Wednesday, June 19, 2019

After Gardens by Katharine Coldiron Release Day

About the Book


Title: After Gardens 
Author: Katharine Coldiron 
Genre: Women’s Fiction 

Maya, a weekend at a hot springs with her boisterous friend Rhondey is just what she needs to move forward after her divorce. For Rhondey, it’s an opportunity to help Maya cut loose a little, shed some of her inhibitions. Maya doesn’t see the need to shed anything, and she’s not looking for a teacher. But the more Maya clings to her privacy, the more difficult it is for her to recognize her true teachers…and the right moment to step free.  


Available on Amazon

Author Bio

Katharine Coldiron’s work has appeared in Ms., the Times Literary Supplement, the Rumpus, the Manifest-Station, horoscope.com, and many other places. Find Katharine at kcoldiron.com or on Twitter @ferrifrigida.  



Links

Website * Twitter *  Facebook * Goodreads

Monday, June 17, 2019

Lacewood by Jessica James


Welcome to the book blast for Lacewood by Jessica James! It's a women's fiction novel about healing and restoration. Please enjoy an excerpt before you download your own copy. And then follow the tour for more excerpts and reviews! Leave comments and questions for the author along the way and get bonus chances to enter the giveaway.



Lacewood


Thrust together by chance. Bound together by destiny. A disillusioned socialite and a special operations veteran find a way to save a small town while healing themselves. A haunting read about the journey to restore an abandoned 200-year-old mansion and the secrets it reveals about a long-lost love.


Read an excerpt:
Walking carefully along the overgrown path, Katie stepped to the side to touch the bark of one of the colossal trees towering over the front yard. “I’ve seen these trees before, but I don’t know what they are.” She threw her head back to see how the snowy white arms stretched toward the blue sky, catching and reflecting the amber rays.

The sheriff stopped and followed her gaze. . “They’re sycamores. See how the bark forms a lacy pattern at the bottom? Back in the old days they called it lacewood.”

He turned and bounded up the steps while Katie ran her fingertips over the intricate design. “It’s beautiful,” she said, under her breath. “Lacewood.”

“Of course, another name for the tree is ghostwood,” the sheriff quipped over his shoulder. “But that wouldn’t make a very good name for a house, now would it?”

Katie lifted her eyes from the multi-colored bark at the bottom to the white limbs overhead. Even in broad daylight the trees appeared ghostly, with skeletal-like branches reaching out like bony fingers.

Turning back to the house, Katie focused on the long-forgotten grandeur of the bygone days it represented. The outward signs might have worn off with age, but the dignity of the place remained intact as far as she was concerned.

Despite the decades of dirt and decay, she felt a welcoming presence here, a warm and friendly vibe. The peace of the house and its timeless beauty unlocked something in Katie, causing a prickly sensation to race up her spine. There were stories here. Long-forgotten and hidden just out of her reach. Were they to be lost forever?

Buy Links:
Amazon * BN
Yes, my Amazon affiliate link is included here. That just means I can earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you should you make a purchase through my link. Thanks for supporting my websites!


About Jessica James


Jessica James believes in honor, duty, and true love—and that’s what she writes about in her award-winning novels that span the ages from the Revolutionary War to modern day.

She is a two-time winner of the John Esten Cooke Award for Southern Fiction, and has won more than a dozen other literary awards, including a Readers' Favorite International Book Award and a Gold Medal from the Military Writers Society of America. Her novels have been used in schools and are available in hundreds of libraries including Harvard and the U.S. Naval Academy.

James is a member of the Romance Writers of America, the Historical Novel Society, and the Independent Book Publishers Association.

Website: https://www.jessicajamesbooks.com
Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B001IYTXOG
BookBub : https://www.bookbub.com/authors/jessica-james
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/southernromance/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/586216.Jessica_James
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RomanticHistoricalFiction
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/southernromance/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorjessicajames/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jessicajames



Jessica James will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Elements of the Goal-to-Failure Scene in Commercial Dramatic Plotting by Warwick Gleeson


Welcome to the book tour for Piper Robbin and the American Oz Maker by Warwick Gleeson! Today we're getting a writing lesson of sorts from the author, which is one of my favorite kinds of posts to read. I love to get into the writer's head, plus I can learn something to apply to my own writing. What do you think? Be sure to leave comments and questions and then follow the tour to learn even more. Plus there's a fantastic giveaway for a $50 Amazon/BN gift card!


Elements of the Goal-to-Failure Scene in Commercial Dramatic Plotting


  1. Goal
  2. Conflict or Complication
  3. Failure or Calamity
Goal: What does your protagonist or other major character(s) desire or wish to accomplish? What circumstance do they wish to come about? What objective do they want to achieve? Whatever they want should relate directly or indirectly to the progression of the major plot line(s) (or subplot). The Goal must be clear to the character and the reader (otherwise we have FINNEGAN'S WAKE). This assures you will write scenes with a point that relates to the bigger story, as well as create a character who is actively engaged, not just a victim or bystander. Very important!

Conflict: What are the obstacles your character faces? If he/she doesn't struggle in some manner for the goal, if no conflict of any kind present, you risk a dull read (esp if you're wrting high-impact genre fiction). Set your sights on at least two obstacles to overcome in any given scene. If only one, make it a BIG ONE, i.e., as appropriate for the setting and genre, as well as the role of the scene in the story.

Failure, Calamity, or Victory at a Cost: the character might come close but fails ultimately to reach the goal; reaches it only in part (and with difficulty), or achieves it but at a real cost (another character perishes, or another problem created, e.g., King Arthur is rescued but becomes a zombie as a result, etc.). You have to keep the page turning, regardless of the genre.




Piper Robbin and the American Oz Maker


WORLD WAR OZ from coast to coast.

An adult fantasy that takes one of America's favorite tales and transforms it into a dark and epic landscape few can escape much less understand. Imagine Potter meets Avengers in Emerald city and you're getting close.

After a homicidal alien from Orion arrives on Earth intent on annihilating human life, the 21st century's greatest sorcerers create a network of seven Oz-like city worlds designed to harbor the human race in a newly formed utopia while also protecting it from the alien entity. But the alien is far more magically powerful than anyone suspected. Piper Robbin, ancient daughter of the Earth's greatest sorcerer inventor, Edison Godfellow, must sacrifice all to defeat the implacable force that calls itself "The Witch Queen of Oz," and quickly, before Earth becomes only a cold cinder floating among the stars.


Read an excerpt:
THE FORGOTTEN CHILD IN PIPER ROBBIN, for the first time that day in the coffee shop, understood the meaning of true panic. Crushing a stone to powder or throwing a javelin half a mile wouldn’t fix anything (and neither would anyone in New York care) like in the old days of Ulysses. Muttering spells that made deserts bloom or oceans boil meant less than cooking a burger on the grill. Mortality for all, even the gods and greatest sorcerers, might be just around the corner. People think just because you’re a great magical being of some kind you have it made. Nothing could be more wrong. Your hopes and dreams are often spit on, your happiness ruined, your friends killed, and you lose sleep at night, worrying about shit just like everyone else. And besides obligations you really don’t want, you face mega-dangerous freaks way too often because you’re expected to, you know, cause you’re the official bad ass superwoman. By the gods! Really? You crawl in pain and heave up your insides for starters, die in lots of ways, and after all that trouble, sometimes you don’t come back.

Available on Amazon

About Warwick Gleeson


Warwick Gleeson is a dedicated writer of screenplays, short stories, novels, and poetry. He has lived in both LA and NYC and worked many different jobs in his life, everything from roofer to waiter to small business owner to government analyst. He was the major writer, creator, and senior story editor for another project published by Del Sol Press called "War of the World Makers" that debuted in 2017. The novel has since won four national novel awards (two first place and two place) for SFF. Warwick is a big fan of great SFF television writing, like the kind you find in Emerald City, Gotham, The Expanse, and Umbrella Academy. He now lives in Tuscon, AZ, with a fat lazy cat and his most wonderful wife who is also a writer.

https://www.amazon.com/Warwick-Gleeson/e/B07QJ8L9BF/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19036873.Warwick_Gleeson



One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card. Follow the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 3, 2019

Review of Joy After Noon by Debra Coleman Jeter


Welcome to the review tour for Joy After Noon by Debra Coleman Jeter! You can read my thoughts here and then follow the tour for even more people's opinions and reviews. Leave your questions comments for the author and be sure to enter the giveaway!



Joy After Noon


Joy marries a widowed bank executive caught in an ethical dilemma and misreads his obvious frustration while struggling to integrate into her new family. Inspired in part by Love, Come Softly, this novel explores the challenges of second marriages and dealing with step-children during the crucial years of puberty and teenage angst. A college professor coming up shortly for the huge tenure decision, Joy finds herself falling apart as her career and her home issues deteriorate and collide.


Read an excerpt:
“What was she like?” Joy dared at last to ask the question haunting her.

“Who?” Ray started, the warmth draining from his gaze. Even the hand lying between them in the car—the hand that until now had been holding and occasionally stroking Joy’s—seemed to grow colder.

“Carolyn. I saw her from time to time, but I never really knew her.” She was babbling but couldn’t seem to stop herself. “We did serve on the same committee once, but... well, actually I served on the committee. She chaired it.”

He hesitated, frowned slightly. He withdrew his hand, fiddled with the controls on the air conditioner.

Joy stared at the BMW’s sophisticated panel of controls, as different from those on her Volkswagen bug as Ray’s waterfront home was from her meager apartment. Not her apartment anymore. That part of her life ended when she said, I do, or—more precisely—when she gave notice and allowed the apartment to be shown and then rented by another single professional woman. She drew in a long slow breath, inhaling the delicious leathery smell of a nearly new car, while she forced herself to be silent, not to babble about something irrelevant, to wait for his answer. When she had about given up, he spoke, his voice clipped. “I don’t like to talk about her.”

“Sorry.”

A faint shiver ran down Joy’s spine. Although it was nearly five years ago that his first wife died, clearly the pain was still fresh. Perhaps it always would be.

Available on Amazon


**My thoughts**
Trying to take over as a stepmother is difficult enough, let alone trying to take the place of a mother who has passed away. I haven't been in exactly this situation, but can somewhat imagine how hard it would be. Add in all of the other difficulties that pop up in her marriage and career, and life just gets even more complicated. Prepare yourself for a roller coaster of emotions in this one.

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review.


About Debra Coleman Jeter


Debra Coleman Jeter has published both fiction and nonfiction in popular magazines, including Working Woman, New Woman, Self, Home Life, Savvy, Christian Woman, and American Baby. Her first novel, The Ticket, was a finalist for a Selah Award, as well as for Jerry Jenkins’ Operation First Novel. Her story, “Recovery,” was awarded first prize in a short story competition sponsored by Christian Woman; and her nonfiction book “Pshaw, It’s Me Grandson”: Tales of a Young Actor was a finalist in the USA Book News Awards. She is a co-writer of the screenplay for Jess + Moss, a feature film which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, screened at nearly forty film festivals around the world, and captured several domestic and international awards.

Website and Blog: www.debracolemanjeter.com

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/njjeter/the-ticket-a-novel/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/debra.c.jeter


Debra Coleman Jeter will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Conversely Matched (Match Made in Heaven) by Ginny Sterling


Conversely Matched

A tale as old as time…

Rose Bellavance was a woman down on her luck and wishing for a bit of magic in her life. Trapped in a dead-end job, working a second one to make ends meet, she escapes reality every chance she can - in a book.

Jarrett Ariet is an angry, miserable man. When fate steps in and puts Rose directly in his path, he reacts as only a man with a monstrous personality can! Their two worlds collide, and for a brief moment, he feels what it is to truly love someone… just before he loses her.

Can a bit of luck, a sprinkle of hope, and a twist of fate- teach these two lonely souls to find happiness together?


Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you so much for supporting my websites!


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers.

Lawfully Betrothed (The Lawkeepers) by Ginny Sterling

Lawfully Betrothed


Once upon a time…

That was how fairy tales were supposed to begin, except in the case of young Faye Miller. When a dark-haired boy sneaks into her favorite hiding spot, she isn’t sure if this was the beginning of a fairy tale, a blessing, or an evil curse. Captivated by the sincerity and earnestness in his kind eyes, she’s convinced that this boy was an angel sent from the heavens to show her life would be okay someday. When he pledges to marry her and gives her a ring made of grass… how could she ever say no?



https://amzn.to/2JWH84f
Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you so much for supporting my websites!



I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this book with you. I only share those books that I feel are of interest to my readers. 

Wednesday, May 29, 2019

Til Death Do Us Part by KS David


Welcome to the book blast for Til Death Do Us Part by KS David! I'm sharing an excerpt with you today, plus you can follow the tour for even more excerpts and reviews! Leave questions and comments for the author along the way and enjoy multiple chances to enter the giveaway!



Til Death Do Us Part


Quinn McGuire is settling into her new life just fine. She's moving beyond the trauma of her past. She's fallen in love with her best friend, Jack Lassiter, and slowly rebuilding the career she'd once abandoned. Then her old nemesis is arrested for murdering her husband. To the surprise of everyone, Glenda Penderherst wants Quinn to represent her as legal counsel. Quinn doesn't do criminal defense anymore. Nope, she's focusing on areas a little more refined - less drama.

Naomi Banker, the resident vibrational therapist, asks Quinn to look into an intellectual property rights claim. The request seems innocent enough - but boring. Things soon spice up when Quinn discovers that Naomi was romantically linked to Glenda's murdered husband. Soon, more body's start to surface and like it or not, Quinn finds herself caught in a whirlwind of broken hearts and private alliances, all while trying to manage a few special secrets of her own. She’s convinced of Naomi's innocence and starts to dig for answers. But if she's not careful, she'll end up being added to the body count.



Read an excerpt:
Like before, the woods seemed to grow quiet and I got the feeling that we were being watched.

Jack stopped. He turned around himself, studying the woods around us. “What am I going to find if I keep walking, Quinn?”

Images from my earlier trek fired in my head. “It’s hard to explain. You have to see it for yourself.”

He pinched the bridge of his nose and squeezed his eyes shut. With everything going on, Jack had little time to waste tripping through the woods with me. He had reporters camped out at the station, a contingent of council members who were growing increasingly angry and unsupportive about the murder, and now I’d roped him into hunting down Naomi’s spook.

“You smell that?” Jack asked.

“It gets worse,” I said. “I may not be able to go all the way in with you.” I gave my belly a little pat. “Strong smells set me off.”

A few more feet and Jack let go of my hand so he could retrieve a kerchief from his pocket. “Saints alive!” he huffed. “It’s damned funky back here.” He offered the kerchief to me. “Use this,” he instructed, then tucked his face into the collar of his shirt. “What in the hell is that smell?”

Suddenly, the tents came into view. Jack signaled me to stop. He pulled me close and whispered in my ear. “Is this it? Is that what you wanted to show me?”

“Yeah.” My voice matched the caution of his tone. “I think someone’s been living here.” I pointed to the big tent. “There’s all kinds of stuff in there.”

“Stay here.” Jack unfastened the release on his sidearm but didn’t move. He stood stock still, his eyes registering everything around us. “Don’t move,” he warned again.

But, instead of heeding his warning, I stepped forward. “I’m going with you.”

He swung around nearly colliding with me. Anger flashed in his eyes. “Don’t challenge me on this, Quinn. Just give me some distance. If something goes wrong – you run.” Jack didn’t like the scene any more than I had.

Pausing at the edge of the clearing, he stood behind a large tangle of branches where he had a view of the entire site. Anyone looking toward the trees would have difficulty seeing him. I waited as Jack moved with catlike steps, cautiously picking up one foot and setting it down again as he moved forward. He slipped his gun out of the holster and eased tenuously toward the edge of the largest tarp. I heard the safety on his gun disengage and watched Jack fold his hands over the handle.

“Police! Anybody inside?”

Nothing.

Pain shot through the palm of my hand. I’d been pressing my fingernails into my own flesh worriedly anticipating the worse.

“Hey, anybody in there! Hayden County Police.”

Jack’s voice echoed through the clearing, bouncing off the trees and shifted back to me. Blood thundered in my ears as my heartbeat quickened. I watched him step closer. He threw back the tarp on the larger tent. Quickly, he dropped to a low crouch and swiveled his gun from side to side before plucking his flashlight off his hip and inching closer.

He stepped back and repeated the call at the smaller tent.

“Now, do you see what I mean, Jack? It’s a mess back here.”

He twisted around, locking angry, narrow eyes on me. “I thought I said for you to stay put!” he snapped.

“That’s not exactly what you said. You told me not to follow you and to run if there was a problem.”

He rolled his eyes but pushed his gun back into his holster. “Does Naomi ever walk out her back door? God! It smells like a dump site.”

Yes, this is my affiliate link. That means if you make a purchase through it, I can earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!




About KS David

K. S. David lives in the Mid-Atlantic with her husband, their three children and a menagerie of pets. New storylines are constantly running through her head. She keeps notebooks tucked in pockets of the car, the nightstand and makes voice recordings just about all day long. She's addicted to true life mysteries and crime shows, both of which marry well with a great romance. Some of her favorite things are long walks, reading in bed, baking and of course, writing her next novel.

https://www.amazon.com/K.-S.-David/e/B00BP1U4BI

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6979268.K_S_David

https://twitter.com/ksdavidromance

https://www.facebook.com/ks.david.52



K.S. David will award a $20 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn commenter. Follow the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 27, 2019

Review of By the Light of Embers by Shaylin Gandhi


Welcome to the review tour for By the Light of Embers. You may have caught an excerpt already on one of my other websites, Candrel's Crafts, Cooks, and Characters. It's a powerful book that I highly recommend. Feel free to read my review before you download your own copy. Also leave comments and questions for the author as you follow the tour and enter the giveaway!


BLURB:

It's 1954, and twenty-two-year-old Lucia Lafleur has always dreamed of following in her father’s footsteps. While sock hops and poodle skirts occupy her classmates, she dreams of bacteria and broken bones—and the day she’ll finally fix them.

After graduation, a letter arrives, and Lucia reads the words she’s labored a lifetime to earn—"we are pleased to offer you a position at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine." But in the midst of her triumph, her fiancé delivers a crushing ultimatum: forego medical school, or forego marriage.

With fractured hopes, she returns home to Louisiana, expecting nothing of the summer of '54 but sweet tea and gumbo while she agonizes over her impending choice. There, she unexpectedly befriends Nicholas, a dark-skinned poet whose dignity and intellect are a salve to her aching heart. Their bond, initially forged from a shared love of literature, soon blossoms into something as bewitching as it is forbidden.

Yet her predicament deepens when a trivial misunderstanding between a local white woman and a black man results in a brutal lynching, and the peril of love across the color lines becomes chillingly real. Now, fulfilling her lifelong dream means relinquishing her heart—and escaping Louisiana alive.


Read an excerpt:
I didn’t realize I’d drifted off until Nicholas touched my hand, startling my eyes open. He lay on the blanket a few feet away, watching me. His twilight eyes were as heart-stopping as ever, his lashes so long they nearly brushed his brows.

“I’m sorry it took so long,” he said. “I wanted to get here earlier. You don’t know how envious I am, seeing you nap. I stay up half the night for all the work I should’ve finished while here with you.”

His mouth curved gently, though a sliver of sadness showed in the bow of his lips. I wondered if he intended the words to distract me from what I had to ask.

“What happened last night?”

“Nothing you need to worry over, little bird. Everything’s alright now.”

He didn’t elaborate. Around us, cypresses reared skyward like cathedral columns while soft light filtered through the canopy and dusted our faces with tiny islands of radiance. As always, the pristine silence of the swamp circled steaming waters, but today, something menacing lurked beneath it all.

“How can it be alright? They’re talking all over town, about how someone attacked the Widow Magnusson in the street.”

His face lengthened. “You heard about that?”

“I couldn’t not hear about it.”

He looked away.

Fear bubbled up from somewhere deep. “Who’re they talking about?”

“Does it matter?”

The same maddening answer Gertrude Mays had given. But she’d said it maliciously, while Nicholas imbued the words with grief.

“Will it always be like this?” I said, frustrated. “Will there always be secrets, things you can’t tell me?”

“Yes,” he said.

Available on Amazon 
Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I can earn a few pennies at no additional expense to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!


**My thoughts**
I almost hate to use these words because they are so pedestrian, but this novel is beautiful and powerful. I'm afraid I am at a loss for better words to describe it, especially considering the elegantly stunning prose this novel contains. I even found myself saving certain characters quotes and descriptions, which I almost never do, because the words were so beautiful.

In addition to the beautiful language, the author weaves a tale of love, friendship, devotion, racism, and history reminiscent of some of the great classics about the pre-Civil Rights era in the South. I was transported back to my elementary school through high school years when I first read those novels and now want to read them again. This one deserves its place on the shelf next to them. It's worthy of reading and discussing, especially in our current climate.

I loved all of the characters, even the despicable ones. Without them, the story would not be complete. They are extremely well-written and developed and all go through a growing process, at least in our eyes. Some of them are going to definitely surprise you. There are definite twists and turns in the plot as the multiple layers are pulled back and revelations are made. And so much emotion. I am just so impressed by this book.


About Shaylin Gandhi


SHAYLIN GANDHI secretly stole her mother’s copy of Clan of the Cave Bear at age ten, and fell madly in love with love stories. Now, as an author, she still can't get enough, and the tales she spins all center around affairs of the heart. To her, that's what makes a story truly worth telling.

Besides writing, she tries to stamp her passport at every opportunity. Traveling has been a lifelong passion, and she’s lucky to have done it a lot. Shaylin and her husband once spent an entire summer living in their van while touring the Pacific Northwest, British Columbia, and Alaska. Her most memorable trips often tie in with writing: her books are usually inspired by majestic places that stole her breath.

In addition, Shaylin practices medicine, scuba dives, plays the piano, and once rode her bicycle from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic. She now lives in Denver with her incredible husband, their identical twin daughters, and two adorable rescue dogs. The family can usually be found in the mountains, either hiking up or skiing down.

You can find Shaylin online at www.shaylingandhi.com or on Twitter @shaylingandhi. Please get in touch—she would love to hear from you!


Twitter: https://twitter.com/ShaylinGandhi

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shaylingandhi/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/shaylingandhi/


Shaylin Gandhi will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Review of No Angels for Christmas by Petie McCarty


Welcome to the review tour for No Angels for Christmas by Petie McCarty! This story is one that is going to capture all of your emotions along the ride. Please enjoy my review and then follow the tour to read what other people have to say. You can also leave questions and comments for the author along the way, which gives you bonus chances to enter the great giveaway!


No Angels for Christmas

No Angels for Christmas . . . a cozy romantic mystery with suspense from The Mystery Angel Romances series. An angel hidden in every book waiting for you to figure who . . .

Child psychologist Rachel Kelly isn't quite sure how to handle the situation with her newest client -- a six-year-old boy who says he can talk to angels and one is coming to help Rachel. She already has her hands full of trouble this Christmas season, and things quickly take a turn for the worse when a stalker crashes Rachel's Christmas party and takes her young clients hostage.

Police negotiator, Lt. Jake Dillon, walked away from his fiancée Rachel when she suddenly balked at having kids. His kids. Yet when the hostage crisis erupts, Rachel calls Jake first. Now he has a choice to make -- stand back and wait for the cavalry to save Rachel or step in and try to save her himself. Time is running out, and Jake may be their only chance for rescue.

Unless Rachel's little angel-spying client is telling the truth…


Read an excerpt:
Jake whipped his BMW into the Azalea Center parking lot and switched off his headlights in one smooth motion. Guided by the light from the few streetlamps, he coasted to a silent stop next to Wally’s Jeep, though his emotions had urged him to come screeching around the corner like the cavalry. Common sense and the need for stealth won out. He couldn’t risk driving the trespasser underground only to have him surface later after Jake had gone.

Clicking off his interior lights, he drew his Sig Sauer from the glove compartment, then climbed out and pushed the car door in until the latch quietly held. He waited several seconds to let his eyes and ears take in the entire scene. Damn. All the landscaping crowded around the Center provided a multitude of places for a trespasser to hide.

He put a hand on the hood of Wally’s Jeep. Still warm, even in the cold night air. A brief stab of guilt hit him for dumping his team so abruptly in the Beef n’ Barrel. Couldn’t be helped.

He scanned the closest landscape beds for some sign of Wally. A stiff north breeze whipped across the parking area, stirring up leaves and debris. Barely visible through the treetops, the almost-full moon blazed bright.

He made his way past the large perimeter oaks to the interior sidewalk and began a slow circle of the building, checking sections of garden as he paced. All the offices on the west side of the building were unoccupied, and all windows were dark, a few with vestiges of their interior visible due to adjacent emergency lighting.

Rachel’s office just around the corner faced the back of the property. At this time of night, her office interior would be entirely visible with her lights on. Jake knew this because he’d snuck over here enough times in the last few months to observe her office from the garden. He was pathetic and every few weeks had needed a glimpse of her to get by. A wry smile twitched the edges of his mouth. He could’ve been called in as a trespasser on any one of those nights should someone have spotted him and cared enough to make the call.

Careful to remain off the sidewalk, he silently paced toward the back garden. If the trespasser was a stalker, then the perp probably knew the Center had no security guard and no security system. A fact that had always bothered Jake.

At the back corner of the property, he crossed the sidewalk to inspect the landscape areas adjacent to the building. With quick steps, he shifted from one landscape bed to another. Crouching as he left the larger camellias, he moved through the shorter azaleas and Indian hawthorn.

Clearing the corner, his position even with the back of the building, he paused to reconnoiter and stared at the faint pool of light cast by an overhead office. Rachel’s office.

As his gaze rose to the second-floor office, his eyes searched for the all-too-familiar figure. Without thinking, he straightened to his full height, clearly visible to anyone glancing out the window. Yet no one searched for a figure in the garden. All eyes in the office were busy.

Rachel stood with Olivia and her children on one side of the conference room. On the other side of the room, a man in a worn red jacket and baseball cap faced them—pointing a gun.

This was Jake’s horrible nightmare.

https://amzn.to/2K0f9Qo
 Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I can earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!



**My thoughts**
Wow, this book was a lot more intense than I thought it was going to be! You have a lot of elements working together here. You have a broken relationship, sick children, abused children, the child who sees angels, and then a bit of suspense when Rachel and the kids are kidnapped. My heart truly hurt for these kids, and for Rachel who is trying to face life after some devastating news. I honestly kept a Kleenex nearby, because tears had a tendency to surface in many places. 

And then there is also the element of keeping the faith in life. Some characters are strong in their faith. Some are struggling. Some are finding it. But the most magical part of all is knowing there are angels among us.

This is not going to be one of your quick reads that you can easily breeze through. It definitely held my attention, but required a lot more digestion than a lot of romances and stories I have been reading as of late. The premise is an interesting one, and I may have to check out the other books in the series.


About Petie McCarty


Petie spent a large part of her career working at Walt Disney World—"The Most Magical Place on Earth"—where she enjoyed working in the land of fairy tales by day and creating her own romantic fairy tales by night, including her new series, The Cinderella Romances. She eventually said good-bye to her "day" job to write her stories full-time. These days Petie spends her time writing sequels to her regency time-travel series, Lords in Time, and her cozy-mystery-with-romantic-suspense series, the Mystery Angel Romances.

Petie shares her home on the Cumberland Plateau in Tennessee with her horticulturist husband and a noisy Nanday conure named Sassy who made a cameo appearance in No Angels for Christmas.

Visit Petie's web site online at http://www.petiemccarty.com or her Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/petie.mccarty.


Social Media:

http://www.petiemccarty.com

https://www.facebook.com/petie.mccarty

https://twitter.com/authorpetie

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6094579.Petie_McCarty

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/petie-mccarty

https://www.pinterest.com/petiemccarty

http://www.amazon.com/author/petiemccarty

https://www.linkedin.com/in/stephanie-mccarty-30851412



Petie McCarty will be awarding a $10 Amazon/BN GC and 3 ebook copies of Duke Du Jour, book 1 of the Lords in Time series to 4 randomly drawn winners (one prize per winner) via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Review of Cakewalk to Murder (The Painted Lady Inn Mysteries) by MK Scott


Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for Cakewalk to Murder by MK Scott! These culinary cozy mysteries are right up my alley and have been for a long time. Please enjoy my review and then check out other reviews and excerpts. Plus follow the tour for more chances to win the great giveaway!




Cakewalk to Murder

Bake-off fever is in full-swing and Donna can’t help but have visions of becoming the next great baking star, but the competition is stiff, and someone is willing to kill to win.

When one of the contestants is found dead, a twist of fate puts Donna at the center of the competition. That’s the perfect position to unravel the mystery, but only if she doesn’t get caught in the crosshairs.


Read an excerpt:
A petite brunette and a taller man with a city haircut that screamed expensive waited at the bottom of the stairs, giving each other weighted looks. If it was one of her married couples, then the anniversary weekend was not starting out well. The woman stepped in front of Donna before her foot could reach the floor.

“I’m Emily Featherstone.” The woman smoothed a hand down her the skirt of her navy suit. “I believe the show booked me here?”

“Yes.” Donna agreed and stepped around the woman. “I’ll get your key, and Ten can show you up to your room.” She put a slight emphasis on Ten’s name. If he wouldn’t check people in, then he’d haul them up to their rooms.

The woman moved closer and lowered her voice. “I don’t want my room next to that pretender.”

“Okay, but I’m not sure who you’re talking about.” Mentally, she sighed. While the idea of a bake-off might be fine for her, she had to accept she might be waist-high in demanding divas. That would be the price she paid. It wouldn’t be the first time.

“Dalton Gallant,” the woman hissed the name through gritted teeth, then shot a toxic look at the man standing a few feet away.

“How about I put you on the third floor as far away from Mr. Gallant as possible?”

“Yes.” The woman pressed her hands together. “That’s the first thing that has gone right for me since I was chosen as a contestant.”

Personally, Donna would have considered being a contestant as one of those things that went right.

Yes, this is my Amazon affiliate link. If you make a purchase through it, I will earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for supporting my websites!


**My thoughts**
I'm a sucker for culinary cozy mysteries, so when I saw this was available, I had to jump on it. I feel like I have read other titles by this author duo, but none from this series. It is the 10th book in the series, so there is definitely a lot of history in the story, but it isn't completely necessary to have read the other ones before this one, in my opinion. 

The bake-off competition has come to Donna's small town and they are staying at her inn. Right off the bat, one of the contestants is murdered. Donna is intrigued by the murder as it is, plus now she has the opportunity to compete on the show. Doing so also allows her to do a bit of investigating on her own.

I liked the characters in this book and would like to visit the previous books in the series to get to know them better. They are all quite entertaining and I am sure have some great stories in their pasts to share, plus could keep going for several more stories.

I did feel like a fair chunk of the book did focus more on the reality TV part and not as much on the actual mystery of the death as I would have expected. But then once it got into the investigation, it did keep me guessing and I didn't figure out the identity of the murderer as quickly as I usually do.

It's a fast read, so it was a fun way to spend an evening.

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review.


About MK Scott


M. K. Scott is the husband and wife writing team behind The Painted Lady Inn Mysteries and The Talking Dog Detective Agency. Morgan K Wyatt is the general wordsmith, while her husband, Scott, is the grammar hammer and physics specialist. He uses his engineering skills to explain how fast a body falls when pushed over a cliff and various other felonious activities. The Internet and experts in the field provide forensic information, while the recipes and B and B details require a more hands-on approach. Morgan’s daughter, who manages a hotel, provides guest horror stories to fuel the plot lines. The couple’s dog, Chance, is the inspiration behind Jasper, Donna’s dog. Overall, both are fun series to create and read.

Social Media

Website: http://www.morgankwyatt.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMorganKWyatt

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/morgankwyatt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5826299.Morgan_K_Wyatt

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/morgankwyatt/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/M-K-Scott/e/B01M4JGK1A/



MK Scott will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Lawfully Chased (The Lawkeepers) by Ginny Sterling


Lawfully Chased

When Emma Browning chooses to remain in the wilds of Oklahoma, she discovers a freedom that comes from being an independent woman. Unfortunately, the men in town have other ideas for her. How can a young lady remain unmarried with so many single men nearby? Why is she endangering herself by teaching the less fortunate? After repeated offers of marriage – the one man she finds herself interested in… couldn’t care less about her!

Marshal James Reed has always been shunned due to his heritage. Growing up half-Indian and half-Tejano – his exotic looks have caused him to stand out and he’s struggled to make a name for himself. Now, he is in the Indian Territory after an outlaw when he spots the most beautiful distraction ever: Emma.

When James reveals a secret he’s kept close to his heart, can Emma find a way to reach the man that seems so very untouchable? Suddenly the idea of having a someone special in her life is quite tempting… but can the marshal capture his prey, and her heart, without endangering himself?



Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this book with you. I only share those books that I feel are of interest to my readers. 

Murder by Munchausen Trilogy by MT Bass


Welcome to the book blast for Murder by Munchausen by MT Bass! This is one for lovers of sci-fi, mystery, and police procedurals all rolled into one trilogy! Please enjoy an excerpt and then follow the tour to read even more of them. Be sure to leave questions and comments for the author along the way! And of course, best of luck entering the giveaway at the end.


Murder by Munchausen


A police procedural sci fi thriller ripped from future headlines!

After Jake shoots and kills a murder suspect who turns out to be the son of a powerful city councilman, he finds himself demoted to the Artificial Crimes Unit, tracking down androids hacked and programmed to be hit men.

When his case of an “extra-judicial” divorce settlement takes a nasty turn with DNA from a hundred-year-old murder in Boston and a signature that harkens back to the very first serial killer ever in London, Jake finds himself tangled up in the brutal slayings of prostitutes being investigated by his former Robbery/Homicide partner, Maddie–who is now his lover.

But a madman, The Baron, is just getting started with his AI recreations of Jack the Ripper's brutal crimes. And Maddie and Jake are teamed up again to stop the carnage as the Baron's army of human replicants imitate history's most notorious serial killers.

"It might not make sense, but the beloved Media tags it 'Murder by Munchausen.' For a price, there are hackers out there who will reprogram a synthoid to do your dirty work. The bad news: no fingerprints or DNA left at the crime scene. The good news—at least for us—is that they’re like missiles: once they hit their target, they’re usually as harmless as empty brass. The trick is to get them before they melt down their core OS data, so you can get the unit into forensics for analysis and, hopefully, an arrest." [excerpt from Murder by Munchausen]

Artificial Intelligence? Fuhgeddaboudit!

Artificial Evil has a name…Munchausen.



Purchase Links


Read an excerpt:
The Three Laws

1. A civilian-owned and operated synthetic humanoid entity may not act in any manner so as to engage in or cause any harmful or offensive contact against a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.
2. A civilian-owned and operated synthetic humanoid entity must obey the directives and orders given it by human beings except in those instances where such directives and orders would conflict with the First Law.
3. A civilian-owned and operated synthetic humanoid entity may protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Laws.

Federal Technology Administration Regulations


About MT Bass


M.T. Bass is a scribbler of fiction who holds fast to the notion that while victors may get to write history, novelists get to write/right reality. He lives, writes, flies and makes music in Mudcat Falls, USA.

Born in Athens, Ohio, M.T. Bass grew up in St. Louis, Missouri. He graduated from Ohio Wesleyan University, majoring in English and Philosophy, then worked in the private sector (where they expect “results”) mainly in the Aerospace & Defense manufacturing market. During those years, Bass continued to write fiction. He is the author of eight novels: My Brother’s Keeper, Crossroads, In the Black, Somethin’ for Nothin’, Murder by Munchausen, The Darknet (Murder by Munchausen Mystery #2), The Invisible Mind (Murder by Munchausen Mystery #3) and Article 15. His writing spans various genres, including Mystery, Adventure, Romance, Black Comedy and TechnoThrillers. A Commercial Pilot and Certified Flight Instructor, airplanes and pilots are featured in many of his stories. Bass currently lives on the shores of Lake Erie near Lorain, Ohio.

M.T. Bass Author Links

Website: https://www.mtbass.net

Blog: https://www.owl-works.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/owlworks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Owlworks

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/mtbass

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5270962.M_T_Bass



The author will be giving away a $25 Amazon/BN gift card. Follow the tour for more chances to win!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read an exclusive excerpt from No Place Like Here by Christina June #NPLHBT #BlinkYABooks


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to the book tour for No Place Like Here by Christina June! Today I am sharing an exclusive excerpt from this young adult contemporary fairytale retelling. Please be sure to also check out the other stops on the tour, one of which is my review on one of my other sites at Andi's Young Adult Books. And of course there's a great giveaway at the end!




No Place Like Here

By Christina June
Young Adult Contemporary
Paperback, Audiobook & ebook, 288 Pages
May 21st 2019 by Blink

From Christina June, author of It Started with Goodbye and Everywhere You Want to Be, comes No Place Like Here, a modern twist on Hansel and Gretel.

Ashlyn Zanotti has big plans for the summer. She's just spent a year at boarding school and can't wait to get home. But when Ashlyn's father is arrested for tax evasion and her mother enters a rehab facility for "exhaustion," a.k.a. depression, her life is turned upside down.

The cherry on top? Ashlyn's father sends her to work with a cousin she doesn't even know at a rustic team-building retreat center in the middle of nowhere. A self-proclaimed "indoor girl," not even Ash's habit of leaving breadcrumb quotes--inspirational sayings she scribbles everywhere--can help her cope.

With a dangerously careless camp manager doling out grunt work, an overbearing father trying to control her even from prison, and more than a little boy drama to struggle with, the summer is full of challenges. And Ashlyn must make the toughest decision of her life: keep quiet and follow her dad's marching orders, or find the courage to finally stand up to her father to have any hope of finding her way back home.

Fans looking for stories with elements of drama, romance, friendship, and an unflinching look into navigating and improving even the most difficult parent-teen relationships need look no further.

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & Noble
Book DepositoryKobo
Yes, these are my Amazon affiliate links. If you make a purchase through one, I'll earn a couple of pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!

Read an excerpt:
I swallowed the lump in the back of my throat and shut my laptop harder than I meant to. There was no way. Right? My dad going to jail? I scoffed aloud. No chance. It was a misprint. Had to be. There was no way my parents would keep something like Dad committing white collar crime a secret from me. Was there? 
I felt around in my backpack for my phone. I’ll just call home and clear it up. Easy. 
I dialed my mother but got her voicemail. 
“You’ve reached Celine Zanotti. I can’t answer my phone right now, but please leave me a message and I’ll get back to you as soon as I’m able. Have a fabulous day.” 
Fabulous was my mother’s favorite word. She thought my elitist private boarding school was fabulous. She thought her closet full of shoes was fabulous. She thought our vacations to Miami Beach each summer were fabulous. 
Is Dad’s alleged impending doom fabulous? 
“Hi, Mom. I just read an article saying Dad is going to jail and thought that was something you would tell me before it hit the national news. So, please call me and let me know what’s going on. Please.” 
Two pleases. I’d done it without realizing, but once it hit me, I knew I was scared.



Other Books by the Author



About the Author

Christina June writes young adult contemporary fiction when she’s not writing college recommendation letters during her day job as a school counselor. She loves the little moments in life that help someone discover who they’re meant to become – whether it’s her students or her characters. Christina is a voracious reader, loves to travel, and hopes to one day be bicoastal – the east coast of the US and the east coast of Scotland. She lives in Virginia with her husband and daughter. She is the author of IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE, EVERYWHERE YOU WANT TO BE, and NO PLACE LIKE HERE.





Tour Schedule


Bookstagram Tour


Tour Giveaway


1 winner will receive a print copy of NO PLACE LIKE HERE, a poster, and a book plate
US only
Ends June 5, 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Grab Our Button!