Monday, September 17, 2018

Review Once Upon a Lady by Addie Jo Ryleigh


Welcome to the review tour for Once Upon a Lady by Addie Jo Ryleigh. This is another book in The Soul Mate Tree series, where lovers are brought together by a magical tree. I have been reviewing several of these books, as the concept fascinates me. This is the eighth book in the series. 

As always in these tours, you will find an excerpt here with my review. You can follow the tour for even more excerpts and reviews. Please leave the author comments and questions along the way and take advantage of extra chances to enter the giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Affiliate links are also present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help support my websites at no additional cost to you.



Once Upon a Lady

Respectable Lady Katherine Baxton, striving to meet the requirements of her station, has become the ultimate dutiful daughter. And now, the Duke of Blackthorn’s betrothed. Far from a love match, Kate is nevertheless determined to do as expected and marry.

That all changes the night she panics at her impending future and runs, stumbling upon a private grove, a mysterious tree . . . and a half-naked man.

The youngest son of a viscount widely thought to have purchased his title, Jackson Cooper demonstrates his disdain for the aristocracy by affording himself every luxury available—drinking, wenching, and gambling—while eschewing anything representing the ton. Jackson has little care for his reputation and no desire to marry. His escape from London is all but complete.

Until fate—in the form of a beautiful, mysterious lady—interrupts his plans, enticing him with the very thing he never wanted.


Read an excerpt:
“Aren’t sprites confined to the trees?” His deep voice washed over her.

She didn’t turn to acknowledge him. “How nice to see you properly dressed for once.”

His chuckle warmed her. “Are you following me?”

An unladylike snort refused to be repressed. “Hardly. You are rather difficult to overlook, being the only unknown face here.”

“That’s not true. You’ve seen my face . . . as well as other, more interesting parts.”

Kate wished she’d listened to her sister and worn a bonnet. Anything to mask the heat flaring in her cheeks.

Thankfully he remained at her side and hadn’t a clear view of her face. “We have not been introduced. I can’t be seen speaking to you.”

“Then let us go where we can't be seen.”

Her heart raced at his boldness. Why was this man so tempting? She was spoken for, though still unofficially. Proper ladies didn’t follow strange men to private locations, regardless of their marital status. “Absolutely not.”

“Even if I have something of yours?”

Blast! Her ring. Given her luck lately, she would have lost it in the grove of all places. Her aunt would toss in her grave knowing Kate had misplaced her gift.

“A true gentleman would return it.”

His deep laugh caused her pulse to flutter. “I'm no gentleman. Or haven't you heard?”

https://amzn.to/2xnieSM


**My thoughts**
I don't often like to read historical romances, but I wanted to give this book a shot since it was a part of this series. I just love this idea of a Soul Mate Tree and have been enjoying seeing how the various authors interpret it. I think fans of the genre are going to really like this book. And while it gave me flashbacks to the "bodice rippers" my mother used to stash in her room for some reason, it really was better than those books ever were. I admit I tend to balk a bit at those insta-love stories, regardless of the time period. But I found it intriguing how each of them were drawn to delve out of their normal desires and class/family expectations after this inexplicable encounter with the tree. I liked the chemistry between the two of them, their chess moves back and forth and flirting. And I liked the modern views of some of the characters clashing with the old-fashioned views of some of the other ones. There's a strength and empowerment factor possessed by them which makes the historical romance a bit more palatable for me. It was a quick read that I enjoyed on a warm afternoon on my porch.


About Addie Jo Ryleigh

Addie Jo Ryleigh writes historical regency romances that feature rakish heroes and strong feisty heroines.

Addie Jo has lived in the same cold-winter-hot-summer area of Minnesota her entire life. Sharing in the raising of her three extremely rambunctious boys is her very understanding husband who endured being dubbed “The Duke” by his co-workers. Keeping Addie Jo company while she writes (besides her wonderfully loud children) is her yorkipoo, Bella, who is never far from Addie Jo’s side. And recently the newest addition to their family, a black lab puppy named Max.

Addie Jo has always had a love and passion for romance books and became engrossed in historical romance (particularly Regency) soon after graduating from Lurlene McDaniel’s young adult books. Currently, Addie Jo reads any genre that has a great emotional story that keeps her reading into the early hours of the morning.

Addie Jo has a bachelor degree in accounting and is a financial coordinator when not playing chauffeur for her hockey-playing boys, cuddled up with a good book, or writing her next story.

Author Social Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AddieJoRyleigh

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AddieJoRyleigh

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/AddieJoRyleigh

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/addiejoryleigh

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/AddieJoRyleigh

Amazon: http://bit.ly/AddieJoRyleigh

Website: http://addiejoryleigh.com




Addie Jo Ryleigh will be awarding a $25 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, September 15, 2018

99 cent sale: Rogues to Lovers: Legend of the Blue Rose Box Set by Various Authors



Rogues to Lovers: Legend of the Blue Rose

"He who dares not grasp the thorn should never crave the rose." – Anne Bronte

The blooming of the rare and mysterious blue rose heralds great change, for when the buds open to full blossom enemies become lovers. Some fear this omen, some desire it. All respect it. Follow the journey of these brand new historical romance tales from USA Today and Bestselling authors and discover the power--and the promise--of the blue rose for yourself.

Featuring fabulous USA Today and Bestselling authors Catherine Kean, Elizabeth Rose, Amy Jarecki, BJ Scott, Collette Cameron and Lauren Smith. This set features these ALL NEW novellas -

A Knight and His Rose by CATHERINE KEAN -

When Lady Violetta Molineaux is injured falling into an underground tunnel, she's rescued by her enemy, Lord Osric Seabrook. Afraid to reveal her identity to him, Violetta maintains her ruse of being a commoner. Yet, when she and Osric discover a secret in the tunnel, one that involves the rare blue rose, they must acknowledge shocking truths that could change their lives forever.

Scottish Rose by ELIZABETH ROSE -

Coira MacDuff agrees to marry an Englishman to make an alliance with her clan. But she never expects her new husband, Sir Lance de Selby to take her back to Liddel Castle where the English held her as a prisoner, locked and hanging in a cage three years earlier. (Coira was first seen as the sister of Effie MacDuff in Aidan - Book 2 of the MadMan MacKeefe Series.)

A Knight Amid Thorns by LAUREL O’DONNELL –

When the murderer of her brother is welcomed into her castle as a friend, Lady Ella Rames vows to make his life as miserable as hers and to avenge her brother. Struggling to fulfill an oath and find the elusive blue rose, Sir Graden Dumount’s final hope rests with a woman who despises him. Can Ella and Graden overcome their animosity and let the power of the blue rose heal them and turn enemies into lovers?

Highland Knight of Dreams by AMY JARECKI -

Two generations after the massacre of Dunoon, will the power of a single damask rose be enough to break the hatred of a clan feud that has gone too far? When Alice Lamont crosses paths with the notorious Quinn Campbell, she readies for battle. But as tensions rise, so does passion…until the enemies must choose—love or war.

A Rose Among Thistles by BJ SCOTT -

When an unprovoked raid on his clan's stronghold means that Logan MacAllen must assume the position of laird, he is bent on revenge. Determined to take and destroy the one thing that means more than anything to his sworn enemy--his only daughter--Logan must harden his heart to the beguiling lass, or risk losing it to the rose he discovers among thistles.

A Rose for a Rogue by COLLETTE CAMERON -

What’s a future duke to do when the most unsuitable woman possible captures his heart?

Not only is Eden the by-blow of his father’s arch enemy, she’s also sister to the man who killed Chester’s elder brother. Dare he risk all for the only woman to ever bring peace to his soul? Can he convince Eden to put aside her wariness and to trust him with her heart and love?

The Gentleman's Seduction by LAUREN SMITH -

Martin Banks can't resist a chance for revenge when he buys Livvy as a companion in exchange for her father's debts but he never planned on falling in love.




I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers.

Friday, September 14, 2018

The Limit Is When You Say Stop Vol. 2 It's My Time by Patrick Malcom #TLIWYSS

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers. There are also affiliate links present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission to help support my websites at no additional cost to you.



The Limit Is When You Say Stop™ Vo. 2 "It's My Time," is the ultimate answer to life's challenges, bullying, relationship building between friends and family, and dealing with shortcomings while becoming an inspired individual. A brief glance at the table of contents will captivate any individual in search of an invaluable resource for empowerment, bully prevention, and inspiration. No matter the age demographic, this is the perfect book for schools, after-school programs, youth groups, corporate environments, and churches, etc.


FOCUS - REFLECT - TRANS4RM

https://amzn.to/2QvCQB8


About Patrick Malcolm


Patrick Malcolm was born and raised in Jamaica West Indies by his single mother. With the loss of his father at 4 months, Mr. Malcolm supported his family as eldest and only son of three siblings at an early age. Responsibility was instilled in his early years and became an integral factor in how he has matured from child to adult. Mr. Malcolm has always done whatever possible to provide guidance and care-take, for the sake of his mother and his family, then and now. Mr. Malcolm’s drive and determination have led to a successful career as an Actor/Stuntman & Precision Driver. His appearances include various print magazines, commercials, and TV appearances in shows such as Law and Order and HBO series OZ with stunt and precision driving performances in films such as The Sorcerer’s Apprentice, The Taking of Pelham 123, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and Batman, to name a few. Mr. Malcolm also takes time to help those in need of advice, encouragement and/or a lending ear through written word and speech as Author/Motivational Speaker.

Website: https://www.thelimitiswhenyousaystop.com
Social Media:
https://twitter.com/pejepublishing
https://www.facebook.com/pejepublishing

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Read an excerpt from Alien Contact for Runaway Moms by Ed Hoornaert with Giveaway


Welcome to the blog tour for Alien Contact for Runaway Moms by Edward Hoornaert! This is a new science fiction novel with romantic elements in it. I have an excerpt for you to check out. If you want more excerpts and some reviews, follow the tour. You can leave questions and comments along the way, plus have more chances to enter the giveaway.

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.



Alien Contact

When her abusive lover tries to take custody of her baby, Audra flees where even he can’t follow: the aliens’ forbidden cities underneath Kwadra Island.

But can the safety she wants for her daughter survive a search party, violent alien criminals—and the love of an emotionally damaged Kwadran?



Buy links

Read an excerpt:
“Are you sure you want to do this?” As soon as the words fled his mouth, he realized how stupid they were. Of course she was sure. Nothing could stop such an elemental force of nature. She was Spirit Mother, walking amongst humans to teach him, Tal Pelletier, some of the many lessons he needed to learn. 
“I…” She caressed her baby’s head. “No, I’m not sure. I lost all my certainties somewhere back in the tunnel.” 
Belying her words, she reached for one of the massive, marrel-plastic door handles. Pulled. It was too heavy for her. 
When he grasped the handle to help, his finger grazed hers. She froze. She was a slight woman with delicate, haunted features; she had to tip her head back to meet his eyes, almost as though asking for a kiss. Just as he needed her spirit’s strength, she needed his physical strength—but not his lust, which was tainted with anger and despair. Never that.
So he kept his lips to himself. Together, they pulled open a door onto the ghosts of a past that had never existed. 
He blinked. Although the cavern’s lights were dim, they were too bright after the ventilation tunnel. The cavern smelled and felt different. The air in the ventilation tunnel was raucous and angry, but out here it was still with resignation. 
Audra moved, startling him. She touched her forehead, the baby on her chest, then both shoulders. He puzzled over her movements for a moment but then recognized the sign of the cross. The gesture was perfect, showing that she realized the mystical power of the world of his ghosts. She was indeed a Spirit Guide, sent to help him overcome his demons.

About Edward Hoornaert

Edward Hoornaert is not only an author of science fiction, romance, and non-fiction, he's also a certifiable Harlequin Hero; he inspired N.Y. Times bestselling author Vicki Lewis Thompson to write her favorite Harlequin Desire, Mr. Valentine, which was dedicated to him. In the past, he wrote contemporary romances for Silhouette Books, but these days he writes science fiction adventures—usually with elements of romance. In addition to novelist, he has been a teacher, technical writer, salesman, janitor, and symphonic oboist.

After having 30 different addresses in his first 28 years, his rolling stone slowed in the mountains of British Columbia and stopped in Tucson, Arizona. His high school sweetheart has been his wife for more years than he has fingers and toes to count. Ed and Judi have three sons, a daughter, a mutt, and the Milky Way Galaxy's most adorable grandsons.

Contact info

email: edhoornaert@yahoo.com

Website: https://eahoornaert.com/

Join Ed’s World newsletter: http://eepurl.com/Psqmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/edhoornaert

The author will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, August 24, 2018

Let Your Light Shine (The Guide to Living Your Authentic Life) by csBailey

I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers. Please also note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you.


Let Your Light Shine

Tired of just surviving? Do you often wonder what your purpose is? Constantly experiencing setbacks and/or sadness? Are you sick and tired of being sick and tired?

In “Let YOUR Light Shine – The Guide to Living YOUR Authentic Life”, csBailey takes you on a journey of self-discovery for thirty days straight – all to help you uncover who you really are, so you can live on purpose and experience true happiness.

Award-winning Brand Strategist and Transformational Speaker, csBailey shares how she went from helping hundreds of clients build their brands and find their “why”, to living authentically herself and regaining inner peace. Through stories, humor, and practical tips, she shows the way to anyone trying to find their purpose and live their authentic life. In these pages you’ll discover:

  • How to avoid living a life of regret
  • How living a life of service will change your entire life
  • How to free yourself from negativity
  • If you are a Dreamer or a Doer
  • How to know an obstacle from an opportunity
With intention, attention, patience and heart, when you finish this guide, you will begin to live your authentic life. You’ll know exactly who you are, you will discover your purpose, and you will live a happier life. So, what are you waiting for? Don’t die with regret. Learn how to Let YOUR light shine!



Buy links


About csBailey


Innately talented and exceptionally driven, csBailey is a dominating force and respected authority in the dynamic fields of Branding, Marketing, and Transformational Speaking. csBailey is a magnetic personality and highly-sought-after resource for business owners, non-profit organizations and community leaders from all sectors looking to increase opportunity through authenticity. For over two decades, she has collaborated with and guided hundreds of successful business leaders, professionals, and individuals in translating theory into tangible bottom-line results. Currently, csBailey serves as the Founder + Chief Creative Officer of The Hustle Agency.

As a premier Keynote Speaker and Author, csBailey energizes people to meet the challenges of the world around them by discovering the authenticity within themselves. Having overcome more than her fair share of pain and suffering: growing up poor in public housing, domestic violence, molestation, a suicide attempt, alcohol/drug abuse, failed businesses, and so much more - csBailey's quintessential success story of sacrifice, hard work, and perseverance as well as the unique and charismatic way she communicates it, will inspire any audience. She skillfully weaves her compelling life story into the fabric of self-discovery and empowerment.

Through The Hustle Agency, Cheri provides superior Brand + Marketing services for an array of prominent clients. Previous clients, projects, and partnerships include:

Dick Gregory, Sidney Poitier, Patti Labelle, Charlie Mack, Bishop T.D. Jakes, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Queen of Ghana/GA State, the A.M.E. Church, the African-American Chamber of Commerce of Central PA, Alpha Kappa Alpha, African American Museum in Philadelphia, October Gallery, Beta Pi Boule, NAACP, and many others.

Award Highlights -

* Selected as one of Philadelphia's Top 20 Marketing Leaders by the Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance

* Selected for a National Leadership Initiative for African American Museum professionals by the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

csBailey's passion, energy, and unmitigated gall motivates audiences to step beyond their limitations and into their greatness. Her charisma, warmth and humor have transformed ordinary dreamers into extraordinary doers. Engage with csBailey today and Let Your Light Shine.

Monday, August 20, 2018

Read an excerpt from Morgan Is Missing by K. Hanson



Welcome to the blog tour for Morgan Is Missing, the second book in the Kayla Falk series by K. Hanson. Today I have an excerpt for you to enjoy. Then, if you follow the rest of the tour, you will find reviews and lots of other fun posts. Plus there is a giveaway for you to enter at the end!

Please note that affiliate links are present within this post. Should you make a purchase through one, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.




Morgan is Missing (Kayla Falk Series #2)

by K. Hanson

Genre: Adult/New Adult Thriller
Release Date: August 2018

Summary:

Kayla Falk is trying to move past the traumatic events of her mission in Syria and settle into a comfortable engineering job. However, when Morgan Bellamy, the younger sister of Kayla’s late best friend, disappears while on vacation, Kayla doesn’t hesitate to jump into action to find her. As Kayla investigates, she learns that Morgan has become trapped in a hellish human trafficking situation. Kayla is determined to find Morgan before she slips into the shadows forever.

Content Warning: This book is about sex trafficking. While I avoid explicit, graphic depictions of sexual violence, due to the nature of the subject matter, it is definitely implied that it takes place.





Read an excerpt:

Blue eyes and a laughing smile, framed by wavy golden hair.
Those blue eyes stared back at Kayla Falk as she looked at the picture on her desk of her best friend Olivia. Her late best friend, that is. Even now, more than a year after returning from Syria, Kayla couldnt quite believe that shed never again hear the laugh that went with that smile. She had hoped the pain would fade away after enough time in a calm engineering job in Minneapolis, but it never did. It just lingered and, if anything, became heavier with time.
Hey, Kayla!
The shout tore her from her thoughts. Kayla blinked away the tears that had formed in her green eyes and turned her swivel chair around to see Olivias blue eyes looking back at her.
Except, they werent Olivias.
These eyes belonged to Morgan, Olivias younger sister, who stood in the doorway to Kaylas office. Hey, Morgan.” Her voice broke, though she smiled at the sight of her friend. “What are you doing here?
“Are you all right?” asked Morgan, tilting her head.
Kayla cleared her throat. “Just have a tickle in my throat.”
“If you say so. Anyway, just stopping in to say bye to my dad before I meet up with Amanda and head out to the Black Hills. You know, you should really come with us, said Morgan.
I wish I could, but I really need to get some work done here. Kayla gestured to the pile of paperwork that had spilled from its tray and invaded the rest of her desk.
Morgan rolled her eyes and brushed a strand of brown hair out of her face. Come on. You work for my dad. Hell let you come if you want to.
Im sure he would. But hes not the only one waiting for me. Kayla waved around at the offices of the other engineers. I have a pile of schematics to finish and pass along.
You still working on that wind turbine prototype? Morgan asked.
Yup, thats it. Its not quite coming along the way Id hoped it would.
Dont worry. Youll figure it out. Maybe a nice break would inspire you a bit. Morgan gave Kayla an encouraging smile. If you cant get away for a few days, can you at least come to lunch? I can text Amanda to wait a bit longer.
Sure, I can make that work. Kayla turned around to lock her computer. Where were you thinking of eating? She threw her coat over her shoulders and walked out of her office with Morgan.
How about we just hit that sandwich shop down the street? Morgan suggested. Its not far, and they have decent food.
Sounds good to me.
As they headed downstairs, Kayla asked, “How’s the new laptop working out?
“I love it! It’ll be a big help this next semester. Thanks again. That was quite a Christmas present.
They stepped out onto the street, with the chill air of the Minnesota winter greeting them and snowflakes floating through the air.
Dont worry about it. From what I saw of the old one, you really needed it.
For sure. Now it wont take me eighty years to just open a browser tab.
They arrived at the restaurant and placed their orders at the counter.
Once they had gotten their food, they carried their trays over to a corner booth and sat down. Between bites of her hot roast beef sandwich, Kayla asked, So, what are your plans in the Black Hills?
Morgan shrugged. We dont have a lot of concrete plans. I know were going to be in Deadwood for New Years, but were going to be in the Hills for a week after that. Im not sure how well fill the time. Well probably just make it up as we go.
Thats a good way to do it. Theres a lot to do and see out there so you wont get bored.
Yeah, I know its cold, but theres some beautiful scenery around there. Just driving through the Hills would be awesome.
Why did you decide to go to Deadwood for New Years?
Ive heard it can be quite the party. Tons of people come out, and they do fireworks at midnight. Sounds like some of our friends are going to be there as well, so were hoping to run into them.
I hope you enjoy your last winter break. After this year, you wont get time off like this again.
I know, but I am excited to finish school and finally do something for real. Morgan flashed a smile and let out a bubbly giggle. Did I tell you I got that pharmacist position at the childrens hospital?
Kayla laughed. Youve only mentioned it a couple hundred times. I am happy for you, though. It seems like a perfect fit for you.
Yeah, after all of the volunteering Ive done with the childrens hospital, I want to be somewhere I can make a real difference, not just stuck behind a counter at Walmart or something like that.
And Sioux Falls isnt very far away, so you can come back to visit pretty easily.
Exactly. Morgan finished her sandwich and crumpled up the paper wrapping, then checked her phone. Looks like Amanda is outside with her car. I suppose we should get going. Rapid City is supposed to get some snow tonight, and we want to be there before it hits.
Okay. Ill walk out with you.
The two of them threw their sandwich wrappers away and walked out the door. Morgan found Amandas car and walked up to it. Kayla smiled at Amanda when they made eye contact through the car window. As Morgan reached for the handle, she looked back. Hey, Kayla, before I head off, have you actually met Amanda?
I think I saw her maybe once. Didnt she pick you up from our sparring practice once?
Morgan opened the door. “Hey Amanda, come out and meet Kayla.”
Amanda came around the car, her long black hair lying over her shoulders. “I finally get to meet the badass who took out those terrorists at the Union,” she said with a grin.
Kayla touched her collarbone and glanced away. “Yeah, that was me . . . and Olivia.”
“Kayla doesn’t really like to talk about it, Amanda,” said Morgan.
“Sorry, that didn’t come out right. It’s just . . . my brother was one of the people they shot and I wanted to thank you. For what it’s worth, I’m sorry about Olivia. She was always kind to me.”
Kayla gave her a nod and a small smile, then turned to Morgan. “I really should get back to work.
Morgan placed a hand on Kayla’s shoulder. “Are you sure you can’t ride with us for a couple of laps around the block? I dont really think my dad is running a stopwatch on your lunch breaks, especially since he knows youre out with me. Just take it easy and enjoy the time we have together.
Kayla laughed. Not now, but well all go out when you get back.
If you really have to get back, Ill let you go. Morgan pulled the door open and slid into the passenger seat as Amanda went back to the driver’s side.
Have a safe trip! said Kayla as she waved to them.
We will! See you in a week! Morgan waved.

# January 8th, 2018 #

Kayla sat upright at her keyboard and heard a knock at her office door. She turned around to see David, her boss and Morgans father, standing in the doorway. His brow was scrunched with worry, and his Bellamy-blue eyes had bags underneath.
Kayla, can I talk to you for a moment? he asked.
Sure. You look stressed. Whats wrong?
Have you heard from Morgan at all?
Kayla shook her head. Not since her Happy New Year text a week ago. Why?
David stepped into the room and pulled the door shut. I havent heard anything from her either. I didn’t want to worry about it too much since she’s on vacation, and you know how she is about responding when she’s busy. But they were supposed to be back yesterday. Ive tried texting and calling her a few times and havent gotten anything back.
Maybe she just lost her phone. Im sure Deadwood was crazy that night.
Ive talked to Amandas mom, and shes not having any luck either. Somehow, I doubt theyve both managed to lose their phones at the same time. And even if they did, they’d have called to let us know they were going to be coming late.”
Kayla frowned. It did seem strange that they would both drop off the grid simultaneously. Do you think somethings happened to them?
David shrugged and shook his head. I have no idea. I havent seen anything in the news, at least. He looked down and wrung his hands before looking back at Kayla. Would you do me a favor and head out to the Black Hills to see if you can find her? Id go myself, but I need to look after things here, and I dont want to be the overprotective father if its nothing. I know youre trying to wrap up this project, but its keeping me up at night to think that something could happen to her.
Tears welled in his eyes and his voice caught in his throat. I cant lose Morgan, too.
Kayla looked over at the photo of Olivia, with Morgan’s same sapphire eyes looking back at her. Kayla still hadnt told David or Morgan that she had been the one to kill Olivia to spare her from a painful death after being poisoned. I can’t lose Morgan, either, Kayla thought.
Yes, she said as she stood up. Ill find Morgan. Shes the closest I have to a sister. Everything else can wait.
Really? Thank you so much, Kayla. David wrapped Kayla in a tight embrace. “I always forget that you’re nearly my height until I hug you.”
Kayla returned the hug for a moment but quickly stepped back and glanced away from David. You dont need to thank me. Youve lost one of your daughters already because of me.” Her voice trailed off. After a moment, she clenched her jaw and fixed his eyes with hers. “Now, Im going to bring the other one back to you.
You know I dont blame you for what happened to Olivia. I know you did your best.
Kayla held up her hand to stop David from speaking.I know you dont blame me, but I blame me because it was my fault.
He stepped toward her, but Kayla put a firm hand on his shoulder. “I dont feel like arguing about it. Where do you think I should start looking for Morgan?
David shook his head. I dont really have any clues to offer you. The last place I knew she visited is Deadwood. I dont know anything more specific than that. She has some pictures up on Facebook, though. Maybe you could look through those to see if any of them would help.
Ill do that. Ill just head home now to start packing and thinking about where to look.
Yes, please. Get started as soon as possible.
Kayla took a long stride through the door and turned toward the stairs to leave, then turned back. David, she said, causing him to look back at her, Ill find her. I promise.







About K. Hanson

K lives in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, where he works as a software developer. In his spare time, when he isn’t writing, he enjoys reading, working out, playing video games, and spending time with his wonderful fiancee, Bobbi. Some of his favorite authors are Tom Clancy, George R. R. Martin, and Sarah Maas.






Author Links:
a Rafflecopter giveaway