Sunday, May 15, 2022

Review of The Bridgerton Collection Volume 1 by Julia Quinn


An enchanting collection containing the first three novels in New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn’s beloved Bridgerton series set in Regency England—The Duke and I, The Viscount Who Loved Me, and An Offer from a Gentleman—now a series created by Shondaland for Netflix.

The Duke and I
When Daphne Bridgerton and Simon Basset, Duke of Hastings, agree to a fake courtship, they think they’ve found the perfect solution to their problems. Romantically associated with one of London’s most desirable catches, Daphne’s prospects among the ton will soar. For avowed bachelor Simon, an attachment to Daphne will deter would-be brides and their ambitious mamas. Their plan works like a charm—at first. But amid the glittering, gossipy, cut-throat world of London’s elite, there is only one certainty: love ignores every rule. . .

The Viscount Who Loved Me
London's most elusive bachelor, Anthony Bridgerton is determined to wed. But one obstacle stands in his way—his intended's older sister, Kate Sheffield, who is driving Anthony mad with her determination to stop the betrothal. Kate is quite sure that reformed rakes do not make the best husbands, and Anthony Bridgerton is the most wicked rogue of them all. She’s determined to protect her sister—even as she fears she may not be able to resist the reprehensible and oh so desirable rake herself . . .

An Offer from a Gentleman
Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball—or that she would be spinning in the arms of her "Prince Charming"—the debonair and devastatingly handsome Benedict Bridgerton. But when the clock strikes midnight, Sophie’s enchanting evening ends. Since that night Benedict has been able to think of nothing but the bewitching young woman, and he’s sworn to find and wed his mystery miss. Yet will another unexpectedly steal his heart—and his chance for a fairy tale love?

Book Links
(affiliate links included)

**My thoughts**
You can't go wrong with this box set because it's cheaper than buying the books individually, plus the bonus feature of the second epilogues that had been published elsewhere. I got lucky with a mega sale where this whole set was actually cheaper than one book. I grabbed it because even though I am not a Regency fan, instinct told me I would probably like these books.

It collected virtual dust for a while on my TBR list on my Kindle until I was getting ready for the second season to drop on Netflix. 

I read all three books, all 989 pages, in one weekend. 

Julia Quinn writes her books so descriptively that you feel like you are in the thick of the action. The dialogue feels true to the period, yet it is snappy and almost contemporary. I love the banter. You'll definitely laugh out loud and you may even cry. It's very much like reading a contemporary Jane Austen. I see that comparison a lot and I get it now.

Book 2 is my favorite, book 3 the least. But I enjoyed them all and look forward to continuing on in the series.

Read my individual book reviews:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Due to tremendous amounts of spam, all comments are moderated and will be approved and published throughout the day.