Thursday, April 18, 2019

Review of Edger Lives by David Beem


Welcome to the review tour for Edger Lives by David Beem. While this is the second book in the series, I also read the first one for a bit of insight into its sequel and am including my thoughts on both of them for you. You can also read an excerpt from this book and then follow the tour to read more excerpts and see what other people think of it.


Edger Lives


Our dork of destiny rides again!

Edger is falling for Mary, his bodyguard, kick-ass spy, and cover wife. But she’s so hopelessly out of his league, it’s clear someone’s going to get hurt. Less clear? That someone may be the Prime Minister of Australia.

When Mary confesses her desire to kill the world leader whose assassination Edger’s supposed to prevent, Edger’s superpowers pick the worst time to stop working. Without a fully functional psychic superhero, their team of spies can no longer order him to probe Mary’s mind for ill intent. The stage is set for a confrontation that threatens to strip a defenseless Edger of his loyal protector just when he needs her most.

Return to the Collective Unconscious, this time with Listerine-chugging stoners, Hollyweirdos, commie-alien-kung fu robots, one space gorilla-unicorn, and an exceedingly lovesick Vladimir Putin.

Mind your fingers and toes on page 270. Those skydiving mind-control monkeys have been known to bite!


Read an excerpt:
I find Mary in the walk-in closet after her workout. Three of her peering back at me with wide eyes. Four, if we count the sweaty, pheromone-blasting, flesh-and-blood Mary in the middle.

Her hands glide down her hips as she turns sideways. The mirror reflections copy her like evil clones. Her head tilts, and her unreadable gaze scans from three angles every inch of her toned physique. She eyes the contours of her breasts in an understated Calvin Klein sports bra; she examines her sculpted midriff and the concavity of her bellybutton. The Gigantic Rock glinting in the mirrors, her thumbs dip below the waistline of her yoga pants, cruise outward along the elastic, and tug once. She bites the corner of her glossy pink lip and scrutinizes every possible curve from the waist down—and with legs like hers, it’s a long way down—before flitting up to find mine, spanning those sexual leagues in an instant, and landing her gaze like a side-kick to the gut. I can barely breathe.

Air squeezes into my lungs like I’m sucking it through a straw-sized snorkel. I’m slouching. Better stand up straight. Unlock my knees. I’ve got to get it together. If she and I are going to live under the same roof, I can’t be falling over every time she has the audacity to exist. Otherwise, I’ll need some kind of house scooter to motor around on my butt all day. Beep-beep, coming through, time to brush my teeth—well, well, don’t you look hot again—okay, faint on you later.

Available on Amazon 
Yes, these are my Amazon affiliate links. Should you make a purchase through them, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!


**My thoughts**
And here we have the second installment of the Edger (Ed-jer) series by David Beem. Can you read this book as a standalone? Sure, you could. The cast of characters is introduced in the beginning and there's a bit of a recap of the first book. You'll likely pick up on a lot of the pop culture references and tropes that seem to be Beem's signature. You'll chuckle and perhaps laugh out loud on occasion. But I think you will definitely better appreciate a lot of these pieces if you read the first book as well as this one. 

Edger is still just as dorky as ever. He still gets all flustered around beautiful women (read Mary) and drops a lot of weird, quirky phrases. He's still supposed to save the world and will work towards it with the help of some famous names you'll definitely recognize. Starting with Bruce Lee and Michael Jackson in the first book and spilling over into the second, you'll get a kick out of how these celebs have been reimagined in the Collective Unconscious. (Think Vladimir Putin in a most amusingly compromised position, with a little Gary Busey and David Hasselhoff thrown in.) The twists and action scenes will keep the pages turning and you just may embarrass yourself laughing if you read it in public. It is hard to explain some of these moments without spoilers and context, but the misunderstood phrases and names almost speak for themselves. (Church of Ladder Day Saints) 

And this Michigan fan will still try to forgive all of the South Bend and Notre Dame references.

I think there is more to come in some future installments. It will be interesting to see where he goes next!


Edger

Meet Edger (Ed-jer), a twenty-six-year-old gadget retail dork destined to become the world’s first superhero!

His superpower: the ability to channel the Collective Unconscious, a psychic network connecting the living and the dead. In his arsenal are the skills of Bruce Lee, the strength of Samson, the wisdom of the ages...and the dancing chops of Michael Jackson—including that one twisty foot move, crotch grab, and fedora tilt.

But there's a catch...

Like every psychic superpower to get administered through a hypodermic needle, this one comes with a prick. Someone seems to have misplaced the booster necessary for stabilizing his superpower. Without it, Edger has three days before his brain turns to pudding.

Join our Dork of Destiny as he overcomes the world’s greatest butt, two rival Cluck-n-Pray gangs, an evil cow, a Green Bay Defensive Tackle, rifle-toting assassins—and a pair of stoners who inadvertently create the world’s first supervillain after a wild night on Twitter!

Available on Amazon

**My thoughts**
If you're into cerebral science fiction and superheroes with lots of fun tropes thrown in and a mess of comedic situations, then this is definitely the book for you. I admit this isn't my usual genre of book to read, but I couldn't resist checking it out. I've even gone on to the second book in the series and will await even more to come.

You'll find references to football, historical figures, dead celebrities who come back to life in the Collective Unconscious, lots of quirky characters, and some daddy issues. This Michigan fan may have twitched a little any time the words Notre Dame were mentioned, but I shook it off and kept going. I think I literally belly laughed once Michael Jackson showed up.



About David Beem

David Beem loves superhero movies, taekwondo, and flossing. He lives in Djibouti with his family and crippling self-doubt. To help actualize David’s inner confidence, visit his website and buy all the stuff: www.davidbeem.com

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/David-Beem/e/B005M4NEYI/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1


David Beem will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

The Single Girl's Guide to Conquering LA by Carla Roxanne



Have you ever dreamed of going out to LA? It can be quite tricky to make it on your own. But Carla Roxanne is here to give you a few tips on how to be successful. Welcome to the blurb blitz for The Single Girl's Guide to Conquering LA by Carla Roxanne. I have an excerpt for you to enjoy today before you download your own copy. And then there's a great giveaway at the end. Follow the tour for more excerpts and more chances to leave questions and comments for the author!


The Single Girl's Guide to Conquering LA

Los Angeles can be a tough place for a single girl, especially for those who come on their own from other cities or small towns, with no family or friends living in the state of California, let alone Los Angeles. Many young girls have stars in their eyes when they land in LA, hoping to make it big in acting, modeling, or music. Unfortunately, a large number of them fade into oblivion without anyone ever even knowing who they are because they lack guidance, assistance, funding, and most importantly, knowledge. Well, if you're a single girl and you have your sights set on living in the 'City of the Angels,' there are a few things you will need to know before you make the move. Whether you come to LA to become a star, or if you simply want to enjoy living in a place with great weather year-round, a beautiful coastline, and some of the best-looking, fittest people in the world, this guide book will help you navigate your way through La-La Land. It will help you avoid some of the pitfalls that many people before you have fallen prey to, and if you play your cards right, before you know it, you will be living a lifestyle which will make your family and friends green with envy.


Read an excerpt:
Los Angeles can be a tough place for a single girl, especially for those who come on their own from other cities or small towns, with no family or friends living in the state of California, let alone Los Angeles. Many young girls have stars in their eyes when they land in LA, hoping to make it big in acting, modeling, or music. Unfortunately, a large number of them fade into oblivion without anyone ever even knowing who they are because they lack guidance, assistance, funding, and most importantly, knowledge. Well, if you’re a single girl and you have your sights set on living in the ‘City of the Angels,’ there are a few things you will need to know before you make the move. Whether you come to LA to become a star, or if you simply want to enjoy living in a place with great weather year-round, a beautiful coastline, and some of the bestlooking, fittest people in the world, this guide book will help you navigate your way through La-La Land. It will help you avoid some of the pitfalls that many people before you have fallen prey to, and if you play your cards right, before you know it, you will be living a lifestyle which will make your family and friends green with envy.

Buy links

The book is on sale for $0.99.



About Carla Roxanne

Carla Roxanne is a Senior Executive Assistant for one of the top insurance companies in the nation. She has spent many years in administration supporting and organizing some of the highest-ranking executives in Los Angeles. In her spare time, she writes poetry and short stories.

Blessed with the gift of the gab, she has the innate ability to draw people to her through her stories.

The Single Girl's Guide to Conquering LA is Carla's freshman project. Visit her website dramaqueenprod.com for details of her next book.

Born in White Plains, New York, Carla currently resides in Los Angeles, California.

https://www.dramaqueenprod.com/



Carla Roxanne will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 8, 2019

Money or Men by David Burnett



Thank you for stopping by this book blast tour for Money or Men by David Burnett. As always, I have an excerpt for you to enjoy before you download your own copy. Leave comments and questions for the author as you follow the tour to check out even more excerpts and reviews. And of course, best of luck as you enter the giveaway!


Money or Men


Love or loot?

Erin must choose between the money of which she has long dreamed and the man who she has loved. Eight years ago, she chose “loot” when Chris, her former husband, competed for her hand against the god of money. Now, with a promotion within reach, she is poised to take her place among the elite of Wall Street. She will soon be working twenty-four-seven to reorganize a failing company, and she has been ordered to find someone to care for her children.

She has few options, and she reluctantly concludes she must beg Chris for help. She has not talked with Chris, written, texted, friended, private messaged, or tweeted Chris since leaving him, but if he will not keep their children for the summer, she will lose her promotion, and her dream of wealth will vanish.

Opposites had attracted when they had fallen in love. Erin remembers a Chris who was laid-back, satisfied, and, worst of all, unambitious. He seems not to have changed. He lives on a small island with no home mail delivery. He had been an author, but Erin can find nothing he has published since their split.

But Chris’s photo is the one personal item on Erin’s desk, and she still dreams of him when she sleeps. She fears if she asks Chris to care for their children for the summer, she will be drawn back into his world. She will choose Chris over money, “love over loot,” lose her drive to succeed and everything for which she has worked. Her promotion will be denied – and lightning will not strike a second time. How can she send their children to live with him without becoming entangled herself?



Read an excerpt:
The night after he had consented to care for the twins, she’d dreamed she and Chris had been communicating, and she had awakened, crying out for him, her t-shirt and shorts soaked with perspiration. After a quick shower, she had spread soothing cream over her body and laid down, covering herself with the cool sheet.

As she lay in the darkness, she had begun to cry. She wanted to impress Chris.

No, she wanted him to be proud of her. She wanted him to regret letting her go, which seemed crazy, even to Erin, since it had been she who had orchestrated the leaving.

She smiled as she entertained those thoughts, then she gently shook her head, dismissing them from her mind. Even though, sadly, her dream had been her best encounter with a man in the eight years since their divorce, it wasn’t going to happen in real life. Shouldn’t happen in real life. Not now, when she was on the cusp of her dream life in New York City.

Ahead, Erin spied a bridge, and a sign told her she had reached the Folly River. She crossed the bridge onto the island Chris called home.

The business district was four blocks long and, perhaps, a couple wide, and she maneuvered the Lexus slowly down the aptly named Center Street, observing the sidewalks full of tourists and the beachwear shops, their windows full of t-shirts, catching the aroma of fried fish mixed with the smell of salt wafting in from the ocean, her ears perking to the strains of jazz drifting through the open doors of one of the restaurants. She braked at a crosswalk, allowing a woman with a barely there bikini to push a baby stroller across the street, and an aging hippie with a white ponytail to amble in the other direction. The twins’ faces were plastered against the windows.

It resembled the old beach town near her grandmother’s house, and for a moment she was transported back to her youth when she was fifteen, and she and her sisters spent a glorious summer there, free from her father’s oversight.

Stopping for what appeared to be the town’s sole traffic light, her thoughts turned back to Chris. He would be waiting around the corner, at the town’s pier. She glanced in the rearview mirror, checking her appearance, a sense of foreboding sweeping over her. Her stomach began to rumble.

Alexandra’s “communication” was not the goal, not today. After all, for years she had insisted she no longer loved Chris Stephens, and nothing had happened to change her feelings.

Beyond that, her career was like an airplane beginning to take off. She was taxiing down the runway and by the autumn, she would take flight. There was little space in the aircraft for children. A boyfriend, let alone a husband, surely would be unmanageable.

All she wanted today, was to begin an amicable relationship with the man who would care for her children. She should be able to do that, shouldn’t she? Even with Chris?

As she waited for the traffic light to change, a police car with the slogan “Protecting Paradise” emblazoned on its bumper cruised past. Erin glanced to her left, spotting the car that had followed her when she had turned off the interstate. It was turning while she was going straight. The girl in the front seat saw Erin and smiled.

Erin waved.

Ahead, to the left, she spied the pier.

Chris would be waiting.

“I should have taken the beer…”

https://amzn.to/2OXLgRb
 Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!



About David Burnett


We recently moved to our new home near Charleston, South Carolina. Four of my books are set in Charleston, and I’ve always enjoyed the Carolina beaches. I now have the opportunity to walk on the beach almost every day and to photography the ocean, the sea birds, and the marshes that I love.

I love photography, and I have photographed subjects as varied as prehistoric ruins on the islands of Scotland, star trails, sea gulls, and a Native American powwow. My wife and I have traveled widely in the United States and the United Kingdom. During trips to Scotland, we visited Crathes Castle, the ancestral home of the Burnett family near Aberdeen, and Kismul Castle on Barra, the home of my McNeil ancestors.

I went to school for much longer than I want to admit, and I have degrees in psychology and education. In an “earlier life” I was director of research for our state’s education department.

Links

Website  http://davidburnett.yolasite.com

Twitter  https://twitter.com/DavdBurnett

Facebook  http://www.facebook.com/DavidBurnett.Author

Amazon Author Page  http://amazon.com/author/davidburnett

Goodreads  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6579272.David_Burnett



David Burnett will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, April 5, 2019

Review of I Like That Word by Robert Eastley


Welcome to the last day of the tour for I Like That Word by Robert Eastley. I had the pleasure of obtaining a copy of this book to review. I'm sharing my review with you below. Please be sure to check out the rest of the book tour for even more reviews and a couple of interviews to help you get to know this humor writer even better.


I Like That Word: The Daily Gripe Strikes Again



Humor is everywhere you look. You’ll find it in a Boy Scout camping trip, a day at the beach, or on full display in the cafeteria. “I Like That Word” is the second installment in “The Daily Gripe” series, an insightfully hilarious collection of articles that finds the fun in everyday living, masterfully brought to you through the unique style of one of today’s best humorists.

https://www.linkedin.com/in/robert-eastley-a27526180
 

Buy it on Amazon
Yes, this is my affiliate link. That just means I can earn a few pennies if you make a purchase through it. It doesn't cost you anything extra. Thanks for helping to support my websites!


**My thoughts**
This is one of those kinds of collections that I have always aspired to write -- just random observations on daily life and memories of different times. I think it's something that happens to us once we reach a certain age. The author does his with a bit of humor and with a slight focus on the better words that need to be in our vocabularies. I can almost see him sitting with a Word of the Day calendar, seeing what memories and thoughts that one word can trigger. He covers childhood, observations on life today versus yesteryear, history, and so much more. I really laughed out loud at his thoughts on gardening and rolled my eyes through observations of prom today versus years ago. So many of the pieces triggered my own memories and thoughts. And I feel like I need to have a vocabulary list to practice using some of these words more frequently again.

This isn't the kind of book that you can just sit and read cover-to-cover, though perhaps some would. It's meant to digest in bites. I honestly picture it sitting on my coffee table, or even as a bathroom reader. That's not a slam, by the way. Those Uncle John's readers have always been popular with me and friends over the years as a way to be entertained when stuck sitting a little longer than usual. ;)

I also honestly think this collection would be better appreciated by those who are 30 and older. Some may speak to a younger audience, though, particularly if they have had conversations with parents and other older generations about what life was like even a decade ago. Fun read!

I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Enter to win a paperback! Open to Continental US 18+

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

The American Crusade by Mark Spivak


This is one for all of my political thriller fans. It's timely and reminiscent of some of your other favorite stories in this genre. Please enjoy an excerpt and let the author know what you think! Follow the tour for even more excerpts and reviews. Plus you have bonus chances to enter the giveaway!


The American Crusade

A power-hungry vice president, a bad batch of shady intelligence, and a sinister plot to destroy Western civilization.

Just another day in America.

On May 1, 2001, a group of radical Islamic terrorists crash a Boeing 737 jet airliner into the Mall of America—and Vice President Robert Hornsby knows his moment is coming.

The attack kills three thousand American citizens and throws an entire nation into a panic, but all Hornsby sees is an opportunity, a chance to imprint his fanatical values on the soul of the country he loves and become the most powerful vice president in American history.

With the aid of his affable but ineffectual president; the reluctant, conscience-stricken secretary of defense; and a preening, foppish faith leader with more than a few skeletons in his closet; Hornsby declares war on terror—and anyone who stands in his way. But as media scrutiny of the administration’s actions overseas intensifies, Hornby’s one-man campaign against evil begins to unravel—with striking parallels to the thirteenth century’s doomed Fourth Crusade—and sends the nation spiraling toward another deadly tragedy.

The American Crusade paints a grim and often cynical picture of America’s recent past, reflecting the attitudes, politics, and fears that shaped our nation in the new millennium. By sampling the contemporaneous French text on the Fourth Crusade, On the Conquest of Constantinople, author Mark Spivak reminds us of that ever-vital adage: “Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”

Fans of The Castle by Jack Pinter, The President Is Missing by Bill Clinton and James Patterson, House of Cards by Michael Dobbs, The Whistler by John Grisham, and the Aaron Sorkin–penned TV drama The West Wing will love this book.


Read an excerpt:
The lights from the lanterns flickered against the walls of the cave. It was nearing midnight on May 1 in the tribal areas of Kabulistan, the mountainous and impenetrable regions high up near the Persepostan border. Salman Al-Akbar sat on a cushion, surrounded by his inner circle. Fazil Ahmadi, his director of operations, had just finished briefing him on the aftermath of the Mall of America attack and the subsequent suicide missions around the United States.

“Allah be praised!” Al-Akbar’s normally sad eyes were bright and jubilant. “We have succeeded beyond our wildest expectations, beyond the reach of our dreams. Allah is most with us.”

“This is so,” said Fazil Ahmadi. “Had we dreamed it, it could not have gone better.”

“What time is it now in Washington?”

“Four-thirty in the afternoon, sir.”

“And where is the young American President now?”

“We have no knowledge of his whereabouts, sir. He is in hiding.”

“Hiding?” Al-Akbar’s eyebrows arched toward the ceiling of the cave, and his normally expressionless face was close to registering hilarity. “From whom is he hiding? Robert Hornsby?”

“He has been removed from sight, sir. We suspect they took him to one of their nuclear installations.”

“Do they actually think we are in possession of nuclear weapons?”

“We believe it is a precaution on their part, sir.”

“Allah be praised!” Al-Akbar clapped his hands in glee. “This is beyond our imagining. Everything has gone off perfectly, with synchronized precision.”

“They will most certainly retaliate, sir.”

“Against whom?” asked Al-Akbar with contempt. “Our forces are safe. The loyalty of the warlords is secure, and they will not betray us.”

“We believe their most likely target will be the Dua Khamail. They will wage war against them and will surely defeat them. Then, they will restore Selim Hanjuk to power.”

“Let them have the Dua Khamail.” Al-Akbar shrugged. “To us, it matters not who is the ruler of Kabulistan. Any war they wage against the innocent population can only help us. It will bring more recruits to our side.”

“This is true.”

“One thing I will guarantee you. They may topple the government of Kabulistan, or all of the governments of the earth, but they will never be at peace again. As they fall off to sleep, they will see us in their nightmares.”

“Yes, sir. Our position is strong, and the Americans can only immerse themselves in quicksand by invading Kabulistan. They will never find us, much less defeat us.”

“Their memories are short,” mused Al-Akbar. “They forget that the Russians tried and failed. It was their Vietnam. And the Americans are far weaker than the Russians. They do not have the will for a prolonged conflict.”

“Let us not underestimate their military strength, sir.”

“These infidels are like the Crusaders of old.” Al-Akbar’s fingers worked prayer beads in the darkness of the cave. “They have many troops, they have excellent weapons, and they have knowledge of warfare. But they lack the fire of belief, as well as the support of their people. And they do not have Allah on their side.” He smiled approvingly at his lieutenant. “You have done well today. And soon we will do better still. Today is the beginning of the great Jihad. Nearly eight hundred years ago, the East was ruled by Saladin and the true believers were victorious. That day will come again.”


https://amzn.to/2I46BqV
Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for helping to support my websites!


About Mark Spivak

In the realm of non-fiction, award-winning author Mark Spivak focuses on wine, spirits, food, restaurants and culinary travel. His first book, Iconic Spirits: An Intoxicating History, was published by Lyons Press in 2012. He followed this with Moonshine Nation (Lyons Press, 2014), hailed as the definitive book on illegal corn whiskey in America. From 1994-1999 he was the wine writer for the Palm Beach Post, and was honored for excellence in wine criticism “in a graceful and approachable style.” Since 2001 he has been the Wine & Spirits Editor for the Palm Beach Media Group, and contributes to a number of national magazines. He is also the holder of the Certificate and Advanced Diplomas from the Court of Master Sommeliers.

Mark’s first novel, Friend of the Devil, was published by Black Opal Books in May 2016. Set in Palm Beach in 1990, it tells the story of America’s most famous chef, who has sold his soul to the Devil for fame and fortune.

Mark also has an endless fascination with the American political system and is an avid follower of Washington politics. His second novel, The American Crusade (a gripping political thriller set during the invasion of Iraq, which dips into the shadowy world of government conspiracy and political sabotage), will be released by TCK Publishing on April 4. He is currently at work on Impeachment, the sequel to The American Crusade.

Visit Mark's website at www.markspivakbooks.com, and sign up for his free newsletter and political blog:  www.markspivakbooks.com/free



Mark Spivak will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 1, 2019

The Basement by Dianne Hartsock



Welcome fans of paranormal horror! The Basement is the sequel to Alex and the Dead. I have an excerpt for you to enjoy prior to downloading your own copy. Please be sure to leave comments and questions along the way as you follow the book tour. And then be sure to enter the giveaway!



The Basement

Alex is haunted by visions of the dying, but now it seems the ghosts he’s seeing are real as well.

In this sequel to ALEX and THE SHED, Alex wonders if he’s seeing ghosts. His friend Justin has bought the Fulton place, a beautiful old mansion on the edge of Oakton. But something’s wrong in the house. Alex has visions of a small boy, trapped in the basement, and a man at the top of the stairs who won’t let him leave.

And Logan Fulton has come to town, Helen Kramer’s cousin, a psychic medium who wants something from Helen, whatever the cost. He and Helen had spent time in the Fulton house as children and Alex suspects Logan has something to do with the spirits now awakening in the old mansion. But whether Logan is calling them forth or if something else is controlling them, Alex can’t be sure.

The child’s spirit calls to Alex, as do others trapped in the house. There is a dark entity holding them there, keeping the child forever in the basement, the others for his amusement. But Alex has never believed in ghosts, so what is really going on? As he strives to learn the boy’s secret, his friends are one by one pulled to the Fulton place and put in danger while Logan works against Alex, having an agenda of his own. Will Alex be able to solve the haunting of the old house, or will he and his friends be taken one by one, doomed to walk the dark hallways forever?


Read an excerpt:
Something tugged his coat sleeve. Startled, he looked down. Nothing. Goddammit.

“Either help me or get away from me,” he muttered, nerves pulled taut. He moved into the room and gasped as the light on the walls disappeared, the candle’s flame the only illumination. It flickered on the surface of the inkblack liquid in the basin, drawing his eye. Without thought, he crossed the room and crouched opposite Logan, but instead of looking into the bowl, he searched the slack continence across from him.

Logan kept his gaze focused on the bowl as if unaware of Christopher’s presence. He appeared pale, hollow-cheeked, haggard, a death mask, and Christopher sucked in a breath.

“Logan? Are you okay?”

No reaction. Logan remained frozen in place. A slow shiver traveled through Christopher. What did he see in those dark depths? The water stirred, radiated outward as if a breath had touched the surface. The candle’s flame flashed, light splintering through the liquid. Christopher bent closer to the bowl. Had something moved in there? He parted his lips on a hiss of dawning horror as eyes, dark as pitch, appeared, the image of a terrible face taking shape.

He pulled away, his limbs unaccountably heavy as he struggled to his feet, the terrible face breaking the surface, continuing upward, a dark figure climbing into the world. The room grew cold, ice forming where the creature stepped out onto the wooden floor. The air seemed sucked from the room. Unable to scream, Christopher stumbled back until he came up against the wall. The specter moved closer, and Christopher’s chest heaved, fear holding him immobile.

Buy Links:

About Dianne Hartsock

Dianne grew up in one of the older homes in the middle of Los Angeles, a place of hardwood floors and secret closets and back staircases. A house where ghosts lurk in the basement and the faces in the paintings watch you walk up the front stairs. Rooms where you keep the closet doors closed tight at night. It’s where her love of the mysterious and wonderful came from. Dianne is the author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy adventure, m/m romance, the occasional thriller, and anything else that comes to mind.

She now lives in the beautiful Willamette Valley of Oregon with her incredibly patient husband, who puts up with the endless hours she spends hunched over the keyboard letting her characters play. Dianne says Oregon’s raindrops are the perfect setting in which to write. There’s something about being cooped up in the house with a fire crackling on the hearth and a cup of hot coffee in her hands, which kindles her imagination.

Currently, Dianne works as a floral designer in a locally-owned gift shop. Which is the perfect job for her. When not writing, she can express herself through the rich colors and textures of flowers and foliage.

Blog: http://diannehartsock.wordpress.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/diannehartsock

Twitter: http://twitter.com/diannehartsock

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/4707011-dianne-hartsock

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Dianne-Hartsock/e/B005106SYQ/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1361897239&sr=8-1

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/Dianne-Hartsock-Author-107985445959828/


Dianne Hartsock will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, March 31, 2019

Spying on the Billionaire by Ginny Sterling


Spying on the Billionaire

Galina Dombrosky always strived to make herself feel like an average American. Her family had immigrated from Russia, becoming citizens and learning the language in order to fit in to their new lives. Growing up, their home sounded like something exotic from across the globe, but in her heart – she was as patriotic as apple pie.

Galina becomes a CIA agent specializing in security in order to defend the land that she loves. But when an unexpected assignment drops her in St. Petersburg, Russia- she is overwhelmed by the variety of thoughts and feelings flowing through her. Her Russian heritage is welcomed and recognized, beauty surrounds her-creating a longing for a land she doesn’t recognize or know – as well as an overwhelming attraction to the man she has been sent to spy upon.

Nikodim ‘Nik’ Petrov is the most normal billionaire that she’s ever met (not that she has met many!) and so down to earth. He is caring, friendly, and devastatingly handsome – which makes her wonder if the CIA has the correct man after all? Galina had been tasked to track down a hacker accused of infiltrating their computer systems, using any means necessary to discover what he’d stolen from the government.

When secrets are shared, danger is in the air and lives are suddenly torn apart – can their love overcome the distance between them? Can she return to America once her heart is lost– and will Mother Russia ever let Nik go?

https://amzn.to/2YNcdfc
99 cents for a limited time!
Yes, this is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for helping to support my websites!



About Ginny Sterling

Ginny Sterling is an avid romance writer. She lives to tell sweet, inspirational, tender tales that tug at the heart-strings. She enjoys reading and creating stories that leave the reader smiling, laughing or crying. She favors writing western or contemporary books - several of which are included in The Lawkeepers Series. Ginny is a co-creator of A Match Made in Heaven Romance Series with Jenna Brandt and Marie Higgins. She is also proud to announce that she will be participating in the Silver Pines Series in 2019.

Growing up, Ginny traveled extensively visiting family, seeing the sights, and learning that everything in life worth having revolves around love, faith and home. Having lived in several different parts of the United States, she and her family have settled in Kentucky. When not at work, she spends all of her free time writing, quilting, or shopping for coffee mugs to add to her collection.

Writing under an alternate pen name, Gina Cole- She dabbles in a fantasy world that whisks you away from the daily doldrums of reality with steamy contemporary and time travel romances. Her Bride series throws fate to the wind, bringing together two hearts...whereas her Timeless Brides series is more like a crash course in life, somewhere in the past, with a Hunka-hunka burning love.

Each book written is sure to be an adventure designed to bring laughter and love to your heart!

www.ginnysterling.com



I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this book. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers. 

Thursday, March 28, 2019

Trailblazer by Michelle Diener



Welcome to the book blast for Trailblazer by Michelle Diener! Please enjoy an excerpt from this science fiction novel before you download your own copy. Please be sure to leave comments and questions along the way as you follow the tour and then be sure to enter the giveaway!


Trailblazer

He's on a mission . . .

She's running for her life . . .

And if they get off-planet alive, she'll have to trust he won't reveal her darkest secret.

Tally Riva is not what she seems, and even she's not happy about it. Infected, invaded, she's not quite sure how to describe it, but on a disastrous mission to a ghost ship, something burrowed its way into her body. Into her mind.

When her commander decides the best cure for what he thinks is Tally's trauma is to send her on the famous Veltos Trail, Tally goes without revealing what's really behind her mental anguish. Anything to be seen as normal again, anything to ignore what she's afraid is happening to her.

But Veltos isn't the safe place it seems. The chosen military personnel lucky enough to be offered the chance to walk the Trail are supposed to be the only people on Veltos. But Ben Guthrie, a captain in Arkhoran Special Forces, knows they're not. He and his team have been on Veltos for a month already, tracking suspicious enemy activity, and he's gone undercover on the Trail in search of a satellite his superiors are sure has been shot down.

When Ben's worst fears become reality, and they find themselves hunted by a cunning enemy through the thick forests of Veltos, Tally and Ben fight together to survive. And Tally has to decide if accepting the changes inside her will save them both, or be her doom.

TRAILBLAZER is part of the Verdant String series but can easily be read as a standalone novel. Other books in the series include Interference & Insurgency (Two Novellas of the Verdant String), and Breakaway and Breakeven.



Read an excerpt:
Ben stood outside to watch the military runner come in.

The flare of the engine was visible because dusk had already fallen and the sky was the indigo blue that shouldn't be unique to Veltos, but somehow was. There was just something special about the color here.

“Nervous?” Irwin stepped out to join him and looked up, following the runner as it fell toward them.

Ben glanced at him, wondering if the guide actively worked to be this annoying, or whether it was just a gift.

“Should I be?” He kept his tone mild.

Irwin glanced at him, shrugged. “Most people are a little nervous to meet their fellow Trail walkers. It's a two week journey, and there's no getting away from anyone who's difficult.”

And certainly no getting away from them if they were the guide.

Ben crossed his arms and watched the runner touch down lightly on the hoverpad a thou away. It was close enough that he could hear the hum of the engine and the silence when it cut off.

“So you never said which warship dropped you off.” Irwin had turned to watch the runner, too.

“No, I didn't.” Ben kept his answer short.

Irwin gave a snort. “Super secret, huh?”

Ben said nothing.

“Do you Arkhorans actively try to irritate the living shit out of the rest of us, or is it just how you're made?”

Irwin's comment was so similar to what Ben had thought about the guide, he couldn't help the laugh that burst from him.

“Let's leave it at 'super secret'.”


Available on Amazon


About Michelle Diener

Michelle Diener writes historical fiction, fantasy and science fiction. Having worked in publishing and IT, she’s now very happy crafting new worlds and interesting characters and wondering which part of the world she can travel to next.

Michelle was born in London, grew up in South Africa and currently lives in Australia with her husband and children. When she’s not writing, or driving her kids from activity to activity, you can find her at her website, or online at Twitter and Facebook.

Website: https://www.michellediener.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/@michellediener

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/michelle.diener.author

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/michelle_diener/


Michelle Diener will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, March 25, 2019

Where Sleeping Lies Lie by M. Naidoo


Welcome to the book blast for When Sleeping Lies Lie by M. Naidoo! I'm sharing an excerpt for you today. Check it out and download your own copy of the book. Then be sure to leave the author questions and comments as you follow the tour. That gives you more chances to enter the giveaway as well!


When Sleeping Lies Lie

“Two men... two worlds... one desperate promise...”

If Anna had only known how the simple push of a button would turn her life upside down, she would never have pressed ‘Play.’

Just 22 seconds into the recording she’s hit by the realization that, if the voice in the thick German accent is right, she has been living with an unthinkable lie for the past thirty years.

There is only one way to find out: Follow the instruction left by a dead person and head back to Germany, to a life Anna has next to no conscious memory of.

To her surprise, she finds an unexpected ally in Peter, an old childhood friend whose law degree and language skills prove to be more than useful. Besides, he has the most gorgeous blue eyes and the uncanny ability to push Anna's buttons without the slightest effort. At every turn, their search for answers is littered with more lies and revelations.

Anna must ultimately decide whether even the noblest of ends, truly justify the means and whether some secrets should better stay buried.

“Mystery, history, and a twist at every turn. Brilliant characters and prolific storytelling... irresistible!”



Read an excerpt:
"I don't know if I can do this." She took a deep breath, " If I wanna do this…"

"Getting cold feet?"

"Wondering what good could possibly come from this. Does it really matter?" Anna turned to look at Peter, waiting for an answer.

"The truth always matters."

"Spoken like a lawyer again."

"I take this as a compliment. No seriously, that's what you came here for, didn't you?"

Anna nodded. Why did he always have to be right?

"If you don't do this now, you'll kick yourself later. Besides, you can't invite me to the show and drop the curtain before the main act."

"You're right." Anna hated to admit it.

"I know."

Damn! Why couldn't he just accept the fact that she agreed with him? Did he have to rub it in?

"I need to get out," Anna said flatly. The house suddenly felt as if it had shrunk to half its size, making it hard to breathe. Maybe going for a run would help settle her nerves. She was almost at the door when Peter called after her, "Want me to come?"

"I'm okay, thanks." Yet, another lie.

This is my affiliate link. Should you make a purchase through it, I may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!



About M. Naidoo

M.Naidoo lives in Northern California with her husband, two daughters, and three dogs. Born and raised in Germany, she was able to draw on a wealth of memories and passed down stories for Where Sleeping Lies Lie.

When she is not in front of her computer, pounding out story lines and characters, she enjoys reading, movies, spending time with her family, and long walks on the beach - her proverbial 'happy place'. M's love for the shore line and ocean shine through in the vivid descriptions of the coast in her debut novel The Pelican.

"Juggling my life as a writer and a full-time 'real' job has its challenges. I don't get to spend half as much time as I'd like doing what I love, and there are never enough hours in the day. Still, I feel extremely lucky to be following my passion, and I am enjoying every minute of it. Getting here has been one heck of a ride!"

Like and follow M. Naidoo on social media

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMNaidoo

https://www.instagram.com/authormnaidoo/

For information about the author, her blog, upcoming releases, and more visit www.mnaidoo.com



M. Naidoo will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Lowcountry Incantations (Book 1) by C.J. Geisel


Hello, paranormal suspense fans! I have a great one for you here today. Lowcountry Incantations is the first book in a new series by C. J. Geisel. Please enjoy this excerpt before you download your own copy. Be sure to leave questions and comments here, as well as all along the tour, for extra chances to win the giveaway!



Lowcountry Incantations

Quinn Riley has just had her life turned upside-down. Life is about to get worse…and weird.

After losing her job, Quinn Riley goes on the hunt for another boring, nine- to- five when a split- second decision to save a dog turns into a nightmare. The ghost of a stunning young woman in a blue dress starts to follow her, she is forced to move in with a stranger named Caleb, and events in her life have her questioning everything she thought she knew. With the help of Caleb, a new Psychologist turned friend, and a magical root doctor, she navigates the blessings and dangers of her new life.



Read an excerpt:
Sirens wailed all around me and I was well aware something was terribly wrong. Maybe my first clue should have been that I couldn’t feel anything; everything was numb. It was as if I had suddenly become weightless, and everything was pitch black. Convincing myself it was time to open my eyes, I summoned the strength to peel my eyelids back to realize I was staring down at my own contorted body. I heard my heart beat loudly in my ears. Panic overwhelmed me as I tried to process what I was seeing. Thunder continued to clap loudly overhead while the rain splattered the lifeless version of me, as well as everyone else looking on. Paramedics were rushing to my aid in what seemed like slow motion. I could hear muffled screams from police officers telling the crowds to move back.

I felt a firm tapping on my shoulder, and turned abruptly (although, without a body, I’m not sure how) to see a stunning, albeit pale young woman in a tattered royal blue dress. She was soaking wet, and the pained expression in her sapphire eyes and blue coloring of her skin and lips told me we were both dead. I was wondering if she had been hit, too, if we had both tried to rescue the dog. I saw no other body around other than my own. Where was her body? I opened my mouth to speak, to ask what on God’s green Earth was happening, but no words would form. I studied her meticulously, noting how delicate her features appeared. She seemed pixie- like, even though she was dripping wet.

Just as I was beginning to feel mesmerized by her, she turned to leave. The back of her snowy white hair was encrusted with mud and leeches. My mouth was agape in horror, and the screams I tried to form wouldn’t project from my throat. Darkness descended upon me as the radiant girl standing before me faded with it.


 Available in ebook and paperback on Amazon


About CJ Geisel


CJ Geisel is the author of the paranormal crime thriller "Lowcountry" series. She lives in Florida with her boyfriend, family, and dogs. She is an animal advocate, especially for those who are misunderstood or disabled. She also loves baking, photography, and travelling.

Website: https://www.cjgeisel.com
Twitter: twitter.com/cjgeisel
Instagram: Instagram.com/cjgeiselauthor
Facebook: facebook.com/cjgeisel



C.J. Geisel will be awarding a paperback copy of "Lowcountry Incantations" to a randomly drawn winner (U.S. Only) via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hungry Like the Wolf by Kyla Riley


Hungry Like the Wolf  


Almost a millennium has passed… Niall Cael had been spellbound and entrapped by his stepmother, the new queen of Scotland. Torn between craving blood to feed the vampire in him and needing a mate for the wolf inside of him- he is forever alone and despised as a monster. His entire family had been cursed, torn apart by hatred and pain on what should have been a happy new beginning –but instead, it was the end of all they knew… until he ran into her- quite literally. Holly Baines could not believe the awkward way the handsome man had come onto her right there in the large group of marathon runners. There was something about him that was different, instantly setting her blood afire and her allergies wild. The attraction was intense, but so were the sneezing and hives! His old-fashioned ways made her alpha-type personality rage for control- but when she lets down her guard, her heart yearns for the wildness between them to run free. When an unknown threat resurfaces, will it destroy everything they have built together and the tenuous mated blood bond between them?


Get it on Amazon
Currently just 99 cents!

Yes, this is my affiliate link. If you make a purchase through it, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thanks for supporting my websites!



About Kyla Riley

Kyla Riley is the secret pen name of an award winning, best-selling author. Dabbling in fantasy, Kyla gets to explore another world that brings her in contact with vampires, ghosts, werewolves and witchcraft. Please look around, explore and have fun as she brings you stories that will delight and set your blood pumping.


I was compensated via Fiverr for sharing this post. I only share those books that I feel will be of interest to my readers.

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Listen to an excerpt from The Gate to Eden by Cathy McDavid


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Welcome to the book tour for The Gate to Eden, an audiobook now available from Cathy McDavid. For something a little bit different, I have an audio excerpt for you to check out. Please enjoy it and then follow the tour for more fun with this historical romance. Best of luck entering the giveaway!


The Gate to Eden
By Cathy McDavid
Historical Romance, Western
Audiobook, 10 Hours and 33 Minutes (also in Paperback and ebook)
January 12th 2019

Expert crackshot Maddie Campbell will do whatever it takes to survive in this female Robin-Hood-of-the-Old-West story - including evading bounty-hunter-for-hire Scott McSween who's intent on bringing her in.

Not your ordinary thief, widow and mother Maddie Campbell likes to think her wealthy victims are merely "donating" to herself and the hundreds of other widows and children left abandoned by the mining company after a devastating accident took the lives of their menfolk. Maddie's secret excursions are quite successful...until ruggedly handsome former lawman Scott McSween arrives in Eden to investigate the recent string of crimes.

Despite her efforts to throw him off track, they can't resist each other. He knows she's somehow involved and is determined to draw out all her secrets in the most exquisite ways - with soft caresses and passionate kisses. But when finally confronted with the truth - that Maddie is actually the thief he's been hired to hunt down and bring in - will Scott choose the woman he loves or his duty to the law?



Listen to an excerpt here.



About the Author

As a sophomore in high school, NY TimesUSA Today, and Amazon bestselling author Cathy McDavid won a local writing competition with her self-illustrated children’s book. Who knew that small triumph would eventually lead to a career writing contemporary romances with over 1.3 million books sold? With forty-seven titles to date, Cathy is also a member of the prestigious Romance Writers of America’s Honor Roll. This “almost” Arizona native and mother of grown twins recently married her own real-life sweetheart. After leaving the corporate world four years ago, she now spends her days penning stories about good looking men who ride the range or fight fires or hunt creatures all while sweeping the girl off her feet. It’s a tough job but she’s willing to make the sacrifice.


Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway

Western-themed basket with goodies, including a $25 Amazon Gift Card
US only
Ends March 27, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Monday, March 18, 2019

Legend of Song de Light by Kaitlynzq Audio Book Blast


Welcome to the book blast for Legend of Song de Light by Kaitlynzq! This one is for those of you who like to listen to a book on occasion, instead of just reading them all the time. Enjoy a written excerpt from this poetic story and find out how you can download it to enjoy yourself! Plus there's a great giveaway with eight winners at the end. Leave comments and questions for the author as you follow the tour for more chances to win!



Legend of Song de Light

The stories within Legend of Song de Light
connect, unfold, interweave many character’s stories needs, feelings, desires, dreams

their threads as two crescent moons connected under the firelights
that layer the chords, and form the lyrics

all of you entered my world as dawn’s awakening sky of soft palette my garnet heart melted in iridescence to bloom in sun’s rays glow in night’s depth as the stars echo the rhythm of my heart my insides sigh and expand in delight harmonious blend as our lives circle the melody


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Information for the audio book: Recorded in Kaitlynzq’s voice with a blend of music like a heart’s wave into downloadable mp3 files.

An audio book that is interwoven in the Lovecontu Song de Light Lovecontu series that includes

  • Ancient Script of Lovecontu audio poem
  • Legend of Song de Light audio book Legend of Song de Light audio play
  • Lovecontu Song de Light Lovecontu audio set
Vocal Synopsis: https://youtu.be/j2XiCz03N0Y


Read an excerpt:
“...I awoke to a sonic dream of rhapsody ensemble, hummingbird wings, and chimes that were the arrangement…”


“...Again and again I muted the caution sign, and proceeded with Kamille, but my mind got even more insistent as I thought of telling her...”


“...Those chrysanthemums burst a duet of color that are silk to the touch, and bring visions of a certain lady, but I haven’t returned to the garden since that day in May...”


About Kaitlynzq

My fictional stories are written from the inside view of a character’s interior heart-that beautiful, vulnerable, intimate space feelings, desires, needs, dreams a blend of delicate feather ripples of heart waves needs, feelings, dreams, desires quiet, gentle heart strings tender, continuous soft, vulnerable air mist circles, weaves to caress a sonic sea of heart’s breath

Woven into audio books that are recorded in my voice with a medley of music as a heart’s wave into downloadable mp3 files;

audio plays adapted from the audio books, and layered into pdf files like a heart’s song;

audio poems that are multiple poems designed to connect to form a story as a heart’s breath;

and audio sets that are sets of these interconnected stories with elements from each story that interweave in one another as heart’s wave, heart’s song, heart’s breath.

https://kaitlynzq.com/
https://kaitlynzq.boutique/

#kaitlynzq

Social Media

blog and vlog posts by Kaitlynzq

blog: https://kaitlynzq.com/blog/

vlog: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFAc7uEIdMGMrxLFzym5y6g

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/18554610.Kaitlynzq


Contact Information
melodicprose@kaitlynzq.com  and  any way noted on my contact page


Available to Purchase on my Website that is supported by two URL addresses:


Direct Links on my Website to the story:

https://kaitlynzq.com/legend-of-song-de-light-audio-book

https://kaitlynzq.boutique/legend-of-song-de-light-audio-book/



Kaitlynzq will be awarding 2 $15 gift cards to her book boutique, 2 $10 gift cards to her book boutique, and 4 $4 Gift Card to her book boutique to randomly drawn commenters via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway