Thursday, September 17, 2020

The Rose by PD Alleva

 


Dystopian fiction is quite popular right now as we kind of feel like we are living in a dystopian society. So enjoy this excerpt from the science fiction thriller The Rose, new from PD Alleva. And then get to know him a little bit better in this interview. Download your own copy and then follow the tour for more. Best of luck entering the giveaway at the end!



A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of underground genetic experiments, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, conspiracy, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.

Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least NO ONE HUMAN.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Enter Phil, a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles his way through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.


Read an excerpt:
The blades were unharmed. The blades are a unique contraption with thin handles held in the palms, clamps that wrapped around the wrist and just above the elbow, connected by a thin, almost string like plastic. The metal blade descended from the handles down across the arm bone to the elbow clamp and locked into place. The metal they were made from was not of this earth and was able to collapse inside the handles and wrist clamp like tin foil crumples inside a fist. But this metal was strong and solid and unmatched to any substance on earth. The handles when pressed by the index finger would ignite the blades down the arm, locking in place. Another unique feature were the handles, fitted comfortably in the palm, when pressed with the thumbs would ignite claws of steel. A useful tool when needing to climb walls. Robyn had spent years teaching Phil the art of Kobudo Tonfa. An art he’d become supremely confident with.

Phil’s stare drifted to the full blood moon rising over the compound. Eyes wide, thinking: You know what that means. There’s more under the moon tonight than just alien vampires. And they come with teeth. The moon’s red glow crept across the landscape as Phil dipped his chin to his chest, grinding his teeth. Four simple words on the tip of his tongue…

“Get ready to bleed.”


Buy links:


Do you have any tattoos? Where? When did you get it/them? Where are they on your body?

I have one tattoo, the New York Yankees symbol on my right leg. Got it on May 5, 2005 when the Yankees were in a terrible slump. After the tattoo Tino Martinez went on a hitting streak belting in a record number of home runs. I’ve thought about another tattoo but I’m not sure, possible, but not a definite. Have a few design ideas, something cosmic and spiritual that includes the names of my children.

Is your life anything like it was two years ago?

Yes, it is the same. With the exception of our 2020 covid quarantine, my life hasn’t changed much in the last two years. Writing, editing, marketing. Wife, kids, reading, playing, going to the beach. Not much has changed.

How long have you been writing?

All my life. Started writing fan fiction at a very early age of any movie I would become obsessed with at the time. Ghostbusters, The Goonies, even Rambo. Also wrote my own short stories as far back as second grade. I remember a story I wrote about second grade girl who brings a pet hamster to school and the hamster escapes. Ten years later, the girl returns to the school and the hamster, whose been surviving on crayons for the past decade and has grown to monster like status, begins to terrorize the school. This is when the schoolgirl, now in high school, shows up to tame the savage beast and bring the big fella home.

I wrote my first full novel in the sixth grade, twelve years old to be exact. The story, a sci-fi fantasy, was inspired by a dream and was more than likely a result of an overactive imagination, reading Tolkien’s The Hobbit, and Dungeons and Dragons. The story revolved around a group of unlikely heroes who are tasked with finding the book of the dead, having to troll through a dark forest, and a hell of a lot of monsters, black magic, and sorcery, to arrive at the castle of the dead, as I called it. And if they failed the world would be covered in darkness.

What advice would you give a new writer just starting out?

Write what you love and what you know. Research the industry, take advice from fellow authors but make sure you learn what you love to do and not just follow what everyone else is doing. You’ve got to find your own way. The indie author journey is a marathon not a sprint to the finish line. Take your time and do everything with patience and care, knowing that the seeds your planting now will manifest when you least expect it. And above all, love every minute of the journey, find joy in what you’re doing no matter what obstacles come crashing down to block your path. Just step over them and keep moving on.

Tell us something about your newest release that is NOT in the blurb.

I struggle with this question. Why? Because I want the reader to discover the many twists and turns, including a number of different alien and monster species that are in the book and not in the blurb. As a reader myself, I don’t want to know much about the book I’m reading other than the genre and how and where I came across finding the book (usually Goodreads or a friend’s recommendation). Unless, of course, it’s a new book by one of my go to authors, in which case I still don’t want to know too much. I don’t even read the description because I want to be as surprised as possible. Writing is the same; I’m usually as surprised as the reader to find those little tidbits, nuances, and unexpected revelations and bombshells.

I know, I apologize, just answer the question right? In that case what I will say about this topic is for the reader to be on the lookout and very, very leery of the grey alien, Mono, who is a featured character in The Rose Vol. 1. Mono was an incredible character to write. She had so many surprises up her sleeve I was in awe over her resolve and devious evil ways. And when she begins using her telepathic and telekinetic mind to tear apart alien vampires, well, the entire story takes on a whole new game.



PD Alleva is an alternative fiction author. His novels cross genres, blending mystery, conspiracy, psychology, and action with horror and dystopian science fiction. Alternative fiction is PD's attempt at describing what readers uncover in any one of his books, a new discovery towards mainstream storytelling. He's been writing since childhood, creating and developing stories with brash and impactful concepts that he would describe are metaphors for the shifting energies that exist in the universe. PD exists inside of his own universe, working diligently on The Rose Vol. II and exceptional horror novels. Be prepared for Golem, PD’s upcoming horror thriller.




Social Media Info:

Website/Newsletter www.pdalleva.com

Facebook Page: @pdallevaauthor

Twitter: @PdallevaAuthor

Instagram: pdalleva_author

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/pdalleva



One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card. Follow the tour for more chances to win! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

13 comments:

  1. What a fabulous mash up of genres.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nice, thank you Mary. there's a little bit of everything for everyone. A few surprises too. enjoy the ride. thank you for stopping by.

      Delete
  2. Good morning, thank you for hosting Andi, and hello to everyone stopping by today, enjoy the interview and the excerpt that provides an introduction to the premiere weapon in The Rose. The blades are like having a sword on each arm and are awesomely wild for martial arts alien vampire combat scenes. I'll be stopping in throughout the day to answer any questions and reply to comments as they come in so feel free to leave them here and I will respond. And don't forget to enter the giveaway, the more times you enter and leave comments the better chance you have at winning. Enjoy your day, PD Alleva

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thank you for sharing your book with us. I always look forward to finding out about another great read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. very cool, thank you James. There's so many great indie books to choose from, I appreciate you stopping by. Glad I could turn you on to some alien vampires. Good luck with the giveaway, PD

      Delete
  4. Replies
    1. thank you Rita. My goal was to make the story pop off the page, as if the reader was front and center, living the story with the characters, inside their heads, and watching all the action unfold. I hope the excitement transfers to the reader.

      Delete
  5. this sounds like a very interesting book

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. thank you Marisela. One of the more interesting aspects when writing the book was developing and creating the alien lore that surrounds the multiple alien species that exist in the story. Not only was it important to include different ancient alien theories within each species background but I also wanted to add some mystery to each of the characters, providing depth and reason behind their actions. I'm hopeful that the character and species depth and lore is as interesting as the action that drives the story. Time will tell. Thank you for stopping by. enjoy your weekend.

      Delete
  6. good morning. I like to close out each stop with a great big thank you to all the readers who stopped by today and to thank Andi for hosting the giveaway and GoddessFish for promoting the tour. Enjoy your weekend everyone, read books, live multiple lives. Be bold. Be brilliant. Be extraordinary! ~ PD

    ReplyDelete

Due to tremendous amounts of spam, all comments are moderated and will be approved and published throughout the day.