Friday, September 20, 2019

Review of Movies, Moonlight, and Magic by January Bain


Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for Movies, Moonlight, and Magic, the second book in the Manitoba Tea & Tarot Mysteries series by January Bain. Enjoy an excerpt and my thoughts on the book, and then follow the tour for even more. Be sure to leave your questions and comments for the author along the way!


Movies, Moonlight, and Magic


Book two in the Manitoba Tea & Tarot Mysteries series


Charm McCall can solve a small-town murder, but can she figure out how to stop a man-stealing interloper?

A movie production company has come to town…and so has an old family friend of the town’s sexy new Mountie, Ace Collins. His “old pal” turns out to be a scheming long-legged blonde who throws Charm right off her game. Even Auntie T.J. playing the bagpipes down Main Street to drive the trespasser away doesn’t work.

Between catering for the world’s hungriest film crew, trying to solve the murder of the unit accountant who hired her and dealing with her new magical gifts, Charm’s a tad busy. But too bad, because she’s soon facing off against a bigger threat when more people become ill with suspected poisoning—and her own sister’s in the crosshairs. Charm’s left wondering if even Agatha Christie could have seen this one coming.

But with so much working against them—including the whole town being dead set against them consummating their relationship—do Charm and Ace stand a chance?

Read an excerpt:
“I’ve got it, Charm!” Star flew into the Tea & Tarot café, the ever-present star-pendant swinging wildly about her neck and a piece of paper clutched in her hand. The angel chimes holding court over the doorway accompanied her arrival, singing with enough enthusiasm to awaken the dead. Before I could move, she pulled me into a crushing hug, doing a spectacular impression of one of the black bears that our part of the world is renowned for.

“Slow down, sis. What’s going on?” I pulled away to pick up the faded tea towel I’d dropped in the brouhaha.

“I got the part! You know, the movie? Witches and Wolves! Get with the program, sis. See? I got confirmation right here.” She waved the crumpled piece of paper about as if it was a stock certificate. Maybe it was, for her. I had absolutely no interest in being in a movie, now or ever.

“What kind of part? Witch or wolf?” Tulip asked, shutting the lid of her laptop for once and joining us in the huddle. She and Star were gorgeous. Both blessed with blonde hair and tan-able skin while I looked like Snow White, only lacking the seven dwarfs, summer or winter. Go figure, and us triplets.

“Duh! Witch, of course. And it’s a period piece, too, so we get to wear awesome costumes.” Star gave a faux-waltz step, obviously in love with the idea. As the town’s resident country and western singer and songwriter to boot, she was into looking good. Sometimes a bit too into it—she attracted more than her fair share of jealous stabs.

“What’s it about?” I asked, squinting through the window at a couple who had just appeared walking down the street. They were looking rather chummy, if body language didn’t lie. Is that Constable Ace Collins? With a female? I slipped on a pair of polar ray sunglasses to sharpen the image.

“A company coming to town to develop a tourist mecca by selling the outside world on the natural hot springs in the area having magical properties.”

Hot springs laced with minerals we had for some weird reason, even though Snowy Lake perched on the Canadian Shield. Add in Skull Cave for the wolf clans, and the choice of location was now making a whole lot of sense. I shuddered. Caves gave me the willies. A nightmare left over from childhood.

But the sheriff—as I liked to call the constable—and an unknown female? Who was she? Tall and slender with her golden-brown hair tied up in a ponytail, she had the best tan. She also made it easy for the males of the species to appreciate those long, bronzed legs, in her short shorts. Maybe it was time to try the spray tan special that Susie was offering at the Clip Joint this month? My blue-white legs could use some help. Desperately.

Star, of course, kept droning on while I sidestepped to the front picture window for the best surveillance. “And it’s the werewolves’ territorial land, while the witches are upset they’ll be exposed, so they have to build an alliance to fight the conglomerate. But not everyone’s ready for a truce and all kinds of problems develop. It even features the use of arsenic by a suspected serial killer. They’ve got a poison expert on the set too, the daughter of the actress with the lead role—you know, Mimi Blake. Her daughter knows all about its uses. I forget her name. Oh, they need more billets for some of the extras. Can you think of people who might help with that?”

The pair vanished into Snowy Lake Hardware, with Ace holding the door open with a flourish for Miss Perfect Tan. They shared some comment that made her smile, and possibly giggle—I was too far away to be certain. The hackles on my neck prickled. A light fixture blew out over the first booth in a cascade of exploding sparks. I sighed. Now I’d have to scout the street to find the ladder to change the bulb. Seemed someone was always borrowing the handy-dandy climbing device.

“Sorry, what did you say about a serial killer and arsenic?” I focused on the part of Star’s intel that intrigued me.


Should you make a purchase through my affiliate link, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites! 


**My thoughts**
I love cozy mysteries, especially at this time of year. There's just something, well, cozy about curling up with one as the nights are starting to cool off. It has been a really long time, though, since I read a paranormal cozy mystery. 

This is the second book in the series, but the first one I have read. So I am new to meeting the McCall triplets. I love all three of them and their interactions with each other. Charm is the one who tells the story, so she has the main focus. They also have some other quirky family members. And of course, because it is a small town cozy mystery, you have a town filled with plenty of quirky other people. And we have a bit of a romance going on between Charm and the relatively new Mountie in town with some added tension when an old friend, another woman, shows up in town.

Charm also seems to be coming into her own with her powers, which she harnesses to try to help solve yet another murder in her small town. Her powers give her a different kind of advantage over the traditional methods of solving whodunits. I think that's something I really liked in this book, a paranormal twist to the story to add to the twists and turns in the plot.

I did alright with this book, even though it was the second one. But now I definitely want to read the first one to get more of the start of their story. And I will definitely be keeping my eye out for more to come!

I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.


About January Bain


January Bain has wished on every falling star, every blown-out birthday candle, and every coin thrown in a fountain to be a storyteller. To share the tales of high adventure, mysteries, and full blown thrillers she has dreamed of all her life. The story you now have in your hands is the compilation of a lot of things manifesting itself for this special series. Hundreds of hours spent researching the unusual and the mundane have come together to create books that features strong women who live life to the fullest, wild adventures full of twists and unforeseen turns, and hot complicated men who aren’t afraid to take risks. She can only hope her stories will capture your imagination.

If you are looking for January Bain, you can find her hard at work every morning without fail in her office with her furry baby, Ling Ling. And, of course, she’s married to the most romantic man! Who once famously remarked to her inquiry about buying fresh flowers for their home every week, “Give me one good reason why not?” Leaving her speechless and knocking her head against the proverbial wall for being so darn foolish. She loves flowers.

If you wish to connect in the virtual world she is easily found on Facebook. Oh, and she loves to talk books…

Blog Address - http://januarybainjourney.blogspot.ca/

Twitter Name – https://twitter.com/JanuaryBain

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/january.bain

Goodreads - https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6437282.January_Bain

Email address for fans - januarybain@xplornet.com



January Bain will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Beekeeper's Bullet (Wind in the Wire) by Lance Hawvermale


 photo The Beekeepers Bullet_zpsiork8jct.jpg
Historical Romance
Date Published: August 2019
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press


 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

American Ellenor Jantz lives in rural Germany in 1917, the Great War raging only a few miles from where she works as a beekeeper for a wealthy loyalist. When a British airman crashes behind enemy lines, Ellenor must choose between aiding him or handing him over to the German authorities, who have just moved a squadron of flying aces into the manor house where she is staying.

Injured pilot Alec Corbin-Dawes, Royal Flying Corps, finds himself at Ellenor's mercy. Yet he is determined to make his way farther into Germany to rescue his sister within the next four days. How can he travel all those miles in time, now that his plane is downed, and still avoid capture behind enemy lines?


 photo The Beekeepers Bullet on tablet with store buttons_zpspsgcrqhg.jpg

Purchase Links



About the Author

 photo The Beekeepers Bullet Author Lance Hawvermale_zps9xvxbymc.jpg
Lance Hawvermale is an English professor and beekeeper from Texas.







Contact Links







RABT Book Tours & PR

Thursday, September 19, 2019

Focus Lost by Doug Cooper


 photo Focus Lost_zpsah3umsq9.jpg

Thriller
Date Published: April 2019
Publisher: Rare Bird Books


 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

The line between passion and obsession runs through us all.

Levi Combs never planned to rocket to stardom.

Eva Florez knew he would the moment she saw him.

Gabe Adams didn’t want anything to do with celebrities.

But after Gabe’s sister sells his photos of Levi with a young starlet to a tabloid website, their lives become intertwined forever, bound by rage and retribution.

Blending the nuance and insight of literary fiction with the big-screen magic of a Hollywood thriller, Focus Lost whisks readers into a world of temptation, indulgence, and revenge, daring them to take a bite of the forbidden fruit.


Purchase Links
Amazon * Barnes and Noble * Kobo * iBooks
Should you make a purchase through my affiliate link, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!  



 Excerpt

The road twists and turns away from Los Angeles. A man and girl ride inside an open Jeep. The vehicle slows and bends onto a grassy lane. Trees line both sides, connecting above, cloistering the path. Branches smack against the grill and windshield, raining leaves on the passengers, actor Levi Combs and young starlet Emily James.

A blonde ponytail sprouts from Emily’s head. She rubs the debris from her bare, milky shoulders and legs and swats at the swarm of gnats swirling through the cab. “How did you ever find this place?”

“Driving late at night.” Levi downshifts into first gear to navigate the uneven terrain. Strands of his black curly hair bounce against the red bandana wrapped around his head. He nudges up the black Ferragamo sunglasses resting on the tip of his nose. “You’ll see, you need places like this to escape the cameras.”

Even at only seventeen, Emily already knows that. She had been a working actor since she was three. Levi didn’t get his break until he was twenty. “But what do you do out here?” Emily says, leaning toward the middle to avoid more of the invasive underbrush. She latches onto Levi’s forearm as he continues to work the gearshift.

“Just roam,” Levi says, powering the Jeep through the brush. A dilapidated farmhouse and barn appear ahead. He drives past the buildings into an overgrown orchard. Wild plants and grass extend up through the decaying branches spotted with leaves but bearing no fruit. “Solitude is your only friend in our business. Everyone either wants a share of what you have or to keep you from getting theirs.” He increases speed, swerving between the dying trees. The thick weeds and fallen branches scrape against the undercarriage.

Emily clutches the safety bar. “Shouldn’t you slow down?”

Levi accelerates, passing the last row of trees. “Hang on.”

The weeded field drops off into a canyon fifty yards ahead. Panic seizes Emily. “Come on. What are you doing? Just stop.” The space between the Jeep and the canyon decreases. Shrieking, Emily closes her eyes and curls up into a ball on the seat.

Levi stomps the breaks. The Jeep skids to a halt. Levi and Emily thrust forward. The seatbelts tighten and yank them back into the seats. The edge of the canyon appears just beyond the hood. A cloud of dust passes over them. Levi kills the Jeep. The sound of the engine fades into the fog blanketing the bottom of the canyon. Nearby rocky peaks poke through the mist like islands in a white sea. Unbuckling his seatbelt, Levi stands and looks out above the windshield. “Great view, huh?”

Emily uncoils and opens her eyes to the tranquil, majestic setting. She rips off the seatbelt and launches from the Jeep. “You’re an asshole.” She stomps to the edge of the canyon and stares into the emptiness.

Levi trails after her. “Relax. You weren’t in danger. I told you, I come here all the time.”

“But what if we had rolled over?” Emily asks, the fear revealing the young girl she never allows herself to be.

Stepping up next to her, Levi bumps his hip playfully into hers. “But we didn’t.”

“Still,” Emily says, accentuating her pouting with a little girl’s voice. “Why do you have to push everything?”

“That’s funny, coming from the queen of the fast lane. You know I wouldn’t let anything happen to myself. The world would be such a far drearier place without me.” Levi wraps his arm around her, wiggling it to loosen her up. “There’s a waterfall a short hike from here.” He spins her toward him. “What do you say we go for a swim?”

“I suppose.” A restrained smile creeps out through her dissipating anger. “But I’m still mad at you.”



About the Author

 photo Focus Lost Author Doug Cooper_zpsloxcscvm.jpg
Doug Cooper is the author of the award-winning novels Outside In and The Investment Club and 2019 thriller Focus Lost. Always searching, he has traveled to over twenty-five countries on five continents, exploring the contradictions between what we believe and how we act in the pursuit of truth, beauty, and love.





Contact Links






RABT Book Tours & PR

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Children of the Cursed by A.E. Stanfill


 photo 51uZYVlCTvL_zpsgqhvwto6.jpg
Fantasy
Publisher: Next Chapter Pub
Date Published: 8/21/19

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

 In a kingdom in turmoil, people only care for riches and power. As a war breaks out between countries, a godly power is awakening.

Two boys train at the Academy to become Knights of Valor. Best friends, one is filled with light while the other leans towards darkness.

They both have the power to change the world - or destroy it - in their battle for what they believe is right.




Purchase Links


Excerpt


This was one of my favorite scenes to write. Began the book off with a bang.



Alistair pulled off his helmet, his long blonde hair fell down his back. His blue eyes were filled with rage, aimed at Ballard. “If you do not move out of my way, I will be forced to move you,” Alistair hissed, this time his hand on the hilt of his sword.

Ballard slyly grinned, “So you would be willing to do battle within these walls?”

“If it means getting to see the King, then yes,” Alistair replied, standing tall and unwavering.

Ballard unsheathed his blade, “If you refuse to back down, then have at thee.” His determination was just as unwavering as Alistair's.

Alistair felt as though his hand had been forced, and he too unsheathed his blade. The two men were now set to do battle. Ballard was the first to strike with his blade, but Alistair parried the attack, “Not bad, Chamberlain. But now it is my turn,” he said, then lunged at Ballard.

Ballard knocked the blade away without even trying, “Not bad yourself Knight, but you will have to do better than that if you want to best me,” he sheepishly grinned.

The sound of steel clashing against steel could be heard all throughout the castle as the two men fought each other. Hearing the sounds echoing through out must have drawn the ire of King Edward, for he stormed out of the throne room, and unbeknownst to the two men he used his blade “Kings Defender” to knock Alistair and Ballard's swords from their hands, sending them both to the floor without trouble. “What is the meaning of this? Fighting inside my castle walls is forbidden.”

The King was infuriated with the both of them. “Tell me. Why would my first Knight and most trusted adviser be in my halls fighting like two fools,” he shouted at them both. “I want answers, or so help me I will have both of you locked up in the dungeon for months.” Instead of answering King Edward. Ballard made a big mistake by reaching for his sword and King Edward took notice by stepping on the blade, keeping the sword just out of reach, “Reach for your blade one more time Chamberlain, trusted or not I will cut off your hand,” the King yelled. “Now which of you are going to give me the answer I seek?”

Alistair on one knee placed his arm across his chest and bowed before he spoke, “Your majesty. I have urgent news for you, but before I could deliver. The Chamberlain here refused to let me have an audience, and this is urgent and I did what I felt was right. Even if it meant fighting inside these walls. I do apologize, I should have thought this through.”

Edward then looked over at Ballard, “Is this true, Chamberlain?”

“It is my Lord,” Ballard answered.

King Edward's anger was solely upon his Chamberlain now, “Why would you stop my First Knight from coming to see me? You know it is important whenever he rushes in like this.”

“My Lord, you've been ill lately and do not need the stress. I was only thinking of you your majesty,” explained Ballard

“You had no right,” the King responded. “As long as I am the King of Drasal, and have the aid of my blade, I refuse to be treated like an old frail man. I shall always be here for my knights and my people. Get out of my sight, Ballard!”

“But your majesty-” the Chamberlain tried to speak but the King would have none of it.

“I said to get out of my sight,” King Edward shouted again.

The Chamberlain stood up and asked if he could have his sword back, of course, the King was not a heartless man and allowed him to take back his blade. But Ballard did not go far, instead, he hid out of sight and listened in on what King Edward and Alistair had to say to one another.

“Go on Lord Alistair, tell of this news you speak of,” the King said, now in a much calmer state, but still as serious as ever.

Alistair sheathed his sword and picked up his helmet. “The Dark Knights have returned and are on the move, your majesty.”

Edward's face had now changed to a look of despair, “What? The Dark Knights have returned? You must be mistaken, Knight. That evil was laid to rest a lifetime ago.”

“Yes, I remember my Lord. I was just a kid when you vanquished that evil with the King's Defender, and a handful of knights to aid you. But believe in my words, I have seen them with my own eyes. They have returned and are not far from here, my Lord,” said Alistair.

King Edward held tightly onto the hilt of his blade, “If that is the case, then I shall ride out with you and vanquish that evil once more.”

“King Edward, you musn't. You are ill! And who knows what could happen out there. Your people need you now more than ever. If you would, please allow me to take some more men and go out to scout, and see what they are up to that is. At least allow me that before you get involved, my King. Please. I beg of you,” Alistair pleaded.

Edward was reluctant but agreed to do as Alistair had wished, “Okay, Alistair. I will do as you wish and allow you to take a few extra men out with you, under one condition.”

“Of course.” He bowed. “Name your condition.”

“You take only a few men, and some from the Academy as well. And under no circumstances do you engage the Dark Knights. Understood,” King Edward explained.

“I understand your majesty. I shall do as you ask,” replied Alistair.

“Then go now Knight Of Valor, and assemble your team. I shall be awaiting your return, may the gods watch over you,” King Edward said.

Alistair crossed his arm over his chest and bowed to the King, “I shall take my leave now, your majesty. And thank you for placing your trust in me once more.”

King Edward stood there for a moment, mumbling a few words under his breath before turning and walking back into the throne room. However, there lurking in the shadows was the King's Chamberlain, and he heard every word that was said. “So the Dark Knights have returned from the ashes, that must mean “the dark powers” are up for grabs again. And all the mythical blades powers must have been resurrected as well. Which would explain why the King took us down so easily while being so frail.

“This could be good for me,” Ballard whispered, before disappearing back into the shadows.


About the Author

 photo 50452730_779613245733030_4684161216430473216_n_zpsinath4ph.jpg
I am the author of Albert: Killer In The Woods and many more. I love to write horror novels and short stories as well. I live in Powell Wyoming with my fiancee and two kids.






Contact Links








RABT Book Tours & PR

Monday, September 16, 2019

Preorder Annabel Horton and the Black Witch of Pau by Olivia Hardy Ray


 photo 511E4mVOIhL_zpsdknurcpe.jpg

Fantasy
Release Date: Oct. 1, 2019
Publisher: Chattercreek

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Annabel’s husband, who has been missing for years, is finally discovered among the bowels of White Chapel England during the horror of Jack the Ripper. His discovery brings Annabel and her family to the turn of nineteenth-century England hoping to rescue Michele from the Black Witch’s cage. What they discover is that the Black Witch has been forced into an insidious pact with the devil and the devil, with malicious intent, is luring them all into a web of death. Can they escape his grasp?


Preorder for 99 cents on Amazon!


About the Author

 photo jaynecolor1 copy_zpshifz9hzy.jpg
Olivia Hardy Ray is the pen name for Vera Jane Cook. The Author has published Three fantasy novels as Olivia Hardy Ray and five women’s fiction titles as Vera Jane Cook. The Author is writing a sequel to Pharaoh’s Star called Fox Hollow Road. The author’s women fiction title, Kismet, is due out this winter.



Contact Links



RABT Book Tours & PR

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring by Jennifer Faye Book Tour Grand Finale

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring
By Jennifer Faye

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops
you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:

Launch - Note from the Author

Hi. :-) Thank you for joining me with the launch for the third and final book in the Greek Island Brides trilogy ~ WEARING THE GREEK MILLIONAIRE’S RING.

Starting over can be one of the hardest things in life. Routines are comfortable. A set goal is reassuring. But when it’s all ripped away. What do you do? . . .


“What am I supposed to do with this?”

Stasia held up a cruise ship ticket while sending her big brother a puzzled look. She didn’t have time for a vacation. Now that she was on her own, with no husband and no other family besides Xander, who now had a wife and baby, she needed to pull herself together and carve out a life for herself. That had to be her priority. As it was, she’d put it off for too long.

“Use the ticket and go on vacation.” Xander frowned at her as though he was concerned about her.

Hallie Reads - Review

"Wearing the Greek Millionaire’s Ring is a sweet story, featuring a trope I always love, so of course, I enjoyed this third addition to the Greek Island Brides series. Contemporary romance readers in need of a quick, fun story, check this one out."


She glanced down at her now bare finger.

She was on her own. Each step had taken time. Some steps were big and some were tiny. Each of them had pulled on her heartstrings.

“I… I worry about you.” Xander’s voice cut through her thoughts.

“I know you do.” And she knew it wasn’t easy for him to admit it. Xander had always held his feelings close to his chest. “And I appreciate it. But it’s okay. I’m okay.”


And then a movement out of the corner of her eye caught her attention. It was a tall man with dark hair. Though she could only see the back of him, there was something familiar about the way he held himself and the way he moved with sure, steady strides.

She told herself she shouldn’t stare even if it was from across the deck, but she couldn’t turn away. Or maybe she was using this distraction to keep from thinking about what her brother was saying. Did Xander really think she was incapable of caring for herself?

She knew then and there that she had to prove to him—to herself—that she could stand firmly on her own two feet. She’d thought she’d been doing that ever since Lukos passed, but it seemed that wasn’t so clear to everyone. She promised herself that by the time the cruise ended, she would have a firm life plan for herself.

Jypsylynn - Review

"Wearing The Greek Millionaire's Ring is a happy and sad story of fake love turning into something real. . . . This is a charming story with warm hearted characters, lovely descriptions and fun. I read it fairly quickly. This is a good light read that will make you smile. . ."

Wishful Endings - Excerpt

Yaya arched a penciled brow. “Don’t hide in some corner. Or worse, go to your cabin to work. This is a vacation. Look at all these lovely ladies. I’m sure you’ll find someone to spend your time with.”

While wearing a forced smile, he inwardly groaned. He was in so much trouble. They’d just pulled out of the dock and they were to be at sea for two weeks—two weeks of matchmaking torture.

“Yaya, I’m fine. I don’t need to find someone to spend time with.”


Roberto was on his way to an open table off to the side when he spotted her again. This time he was certain he knew her. It was Stasia Marinakos. No other woman carried herself quite like she did, with her slender shoulders pulled back, her head held high and a warm smile on her face. How she could smile after all that she’d been through was beyond him. But she hadn’t lost her zest for life. And he applauded her.

“Stasia?” he called out. When she paused and looked around, he called out to her again.

At last, their gazes met. Her big brown eyes widened. He waved her over to join him at the empty table. It took her a moment or two to work her way through the crowd of people all eager to enjoy the morning sun.


"Two years after her husband's death, Stasia Marinakos is trying to learn to enjoy life again. . . The novel was a quick and light-hearted beach read. . . . Overall, it was an enjoyable book for a quiet afternoon."

E-Romance News - Excerpt

Roberto glanced away. Under her gaze, he felt exposed and vulnerable. That was a first for him. He’d sat through a lot of tense meetings with some of the toughest businessmen. They’d all sized each other up for the other’s weakness, but none had made him feel like an open book.

He cleared his throat. “Actually, I’m here at my grandmother’s request.”

The twinkle of surprise showed in Stasia’s eyes. “Your grandmother is on the ship?”

He nodded. “So are a number of my family members.”

“That must be so nice.”

He remained quiet. He knew Stasia only had her brother these days. She didn’t know what it was like to have a bunch of well-meaning but intrusive family members delving into her personal life.

Onemused - Review

"WEARING THE GREEK MILLIONAIRE'S RING is a fake-relationship-turned-real story set on a Mediterranean cruise. . . . The characters were really fun in this, and the meddling family was an added bonus that adds some extra life into this romance. A quick read, this is a great beachy book with light-hearted fun and a sweet couple. Highly recommend for people who like fake relationship romances."

Harlie's Books - Excerpt & Review

He was about to take a drink when he noticed she didn’t have anything in front of her. “Can I get you anything to drink or eat?”

“Actually, yes. I’d love an espresso. I need the caffeine.”

It was only then that he noticed the shadows beneath her eyes. They were faint, as though they were covered up, and you wouldn’t even notice them unless you were looking for them. Something was keeping her up at night. And then he realized what it might be. She was still grieving for her husband. Sympathy welled up in him.

“I’ll be right back with caffeine.” He got to his feet and walked away.

"This friends to lovers book was spot on. Ms. Faye wrote a slow-paced, sweet romance about moving on and finding yourself separate from the death of a spouse. It is about loss and dealing with moving on but remembering, too. Roberto and Stasia romance is the perfect bookend for the series. I’m so happy that I rediscovered the Harlequin Romance line. Ms. Faye is one of my favorite authors and I can’t wait to read what she writes next."


Had that just happened?

Stasia resisted the urge to touch her cheek where just moments ago Roberto’s lips had been. They’d known each other for years, but they’d never shared a hug, much less a kiss. Usually, it was a passing hello or a nod of recognition.

And it wasn’t like he was the first man to kiss her cheek. Why was she letting it get to her like this? When he’d kissed her, her heart had pounded, her mouth had gone dry and her palms had dampened. Sheesh! She really needed to get out more.

She assured herself that it was just the shock of Roberto acting like her significant other. It had caught her completely off guard. Everything would be fine now.


"I enjoyed this book a lot. I loved the setting of the book, where they are on a cruise. . . . I loved how instead of chapters there is Day one, Day two, etc. It was interesting to know which day of the cruise they were on."


“Hey, Stasia.”

She turned.

Roberto rushed to catch up with her. “Did you make plans for dinner?”

Her forehead scrunched up. “Is this something I should check on my app?”

He chuckled. “I meant to say, do you want to have dinner with me? But if you don’t want to or you have other plans, that’s fine—”

“No. I mean no, I don’t have other plans, and yes, I’d enjoy having dinner with you.”


"Jennifer Faye does it again in her third installment from her Greek Island Brides series. . . I give Wearing the Greek Millionaire’s Ring a well deserved five plus stars. I highly recommend this book, as well as, the others of the Greek Island Brides series for readers who enjoy sweet, romantic and clean reads."

Readeropolis - Excerpt

“What just happened?” Stasia’s eyes reflected her confusion.

“That was my cousin. She’s kind of like a force of nature.”

“But she thinks you and I...that we’re a couple. Why didn’t you correct her?”

He smiled. “Because she wouldn’t care what I said. She likes to come to her own conclusions. She’s a lot like our grandmother. She’ll figure out the truth eventually.”


"Oh wow, what can I say about this amazing book! A truly stunning tale of such deep love and passion and so very sweet! I absolutely loved it! . . . This was such a well-written book, the characters are fully and well-developed and there are many twists and turns . . . If you love a sweet romance, then you are going to love this book!"

Jorie Loves A Story - Spotlight


"I loved it and I even snickered in some places of the book. It's truly delightful!! . . . Jennifer has done a fabulous job with writing this story. I love when an author can make me feel like I'm part of a book.

I strongly truth this book! You won't regret it!!"


"I love the way that the chapters were days and places where the cruise took them. I thought that was pretty cool and very unique. Loving the way that Stasia and Roberto got “together.” . . . Wearing the Greek Millionaire’s Ring by Jennifer Faye is a fantastic end to a wonderful trilogy. . . . I am giving Wearing the Greek Millionaire’s Ring by Jennifer Faye, a five-star rating and recommending it to all romance readers out there."

Don't forget to enter the giveaway at the end of this post...



Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring

(Greek Island Brides #3)
By Jennifer Faye
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 256 Pages
September 1st 2019 by Harlequin Romance

A convenient engagement…

An inconvenient attraction!

In this Greek Island Brides story, widow Stasia Marinakos is learning to enjoy life again aboard a Mediterranean cruise. Her chemistry with gorgeous Greek tycoon Roberto Carrass is a pleasant surprise—until she’s mistaken for his fiancée! Nevertheless, the guarded bachelor asks Stasia to continue the charade to stop his family from matchmaking. As their attraction grows, their fake romance feels ever more real…but what will happen when the vacation ends?



Freebie


Go to Jennifer's Contact Page HERE and order your bookmark(s)!

The Greek Island Brides Series

Finding love that lasts to infinity!

All marriages that take place on renowned wedding destination Infinity Island are guaranteed to last forever!

And the picturesque Greek island is about to weave its magic for friends Lea, Popi and Stasia. They dream of finding their own happy-ever-afters... And they’re about to meet three billionaires who will sweep them off their feet—and down the aisle!


About the Author


Award-winning author, Jennifer Faye pens fun, heartwarming contemporary romances with rugged cowboys, sexy billionaires and enchanting royalty. Internationally published with books translated into nine languages. She is a two-time winner of the RT Book Reviews Reviewers' Choice Award, the CataRomance Reviewers' Choice Award, named a TOP PICK author, and been nominated for numerous other awards.





Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card and a signed print copy of Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring (print if US, ebook if international)
1 winner will receive signed print copies of the entire Greek Island Brides series (US only)
1 winner will receive a signed print copy of  Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring (US only)
- Ends September 12, 2019

Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Review of A Tale of Two Freddies (Arnie & Zellie Cozy Mystery Series #2) by Eric Small



Welcome to the book tour for A Tale of Two Freddies, the second installment of the Arnie & Zellie Cozy Mystery series by Eric Small. I have a review of this book for you today. And if you follow the tour, you'll get more reviews, interviews, excerpts, etc. Be sure to let the author know what you think in the comments!



A Tale of Two Freddies: An Arnie & Zellie Cozy Mystery Arnie & Zellie Cozy Mystery Series) Book 2


The corpse barely missed my head. No flying cadavers, just a new case falling into the lives of our intrepid unlicensed detectives. While in dogged pursuit of a killer, Arnie and Zellie navigate the tricky waters of a full-blown romance. Solvers of a single case, they need all of that experience and more to find the murderer. How the heck did the killer get the dead guy up there? And what’s the deal with two men having almost the same name? Did one of them kill the other? Did someone else?

Along the way, Arnie and Zellie encounter a real estate company with a dark side and its own enforcer, a building manager with a chip on her shoulder, and a cleaning company owner with a grudge. Not to mention a massage therapist doubling as a realtor, and a florist who may or may not have witnessed a murder. And how does the gruff but kind deli owner fit into it all?

Is it worth risking their lives to find out?




**My thoughts**
Cozy mysteries can all vary in their levels of amateur silliness and sleuthing. This one takes best friends who became a couple, Zellie and Arnie, and continues their exploits as amateur private investigators. Apparently they stumbled upon solving a mystery in the first novel and then became a couple. Now they want to have an actual business, but are up against the tough set of rules required to actually get your PI license and are about to get into trouble. The action gets started when they go to check out a potential new office and a dead body literally falls on top of them.

They take it as a sign and delve deep into an investigation that makes me flash back to high school English class. It also has plenty of your cheesy silliness of characters and their reactions as the story unfolds. I felt like I figured out a good chunk of it before the characters did, but not all of it.

I did read this book without having read the first one and felt like I did do okay with the story. There are a lot of references to the back story throughout. But I do think it may help if you read the first one to better understand a lot of the story.

I received a complimentary copy in exchange for my honest review.


About Eric Small

Retired government attorney Eric Small began writing a cozy mystery series featuring the investigations and adventures of Arnie and Zellie in their fledgling detective agency, set in the environs of Middletown, New Jersey.

Brazen Gambit was the first in the series, and A Tale of Two Freddies continues from where that left off. Eric grew up in Middletown, and now lives in Florida with his wife, to whom he’s been married for over thirty years.

Arnie & Zellie Cozy Mysteries Website: www.ericsmallbooks.com


Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Read an exclusive excerpt from Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring by Jennifer Faye

On Tour with Prism Book Tours


Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring

(Greek Island Brides #3)
By Jennifer Faye
Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 256 Pages
September 1st 2019 by Harlequin Romance

A convenient engagement…

An inconvenient attraction!

In this Greek Island Brides story, widow Stasia Marinakos is learning to enjoy life again aboard a Mediterranean cruise. Her chemistry with gorgeous Greek tycoon Roberto Carrass is a pleasant surprise—until she’s mistaken for his fiancée! Nevertheless, the guarded bachelor asks Stasia to continue the charade to stop his family from matchmaking. As their attraction grows, their fake romance feels ever more real…but what will happen when the vacation ends?


GoodreadsAmazonAmazonUKAmazonCA
B&NHarlequinKoboiBooksGooglePlay
Should you make a purchase through my affiliate link, I may earn a few pennies at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my websites!


Read an exclusive excerpt:
Roberto was on his way to an open table off to the side when he spotted her again. This time he was certain he knew her. It was Stasia Marinakos. No other woman carried herself quite like she did, with her slender shoulders pulled back, her head held high and a warm smile on her face. How she could smile after all that she’d been through was beyond him. But she hadn’t lost her zest for life. And he applauded her.

“Stasia?” he called out. When she paused and looked around, he called out to her again.

At last, their gazes met. Her big brown eyes widened. He waved her over to join him at the empty table. It took her a moment or two to work her way through the crowd of people all eager to enjoy the morning sun.

“It’s so good to see you.” He gave her a brief hug.

Was it wrong that he wanted the hug to last a little longer? Of course it was. Stasia was his best friend’s younger sister. And if that wasn’t enough to discourage any interest, she was a grieving widow. Enough said.

He moved to pull out a chair for her. Once again, her eyes widened with surprise. Was getting her chair for her that unexpected? He mused over this as he returned to his own chair. He supposed that in all of the occasions that they’d spent time together over the years, he hadn’t actually spent one-on-one time with her before. There had always been a group of people with them.

She frowned at him. “You don’t have to act surprised to see me.”

“But I am surprised.”

She studied him for a moment. “My brother didn’t set this up?” She motioned between them. “Being on the same cruise so you can babysit me?”

“If he did, he didn’t mention it to me.”

“Oh.” She still looked perplexed. “He surprised me with the ticket. He said it was my birthday gift.”

“It’s your birthday?”

“Not yet. It’s next week.”

“We’ll have to do something special.”

“You mean more special than taking an extended cruise?” Her eyes twinkled with amusement.

“Maybe not. But we’ll have to mark the occasion.” And then he realized she might not be on the ship alone. After all, she’d been a widow for...what was it? Two years. Maybe she was moving on. “Are you sailing alone?”

“I am. How about you? Are you here with someone?”

He wondered if she’d noticed that the passenger list had an overwhelming number of young, beautiful women who appeared to be alone. “I’m not here with anyone. Not exactly.”

Stasia arched a brow. “You came on this cruise alone?”

Roberto nodded and surprise flickered in her eyes.

Xander had warned him that he was getting a reputation of always having a beautiful woman on his arm. He’d thought Xander was just having some fun at his expense. Maybe Xander had been serious after all.

Freebie


Go to Jennifer's Contact Page HERE and order your bookmark(s)!

The Greek Island Brides Series

Finding love that lasts to infinity!

All marriages that take place on renowned wedding destination Infinity Island are guaranteed to last forever!

And the picturesque Greek island is about to weave its magic for friends Lea, Popi and Stasia. They dream of finding their own happy-ever-afters... And they’re about to meet three billionaires who will sweep them off their feet—and down the aisle!


About the Author

Award-winning author, Jennifer Faye pens fun, heartwarming contemporary romances with rugged cowboys, sexy billionaires and enchanting royalty. Internationally published with books translated into nine languages. She is a two-time winner of the RT Book Reviews Reviewers' Choice Award, the CataRomance Reviewers' Choice Award, named a TOP PICK author, and been nominated for numerous other awards.



Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway


- 1 winner will receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card and a signed print copy of Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring (print if US, ebook if international)
1 winner will receive signed print copies of the entire Greek Island Brides series (US only)
1 winner will receive a signed print copy of  Wearing the Greek Millionaire's Ring (US only)
- Ends September 12, 2019

Grab Our Button!