Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Read an exclusive excerpt from The Hotel by Pamela Kelley

On Tour with Prism Book Tours


A contemporary romance set in a waterfront hotel sounds absolutely perfect for this time of year, right? Get lost in the bliss when you read this exclusive excerpt! Follow the tour for even more fun. Best of luck in the giveaway!



The Hotel
By Pamela Kelley
Women's Fiction, Romance
Paperback & ebook, 270  Pages
June 8, 2021 by Piping Plover Press

Secrets and lies...at Nantucket's most exclusive and glamorous, family-owned hotel.

The Whitley is Nantucket's most exclusive waterfront hotel--a sprawling collection of pristine white cottages and an elegant main building on a long stretch of private, white sandy beach.

It's a family owned business--brothers, sisters, cousins, aunts, all work there in various capacities.

Paula is happy in her back office accounting position. But changes are in store when her grandfather promotes her and fires her cousin--who then blames Paula.

Meanwhile, a blond romantic comedy superstar is hiding out at The Hotel for a few months. She meets Paula's brother, a chef--who has no idea who she is--and she likes it that way.

Paula's grandfather also hires a consultant to help her settle into her new role. But she isn't sure what to think of David, who grew up on Nantucket but now lives in Manhattan.

He's a brilliant consultant and will be assessing Paula's suitability for the role. He's also home for another reason, a difficult family issue that makes Manhattan seem very far away.

A new family saga from the Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestseller author of The Nantucket Inn and The Restaurant.



(Affiliate links included.)



About the Author


Pamela M. Kelley is a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of women's fiction, family sagas, and suspense. Readers often describe her books as feel-good reads with people you'd want as friends.

She lives in a historic seaside town near Cape Cod and just south of Boston. She has always been an avid reader of women's fiction, romance, mysteries, thrillers and cook books. There's also a good chance you might get hungry when you read her books as she is a foodie, and occasionally shares a recipe or two.


Tour Schedule


Tour Giveaway


One winner will receive a gorgeous Kate Spade totebag with two signed paperbacks, one of The Hotel and one of The Nantucket Inn (US only)

Ends June 23, 2021


Grab Our Button!

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Review of Making Christmas by Nancy Fraser and Santa Baby by Peggy Jaeger

 


Welcome to the Dickens Holiday Romance Celebration! Today I'm sharing with you my thoughts on both prequels to last year's Christmas Comes to Dickens multiauthor series. Plus you get a sneak peek inside. Follow the tour for even more. And best of luck entering the giveaway!



Welcome to our 1980’s Dickens Christmas stories!

Two sweet vintage romances set in the New England town of Dickens where small town charm is on full, holiday display.

Both stories are prequels to stories found in last year’s holiday anthology, Christmas Comes to Dickens. Beginning October 18th, the Ladies of Dickens will release six brand-new, full-length Dickens holiday romances (one per week) to celebrate the season.

In the meantime, we hope you’ll enjoy Making Christmas by Author Nancy Fraser and Santa Baby by Author Peggy Jaeger. Both are guaranteed to whet your holiday appetites for what’s to come!


A 1980s Vintage Romance ...

It’s been five years since William Barrett returned to Dickens to take over as CEO of Wil-Bar Toys. He’s spent these past years helping build Wil-Bar into a leader in creative, handmade toys. His work ethic and drive has left him little time for a personal life. Or, perhaps he’s still pining for the one who got away.

Catherine Gates moved away from Dickens six years earlier. Now a staff reporter for a woman’s magazine, she’s returning to Dickens to do a story on Wil-Bar Toys new production methods and get the scoop on their upcoming holiday line.

When Will and Cat meet up again for the first time in years, it’s as if they’ve never been apart. Rekindling their friendship, and attraction, becomes more important than Cat’s article, or even the secrecy of the new toy lines.

Can these two childhood friends make up for lost time and pursue the romance they missed out on years earlier? Or, will Cat’s story expose too much and put them at odds with one another?



Buy at your favorite retailer!

Making Christmas Jigsaw Puzzle Link: https://bit.ly/33wkGqI

**My thoughts**
This is a sweet second chances romance where former friends finally acknowledge their feelings for each other after not seeing each other for several years. Christmas magic is added because the hero's family owns a toy factory.

It's a sweet story that takes place in the 1980s, though you could also seeing it play out in present times. There's only one minor detail that comes up in passing that throws off the 1980s timeline. Otherwise, it is a universal and enjoyable early Christmas story that whets the appetite for the stories to come in the lives of these characters. I enjoyed it.

Thank you to the author and Goddess Fish for fulfilling my review request. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

NANCY FRASER—Jumping Across Romance Genres with Gleeful Abandon—is an Amazon Top 100 and Award-Winning author who can’t seem to decide which romance genre suits her best. So, she writes them all.

Like most authors, Nancy began writing at an early age, usually on the walls and with crayons or, heaven forbid, permanent markers. Her love of writing often made her the English teacher’s pet which, of course, resulted in a whole lot of teasing. Still, it was worth it.

Published in multiple genres, Nancy has published over thirty-five books in full-length, novella, and short format.

When not writing (which is almost never), Nancy dotes on her five wonderful grandchildren and looks forward to traveling and reading when time permits. Nancy lives in Atlantic Canada where she enjoys the relaxed pace and colorful people.

Media:

Website: www.nancyfraser.ca 

Facebook: http://facebook.com/nancyfraserauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/nfraserauthor  @nfraserauthor 

Bookbub: http://bookbub.com/profile/nancy-fraser

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Nancy-Fraser/e/B004AOL61Y/ 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7206382.Nancy_Fraser

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.ca/fraser425/ 

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3gC68iMStwKCr4v_S6fMIA 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/romauthor_nancyfraser/

Newsletter Sign Up: http://eepurl.com/bxkKvD



It’s Christmas Eve morning in the tiny New England town of Dickens.

Santa’s arrival is imminent, and a hint of snow is in the air.

Amy Dorrit is just about to open her popular diner for the breakfast rush when she discovers an abandoned baby on her back doorstep.

Amy knows she should call the authorities and turn the infant over to them, but she just can’t. Thoughts of her own abandonment as a baby flood through her and she wants to keep the little one out of the hands of the authorities until the mother – hopefully –returns.

But will the mom come back? And if she doesn’t, what is Amy prepared to do about the baby who has, already, claimed her heart?


Read an excerpt:
As she moved through the breezeway connecting the diner to her apartment, Amy heard a mewling sound at the back alley door. Her cook, Willie, often left scraps out for strays, especially in winter, and sometimes when she took the trash out at the end of the day, Amy would find a mamma cat searching for something to feed her kittens.

Amy opened the door, expecting to see a hungry animal looking for a handout, and got the shock of the century when she found a baby carrier, complete with a crying infant nestled in it.

She gasped, her head flicking right, then left, to find the person responsible for leaving a baby out in the frigid night air.

“Hello? Is anyone here?”

The still sleeping and silent town surrounded her as shoe impressions in the fresh snow indicated the baby hadn’t been there for long.

The infant’s howl echoed in the quiet.

“Oh, you poor thing. Let’s get you out of the cold.”

Buy at your favorite retailer!

Santa Baby Jigsaw Puzzle Link: https://bit.ly/2RaZBzj

**My thoughts**
You have to love a Christmas story where a lost baby finds a home and gets a second chance at life. Those are always heartwarming. And the town is full of a bunch of loving and caring people that just make you feel good as you read how they help out Amy. There's also a touch of romance.

I enjoyed this story, though I felt like it ended up a bit abruptly. Without the author explanation follow-up, you have to kind of guess what happens next. I felt like it could have been expanded just a little bit more to give a clearer picture of the story as an actual part of the story. I do look forward to reading the next part in present times when the baby is grown up.

Thank you to the author and Goddess Fish for providing me a requested review copy. All thoughts and opinions are my own.



Peggy Jaeger is a contemporary romance writer who writes Romantic Comedies about strong women, the families who support them, and the men who can’t live without them. If she can make you cry on one page and bring you out of tears rolling with laughter the next, she’s done her job as a writer!

Family and food play huge roles in Peggy’s stories because she believes there is nothing that holds a family structure together like sharing a meal…or two…or ten. Dotted with humor and characters that are as real as they are loving, she brings all topics of daily life into her stories: life, death, sibling rivalry, illness and the desire for everyone to find their own happily ever after. Growing up the only child of divorced parents she longed for sisters, brothers and a family that vowed to stick together no matter what came their way. Through her books, she’s created the families she wanted as that lonely child.

When she’s not writing Peggy is usually painting, crafting, scrapbooking or decoupaging old steamer trunks she finds at rummage stores and garage sales.

A lifelong and avid romance reader and writer, Peggy is a member of RWA and her local New Hampshire RWA Chapter.

As a lifelong diarist, she caught the blogging bug early on, and you can visit her at peggyjaeger.com where she blogs daily about life, writing, and stuff that makes her go "What??!"

Social Media links:

Website: http://peggyjaeger.com/

Blog: http://peggyjaeger.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Peggy-Jaeger-Author/825914814095072

Twitter: https://twitter.com/peggy_jaeger

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13478796.Peggy_Jaeger

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/peggy-jaeger

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDR8RRIlssIyS0FYZWeGqsg

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/peggyjaeger_author/

Pintrest: https://www.pinterest.com/peggyjaeger/

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/peggy-jaeger-296ab878/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00T8E5LN0

Authors database: https://authorsdb.com/community/15814-peggy-jaeger

Triberr: https://triberr.com/tribe/strong-women--loving-men

 


Nancy Fraser and Peggy Jaeger will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Dutybound (Light Wings Epic Volume 1) by Mark A. Alvarez II

 


A little bit of faith and morality with a lot of fantasy. Enjoy this excerpt from DutyBound by Mark A. Alvarez II before you download your copy. And then follow the rest of the tour for even more. Best of luck entering the giveaway!



The world was their creation until they sought to destroy it.

Dutybound is the story of Terestria and its Virtues, heirs of nobility forced to face the Sins of their forefathers and bring their world from the brink of Darkness. Among them is Lucia Sanoon, High Maiden to the province of Moz and chosen of the Light Wings. The ancient relic, bestowed upon a long-forgotten civilization by the Light itself, was forged to harbor the Light's essence if ever Terestria's balance were threatened by the Darkness' desire to corrupt the Light's most-prized creation, Life. If successful and the long-standing covenant between the Light and its Protectors were ever to be broken, the Darkness would be free to roam Terestria and reclaim the land it had a hand in creating, bringing death and destruction to every corner of the world.

But as long as there is Light, there is hope. With the help of the Light Wings and its power, Lucia must heed its call to assemble the Light's Virtues and lead them into battle against the very Sins that seek to destroy their world. But finding the four will not be easy, for much of the knowledge is lost and the understanding of one's own morality is the only key to unlocking the power each of them holds within.

A story of faith and morality, Dutybound will lead you through a journey of self-discovery as our heroes face conflict from outside and within themselves. Duty, desire, envy, hope, hate, love, pride, and temperance all are challenged within this series in an epic tale that is sure to have you pondering your own true nature.

Read an excerpt:

Today was a day of tragedy, although most did not know it. It was a dark, cloudless night. Not one sound broke throughout the grand-white city of Moz, sparkling like a diamond within the valley of a vast mountain range. Not a single ray of light could shed an ounce of joy upon the city, for it was already condemned by the haze that shrouded it. The mist hovered in the silence of the night, stagnant with the suffering of the land that lay below it. All the while, the people of Moz rested, unaware that all they held most dear teetered on the brink of ruin.

“Oh.” Ara sighed as she sat alone in a muddled study. Her face flushed as her eyes scanned over a piece of parchment at the base of a broad window. Her irises, like embers, were so round and passionate, glistening almost red as she eagerly inspected the letter her beloved had left her. But in that moment, as she realized what had happened, her eyes began to quiver, becoming trapped within garnet walls of fear. After everything they had faced, Stello had abandoned her, leaving their family broken.


(affiliate link)


About the author:

Mark A. Alvarez II is a Hispanic-American born in Houston, Texas. He’s a graduate of Texas State University, where he studied public relations and mass communication. He was an apprentice at the NEW Apprenticeship where he was certified in digital marketing. He is the CEO of Light Wings Promotions LLC, a digital marketing and creative branding agency in San Antonio, Texas, where Mark currently resides.

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Mark-Aaron-Alvarez-II/e/B08ZJZCR83

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/21271472.Mark_Aaron_Alvarez_II

Website: https://maalvarezii.com/mark-alvarez-ii/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/maalvarezii

Mark Aaron Alvarez II will be awarding a $15 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 14, 2021

The Romanov Legacy by Marilyn Baron

 


The mystery of the Romanov family is still a favorite today. Author Marilyn Baron imagines a life for a descendant of the family and a New Russia in her thriller, The Romanov Legacy. Enjoy an excerpt and then follow the tour for more. Be sure to download a copy! And best of luck in the giveaway.



Two women, centuries apart, and the secrets that bind them

Melody, a young single mother, discovers she’s descended from the last Tsar, Nicholas II. She becomes the best hope of a secret global society, Guardians of the Romanov Legacy, dedicated to restoring a Romanov to the throne of a New Russia. A diary and an heirloom necklace inherited from her murdered grandmother hold the key to her identity and to the location of the Tsar’s lost shipment of gold.

She must accept the sacrifices her birth demands and trust the machinations of the estranged father of her child. To refuse means turning her back on her heritage, her daughter’s legacy, and the long line of her family’s women who were keepers of the secret. Will her longing for true love have world-changing consequences?

Read an excerpt:
A tiny tear slipped down her cheek. But that was as far as she would display her emotions. She held her head up regally. After all, she was an Empress. She was determined to die with dignity. She wondered if Marie Antoinette had held her head high before it was unceremoniously severed and dropped into a basket.

“There won’t be a last-minute reprieve if that’s what you’re thinking,” warned Miss Cormier.

Would they actually go through with it? Would they really execute her in cold blood like they did the Tsar and his family? She was terrified they would. She could hear the sound of her heartbeat amplified. She was having a full-blown panic attack. She couldn’t breathe. She feared she would die of fright before they had the chance to cut her down in a hail of bullets.

Miss Cormier lifted her hand to give the command. Hatred flared in her eyes. What had she done to deserve the woman’s anger? Fallen in love? Then the guards raised their rifles in unison to open fire. She closed her eyes tightly so they couldn’t see the hope fade from her face. She couldn’t bear to confront her own mortality. She held her breath.

Then she heard the bullets ping. Where was she hit? How long would it take to die? She hoped it would be over soon. She sagged in her chair, mercifully blacking out.


Buy links:
(affiliate link included)


Marilyn decided to become a writer when she read Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Her first short story was The Gold Lace Dress. She wrote her first book, East West Island, in grade school. It featured all of the children in her third-grade class and her teacher read it to the students in installments during class every day. She wrote and directed her first play at age 13, starring her brother and sisters and some of the neighborhood kids. The show raised money for the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library & Museum.

Marilyn is a public relations consultant in Atlanta, a PAN member of Romance Writers of America (RWA) and Georgia Romance Writers (GRW) and winner of the GRW 2009 Chapter Service Award. She is also a member of Atlanta Writers Club. Marilyn was past chair of the Roswell Reads steering committee and serves on the Atlanta Authors committee. She writes in a variety of genres from humorous women’s fiction, historical romantic thrillers, romantic suspense and paranormal/fantasy. She loves to travel and often sets books in places she’s visited.

She was born in Miami, Florida, and graduated from The University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida, with a Bachelor of Science in Journalism (Public Relations) and a Minor in English (Creative Writing). Go Gators! She lives in Roswell, Georgia, with her husband, and she spends a lot of time hovering over her two wonderful daughters.

http://www.marilynbaron.com/

https://www.facebook.com/Marilyn-Baron-286807714666748/

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/marilyn-baron

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Marilyn-Baron/e/B008PJFQPC



Marilyn Baron will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Smart Bitches Buy Bitcoin by Branden LaNette and Andrea Waltz

 


Are you confused by Bitcoin? Do you want to learn about it and take control of your finances? Branden LaNette and Andrea Waltz show us how in Smart Bitches Buy Bitcoin. Check out this excerpt before you download your own copy and also check out the rest of the tour. Leave more questions along the way! Best of luck entering the giveaway.



It seems like everyone’s talking about Bitcoin these days. Still, a lot of people just don’t get it. Or they assume Bitcoin is just for tech-savvy millennial guys or rich investors like Elon Musk.

As for women, many of us didn't get a great financial education. Some of us shy away from conversations about money and investing especially if it has to do with the crazy world of cryptocurrencies.

What to do? Start with this brand new short, fun, and easy read,"Smart Bitches Buy Bitcoin: A Simple Guide for Women Who Want to Learn the Truth About Bitcoin and Control Their Financial Future.”

The book is designed to help women understand the current financial situation, why Bitcoin could be the life raft they need, and how to get started investing in it. Don’t leave your economic future to chance just because it seems scary or confusing and this is the perfect book to get you started.


Read an excerpt:
Most young girls have dreams of living a fairy tale life. We know we did. (Branden even wrote a fabulous book about it!) The problem with the dream is we expect that fairy tale life to be handed to us. As we get older, we figure out that’s b.s.; even if we do get the fairy tale life, we’ve got to work our Cinderella-asses off for it.

Maybe you can relate.

One of the most terror-filled moments for most of us is the realization that no one is coming to save us.

No one.

It’s easy to blame others because things didn’t work out the way we thought they would. It’s the world’s fault. And the government’s fault. And rich people’s fault. And… and… and…

The truth is, where we find ourselves at any given moment in time is our fault; at a minimum it’s our responsibility.

The fairy tale is possible. We can be saved. But if you want to have the life of your dreams, you’re going to have to save yourself. Bitcoin is the tool to do exactly that.

If you want Bitcoin to go to work for you, you’re going to have to buy some Bitcoin.


About Branden LaNette

Branden LaNette doesn’t look like a typical author but she has long ignored what she “should” do, say and look like. On her own at a very young age, Branden eventually found herself with the wrong guy, the wrong job, and a bleak future. The fairytale she was promised as a child never materialized.

Finally, Branden decided that she wanted something different for her life, and realized no one was going to do it for her. Prince charming wasn’t coming to save her—she’d have to save herself.

Step by step, decision by decision, through major trials and tribulations that would stop most people in their tracks, Branden learned how to turn heartbreak into happiness and self-judgement into inner joy.

Today, Branden LaNette is an entrepreneur, coach, speaker, wife, and stay-at-home Mom to six C-section babies (ages 1-16) and way too many f-ing pets. Somehow, however, she manages to juggle all of this effortlessly (a blatant lie) while pushing her way through the kinds of fear and self-doubts that whisper within all of us (totally true) to achieve her goals. Her most recent dream come true is this book, one that is destined to have a major impact on millions of women across the globe (or at least nine people in Michigan.)

Through it all, she has found her happiness, her joy, and more importantly, her voice.

Contact Info:

Website: BrandenLanette.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Branden.Lanette

Twitter: @Branden_Lanette

Instagram: @Brandenlanettel


Branden LaNette will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

Review of Truffle Me Not by M.K. Scott



Welcome to the book blast for Truffle Me Not, a cozy mystery by M.K. Scott. As you follow along the tour, you will get to enjoy some excerpts and book reviews before you download your copy. My thoughts are included below. I'll be interested to get your feedback! And the author is happy to answer any questions. Best of luck in the giveaway!



The future of Cupid’s Catering Company hangs in the balance. With a rival bakery, owned by the queen of all mean, rich girls, Della is at a distinct disadvantage.

Della hinges her financial future on winning the local truffle contest. As if there wasn’t enough on her mind, additional problems arise, including missing cats, jewel thieves, and her desperate attempt to find the incredibly kind man who’d lent her hand when she had tire trouble.

Can she solve all these problems and find time to whip up a cookbook at the same time?

Read an excerpt:
Even before she picked up the phone, she felt apprehensive. Why call when she’d see her mother at the bakery in less than thirty minutes. “Hello, Mother. I’m almost in the car.”

“Good! I need your help.” Mabel rushed the words together, forcing Della to decipher the bunched words before answering.

For most of her life, her mother had helped Della. Sometimes, almost too much, which came from being a surprise baby to a couple who had given up hope on having children. As the only child, Della felt obliged to be the best she could be after one of her school mates pointed out her parents had invested all their hopes and dreams in her. A staggering responsibility for a primary school-aged child to handle, but she had dealt with it.

“What’s wrong?”

“I need a jeweled cat collar. Red. Lots of rhinestones.”

“Mom…” she stretched out the word, making it into more of a question.

“Buy whatever styles they have. We can return the ones that don’t work.”

Even though her brain might not function at its full capacity without coffee first, almost anyone could deduce an incident occurred involving Prince Purrfection of the jeweled collar. There was a good chance Tony could be the culprit.

“Ah, did Tony hurt Prince? Did Prince hurt Tony? What’s up with the collar?”

Her mother inhaled audibly. “Time is of the essence. Vanessa is going to start looking for her cat once the storm passes. I need a new collar on the feline diva before I push him out the door. Tony thinks I’ve gone traitor by even letting her into the house.”





**My thoughts**
I enjoyed passing an afternoon reading this book. I will say that I would call it more of a cozy mystery light as opposed to an actual cozy mystery. To me, it was more Della's mom who was involved in trying to solve this mystery of the jewel thieves and catnappers and Della was along for the ride. Her focus is more on beating out her high school nemesis who is trying to open her own competitive bakery. And then she is dealing with her expanding business and perhaps trying to figure out who the Good Samaritan was who helped her out when she had a flat tire the one night. She did participate in some of her mom's shenanigans, but not all.

To me, this is more a story of a girl who had a rough time in high school finally doing well for herself and endeavoring to keep on doing well. Little obstacles pop up along the way that need to be solved. That's the part that I related to the most and the part of the storyline that stood out to me. 

While reading, I felt like this was not the first book in the series, though it did work well as a standalone. When I finished, I did look it up and it is the second book. I have ordered the first book to give it a read. Again, I don't think you need to read the first one in order to fully enjoy this one. And I saw that there is a third book due out this summer that I have preordered, because I did enjoy this and am curious about where things are going to go for our characters.

So overall, a light and interesting story that kept me occupied on a quiet and lazy afternoon and I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.



About the author:

M. K. Scott is the husband and wife writing team behind The Painted Lady Inn Mysteries and The Talking Dog Detective Agency. Morgan K Wyatt is the general wordsmith, while her husband, Scott, is the grammar hammer and physics specialist. He uses his engineering skills to explain how fast a body falls when pushed over a cliff and various other felonious activities. The Internet and experts in the field provide forensic information, while the recipes and B and B details require a more hands-on approach. Morgan’s daughter, who manages a hotel, provides guest horror stories to fuel the plot lines. The couple’s dog, Chance, is the inspiration behind Jasper, Donna’s dog. Overall, both are fun series to create and read.


Social Media:

Website: http://www.morgankwyatt.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorMorganKWyatt

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/morgankwyatt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5826299.Morgan_K_Wyatt

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/morgankwyatt/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/M-K-Scott/e/B01M4JGK1A/


M.K. Scott will be awarding a $40 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, May 24, 2021

Tools of a Thief (A Series of Decisions on Kairas) by D. Hale Rambo

 


Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for Tools of a Thief by D. Hale Rambo! Enjoy an excerpt from this fantasy novella and then download your own copy. Follow the tour for even more and make sure you leave your questions and comments along the way. Best of luck entering the giveaway!



How do you stop being a thief? Zizy assumed quitting her job, stealing from her boss, and flitting magically across the continent was one way to give it a go. Getting in and out of sticky situations is typically Zizy’s specialty. A little spellwork here, a pinch of deception there, and she’s home free. Quick-fingered, fast-talking, and charming the gnome knows traveling across a shattered continent won’t be easy. Still, she has the skills to keep herself from getting killed.


Too bad she was followed on her one-way trip. Pressed into a mission she can’t say no to, Zizy feels desperate, out of place, and as lonely as before. But when she meets a charming book hoarder with bold curiosity, Zizy can’t help but want to bring her along on this one last job. She’ll just hide her past, her present, and complicating info about herself. What could go wrong?


Read an excerpt:

Zizy was taught growing up that expanding the Vault had been a request of the gnomes creator, the Trickster. The gnomes had built three glorious cities over the course of the last hundred or so years. Arovein, their original city, Zumi to the southwest along the coast, and Hadu on the northwest coast. All built in the tunnels and caverns of the Vault with small trading settlements above ground. But everything else after that had been gnome ingenuity. The waterworks pipeline, the spellwork-powered carts, the mechwork creatures—all made life grand for them. Enabled them to focus on their particular pursuits and research without worry for the busy motions of just living life.

She missed the clanking of metal as someone walked down the street testing out some new contraption. She missed her favorite tavern. Discussing over mugs of brewbeer what new idea a friend had thought up and watching—or sometimes being—the one who had agreed to be a tester. She missed being in charge of her daily life. Zizy let the pang of homesickness for Zumi and her old life wash over her.

What the minds of her people could come up with would be mesmerizing to a Brix. Simply astonishing. Or frightening, if they were ignorant sticks in the mud. She had encountered many like that since she entered their lands, those who saw her and understood she wasn’t like them. Some had been polite and ignored it when interacting with her. But others, scared beyond sense, had been more harmful and even attacked her unprovoked. So she’d tried to pass straight through, not standing out, with only mild altercations like yesterday’s.

But then there was Laysa. Something about this Brix was different, intriguing, and though Zizy had thought, as she drank in the inn the evening before, that the best way to avoid Emba’s bad side was just to do as she said, the spark of defiance she felt every time she saw Emba had reared its head. Her mind returned to Laysa off and on all night. The way she didn’t hesitate to ask and answer. The volley of words she seemed happy to spill. Zizy sensed she could talk for ages, and Zizy wasn’t unhappy, she mused, at the prospect of talking to her again. Around in circles Zizy went, drink after drink, until she just decided to do what she was best at: ignore all reasonable suggestions and do what she wanted anyway.


Buy on Amazon 

(affiliate link)


D. Hale Rambo is an avid reader, Pathfinder/Dungeons & Dragons player, bubble bath connoisseur, and author. She has been writing and creating other worlds since she was old enough to mark them on her bedroom wall. As a dungeon master and in life, D. Hale Rambo believes in the fun of morale bonuses, inspiration, and always using cover. Get updates on the series, say hello, or debate with her about the versatility of gnomes at www.dhalerambo.com .

Follow D. Hale Rambo on social media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dhalerambo 
Twitter: @therambogeeks 
Instagram: @therambogeeks




D. Hale Rambo will be awarding 1 of 3 print copies of the book (US only) to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 19, 2021

Review of Moonshine, Magic, and Murder (Manitoba Tea and Tarot Mysteries #3) by January Bain

 


Welcome to the blurb blitz tour for Moonshine, Magic, and Murder by January Bain! I have an excerpt from this witchy cozy mystery for you to enjoy, plus I'm sharing my thoughts on this third installment of the series. Be sure to follow the rest of the tour and leave your comments and questions for the author along the way. Remember to enter the giveaway!



Charm McCall has a proven track record for solving small-town mysteries, but can she figure out how to deal with a life event that threatens to harm the McCall clan…

Charm McCall is once more on the hunt to figure out why her cat has been seeing a ghost, why she’s been shown a treasure map by, gulp, a dead guy and why her Auntie T.J. has suddenly disappeared, bagpipes and all. That would be more than enough, but with the upcoming Sadie Hawkins dance and its accompanying promise bags to create and spell, to help her fellow Goddesses get their dearest wishes fulfilled, she’s about run off her feet. Not to mention that now it’s legal to sell marijuana in Canada, orders for pot brownies are spilling in and threatening to crash her online store.

Charm discovers she needs all the help she can get to deal with the arrival of her mother and the beyond painful host of problems that creates for her family, find her Auntie T.J. to save her hiney and discover who the real murderer is. That is, if she wants her romance with Snowy Lake’s sexy Mountie, Ace Collins, to have any hope of deepening…

Read an excerpt:
The blast of the police sirens firing off must have been droned out by the moaning of the pipes, because suddenly there was Constable Ace Collins standing at my side. We’d even missed the flashing lights atop the Royal Canadian Mounted Police SUV.

But my oh my, he was looking handsome this morning, all six-foot-plus, broad-shouldered, narrow-hipped, Stetson-wearing Mountie that he was. He touched his large fingers to his fine hat and nodded at me before turning a steely-eyed glance at Sergei McCausland. Even the bagpipes had silenced with his arrival. Auntie T.J. stood quiet with her fingers poised over the chanter holes in case she needed to punctuate her point yet again. I shook my head at her in an exaggerated motion, a finger to my lips.

“Are you threatening Miss McCall?” he asked. He must have picked up on the recipe-stealing man’s last comment. The Bowl-a-ram-a wasn’t the sure-fire business plan that Sergei had dreamed of, I suspected, which was probably why he’d gone into manufacturing moonshine. That tempered my thoughts. Business was hard won in a small town, and it was good that he offered people entertainment during the endless months of a typical long and freezing Canadian winter. But still, using my auntie’s recipe sucked. She’d spent years fine-tuning it to what she thought her hero from the TV show Justified’s Mags Bennett moonshine tasted like, and she was rightly proud of it. I’d enjoyed it on a few occasions myself…when I didn’t have to work the following morning.

“No, of course not. I was just wanting a bit of peace, for heaven’s sake. That woman’s been doing this for three days running. She’s trying to ruin my business. You have to do something, Constable, or so help me I will go over your head and speak to Winn Duffy. I know you’re too fond of the McCall family by half.”

Oooh. That last comment was uncalled for. Ace Collins was a man of complete integrity. A straight shooter. A man of conviction. I backed up a couple of steps in the dead silence while the two men glared at each other, then I backed up a bit farther.

A surge of anger forced its way through me. Who did this guy think he was? Casting aspersions on Ace and my family like that? A streetlamp popped nearby, blowing up and showering sparks in the nearby vicinity, which included the three of us. We all ran for cover, well, except for the Mountie, who gave me a look, shaking his head with a steely look on his handsome mug. He flicked a smoldering spark from his sleeve and strolled over to join me standing on the sidewalk in front of the caf├ę. Auntie T.J. and Sergei had vanished like vampires at sunrise.

(affiliate link)


**My thoughts**
This is the third book in the Manitoba Tea and Tarot paranormal cozy mystery series. I've read all of them, so I have a firm grasp of all of the characters and storyline. But I do think you are okay reading this one as a standalone. The main focus is on this particular murder, and Charm gives you enough background info when needed.

I like Charm. She's one of three triplets, but is her own entity. She's the oldest of the three and looks nothing like the other two, who are identical twins. She tends to be the most responsible, doing most of the work in the family bakery. She's also the one who seems to have the most powers of the three. She has a hottie boyfriend, who also happens to be a Mountie who moved to town some months before. And she has an annoying habit of pretty much doing whatever she wants, no matter how many rules are being broken. I can always feel Ace's frustration with that pouring off the pages and feel it myself! I may or may not have occasionally yelled out loud, telling her to stop it.

She does have a tendency to do well as an amateur investigator, aided very well by her powers, which just continue to grow. I think she has come a long way since the first book. This time around, she definitely kind of forgets everyone else around her as she focuses on the case and clearing her aunt. She tunneled so far into it, that I felt like we never saw anyone else other than Ace. I really missed her sisters, Star and Tulip, and especially Granny Toogood. (Maybe they'd have a spinoff story at some point?)

We got a lot of Ivana, who amuses me. (I always picture the Russian character in the Austin Powers movies.) I have a feeling something big is coming with her in later installments.

There's one particular part of the story that I felt was glossed over too much, and that was the appearance of the triplets' mother. She had basically abandoned them when they were 8 years old, leaving them to the care of Granny Toogood. Now she is back in town, and Charm is all freaked out about it. And yet, in spite of a couple of big issues, she wasn't in the book too much. I wanted that to develop more. And I felt like the ending was more abrupt than I was expecting, even though I think this book is longer than the first two.

This really is a delightful paranormal cozy mystery series that I've been enjoying. And while this installment wasn't necessarily my favorite of the three, I am still looking forward to seeing what's going to happen for the McCall sisters in the future. There are a lot of hints and indications of some big things to come, and a lot of potential for all kinds of stories in this small town. And there are a couple of big events in this that you won't want to miss.

Thank you to the author and Goddess Fish for providing me with a requested review copy. All thoughts and opinions are my own.


January Bain has wished on every falling star, every blown-out birthday candle, and every coin thrown in a fountain to be a storyteller. To share the tales of high adventure, mysteries, and full-blown thrillers she has dreamed of all her life. The story you now have in your hands is the compilation of a lot of things manifesting itself for this special series. Hundreds of hours spent researching the unusual and the mundane have come together to create books that features strong women who live life to the fullest, wild adventures full of twists and unforeseen turns, and hot complicated men who aren’t afraid to take risks. She can only hope her stories will capture your imagination.

If you are looking for January Bain, you can find her hard at work every morning without fail in her office with her furry baby, Ling Ling. And, of course, she’s married to the most romantic man! Who once famously remarked to her inquiry about buying fresh flowers for their home every week, “Give me one good reason why not?” Leaving her speechless and knocking her head against the proverbial wall for being so darn foolish. She loves flowers.

If you wish to connect in the virtual world she is easily found on Facebook. Oh, and she loves to talk books…

Blog Address - http://januarybainjourney.blogspot.ca/

Twitter Name – https://twitter.com/JanuaryBain

Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/january.bain

Manitoba Tea & Tarot Mysteries page: https://www.facebook.com/CozyCharms

Any other social media -
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6437282.January_Bain
 


January Bain will be awarding a $50 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Review of Blue Ink (Blue Mountain #3) by Tess Thompson


From USA Today bestselling author Tess Thompson, visit Blue Mountain yet again in this standalone tale that celebrates underdogs, family secrets, and forbidden love. 

Charlotte Wilde’s life is a flop. She gives her heart to the wrong men, her first published book is a failure, and now she’s dead broke too. Desperate to pay the bills, she takes a job caring for an elderly woman who is recovering from a broken hip, hopeful the position will leave her with plenty of time to focus on her writing. Yet as Charlotte gets to work, dutifully helping Mrs. Lanigan sort through a box of old letters, distractions abound. For one thing, both women immediately become consumed with a mystery unfolding in the correspondence. And to complicate matters further, Charlotte finds herself drawn to her charge’s son, Ardan, like they’ve known each other forever. Will he become another of her mistakes or has she finally found the one?

In the third volume of the Blue Mountain Series, USA Today bestselling author Tess Thompson reunites us with the Lanigan brothers, their cranky mother, and the feisty Heywood sisters. This standalone story of forbidden love and hundred-year old mystery will keep you turning pages way past your bedtime.


Book Links

Goodreads * Amazon * B&N


 **My thoughts**

This is the third installment of the Blue Mountain series, the first of which is my favorite Tess Thompson book. This story does work as a standalone, but I do recommend reading the others.

We first met Charlotte in
Blue Moon, when she was Bliss’s devoted assistant. Her kind and delicate nature was obvious even back then. Now she gets to really put it to the test in her new job as a companion and helper to the matriarch of the Lanigan clan, Riona, whose macular degeneration is getting the best of her. Charlotte will also have time to keep working on her writing, as she is a murder mystery novelist now as well.

Riona has moved back to the family compound out of necessity. Because she can no longer see, she needs help. Only she continues to be just as tough and stubborn as she was when we met her in the first book. She seems like she’d be able to absolutely eat Charlotte alive. But you also know that there is a softer woman underneath that hardened exterior, one who has had tragedy in her life and is now dealing with a major life change in her blindness. The two opposites are perfectly matched and we can learn a lot by how Charlotte treats her.

They are staying with Ardan, the philanthropic Lanigan brother who has returned home from his work with schools for boys. We get to know him better than we did Kavan and Ciaran because this is the first dual point of view book in the series. [And I admit that I am conflicted over this, though it works. I just really enjoyed going so in depth with the ??? sisters as single POV, but also like getting to know them both so well this way. It’s hard to explain. Maybe it throws me off a little bit because the first two books weren’t in dual POV?]

These two are destined to be with each other before they have even met. And they seem to know it right from the start. There are just all of those pesky relationship details to iron out. And a blast from the past tries to throw a major wrench into things. You also have the beauty of the letters from the past that they discover that almost seem to echo in the modern time. Lots to enjoy in this one with the connection of past and present.

Of course, we also get to check in on the other happy Lanigan couples. And no Blue Mountain book would be complete without Moonstone in it.

I love returning to Peregrine, Idaho and am looking forward to the story of the elusive Lanigan sister, Teagan.

Fostered Identity by Maggie Thom

 


If you like fast-paced action in your mysteries, check out this excerpt from Maggie Thom's Fostered Identity and then download your copy! Follow the tour to see even more. Best of luck entering the giveaway!



Her teenage sister has run away. It's her fault. And on her watch.

Shyla thought she was doing the right thing by helping her teenage sister get a little freedom. She never expected she'd bolt on her. Desperate to keep their mom from discovering she has a missing daughter, Shyla sets out to find her wayward sister.

A fluke encounter gives Shyla a clue. Only she gets a lot more than she bargained for. She finds her sister, but she gets pulled into doing a heist. An impossible heist. And not just any heist but that of stealing her mom's million-dollar jewelry. Ones that recently arrived, with no explanation.

Damien is a good guy running from an awful past. When his brother ends up in the hospital, Damien is determined to stop the one man who has and is destroying their lives—their father. Damien will break all of his promises, even steal, if it will end their father's control.

Shyla and Damien find themselves thrown together, not trusting each other but not having any choice. They will have to work together if Damien is going to stop his father once and for all. And if Shyla is going to protect her family. An impossible crime that will bring them surprises they didn't see coming.

Can they catch a thief by being a thief?

Book 1

The Twisted Deception Series

Emerald grew up in a foster family. It wasn't an ordinary foster family. She was the first of eight girls to move in. The jewels that she was given to play with as a teenager, that she was told were baubles, are now resurfacing thirty-five years later. They are worth millions. And it appears worth stealing. Who is sending them out? And who wants them back at all costs?

“…fast-paced and kept me guessing. I like a mystery enveloped with family secrets and jewel thieves. I want more, and I want to know the secrets. I will be excited to read the second novel…” Author Christine H-Jackson

Read an excerpt:
"You want to talk about Hannah?"

"Where is she?"

"Sleeping in."

"Are you going to tell her?"

"No."

"Mom, come on. That's not fair to her. She has a right to know."

"Why are you butting in? We've had this conversation before."

"Not like this. And that was a few years ago. It's time to tell her."

"What would you like me to tell her? I adopted you when you weren't even two. I have no real history on you." She looked down at the table, rubbing her thumb up and down the side of the mug. "I think you were in the same shitty system that I was as a kid. I don't know where your mother is, just like I don't know where mine is. You came to me with a birth certificate that said your mother was Mary Smith. Could you get a more common name?"

Her eyes lifted and her gaze bore into Shyla as she continued. "You were born at home by a midwife. The midwife is dead and after searching four hundred and fifty Mary Smiths, I have no idea who birthed you." She gave her that look of I've tried to do something, but I've found nothing. "I can't do that to her."

Shyla frowned as she thought about what she'd just been told. Most of it she'd never heard before. "That sounds fishy. I mean about Mary Smith." What she really wanted to say was why have you never told me or Kal, any of this before?


Buy Links:
(affiliate link included)
Just $0.99 during the tour!


Take the adventure beyond your fingertips.

Multi-Award-Winning Author, Maggie Thom has written all types of stories but finally settled on her love of puzzles, mysteries, and rollercoaster rides and now writes suspense/thrillers/mysteries that keep you guessing and take you on one heck of an adventure.

She is the author of 8 suspense/thriller/mysteries. The award-winning Caspian Wine Series – Captured Lies, Deceitful Truths, and Split Seconds – and her other individual novels Tainted Waters, Deadly Ties, and Fractured Lines. And now a new series – The Twisted Deception Series - Fostered Identity, Book 1. On her website, you can find her free novel – Blurred Lines.

Her motto: Read to escape … Escape to read …

"Maggie Thom… proves her strength as a master of words, plots and finely chiseled characters… she weaves a brilliant cloth of the many colors of deceit.” Dii – TomeTender

www.maggiethom.com

Author Links




Maggie Thom will be awarding a $20 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway