordan or any of the brilliant fantasy authors who made me want to write. But I am proud to admit they taught me a thing or two about characters, places and the meaning behind the name. If you read their stories, particularly Tolkien, you can almost feel the connection between the name and what that place or person truly is. If only we had a guide to duplicity in real life, right?

For Silver Hollow, I wanted to give my characters a little extra meaning and give some hints as to their true nature. After all, you’ll soon discover that everything in Silver Hollow is only the surface above hidden layers.

(Due to the location of Silver Hollow in the Borderlands, most of the names below are taken from Scotch-Irish/Celtic origin, while a few below are old Germanic.)

Welsh

Emrys- Welsh form of Ambrose, who was a Romano-British military leader they later based the character of Merlin from.

Highland/Old Irish-Celtic

Morcant- Morcant is my nod to a modernized Morgan le Fay. Her updated name is derived from Old Welsh, a form of “Morgan.”

Elisedd- Celtic for “kind.” (Her last name, Underhill, was my direct nod to Tolkien)

Slaine- Scottish in origin, typically a feminine name meaning “good health.”

Iudicael- An old, Breton form of Judicael.

Drustan- A much older, Breton form of the name, Tristan. (My nod to Tristan & Isolde)

Old German

Grim- Simply means “grim” (however older Norse variations also mean “mask”)

Dearg- flame or red haired.

I’ve made you want to look up your name haven’t I? Well since you didn’t ask, I’ll tell you the meaning behind my name. Jennifer is a Cornish version of the Welsh name Gwenhwyfar or Guinevere and means pure spirit/fey. And just because I’m that nerd, I’ve included a link in the pic below to find the meaning behind your name too. Have fun and see you at the next tour stop!


About the Author

Jennifer Silverwood was raised deep in the heart of Texas and has been spinning yarns a mile high since childhood. In her spare time, she reads and writes and tries to sustain her wanderlust, whether it's the Carpathian Mountains in Transylvania, the highlands of Ecuador, or a road trip to the next town. Always on the lookout for her next adventure, in print or reality, she dreams of one day proving to the masses that everything really is better in Texas. She is the author of three series--Heaven's Edge, Wylder Tales and the Borderlands Saga--and the stand-alone titles Stay and She Walks in Moonlight. She recently released her first serialized Urban Fantasy, Angel Blue in August 2018.


Tour Schedule
(Links won't work until the posts go live.)

December 1st: Launch
December 2nd: Gillian Bronte Adams - The Songkeeper Chronicles
December 3rd: Morgan L. Busse - Mark of the Raven
December 4thEvangeline Denmark - Curio
December 5th: Kate Avery Ellison - A Gift of Poison
December 6th: J.M. Hackman - Spark
December 7th: Ronie Kendig - Embers
December 8th: C.E. Laureano - Oath of the Brotherhood
December 9th: Belle Malory - The Twelfth Keeper
December 10th: Melissa McShane - Voyager of the Crown
December 11th: J. Ellen Ross - The Remembered Queen
December 12th: Jennifer Silverwood - Silver Hollow
December 13th: Melissa Wright - Blood & Brute & Ginger Root
December 14th: Morgan Wylie - The Age of Alandria Series
December 15th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


Grand Prize #1: Winner will receive a FIRE HD 8 TABLET along with the following ebooks (open to those who are eligible for the Fire Tablet in their area can receive Kindle gifted copies of ebooks):
- CURIO, MARK OF BLOOD and ALCHEMY (The Curio Prequel), and THE ICE CHILD (a holiday novelette) by Evangeline Denmark
- A GIFT OF POISON by Kate Avery Ellison
- THE TWELFTH KEEPER by Belle Malory
- SERVANT O THE CROWN or VOYAGER OF THE CROWN (winner's choice) by Melissa McShane
- THE REMEMBERED QUEEN by J. Ellen Ross
- SILVER HOLLOW by Jennifer Silverwood
- THE FREY SAGA (Books 1-3) ebook box set by Melissa Wright

Grand Prize #2: Winner will receive the following print books (open to continental US residents):
- ORPHAN'S SONG by Gillian Bronte Adams
- MARK OF THE RAVEN by Morgan L. Busse
- SPARK by J.M. Hackman
- ABIASSA'S FIRE 3-book collection by Ronie Kendig
- The complete set of SONG OF SEARE TRILOGY by C.E. Laureano
- SILENT ORCHIDS by Morgan Wylie

Ends December 19, 2018